Buhari laments state of Nigeria’s military | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 9 July 2015

Buhari laments state of Nigeria’s military

Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari has for the first time met those campaigning for the release of more than 200 girls abducted by Islamist Boko Haram militants last year. His predecessor, Goodluck Jonathan, declined to meet the Bring Back Our Girls activists.

Buhari promised them that troops for a regional force to fight the militants would be in place by the end of July. The kidnap of the girls from a school in Chibok sparked global outrage. 
The president also regretted that Nigerian army known for its military finesse in the sub African region has been unable to rout out the Boko haram in Nigeria.
The President hosted a delegation of 'Bring Back Our Girls' led by Dr. Oby Ezekwesili and Mrs. Mariam Uwaise at the presidential Villa in furtherance of their campaign for the release of over 200 abducted Chibok girls from Borno State.

Responding to the 13 points demand by the group, President Buhari regretted what he described as the conflicting reports of the terrorist attacks, saying that the delayed response by the former government encouraged the escalated attacks and promised to rebuild the ravaged communities.
The mass abduction sparked one of the biggest social media campaigns of 2014, with the Twitter hashtag #BringBackOurGirls being used more than five million times.
Boko Haram has stepped up attacks since Mr Buhari took office in May vowing to tackle the insurgency "head on".
The Nigerian military has said it has arrested "the mastermind" behind two recent attacks on the northern towns of Jos and Zaria in which almost 70 people were killed.
Addressing members of the Bring Back Our Girls campaign group and the media, the president said that the government was doing all it could to tackle insecurity, but did not refer directly to the 219 Chibok girls abducted in April 2014.
Earlier, the activists had marched through the capital, Abuja, on their way meet Mr Buhari at his official residence.

One of the founders of the Bring Back Our Girls campaign group told the BBC that "there was no time left" for the government to act.
"The rescue of the Chibok girls would be the strongest statement this government could make for having respect for the sanctity and dignity of every Nigerian life," said Oby Ezekwesili.

In his speech, Mr Buhari spoke of the "paradox" of Nigeria asking its neighbours for help, despite itself providing help to so many other countries in the past.
"How the mighty have fallen," he said.

The president criticised the previous government's "incompetence" in dealing with the kidnapping and the broader Boko Haram insurgency.
Nigeria, Chad, Cameroon, Niger and Benin are all expected to provide troops for the 7,500-strong regional task force to tackle Boko Haram.
The force will be led by Nigeria but have its headquarters in the Chadian capital, N'Djamena.

The Chibok schoolgirls have not been seen since last May when Boko Haram released a video of around 130 of them gathered together reciting the Koran.

President Buhari gave a detailed account of the efforts to end insurgency in Nigeria and assured the country that there's no lost hope.
“I think you will agree that the present government take the issue very seriously. Within a week of being sworn in, I visited Niger, Chad and would have visited Cameroon but for the invitation of the G7 to go to Germany and listen to them. I’m very impressed with the leadership of this important group (G7) other than the United Nations itself. They are very concerned about the security in Nigeria led by abduction of the Chibok girls by the terrorists.
“When the terrorists announced  their loyalty to ISIS, the whole attention again was brought squarely to Nigeria. And now we are rated with Afghanistan, Iraq and Syria , this is very unfortunate.
“After Ramadan, I will visit Cameroon to see the President there and then Benin Republic. But on the efforts we have been making, we will not disclose some of them publicly because it  will not be consistent with security. But I assure you that under the Lake Chad Basin Commission, the military have met. The ministers of defence have met. We the presidents have met here in Abuja except the President of Cameroon who was represented by his Minister of Defence.
“Strategy and tactics have been drawn. Multinational taskforce has been put in place more or less with headquarters in Ndjamina with a Nigerian General as Commander. The troops delegated by each of the countries are to be put in place by the end of the month. And Nigeria, I assure you  will do its best because we as I said are the battle ground and we are being helped by our neighbors”, he said.
“It is paradoxical what the Nigerian military has achieved from Burma to Zaire to Liberia to Sierra Leon to Sudan. But Nigeria has now to be helped by Niger, Chad, and Cameroon. How are the mighty fallen!
“We will do our best to restore the respectability of our country and its institutions. And with you, your steadfastness and your seriousness, we will do what we can do. We will accommodate all your observations including the negative ones about the performance of the government and its agencies”, he said
“At the G7, the leadership there asked us for our shopping list  which I’m still compiling. The military has submitted theirs and I’m waiting for the governments of the front line states to submit theirs local government by local government in terms of infrastructure, schools, health care, roads, markets, churches, mosques and so on.”

74 comments:

Buhari aka will smith I hail oh......are u not tired of "will" dang!!!!!!!!!

Just help nigeria right

Well said Sir, I believe you, you are surely the real deal, keep the positive motion $ let the wet parrots keep making empty noise. PMB is surely going to put all them haters in shame just like he did during election, as usual, he pay no attention to bullcrap coming from clean slates!

We pray for b return of d chibok girls..

Lukside said...

