Wing of Emirates plane tears through another plane at Lagos airport (photo) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

Wing of Emirates plane tears through another plane at Lagos airport (photo)

Last night, someone contacted me about an incident at our Lagos airport concerning an Emirates flight but I didn't fully understand what he wrote because his words were not clear. Then this morning, I received this photo from another eye-witness. This happened on the eastern taxi way at Murtala Muhammed airport Lagos. I don't know exactly the full gist (will find out and come back to you) but there was definitely an incident at the airport last night. The wing of an Emirates plane tore through a Hak-Air parked plane on taxi. I think international flights were landing and taking off at our domestic airport and that caused an accident last night..but no injuries recorded. See the email I got last night after the cut and see if you can make sense of what the guy was trying to say...

Dear Linda, due to some parking space and afro bridge step at international airport.... international flight touching ground at domestic and taking off..... 
Boeing 777 200 series registration number A6-Ewd of Emirates airline on taxi through local airport taxi and there is no proper monitor from the FAN. .. NAMA . ..NCAA and some other bodies of the Nigeria aviation industry and no mashalla as well... The flight crash on his taxi to run way just... The tail if the Emirates flight  crash a hak airline aircraft that was position at bale 12 that we do  all burial ground for air craft.
Just 10 mins now that the incident happen only NAMA  is herr and one official of Faan

83 comments:

reckless

Marshall Matters said...

I weep for us

Me self no understand .we are waiting for the full jist.

Guineacar said...

English is very hard. Wtf is dis nigga writing.

na wa for this kind long wing o
na so them dey do take dey kill innocent people so

Nimelda said so.....

seyi crown said...

Student of aviation will understand

I don't understand but thank God it wasn't more than that because am tired of writing RIP

BombayClassic said...

people wont kill us with their way of English sha.............lol...this guy prolly high on something

AMIJEZ said...

I no understand this write up at all.

Na wa o!
English hard sha. Lol

<< LIB Addict >>

FASHION POLICE said...

"AVIATION JARGON "

Who's d idiot dat contacted u........currently in pluto

That was a nasty thing! But why does MMIA Lagos not have sufficient space for aircraft???

EVERYBODY MUST SEND LINDA MAIL....TOMJERRYSWIT

Hehehehehehehe..
This must be Musiwa of nairaland..
The guy may have written this in Chinese and used a Translator

I hope they wil resolve d cause of all dis so dat we wil not see or hear tins lik dis happening@our airport.

"Our Lagos" airport #yimu #costomise #omoyiboclaimlagos #gbegaHappenThenGoRun. Isssh!!

Hope no casualties sha...

ifykacy said...

hahhahah d guy was snoring wen he sent dis msg

I hope they wil resolve d cause of all dis so dat we wil not see or hear tins lik dis happening@our airport.

omotola said...

The guy is speaking in tongue.

Thank you dear.

Thank God it was just a minor accident. Linda take note!

Bode said...

This is not about English.This is about a near-miss/accident at the airport.You guys don't understand,huh?

KWEEN said...

As in, reading the write up alone is making me angry. What manner of rubbish is he typing? Even a primary school student can do better. Msheeew!

SHILZ said...

Some one plz translate....

where is the minister in charge of the aviation sector. buhari and acp are confused.

so careless

He is not I'm sure wat he trying 2 say was that no proper communication 4rm control tower 2 d pilot trying 2 park d Boeing. ...no walkway bridge 4rm d aircraft to enter d airport meaning no parking place at d int'l wing hence Ek taxi to mma2 and it was only NAMA staffs dat came 2 where d incident happened.... he was using aviation terms but wrong spellings

I think dis guy was smoking Igbo around d Conner wen he saw this happened...his English is anti clock wise

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

Mr 47 said...

Damn! See what the english correction Masters on here has caused??? People now write in language we don't understand all because they wanna impress libers and sound intelligent. Aviation student in the house should pls help with translation...

As long as no lives were lost, praise be to God!

Terribly written English! I weep for the Nigerian educational system. Anyways, what the unfortunate sod is trying to say is that due to parking and traffic constarints at the international airport, international flights were being cleared to land and take off from the domestic wing of the airport and consequently RW18L. This happens all the time. The major challenge however is taxiing to the runway as some abandoned planes have been parked, not so smartly, at the end of the General Aviatio terminal parking bay, with the tails of the aircrafts protruding onto the taxi way.
As a result of this, it is usual for planes to stay left of the centre line of the taxi way to avoid colliding with these parked planes. Especially for domestic airliners who are familiar with the situation.
It is not the same for foreign airliners who are more familiar with the international wing RW18R.
They should have been advised of this threat by the responsible aviation authority or issued a NOTAM to the effect.
In the same breadth, the right seat pilot should have been looking out his/her window and should have identified the threat.

It's an unfortunate deveopment but could have been avoided.

S.

D guy's mail is confusing but from wat I read it's obvious d authorities were not doing deir job cos how wuld d tarmac be so crowded? Naija and deir issues

Dear Linda, due to some parking space and afro bridge step at international airport.... international flight touching ground at domestic and taking off.....

Boeing 777 200 series registration number A6-Ewd of Emirates airline on taxi through local airport taxi and there is no proper monitor from the FAN. .. NAMA . ..NCAA and some other bodies of the Nigeria aviation industry and no mashalla as well... The flight crash on his taxi to run way just... The tail if the Emirates flight crash a hak airline aircraft that was position at bale 12 that we do all burial ground for air craft.

