University of Cape Town is number one in Africa, followed by Cairo University, then the University of Pretoria comes third in the Top 10 Universities in Africa. The rest are 3 more from South Africa, two from Egypt, one from Kenya and one from Nigeria (university of Lagos).
Top Universities in Nigeria
1. University of Ibadan - (8th in Africa)
2. University of Nigeria, Nsukka (13th in Africa)
3. Ahmadu Bello University (18th in Africa)
4. University of Lagos (20th in Africa)
5. Obafemi Awolowo University (24th in Africa)
6. University of Ilorin (31st in Africa )
7. University of Port Harcourt (36th in Africa)
6. Nnamdi Azikiwe University (42nd in Africa)
7. University of Calabar (43rd in Africa)
8. Federal University of Technology, Akure (49th in Africa),
9. Covenant University (53rd in Africa) (only private university)
149 comments:
Evenly the best... Thumbs up
Meenah_wakil on Instagram and snapchat
STIL TRYIN TO KIP DE FLAG FLYING...GUD ONE...TOMJERRYSWIT
When ever it comes to educational aspect,i give it to westerners. Well deserved.
Wow! Nice one. .. We need more of dat....
When ever it comes to educational aspect,i give it to the westerners. Well deserved.
With their dilapidated structures?
Wonders shall never end.
It's worth it.
Get the car of your dreams with ease. Click here now to begin the process
Yeepee! At all at all na imm bad pass... I can see my Alma mater in the 8th ranking! Great futarians! GREAT!!!!
Awww! My Alma Mater the great University of Nigeria Nsukka came second.
Trust her to return to her normal first position when next the ranking is published.
A Lion is ahead of you naturally.
UNN or Unilag ?.
Greatest Uites!!!!!
Hehehehe! Where is my UNIZIK na?
Linda cogitate
Where is university of Benin?
Madam, your breakdown analysis says university of Lagos.?
Lol.
UI is soooo different from Ibadan ...
Lol FUTY should be no 10
NAU 8th in Nigeria and 42nd in the world is not such a bad thing!!
Wow.....this is interesting. But we can do better.
Wow....that's very nice!
Proud of my Alma mater UNIZIK
And this research was done by which organization?. Surely it is not credible.
Fallacy
Ui to UNN?
Shit!!!
Nonsense and ingredient
I must comment here Aunty Linda, please can someone help me tell baba go slow to better relocate his people called boko haram back to the north where they belong(muslims) or better still to the west, Anambra of all places? In Orubebes' voice PMB is biased, he is tribalistic, he is selective. Nobody in his/her right senses should insult me. #angryface#
Rubbish ranking
unilag should nt b on dat list..
na mouth dem get...
university of first choice my foot.
Ooya nah........Omo ibadan kin Shoow.......
University of Abuja should be the last or better not appear.mtcheww
OAU!!! What happened now? Used to be that Cairo Uni was first and OAU second years back.
Wao....... UI...
Stupid list. What was the criteria?
Yep...we repping
good for ibadan and proudly ibadan people
Keep it up covenant university proud of u
U don dey type rubbish....university of lagos in top 10? Abi university of ibadan?
Woooooooow! Congrats to my Ibadan brothers and sisters. Linda take note!
Chai! See how OAU come far! And they're showing us pepper o!
Woooooooow! Congrats to my Ibadan brothers and sisters. Linda take note!
Uniport Repping
Greatest FUTARIAN
My beloved Uniben, wey u na??
Where is University of Benin?
It goes without saying that University of Ibadan is the best university in Nigeria. For me, that is the only university you can trust today to produce thorough-bred intellectuals and professionals. Young or old, they are the most purpose-driven and disciplined set of young people I have met. I'm proud of my Akoka but UI has a rich tradition I admire so much. UI's best is yet to come on the African ranking though.
What is the source of this publication. There are so many bodies doing ranking out there, and the rankings say different things. I think citing the source will help a lot.
Where is University of Benin in that list?
na lie jare...Babcock is the best private sch in Africa, I wonder why covenant keeps making the list
What of uniben???
1st and the best and the very best course of study there is probably Sociology where are the 2002 set if you pass through Labinjo, Omololu , etc then you know what I'm talking about
University of illorin peeps b shoutin beta by far....4 una small minds.....hehe..
Nice one to have my institution of only 13 years of existence present. Please what's the source of this information?
