NFF confirms Sunday Oliseh as new Super Eagles coach, appoint Dutch Assistant | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 9 July 2015

NFF confirms Sunday Oliseh as new Super Eagles coach, appoint Dutch Assistant

The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, has confirmed that former Nigeria international football player, Sunday Oliseh will coach the Super Eagles with a team that will include a Dutch man as an assistant.
A manager close to Oliseh in Europe, confirmed this on Wednesday that the former Eagles captain had accepted the job offer and would work with an assistant from Europe.
He said,
“I can confirm that Sunny has accepted the offer and he will be working with an assistant coming down from Europe as well.”
On Wednesday, the NFF confirmed they were in talks with the Belgium-based Nigerian to replace Stephen Keshi, who was kicked out as Eagles coach on Saturday. Oliseh met with NFF president Amaju Pinnick and Austin Jay Jay Okocha in London on Tuesday.
ADVERTISEMENT

The NFF added that Oliseh would come with a “foreign technical assistant, whose job description will centre around development programmes, and working with clubs’ youth teams and certified academies towards developing the game from the grassroots.

“Current stand-in coach Salisu Yusuf will also be in the new team, but with greater devotion to the home-based team, otherwise known as Super Eagles B, and will be the interface between the technical crew and the home boys.”

From the details of the package being finalised, Oliseh is expected to come up with a five-year developmental plan “to fashion a unique playing and coaching philosophy for all the national teams, and will for this purpose, interface regularly with coaches of those teams.

Punch

77 comments:

Waooo congratulations man.. all the best as u reign.

Yeaaaaaaaaaaaa

Meenora said...

Congratulations. May God 'engrace' you for the job.

Olise my man...congrats

ASHANKA said...

OK COOL

Congrats to him. Hope he delivers.

Congratz

Nameless said...

What a nice move from NFF. Thank God they didn't hire a foreign coach

Adetunji Saka said...

Best of luck!

"Slow and steady wins d race"

Congrats to him.. I wish him d best

congrats to him

Oliseh? Disaster!

Damilola said...

Hmm hope things don't come crashing down soon

I hope he can handle the team cos his got some bad ego from record..

Meenah_wakil on instagram nd snapchat

I hope he can handle the team cos his got some bad ego from record..

Meenah_wakil on instagram nd snapchat

For window blinds and curtains please call 08160856785.

A big congrats to oliseh..nice one NFF..

Congrats to him

Thought they said Olisa Metuh

Congrats to him... Oliseh 🍒

FRESH said...

He's a very intelligent young man & knowledgeable in modern football.That Keshi guy didn't know jack about besides speaking fake Amercan phonetics.Wish him success.

obietrezy said...

You don dey smile now but when e go happen you won't be looking this fresh again ni...... Wish you luck...... Jor oh

Collins said...

congrats chop ur money.....pls click on my name

Candygirl said...

Not bad..

molebaba said...

The first time am having this positive instinct with about NFF decisions in my life!

NARUTO said...

Wish him well.

Good one! For once I'm with NFF on this decision, let's take politics out of football.

SWILL MARTIN said...

Niceeeee soft nigga

Jojo said...

Nice....they should perform well

Faith Eze's Blog said...

Good for him

Good luck

#Iamwest said...

A good development!!! We love sunday

Oliseh sounds fine in my ears

hocee said...

Dey av na na sacked Stephen koshi.....Eya!!! Xo our new coach offer valid while stock last ..T&C applied.... dem go still sack u too

Congrats to him.

meggy said...

good for them.

Wow! Good news at last, thank you Jesus. I believe in Sunday Oliseh, the dude is sound tactically and he would take us to the promised land.

Can't stand dis Amaju! He's an arrogant bastard! I can imagine him without money lousy ugly bended mouth, he doesn't have respect for anybody because he feels he's arrived forgetting God and life can humble him in a twinkle of an eye.... very soon same Amaju will be sack, mark today's date

Cngrats to him....Do ur best

'Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Congrats Oliseh! Many Nigerians are rooting for you. Wish you a successful tenure, and may you not be disgraced like Keshi

Congrats 2 him.....

