University of Ibadan emerges best Uni in Nigeria and 8th in Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

University of Ibadan emerges best Uni in Nigeria and 8th in Africa

Ibadan people, una well done o! So proud of you guys! University of Ibadan has been rated the best university in Nigeria and the 8th in Africa, according to a new ranking of 1,447 African universities and higher institutions, using research publications, citations from 2010 to 2014, as well as visibility on the Internet

University of Cape Town is number one in Africa, followed by Cairo University, then the University of Pretoria comes third in the Top 10 Universities in Africa. The rest are 3 more from South Africa, two from Egypt, one from Kenya and one from Nigeria (university of Lagos).

Top Universities in Nigeria
1. University of Ibadan - (8th in Africa)
2. University of Nigeria, Nsukka (13th in Africa)
3. Ahmadu Bello University (18th in Africa)
4. University of Lagos (20th in Africa)
5. Obafemi Awolowo University (24th in Africa)
6. University of Ilorin (31st in Africa )
7. University of Port Harcourt (36th in Africa)
6. Nnamdi Azikiwe University (42nd in Africa)
7. University of Calabar (43rd in Africa)
8. Federal University of Technology, Akure (49th in Africa),
9. Covenant University (53rd in Africa) (only private university)

149 comments:

Evenly the best... Thumbs up

Meenah_wakil on Instagram and snapchat

STIL TRYIN TO KIP DE FLAG FLYING...GUD ONE...TOMJERRYSWIT

When ever it comes to educational aspect,i give it to westerners. Well deserved.

Wow! Nice one. .. We need more of dat....

When ever it comes to educational aspect,i give it to the westerners. Well deserved.

With their dilapidated structures?
Wonders shall never end.

BabaGoSlow said...

It's worth it.

Get the car of your dreams with ease. Click here now to begin the process

Yeepee! At all at all na imm bad pass... I can see my Alma mater in the 8th ranking! Great futarians! GREAT!!!!

Awww! My Alma Mater the great University of Nigeria Nsukka came second.
Trust her to return to her normal first position when next the ranking is published.
A Lion is ahead of you naturally.

Walter Chiemeka said...

UNN or Unilag ?.

Greatest Uites!!!!!

Hehehehe! Where is my UNIZIK na?

Linda cogitate

Where is university of Benin?

Madam, your breakdown analysis says university of Lagos.?

Lol.

UI is soooo different from Ibadan ...

Lol FUTY should be no 10

NAU 8th in Nigeria and 42nd in the world is not such a bad thing!!

Wow.....this is interesting. But we can do better.

Wow....that's very nice!

Proud of my Alma mater UNIZIK

And this research was done by which organization?. Surely it is not credible.

Fallacy

Ui to UNN?

Shit!!!

Nonsense and ingredient

Juliebabe said...

I must comment here Aunty Linda, please can someone help me tell baba go slow to better relocate his people called boko haram back to the north where they belong(muslims) or better still to the west, Anambra of all places? In Orubebes' voice PMB is biased, he is tribalistic, he is selective. Nobody in his/her right senses should insult me. #angryface#

zicog said...

Rubbish ranking

unilag should nt b on dat list..
na mouth dem get...

university of first choice my foot.

Ggffg said...

Ooya nah........Omo ibadan kin Shoow.......

University of Abuja should be the last or better not appear.mtcheww

OAU!!! What happened now? Used to be that Cairo Uni was first and OAU second years back.

Wao....... UI...

Stupid list. What was the criteria?

Yep...we repping

Amostik said...

good for ibadan and proudly ibadan people

Keep it up covenant university proud of u

U don dey type rubbish....university of lagos in top 10? Abi university of ibadan?

Woooooooow! Congrats to my Ibadan brothers and sisters. Linda take note!

Chai! See how OAU come far! And they're showing us pepper o!

Woooooooow! Congrats to my Ibadan brothers and sisters. Linda take note!

Uniport Repping

Greatest FUTARIAN

PURPLE said...

My beloved Uniben, wey u na??

Where is University of Benin?

It goes without saying that University of Ibadan is the best university in Nigeria. For me, that is the only university you can trust today to produce thorough-bred intellectuals and professionals. Young or old, they are the most purpose-driven and disciplined set of young people I have met. I'm proud of my Akoka but UI has a rich tradition I admire so much. UI's best is yet to come on the African ranking though.

What is the source of this publication. There are so many bodies doing ranking out there, and the rankings say different things. I think citing the source will help a lot.

Where is University of Benin in that list?

Taiwo oni said...

na lie jare...Babcock is the best private sch in Africa, I wonder why covenant keeps making the list

What of uniben???