Nice one for University of Ibadan, Looking forward to having more Nigerian Universities in the top-ten list
Greatest malabites n malabresses
Don't agree wit d research,where is UNIBEN????
I site my uni..
Proud to be A UITES! #The First and The Best.
ONCE A UITES, ALWAYS A UITES!
AGHAHOWA SAID SO...*WINK*
Greatest Abusite!!!!!
cool
ITS THE PREMIER UNIVERSITY AND IT REMAINS THE FATHER OF ALL!!UP SCHOOOOOOOOOL!!!!!
I rep UI
So our private universities ain't recognized lmao!
Ohh Yes!!!We rock...Greatest UIte in d ouse..Greeeeaaaaaatttttttt....
Greatest Uites
Yes o!!!!! I rep!
Where does that leave university of jos?
On what criteria? na forbe abi TMZ put dis list together? NEXT!
Shit ranking!!!!!!!!
University of Benin, Benin city was 27th on the list and therefore 6th in Nigeria.
I disbelieve dis list
That's my university am proud of university of nigeria nsukka 13th
I see my university of Nigeria.......... How and when did we get to the second position, that's some great news mehn
gud i rep UNICAL tho evn tho
Unilorin, sliding down the hill!
Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......
What's the name of the group ranking them? Which ranking is this?
Aha! My belove Covenant University (53rd in Africa) (only private university), I see dis school b d first in Africa in time to come.
dats very good,but like my lecturers will say"der ar only 2 Universities in Nigeria,University of Lagos(university of 1st choice)& others"
Utter rubbish!!!!
Linda, I am totally disappointed in you, OR YOU JUST WANT TO STIR CONTROVERSY...
You failed to let us in on WHO THE RANKING BODY IS, and what scientific and verifiable yardstick or parameters used for the so-called ranking...
There are quite a number of bodies that rank educational institutions in Africa, but the best known and authoritative are 4ICU and Webometric...
Each one does its own ranking based on its unique parameters...
Not a few of them, even currently, rank the University of Lagos as the number one in Nigeria...
But you failed to report it...
Now a pretender of a ranking body has come with its own so-called ranking and you are quick to parrot it on LIB....
You fall my hand big time, my dear Linda...
UNIBADAN may chronologically speaking, be the first, but it is by no means the best university in Nigeria (let alone UNN or ABU)!!
To know the best, first identify the various ranking bodies...
They are quite a number...
Then identify the leading Nigerian universities listed thereon and then proceed to highlight their rankings on those platforms...
Then take their averages...
Not that you select one unknown quantity of a "ranker", and go to town with, 'UNIBADAN emerges best in Nigeria...'
Don't be an agent of half-truth or sheer fabrication or baloney...
It is likely that the writer of the index Thisday report is either a UNIBADAN or UNN apologist, since the silly ranking got him/her thoroughly gratified...
I refer you to the websites of the most authoritative ranking bodies..
1. http://www.4icu.org/topAfrica/
2. http://www.webometrics.info/en/Ranking_africa...
Note that neither UNIBADAN or UNN, let alone ABU feature as the first two or three in Nigeria....
An utterly nonsensical ranking!!!!!!
Linda, #DELETE!!!!
Yeah am prove to b a student of ibandan
Yesssssssss o, dats d premier university 4 u
Shut up
hahaa Uniben students be getting possed ryt nw*lwkm*
its nt by dis list oo by ur IQ
Dig a grave and bury ursef........UNN is one of the best
No b only unibe,na uniLIB.
Painment
UniBen no follow naa, that one na school? Even Ekpoma better pass uniben.
My post-secondary school is not there...i mean university of Abuja
Y nt come up wit ur own list and let us see how credible urs will be...
Great...
Anon God bless you,Ekpoma is way better than uniben,even Auchi poly better pass uniben!
Vote for labzy na him head dey dere... Aghohowa kan Tedder kan...
Use d nearest transformer
And my skul is 3rd best in Nigeria and No18 in Africa. Am so proud of my skul Ahmadu Bello University
Greatest Uites!!! Great. Am proud of my University, UI.
I am so disappointed with so called researchers that come up with clueless rankings. My question is who did the rankings? It is abnormal to say rankings are derived from publications and citations between 2010-2014. Even the most recognised global university rankings tagged QS World University Rankings which is compiled by www.topuniversities.com conducts its global university rankings annually. The so called researchers of this rankings here on this blog are even scared to publish their names because the rankings are rubbish and fictitious.
up skool!
