Five Nigerian students detained in Malaysia over alleged N125.2m Internet fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 6 July 2015

Five Nigerian students detained in Malaysia over alleged N125.2m Internet fraud

A Malaysian court has ordered the detention of five Nigerian students in Malysia for their alleged involvement in a N125.2m (RM2.4 million) internet fraud in Selangor & Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

According to local media reports, the 5 Nigerian students who are between the ages of 20 and 30 are undergraduates pursuing a degree in Information Technology in a leading University Kuala Lumpur. They were arrested on June 30, 2015.

A Malaysian police chief ACP Azmi Adam while speaking on their arrest said two women have been arrested for providing their bank accounts for the syndicates to use in doing their illicit business. He stated that five laptops, 20 hand phones, ATM cards, SIM cards and documents believed to have been used to con their victims were seized from the men.

The men were arrested after one of their victims, a 62-year-old businessman alerted the police after receiving a suspicious email in March informing him that he was among 50 recipients selected to receive RM15.9 million from the government of the United States.
"The e-mail requested the victim to follow certain procedures to ensure he did not miss the opportunity. Convinced by the contents of the e-mail, the victim carried out 51 transactions involving money, to accounts numbers given by the syndicate before realising it was a scam. He later lodged a police report,” the police chief said.

87 comments:

Shuuuu!
Wahala don gasp 4 dem side
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#2

Nigerian abroad r always on d news for bad stuffs.... God help us so dat we gone be real and true ambassadors of dis great nation any where we find ourselves. ...

Na so, the world is moving so fast now and only the fast ones enjoys the race.

And this guy's know very well that Malay has zero tolerance for drug, fraud etc and yet they are in for business.

Amaka.u.l said...

Choi,na wa o

Disgrace to motherland
Linda look alike

Na wa ooo

Double wahala

AKIN said...

prison awaits you all......
bad nigga always giving us bad name

Nigerians be committing crimes everywhere

GUD 4 dem IF NOT DRUGS DEN ITS SCAM...TOmjERRYSWIT

When will Nigerians learn?

Adetunji Saka said...

Some think some crimes that are sometimes taken for granted in Naija can be overlooked outside but hey laws are well abided and they stiff and tough punishment for anyone that breaks it. Hopefully, some that are in the same act will learn from their stupid and nonchalant attitude. Our parents work hard here to give some of us the best education that some people lack and yet these is how some idiot pay them. Bad ambassadors!

"Slow and steady wins d race"

Ha ba nigerians o

Lotto guys self no wan gree o! Oya nah...2.4m...*Slow clap*

ewo oooo

Hmm
You reap what you sow.

LOOK AT YOUNG STUDENTS WITH BRIGHT FUTURE. THEY NOW WANT TO END THE REST OF THEIR LIVES IN JAIL JUST BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT PATIENT ENOUGH TO MAKE MONEY. GET RICH QUICK SYNDROME IS WORRYING THEM. STMCHEW

51 transactions? R ppl really dat gullible? As for d Nigerians dey caught, dey should pray dey don't get executed. Dave

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Feel sorry for them.

Why dis our children no dey hear word sef. I hope dey get out of dis one. Linda take note!

EVEN IF YOU WANT TO GET RICH QUICK, MUST YOU DUPE PEOPLE??? WHY CANT YOU WORK HARD FOR IT? ONLY LAZY AND IRRESPONSIBLE MEN DUPE PEOPLE & I PITY THEY GIRLS THAT MARRY SUCH MEN. STMCHEW

ALL THESE FOOLISH BOYS GIVING NIGERIA BAD NAME ABROAD, IT WILL NOT BE WELL WITH YOU. IDIOTS!

I wonder why the Malaysian authorities can't kick alll tjhse wayward Nigerians who are in their country out. 70% of Nigerian youth in Malaysia are either into drugs,fraud and even prostitution. Enough is enough. The embarassment is hitting the roof. Kick them out. Nonsense!!

EVEN IF UNA WAN DO 419, NA THIS KIND DANGEROUS COUNTRY, MALAYSIA NA UNA COME DEY DO 419? UNA NO FEAR. UNA GET LIVER OH. MALAYSIA WEY DEY EXECUTE PRISONERS ANYHOW. GOOD LUCK!

zicog said...

Firsly: Linda tell day idiot to remove dat bayern jersey.
Secondly;dat 62yr old man should b jailed 4 wanting to reap where he did nt sow.
Thirdly:dey should 4gv those students and send dem back home,(na naija way of making earnsmeat)

What happened to freedom of business? ....

EVEN IF UNA WAN DO 419, NA THIS KIND DANGEROUS COUNTRY, MALAYSIA NA UNA COME DEY DO 419? UNA NO FEAR. UNA GET LIVER OH. MALAYSIA WEY DEY EXECUTE PRISONERS ANYHOW. GOOD LUCK!

Please guys let's stop all these na

Dollar Tree said...