1st and the best and the very best course of study there is probably Sociology where are the 2002 set if you pass through Labinjo, Omololu , etc then you know what I'm talking about

University of illorin peeps b shoutin beta by far....4 una small minds.....hehe..

Nice one to have my institution of only 13 years of existence present. Please what's the source of this information?

Nice one for University of Ibadan, Looking forward to having more Nigerian Universities in the top-ten list

Dat general said...

Greatest malabites n malabresses

Don't agree wit d research,where is UNIBEN????

mimi j said...

I site my uni..

In GOD I TRUST said...

Proud to be A UITES! #The First and The Best.

ONCE A UITES, ALWAYS A UITES!

AGHAHOWA SAID SO...*WINK*

Greatest Abusite!!!!!

jamos said...

cool

ITS THE PREMIER UNIVERSITY AND IT REMAINS THE FATHER OF ALL!!UP SCHOOOOOOOOOL!!!!!

Fuck your opinion said...

I rep UI

Fuck your opinion said...

So our private universities ain't recognized lmao!

Ohh Yes!!!We rock...Greatest UIte in d ouse..Greeeeaaaaaatttttttt....

Greatest Uites

Yes o!!!!! I rep!

Where does that leave university of jos?

On what criteria? na forbe abi TMZ put dis list together? NEXT!

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Shit ranking!!!!!!!!

University of Benin, Benin city was 27th on the list and therefore 6th in Nigeria.

I disbelieve dis list

That's my university am proud of university of nigeria nsukka 13th

I see my university of Nigeria.......... How and when did we get to the second position, that's some great news mehn

gud i rep UNICAL tho evn tho

Unilorin, sliding down the hill!

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Mamapapa said...

What's the name of the group ranking them? Which ranking is this?

Aha! My belove Covenant University (53rd in Africa) (only private university), I see dis school b d first in Africa in time to come.

moni said...

dats very good,but like my lecturers will say"der ar only 2 Universities in Nigeria,University of Lagos(university of 1st choice)& others"

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Utter rubbish!!!!
Linda, I am totally disappointed in you, OR YOU JUST WANT TO STIR CONTROVERSY...
You failed to let us in on WHO THE RANKING BODY IS, and what scientific and verifiable yardstick or parameters used for the so-called ranking...
There are quite a number of bodies that rank educational institutions in Africa, but the best known and authoritative are 4ICU and Webometric...
Each one does its own ranking based on its unique parameters...
Not a few of them, even currently, rank the University of Lagos as the number one in Nigeria...
But you failed to report it...
Now a pretender of a ranking body has come with its own so-called ranking and you are quick to parrot it on LIB....
You fall my hand big time, my dear Linda...
UNIBADAN may chronologically speaking, be the first, but it is by no means the best university in Nigeria (let alone UNN or ABU)!!
To know the best, first identify the various ranking bodies...
They are quite a number...
Then identify the leading Nigerian universities listed thereon and then proceed to highlight their rankings on those platforms...
Then take their averages...
Not that you select one unknown quantity of a "ranker", and go to town with, 'UNIBADAN emerges best in Nigeria...'
Don't be an agent of half-truth or sheer fabrication or baloney...
It is likely that the writer of the index Thisday report is either a UNIBADAN or UNN apologist, since the silly ranking got him/her thoroughly gratified...
I refer you to the websites of the most authoritative ranking bodies..
1. http://www.4icu.org/topAfrica/
2. http://www.webometrics.info/en/Ranking_africa...
Note that neither UNIBADAN or UNN, let alone ABU feature as the first two or three in Nigeria....
An utterly nonsensical ranking!!!!!!
Linda, #DELETE!!!!

seyi crown said...

Yeah am prove to b a student of ibandan

Yesssssssss o, dats d premier university 4 u

Flakkietaurus said...

Shut up

hahaa Uniben students be getting possed ryt nw*lwkm*
its nt by dis list oo by ur IQ

Dig a grave and bury ursef........UNN is one of the best

No b only unibe,na uniLIB.

Painment

UniBen no follow naa, that one na school? Even Ekpoma better pass uniben.

My post-secondary school is not there...i mean university of Abuja

Y nt come up wit ur own list and let us see how credible urs will be...

Great...

Anon God bless you,Ekpoma is way better than uniben,even Auchi poly better pass uniben!

Vote for labzy na him head dey dere... Aghohowa kan Tedder kan...

Use d nearest transformer

And my skul is 3rd best in Nigeria and No18 in Africa. Am so proud of my skul Ahmadu Bello University

Greatest Uites!!! Great. Am proud of my University, UI.

Ladi said...