Hmmmmmmmm. At last! My former ex sch mate, Tessy Oliseh elder brother is now Super Eagle coach......

I wish him well, and all d best thereof. Thumbs up, and more power to his elbows. Congrats!

Woooooooow! A very big plus for us. Congrats to him. Linda take note!

Hmmmmmmmm. At last! My former ex sch mate, Tessy Oliseh elder brother is now Super Eagle coach......

I wish him well, and all d best thereof. Thumbs up, and more power to his elbows. Congrats!

I think the NFF made a good choice! Sunday Oliseh has the experience to lead the team!!!

Beon said...

Nice, at last he's been recognized!

I think the NFF made a good choice! Sunday Oliseh has the experience to lead the team!!!

Congrats To Oliseh Sunday I wish you the best of Luck

Hope he'll be our 9ja Pep and deliver trophies....wish him all d best.

Nice one #S.O.....i believe in dis dude

They will kick him out same way they did to the former coach.

Etsako Pearl said...

Awwww!
Congrats my old crush......Hope u make us proud.....

CONGRATS TO HIM....TOMJERRYSWIT

Dis is what Keshi lacked d ability to give us a plan for Nigeria football and when dis wus noticed he did not allow d NFF help him in dis regards.As much as m not carried by Oliseh to cause of his arrogance, he has exposure just as Keshi but might just b able to apply dis exposure to d national team better than Keshi.Also we shouldn't look away from d fact that Dis idiots dat ve come to coach us over time brought Mafia and indiscipline to d team during their days as Captains and players of d national team.The highly influential DELTA MAFIA those days comprising of Keshi,Siasia, Oliseh and Okocha determined who played and who did not play.This wus aside Amockachi's individual influence on d team through Gen.Abacha.They destroyed what's Westerhof and Bonfere Jo used years to build with their fight for control over d national team in d areas of selection.Now they all have come to coach d national team and they want to Command respect and instill discipline in d team when they where indisciplined during there own days.Oliseh u surely get served, keshi,Siasia, Eguaveon and Amockachi all got served. I wish u all d best all d same.Lets c if u coaching skills is beyound d Super sports analyst centre

Good. Best of luck.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Congrats to him
""

Let's see how this will pan out!! Looks good on the surface. Good luck to him

Congrats to him. hope he delivers super eagles from never winning syndrome.

Congratulations man

Does he have the coaching experience... More of a rookie if you ask me?

Former ex?? Issokay

Is it not this guy that at a time said he was not interested in playing for Nigeria again? He get Patrotism so?

Hmmmmmmmm. At last! My ex sch mate, Tessy Oliseh elder brother is now Super Eagle coach......

Not a bad idea though

Good, he's the right man for the Job. Congrats to him.

TALK is cheap congrats oliseh but try not to lose A single mAtch nigeriAns Are very impAtient

congrats to oliseh i hope he delivers bigtime

Mr. Stretch said...

Royal priesthood: tessy was ur 'former-ex-schoolmate' so what??!!!! You have posted that crap more than 3times. Get a life buddy!! Don't let it start and end here! #copythat

Mr. Stretch said...

Thanks for the insight!! My thoughts exactly!! #copythat

does he have any form of experience; has he coached any football team before(even a high school team)?

Arsenal said...

I love it. A big congrats.

NFA keeps getting it wrong again and again. Any coach that will successfully handle the Nigerian team must have world class experience, track record of success and proven technical and tactical competence. The absence of these factors means NFA will keep going round in circles. NFA should rather develop a long term strategies including sponsorship of many of our indigenous aspiring coaches to FIFA certified Grade A courses abroad to expose them to state of the art coaching techniques and upon their return they take charge of building our local soccer to world class standard .

Oliseh don hammer

Whoever was appointed, we need good result, not failure!