Just 10 mins now that the incident happen only NAMA is herr and one official of Faan

TRANSLATION

Dear Linda,

Due to some parking space problesm and "afro bridge step" at the International airport, International flights have been diverted to the domestic/local airport for take off and landing.

An Emirates Airline Boeing 777 200 series registration number A6-Ewd crashed it's wing through the Tail section of a HAK Airline Aircraft parked there at the domestic Airport. This happened because not a single aviation industry official(FAN/NAMA/NCAA)Anot even a Ground Marshal to guide the plane. This happened at bale 12, the aircraft graveyard(parking spot for decommisioned aircraft)

So finally, 10mins after the incident, just one NAMA official and a FAAN official have arrived to assess the situation.

law abiding citizen said...

Only in Naija u hear of anomalies like these. so help us God

Me too I don't understand what he wrote.
#Confused#

Tank God is nt d oda way

ok seen

***dahenriez***

As the guy the talk the stammer , naso he d write the stammer. please dont waist your precious time in reading this because you cannot understand it untill 2019. after buhari steps down

Carelessness

Tina from Ghana needs a sugar son from Nigeria Or Ghana.. Are you available? – Click to Apply Now

Meet Pregnant Married Woman who was Caught having Sex With her Secret Lover-CLICK TO SEE

I guess d guy wrote in Yoruba and translated to English using a translator

Thank GOD is not more than dat.

From the picture, it looks like the other aircraft was too close to the runway.

Thank you very much for your translation. Writing properly has become Nuclear physics!

Thank you very much for your translation. Writing properly has become Nuclear Physics!

Linda Kwanu!...though a bad write up, he/she was just trying to pass across info to u and it would just have been nice of of u to correct privately than bring it up here....Lumiwaves.

Tayo said...

the letter was definitely written in another language, then translated to English with the google translator.

Na wah oooo! hw manage?

A Chinese guy wrote the message but used Google translate to make it English! That's what happened. Google translate sometimes doesn't work well!

Thank u so much...makes a lot of sense now

AbiolaVJ said...

Reckless... that letter tho 😢😢😢😢

olakunle victor said...

imagine 10mins after the crash dne happen, am bringing a change 2 this country situation.... if nothing is been done b4 i contest, nigeria youths 4 change

Bloody hell! E for type am for Pidgin English na. Ah ah! If you're old enuff to have a cell phone and access to the internet plus knowing how to contact a flipping blogger, you can do better oh. SMDH! Thank God no one was injured sha

Thank u future leader but unfortunately some daft morons will nt still understand. They just come on here to insult ppl wen they r d ones that lack understanding. U cnt possibly understnd ur field n another mans field at same time so shut ur trap.

Bale 12 ko Ronaldo 7 ni. LMAO

Am not surprise I know dis is bond to happen one day seeing d way they all jam pack themself at d airport.

In addition to anonymous 9.10,what the gentleman was saying was that the Hak aircraft was no longer functioning and was parked at the cemetery or graveyard where non functioning aircraft are parked.

In addition to anonymous 9.10, what the gentleman was saying was that the Hak aircraft was no longer functioning and was parked at the cemetery or graveyard where non functioning aircraft are parked.

An Educated Aviator talking here...
Terribly written English! I weep for the Nigerian educational system. Anyways, what the unfortunate sod is trying to say is that due to parking and traffic constarints at the international airport, international flights were being cleared to land and take off from the domestic wing of the airport and consequently RW18L. This happens all the time. The major challenge however is taxiing to the runway as some abandoned planes have been parked, not so smartly, at the end of the General Aviatio terminal parking bay, with the tails of the aircrafts protruding onto the taxi way.
As a result of this, it is usual for planes to stay left of the centre line of the taxi way to avoid colliding with these parked planes. Especially for domestic airliners who are familiar with the situation.
It is not the same for foreign airliners who are more familiar with the international wing RW18R.
They should have been advised of this threat by the responsible aviation authority or issued a NOTAM to the effect.
In the same breadth, the right seat pilot should have been looking out his/her window and should have identified the threat.

It's an unfortunate deveopment but could have been avoided.

TONIA GREEN said...

Thank God no life was lost. I guess the guy was using aviation terms plus shorthand English. Lol. . .

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

carlos said...

I think dude used a translator. Sounds more like from French to English.
IG - @carlosdop

What was d pilot doing, na were him shook him eyes

*Constraints *Development, thank me later

*Problems....thank me later

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Carelessness or what? Let's wait for an official statement from them.

Pls check the new posts on my blog. Thanks

act of reckless and nonchalant attitude must have attributed to the accident. Thank God no life was lost.

ENG101

I tell you! Such an annoying gibberish. I guess he meant Avio bridge, Marshaller. And at that particular phase of flight its only the contol tower that has dealings with the aircraft, so the writer's call out of NCAA, & FAAN is completely ignorant.

Thank God it wasn't beyond dat

Only in Naija? That's because Naija is the only place you'be been, because things like this, occurs more than you know. Go to NTSB and read of airport near misses and fatal accidents, even while aircraft is on ground. Then you will know it's not only in Naija. Don't be silly!

caesar said...

E beta say e land inside local airport dan 2 land inside bush or water

GR8BABE said...

such carelessness

GR8BABE said...

such carelessness

looking at the plane parked the aircraft should have been a lot further forward , yet another mistake at lagos why let a plane overhang its tail into an active taxiway , I hope Emirates Sue Lagos for its silly actions , its a real terror flying here , no wonder so many planes crash here , its so the country can claim Hull damage to Airbus , Boeing and airlines , they should ban this airport and rather land in san tome , the fuel there is also just as cheap

im sure there was no light at the airport