Absu nko?
Hi Linda i don't no what you mean by covenant uni being the only private uni on that list but your are very mistaken, because there are other private uni on that list, so please get your facts right and don't be too lazy to go through the entire listing.
Thumbs up
Absu nko?
Absu nko?
Great!
Greateeeeeeest "KATANGITE"........Greatesssst "UITE"
Dilapidated structures???? Have you ever been to UI...or you are just being plain stupid!??
No mind dem,watz their basis for selecting
Daalu Bonario.
Yaaaay! Unique Uniport
Hahahahaha una still carry labzy matter reach here???? Lmao!
Ure mouthed, sure a lion is always ahead!
I totally agree with you. I'm in Australia and most of the good doctors are from University of Ibadan.
I doubt you know what dilapidated actually means.
I remember Prof Labinjo. What about Prof Olofin and Soyibo of Economics department?University of Ibadan has great lecturers .
i hear pesin dey say UNIBEN suppose enter. Wait when them release best University in areas of cultism,i bet you it will be first
NA LIE JOOR,MAYBE DEM OMIT ONE SKOOL,HOW CAN U NOT FIND UNIBEN AMONG D BEST UNIVERSITY IN NAIJA,E BE LIKE SAY DEM DON CARRY POLITICS ENTER RANKING OF UNIVERSITY AGAIN.NOTHIN M,Y AFRICA BRODA WEY DEY ON TOP NO FIT DO
(WHEN U MENTION UNI 4 NAIJA AND U NO CALL UNIBEN,THEN KNW DAT U RE TALKIN TRASH OR GARBAGE)
Nice ranging
But who did the ranking?
ABOKI,i no blame u,u still dey vex say uniben no give u admision say u no qualify 4 admission.learn to 4give nd move on wt life
WHICH DOLAPO DEY DO D RANKING,WHO IS RANKING WHO(Y EVERYBODY DEY BEEF UNIBEN)U GUYS OMIT UNIBEN,I SMELL A RAT
where is Segun, which is your university? mad man calling Michael Okpara university of Agriculture Umudike Useless school. i have small time today. anuofia.
Covenant is way better
Hahaha....my dear that is not a school
Hehe.....pele...
ABUsites is what we call ourselves, Naturally ahead of you. #ABU_ZARIA no be moi-moi
Wow!... University of Ibadan still remains THE FIRST AND THE BEST
All this your condescending affectation towards Ibadan! Please, what's the name of your hometown. Oh, wait, i don't care
And mind you, U.I is a Federal institution, with no quota system. That means its not an ''Ibadan'' thing. The lecturers and students comprise individuals from across the nation, based on merit. "So, Ibadan people, una well done O. I am proud of you", doesn't make sense.
Great...........................!
Y envy...lol..pple sha
U sure say na Ibadan u go?...
Y envy...pple sha
What a prudent assersion.
Yay great uites 👍
The ranking is not cited because it's from an incredible source. Covenant is still the best according to Webometric 2015
@Rosie, and you didn't learn the usage of punctuation marks in this UI.
Reasonable action.
Lmao.Did u mean proud??
Probitas doctrina 6th...
1st in Nigeria, 8th in Africa and which number in the world ??... When the best university in Afrcia is like number 2000 in the world ...Lolllx Maybe UI will be like number 16000....lolllx Africa has a long way to go to catch up with the world , I hope it will get there in the next century ...
We reppin d republic of malabor
Ui is nt proud of u
Bad belle o! Celebrate, don't hate, its a credit to all of us!!!! My alma mata!!!
Tufiakwa...pls return the kpali you graduated with abeg. You can't be a product of UI
then don start again.. na so dem talk say nigeria na the fastest growing economy
Disappointed at the reviews. cant we have a nigerian university as the first 5 or even more than one nigerian university at the first 10. i think we live and celebrate too much mediocrity....this is africa and what would we say if we get to first 20 in the world...we need to wake up.
Correct!☺ UI UI UI!
CU...#proudeagle
COVENANT UNIVERSITY THE BEST PRIVATE SCHOOL IN NIGERIA! I'M SO PROUD :D
Greatest Akokite.....great