They will never listen. Fraudsters mtweeee

Allybrownny said...

Make una easy there una nor go hear word..

They got caught! If they had made out with that money ehn?! E for sweet!

Nigerians sha ! I was in the country for my Masters and common .. a lot of Nigerians just do shot and mess up the name of our great country Nigeria .. Drugs, scams, rape and even they sleep with each other's wives and girlfriends , i remember back then in 2013 .. loads of single Nigerian girls travel to Malaysia for prostitution .. Very sick Nigerian out there to ruin the image of Nigeria .. God help us... Femisaysso

And they keep giving Nigeria a bad image.......

Zombie huntress said...

Busted!

Nigerians sef, and these useless Malaysian authorities are so brutal. Hope they won't kill dem evetually

Sorry guyz but dat money 2 much dat.

This people will just keep on spoiling Nigeria's rep all around.........

Nuelcode

Poor brats
Instead of dem to read

Pls they should arrest the so called "victim"too.he is a thief.all these young boys and their get rich quick tactics.they should go and ask all those 419 men of those days how far now.

Collins said...

Hope they investigate them well....please click on my name

Innocentia Annie said...

And they'll come back to 9ja
And be flaunting the money like mad
Good for them
They're totally busted

Biafrauds. Even if other tribes are involved its only biafrauds dt will dupe, u buy yellow convertible, wear red suit & proceed to shout all over d place & laugh at d mugus. Then they catch them. Who is d real mugu? Disgracing us up and down. Everyone now knows naijas as fraudsters.

I would have loved to have names and see dia pictures! Bad brodas spoiling our names!

That is the life of many Nigerians in Malaysia. Yahoo, such nuisance.

Malay boys! Chi ojoo..... u will soon come out brothers.

9ja boys are always representing....

Igbo's am sure.

They should b punished accordingly so dat it wil serve as deterrent to others.

Nicole said...

What kinda old school scam is this ? I thought yahoo boys had upgraded their antics and left this low level scam for the likes of MTN and Co.

Awon Omo Wobee

Nigeria. They like to disgrace us, ibo must be among

Mummy JJ said...

Na wa o,this people will never change.may God help us

They are finished....

chai...dem boys are not smiling at all

Execution in waiting if found guilty. As long as this people will not stop to tarnish the image of working hard Nigerians, they must pay for their crime.

bad government in Nigeria is d course of all dis disgrace upon her citizens abroad, poorvert nd hunger in Nigeria, corruption

Nigerians in diaspora should stop embarrasing us na. Nawah!

deardamsel said...

Malaysian govt don't forgive o...kai see these guys o...harsh judgement ....

They should b punished accordingly to serve as deterrent to others.

you guys keep talking, more grease to Nigerian Guys, God bless the hussle,

When Jesus comes !

God punish you there...is it only Igbos ? Tribalistic goat

Nigerians guys nawah oo

Ta keep quite there ,the nigeria politicians and leaders ,so they are working hard by money laundry and stealing money and stashin dem
Abroad

Ewu keep quite and say what u know ,is only drug dealers they excute

Ewu keep quite ,you went there for your masters who pay your school fees ,the once the aso rock occupiers do is called what ewu

Ewu and nigeria leaders wey dey chop
Our moneyyafu yafu ahe be left alone

This Ewu boy shut the f...k up if you have nothing meaningful to say. I hope you get caught and continue screaming Ewu behind bars. Dumb ass.

Good for them

Deal with them just they way they have dealt with many people around the world and cause countless people pain.

kazhbone said...

i don't blame my nigerian brothers ooo. How is it that you never had any dealings directly with the US government and all of a sudden ,you want to collect RM51.9million. the police should also arrest the man because he too is an accomplice to the crime. The victim is a greedy man. I am sure that if he was told by those nigerian guys to come on board to defraud another person, he would join them without restraint. Please arrest them all and stop calling naija boys the criminals.

Not only malaysia o even in cairo and ghana! Fucking thieves.....

ALL THOSE SAYING IT IS BECAUSE OF BAD NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT SHOULD SHUT UP BECAUSE A CHILD THAT WANTS TO BE BAD WILL BE BAD, THE ONE THAT WANTS TO BE GOOD WILL BE GOOD. SO LEAVE MATTER

they should jai the accuser for falling for such scamss.. its all greed

Joyce Chikito said...

Hahahahha! Did u say is naija way of making ends meet? Are u a fraudster too.. don't take it personal...!

Joyce Chikito said...

Hahahhahaha! Did u say is naija way of making ends meet? Are u a fraudster too? Don't take it personal...!

Joyce Chikito said...

Did u say representing?

Joyce Chikito said...

Aren't u stupid for such comment?

Joyce Chikito said...

That is not the spirit of brotherhood. Don't comment in such manner

Joyce Chikito said...

The true story be say, diz music no be today. As for those of you making tribal sentiments, that is not the spirit of brotherhood!.

I don't know why Nigerian like disgracing us