Good one Mr president , May Almighty Allah give you the strength and wisdom to succeed, its a pity how the mighty have fallen !

Linda you are an enigma- do you sleep @ all lol
Just kidding!
Prince

Linda you are a powerhouse do you sleep @ all lol
Just kidding!
Prince

FRESH said...

Thank God we now have proper government.A leader now speaks for us all.

Confuse man .. Always confuse about everything .

But buhari during ur campaign u promised to end bokoharam within the shortest time and also bring back the chibok girls?

Confuse man ... Always confuse about everything & next he's gonna blame it on Gej

All talk, no action. When will PMB and APC stop blaming the previous government and take action? After GEJ met problems on the ground but did not make song and dance of it. Mschew!

Okowright Balaxy said...

Baba Go Slow AKA Mr excuses! This old cow from Daura keep on blaming the previous administration. Over a month in office,Buhari has not achieved anything apart from given excuses. The military did better before you entered office, we all know you are preventing them from killing your Boko Haram boys.

Chizzyluv said...

Always referring or using the past government as an excuse n forgotten he is now the present government we av. beta stop going slow n act fast. not up to 60days in office BH has claimed closed to 600 lives if not more and yet u claim their days are short. hmmm lemme hope so.

Karlsson said...

All he does is complain n blame d previous govt, he should do something about it
Ubanagum

molebaba said...

I just don't understand PMB even at his level of experience yet he still believe these westerners helps for free without demanding dubious requests! Make we dey see nah

plz do ur work and stop call GJ. if you dnt ve anything to do you sit down in d aso rock. baba go slow

Faith Eze's Blog said...

QL Homes said...

Order for original Raulph Lauren Polo. Male: #2,300. Female: #2,000. Delivery Nation wide. 2754B912, 08130373753

SWILL MARTIN said...

True he shud think thorougly abt whal he'll do oooooo

hocee said...

Plssss visit me tooooo.....

I wonder how the chibok girls would look like now. Maybe bokoharam might have already brainwashed them into being suicide bombers for their god. It's entirely possible. God knows I dnt wish anything bad for anyone but are there even girls to be rescued? and if there are in what state are they now. God help us.

I wonder how the chibok girls would look like now. Maybe bokoharam might have already brainwashed them into being suicide bombers for their god. It's entirely possible. God knows I dnt wish anything bad for anyone but are there even girls to be rescued? and if there are in what state are they now? God help us.

Well said Mr president.Fighting thos insurgency isnt gonna be easy now thàt they've got roots all over

Mr president keep spewingtrash about his predissessor wt out practical solution on his CLUELESS regime

Let's wait and see whether they will finally be rescued.

Ministries and parastatals are submiting their shopping lift to the president directly? Why do we have d office of ministers? Is dis a dictatorship style of govt? CHANGE IYAZO indeed... Biko appoint ministers and stop dilidalying...

meggy said...

What is wrong with this man? Hummmmmmm. Chang indeed

All dis r ceremonial speech, and all we r interested in is dis words ""The rescue of the Chibok girls would be the strongest statement this government could make for having respect for the sanctity and dignity of every Nigerian life".

I hope they are found soon!!!

God help us overcome dis BH madness. It is well with Nigeria. Linda take note!

Abeg this man should stop lamenting and start working. We know that's why we voted him out. Please get to work baba

Okay....we'll have to wait and see d outcome...hopefully.

He just has to study d situation, it's a bad situation already.Jonathan lacked d military capacity in knowledge to act when he wus meant to but Buhari shouldn't blame Jonathan, he should blame us Nigerians and ex President Obasanjo.We stupidly allowed Obasanjo hand over to two incompetent individuals. One wus medically incompetent and d other wus a dullard who had no experience what so ever in governing @ d highest level b4 2007, we all stupidly lined up behind them @ different times to ensure our votes brought them to power and an ex ray of how they performed is what we r seeing today bad government.So Buhari should not only Jonathan, Obasanjo and we Nigerians r to blame.We had dis power to effect change and we waited dis Long to do dat when we could ve achieved dis as early as 2003 sef.Now we want him to fix an already bad situation within d shortest possible time, who does that, when he is jot superman worst of all d man is old and has a limit to d things he can do.We have used our own hands to destroy dis country so we should stop singling out only one person.

HMMMMMMM....TOMJERRYSWIT

ratialmando said...

Pls is our president still a muslim, this one he is always reading lamentations and lamenting since he entered office is worrisome.

ratialmando said...

Linda pls take me, take me into ur lonely heart and i will make it whole.

All PMB has done since assumption is complain!!! It is not like he came out of the blues to govern the country, he has being in politics for practically all his life, so why is he telling us things we already know?!!! When reeling out his manifestos, shouldn't he have had a ready solution for them? Now he wants to play the blame game. Abeg!!!

May God grant u wisdom sir

So much respect for this man! He sure knows how to handle the situation.. God help u sir!

Hope the rescue the girls as they are been used as sacrificial lamps.