I am so disappointed with so called researchers that come up with clueless rankings. My question is who did the rankings? It is abnormal to say rankings are derived from publications and citations between 2010-2014. Even the most recognised global university rankings tagged QS World University Rankings which is compiled by www.topuniversities.com conducts its global university rankings annually. The so called researchers of this rankings here on this blog are even scared to publish their names because the rankings are rubbish and fictitious.

up skool!

Absu nko?

Hi Linda i don't no what you mean by covenant uni being the only private uni on that list but your are very mistaken, because there are other private uni on that list, so please get your facts right and don't be too lazy to go through the entire listing.

Thumbs up

Absu nko?

Absu nko?

queen of hearts said...

Great!

Greateeeeeeest "KATANGITE"........Greatesssst "UITE"

Dilapidated structures???? Have you ever been to UI...or you are just being plain stupid!??

No mind dem,watz their basis for selecting

Emeka Emeritus said...

Daalu Bonario.

Yaaaay! Unique Uniport

Hahahahaha una still carry labzy matter reach here???? Lmao!

Ure mouthed, sure a lion is always ahead!

I totally agree with you. I'm in Australia and most of the good doctors are from University of Ibadan.

I doubt you know what dilapidated actually means.

I remember Prof Labinjo. What about Prof Olofin and Soyibo of Economics department?University of Ibadan has great lecturers .

kelechi said...

i hear pesin dey say UNIBEN suppose enter. Wait when them release best University in areas of cultism,i bet you it will be first

NA LIE JOOR,MAYBE DEM OMIT ONE SKOOL,HOW CAN U NOT FIND UNIBEN AMONG D BEST UNIVERSITY IN NAIJA,E BE LIKE SAY DEM DON CARRY POLITICS ENTER RANKING OF UNIVERSITY AGAIN.NOTHIN M,Y AFRICA BRODA WEY DEY ON TOP NO FIT DO
(WHEN U MENTION UNI 4 NAIJA AND U NO CALL UNIBEN,THEN KNW DAT U RE TALKIN TRASH OR GARBAGE)

Innocentia Annie said...

Nice ranging
But who did the ranking?

ABOKI,i no blame u,u still dey vex say uniben no give u admision say u no qualify 4 admission.learn to 4give nd move on wt life

WHICH DOLAPO DEY DO D RANKING,WHO IS RANKING WHO(Y EVERYBODY DEY BEEF UNIBEN)U GUYS OMIT UNIBEN,I SMELL A RAT

where is Segun, which is your university? mad man calling Michael Okpara university of Agriculture Umudike Useless school. i have small time today. anuofia.

Covenant is way better

Hahaha....my dear that is not a school

Hehe.....pele...

Elijah said...

ABUsites is what we call ourselves, Naturally ahead of you. #ABU_ZARIA no be moi-moi

Oladosu Olaleye said...

Wow!... University of Ibadan still remains THE FIRST AND THE BEST

All this your condescending affectation towards Ibadan! Please, what's the name of your hometown. Oh, wait, i don't care

And mind you, U.I is a Federal institution, with no quota system. That means its not an ''Ibadan'' thing. The lecturers and students comprise individuals from across the nation, based on merit. "So, Ibadan people, una well done O. I am proud of you", doesn't make sense.

Great...........................!

Y envy...lol..pple sha

U sure say na Ibadan u go?...

Y envy...pple sha

What a prudent assersion.

Emotions said...

Yay great uites 👍

The ranking is not cited because it's from an incredible source. Covenant is still the best according to Webometric 2015

Eagle Eyes Media said...

@Rosie, and you didn't learn the usage of punctuation marks in this UI.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Reasonable action.

Etsako Pearl said...

Lmao.Did u mean proud??

Omotayo said...

Probitas doctrina 6th...

1st in Nigeria, 8th in Africa and which number in the world ??... When the best university in Afrcia is like number 2000 in the world ...Lolllx Maybe UI will be like number 16000....lolllx Africa has a long way to go to catch up with the world , I hope it will get there in the next century ...

We reppin d republic of malabor

Ui is nt proud of u

Bad belle o! Celebrate, don't hate, its a credit to all of us!!!! My alma mata!!!

Tufiakwa...pls return the kpali you graduated with abeg. You can't be a product of UI

then don start again.. na so dem talk say nigeria na the fastest growing economy

Anthony Usoro said...

Disappointed at the reviews. cant we have a nigerian university as the first 5 or even more than one nigerian university at the first 10. i think we live and celebrate too much mediocrity....this is africa and what would we say if we get to first 20 in the world...we need to wake up.

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Correct!☺ UI UI UI!

CU...#proudeagle

Naria said...

COVENANT UNIVERSITY THE BEST PRIVATE SCHOOL IN NIGERIA! I'M SO PROUD :D

Greatest Akokite.....great