12 year old girl hangs herself after losing mother to cancer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 August 2015

12 year old girl hangs herself after losing mother to cancer

A 12-year-old schoolgirl whose mother died of breast cancer killed herself after posting self-harm pictures on Instagram, an inquest has heard.
Isabel Ann Richardson, from Norwich, was struggling with feelings she was 'worthless' and 'empty' after losing her mother Karina to the disease in 2010.
But despite speaking to a school nurse at Hewett School, she was overcome by her sadness and on May 12, discovered hanging in her bedroom by her father.

Earlier that evening, Isabel's father Stephen Richardson was called by her brother about distressing images she had posted online.
Entering her bedroom to check on her, he found her hanging and she was rushed to hospital. She died six days later.
The inquest at Norfolk Coroner's Court heard Isabel had told her father about the self harming five weeks prior to her death.

After he was informed, the two began speaking to a school nurse and were referred to bereavement service Nelson's Journey. Isabel was also due to speak to a youth service counsellor the day after she was found dead.
The inquest heard Mr Richardson said his daughter told him she had stopped hurting herself and he thought she was a lot happier since the meetings.
However, he added: 'I was aware of her self harm, but I never thought for a second she would do anything like take her own life.
'I will always think I could have done more.'
Coroner Jacqueline Lake recorded a narrative verdict - saying it wasn't clear if Isabel had intended to take her life.
She said: 'Although she hanged herself, this could have been a cry for help.'

Daily Mail

63 comments:

Aww so sad, this happened as a result of poor supervision of the kid. RIP to her

Nawaaoo small girl like this. Rip

That's depression.

Ooooooooh my...!
A sorry case indeed

carnation41 said...

so sad,rest in peace

Trendyify said...

Aww, too bad, rip to her

it is well

Nawa oo but dat is not the option anyways rip

It's so sad. My sister died of Breast Cancer recently , my mummy did her surgery last week n she is waiting to start chemotherapy. It's so sad. I miss my sister every day. She left behind little kids, d last is just one year plus.

Wot does a 12yr old no abt losing somebody, talkless of killing her self

Too bad! At such a tender age

This got me teary. Most touching story of recent. So sorry!

Messi lifts uefa best player trophy ..check http://www.sirbina.blogspot.com. more infos

How pathetic!

It's really painful but suicide is not an option in dis case. Rest in peace tho!

PARENTAL ADVISORY

No na young lady, u nor try @ all

liz swt 16 said...

Chai, may my child not kill me. At 12 a child know how to hang herself. I can imagine d pain d dad wil b goin thru

dudette said...

Hmmm this is sad...I would suggest a parent brings their kids who are depressed to Africa to see what some refugee camps to see what some people go through in their daily lives. So that they would appreciate life and know they are truly blessed

ogeee said...

Y ll she kill herself? RIP shining star

That's bad, she shouldn't have been in a hurry to die now, everybody will still die.....its definite...
Understand her situation αи∂ she's still a kid, she shouldn't have done that..... What if I acted like this when popsi left (was only 6) or when mum joined (was 9? Doubt I would have achieved what I have by now.......ur beginings will be small but always look towards d ending cos its usually gonna be great....
I never graduate from sch????
Will soon start working αи∂ so many wrongs will be righted... That's just d truth about life....
May her soul RIP though

#it WiLL OnLy Get BettER
#it MuST eNd IN PrAiSE

So sad.... rest in peace dear

Y nahh pretty grl.....hmmmmmm

Aww rip kiddo.

Na wa o!
Rip to her

Too bad

aproko manager said...

Poor girl na wa all dis oyibo smallie dem get yeye mind ooo

Terrible,a 12yr old girl committed suicide? God forbid.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Heartbreaking! RIP

choi...... she's must have been traumatised.

She couldn't handle d hurt.

dudette said...

Hmmm this is sad...I would suggest a parent brings their kids who are depressed to Africa to see what some refugee camps to see what some people go through in their daily lives. So that they would appreciate life and know they are truly blessed

Ehyah! What a loss!

But why?

RIP......

Aha!

D act of taking our lives is abomination b4 d Lord is short cut to hell. RIP 2d mum.

Too sad

Hian! I wonder what could have put dat kind of thought in her little head. Linda take note!

Yes my darling! It will all end in praise ! God will surely see you through

So sad

Who taught a child of 12 how to commit suicide..hmmmm

Pls desist frm d act of suicide for its short cut to hell and abomination b4 d living Lord moreso we r not d owners of our lives for our lives is owned solely by d living Lord.

I'm so sorry about ur situation, it's only God dat can comfort u.

She was on instagram ? She fully grasped the concept of suicide at 12?

Ewwww! May isabel soul rest in peace. This msg is for the fmer post the accident between Dangote and God is good motors yesterday, Dangote driver was @ the wrong lane, becos he was the one going to Lagos he was not suppose to be @ the left lane as the road was demarcated. He was suppose to be @ the right lane. And this whole thin must stop! How long Dangote trailer will continue to kill innocent citizens just like that? This Dangote trailer has been causing problems to innocent Nigerians for many years now, no government has ever Sanction Dangote noting noting! This is bad this is evil!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stop killing our people Dangote!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was Dangote trailer that killed my friend michael, along Kalaba road 2005. God must ask u Dangote.

That's a very ignorant statement. She's not stupid and she's not a baby so she definitely knows what it means to lose someone. She'll feel the pain more than adults obviously because she's still depending on her mum.

I don't think a depressed person would care about that. Just saying

So sorry abt that. Please take the kids out and make them happy always!

Thank you very much

So sorry about your sis,I pray God grants you all the heart to bear the loss..

andre kelvin said...

Aww! RIP

Chaii, why nah babe girl? U should nt ve done dat

Such pretty little girl. Its just a pity. May her soul RIP!

@ Juliet Iwuno. You are such an 'Igbotic' lady. Your comments though. Never ever well thought through or value adding. You always want to just comment.Tufiakwa! God help you. I rarely comment here. But, often read thru people's comments and yours often never make sense. Poor you, ma'am.

I'm really sorry about ur sis n mum but pls tell ur mum get to God for healing. Only He will save her. It is well with you all dear.

Sad! May God rest her soul....

@Henry Eze 7:26p
U just don't have a clue about anything, u know that, huh?

Cold, judgmental soul. I hate seeing your comments both here & on SDK blog

Our lives are so much on the opposite spectrum with that of the western world! How is it that a 12 year old contemplates suicide?! Isn't this the age you discover the world? Head deep into everything happening around you to even think about a stupid thing as suicide! This is just SAD

Awwwam so sad. May he soul rest in perfect peace

this is just sad!

OMG!