Hmmm...problem dey ooh...First, Good luck used to 'Condemn' now Buhari is 'lamenting' ... Abeg who will take action???

Heard

Heard

Flavia said...

Words! Words!! Words!!!...we know the previous government messed up, can we start acting now!

Lmfao

dontJme said...

BaBa go slow..... the book of lamentations was not written because of Nigeria.

The military under performance is well known to everybody.. the question is what are u going to do about it.

WTF do you mean by after Ramadan you will go visit Cameroon? Why is it that bokharam have not waited till after Ramadan before they start bombing. Your house is on fire and you are there procrastinating. Smh

Imagine the way the presidnt of the most populous black nation of the world is so excited about a wish list granted to him by the west.... he is even waiting for them to come fix churches and mosques!

So embarrassing!

mature said...

Hope it's not a case of re - colonisation. If our shopping list includes churches and mosque. They want to think for us knowing we have no leadership. After 64 years of independence ,what a shame. But if that's the only way out, then let's follow it.but bear in mind it will come with a price. But please stop making reference to the past administration, it clearly shows you lack ideas and competence. Example is appointing governor Adams Oshemole as part NNPC probe panel. A man the whole world know that thief and liar.where do we go from here?

Lmao

PMB, all we r saying "BRING BACK OUR GIRLS"...

All dis r ceremonial speech, and all we r interested in is dis words ""The rescue of the Chibok girls would be the strongest statement this government could make for having respect for the sanctity and dignity of every Nigerian life".

Mademen said...

IJN we wl prevail

God bless you Anon 7:53. Very ignorant generation! Calling the man all sorts of names and yet you want to grow old like the man you call a fool, baba go slow... electricity has improved, bailout funds were released yet no one gives him credit for them. Who is the fool, the man or people with ignorant comments? Any good thing comes with time. All of you including Linda are hoping he fails, and that won't happen. None of you see the good in him, Nigeria is trying to heal, please let her.

AbokiDaWarriBoy you are right. Very ignorant generation! Calling the man all sorts of names and yet you want to grow old like the man you call a fool, baba go slow... electricity has improved, bailout funds were released yet no one gives him credit for them. Who is the fool, the man or people with ignorant comments? Any good thing comes with time. All of you including Linda are hoping he fails, and that won't happen. None of you see the good in him, Nigeria is trying to heal, please let her.

All Security Agencies in the the Country are in a pathetic state as a result of massive corruption at the top.
Personnel are poorly motivated with little incentive.

Business Barbie said...

You are very foolish if you think electricity improved because of anything Buhari did. Jonathan has already laid the foundation. They were sabotaging him. What do you think Buhari did when there is no minister. Gullible youths

Business Barbie said...

Please stop complaining oga. You and your party already said GEJ is crap that's why gullible youths voted you. Stop repeating it over and over, you are not campaigning anymore
Get to work! And to all those who keep saying electricity improved under Buhari. You are just definition of clueless. Jonathan already laid the foundation. Those who wanted him out were sabotaging him. Buhari has done absolutely nothing! Have you seen him visit any plant? Is there a minister? Gullible youths

Why won't he complain? Did he meet d country in good state to suggest he should continue from where his predecessor stopped.When Yardua took over from OBJ did he make much complains like dis? Didn't u gullibly vote for Yar dua and Joanthan? And we all watched as they finished d country and u say Buhari shouldn't complain. Nigerians we r very wicked Out of 150 million Nigerians it's only one person that is morally fit of all of us and dis person is supposed to b Buhari now that's d same person we want to clean d rot of 149 million people, when he is not Jesus, even Jesus wus exchanged for d Armed robber after trying to heal d world.We want to kill dis man with our problems if nor we would have allowed him to rule long ago.Now c when we r allowing him come on board and u expect him to perform magic.How pls, how pls

Business Barbie said...

And babA bubu. Boko Haram is not waiting till after Ramadan to kill people. You are on Ramadan holiday. Well done oh. Cause Nigeria is now a Muslim country

Olodo pataki!!! No b only lamps na light.lolz

Well said Bunmi,don't mind them.I have had light in Vgc now for almost a month without interruption.Any way I tryst Buhari does he even have time for their nonsense bias talk.I wish you well President,and for all you his haters,hate all you want,Good luck is gone forever,so get a life.

May you never grow old idiot.Like old age is a crime.And he has achieved a lot,stop being biased and observe,better slow and steady that fast and corrupt Pdp

Learn to read,did he say he won't do something?Hah you Nigerians are so blinded with hate.God forbid

Shataaaaaaap the both of u Apc fanatics

Baba slow motion, always full of excuses

U are just such an idiot of an animal just like ur useless father who failed to give u a basic home training. #crazymonkey

He shd keep lamenting and not work. Two months and counting.

You and your family are fanatics

You and your family are stupidity fanatics.

WASH!!! by numbers these red soldiers should be up to a battalion now, how about providing them with AK 47, bullet proof vest and transporting them to chibok, lets see some action. Their actions have only made rescue effort, far more costly and negotiation less profitable cant they seeeeeeeeeee.