The couple first met in 2008. He proposed later that year but while looking at wedding venues on a Greek island the following year, the man, Mike Parke, began feeling unwell.
Ali Parke said: 'He'd been feeling unwell for a while before we went to look at the venues. He'd kept getting terrible headaches, and had shaky hands and tunnel vision. He'd been for an MRI scan just before we'd gone on holiday and when we got back, the hospital called him back in for the results
Doctors broke the news to the devastated couple that Mike had a stage four malignant melanoma that had spread to his brain and chest. They were told there was nothing that could be done for him, as the tumours had multiplied in his brain.
Mrs Parke said: 'We were just numb with shock. The doctors told us that he had about four to six months left. I just broke down completely. '
The couple brought their wedding forward to October 2010, and on the wedding day Mike's hair had already started to fall out due to the intensive radiotherapy treatment.
After their wedding, the couple discussed the possibility of having children, and Mrs Parke suggested freezing his sperm so that she could have his children after he had gone.
She said: 'I knew that Mike didn't want to die before becoming a dad, so I thought this would be the best decision.
'Mike agreed with me. He knew he wouldn't be around to see his children grow up, but he wanted me to have his children.'
In December 2010, the couple went to an IVF clinic in Southampton where they had Mike's sperm banked. They talked about names and decided on Charlie if it was going to be a boy.
Mrs Parke said: 'I knew we had made the best decision. Shortly afterwards Mike began chemotherapy treatment which took a terrible toll on his health.
'He grew weaker and weaker and he lost his battle for life just four months later. I held his hand as he slipped away.'
Four months later, Mrs Parke had her first attempt at IVF. Two weeks later she discovered she was pregnant.
She said: 'It was so emotional to find out I was pregnant. As my tummy grew I thought of Mike every day, and his little life growing inside me.'
Her son Charlie was born in June 2012, at Bath's Royal United Hospital, weighing a healthy 5Ib15.
She said: 'It was the most amazing moment when he was born. And when I looked into Charlie's big blue eyes I had hope for the future.
He was admitted to hospital five times in his first year with bronchiolitis, and it was terrifying as each time I thought I was going to lose him. But he did pull through, thankfully.'
Mrs Parke then underwent a second IVF attempt last year, but it failed. Another two attempts failed, and then on her fourth attempt she fell pregnant again. She gave birth to daughter Isla in April.
She said: 'Charlie loves his new sister and I know that Mike would be so proud of them both.'
Source: CBS
90 comments:
Creepy but glad she is happy
Technology is the key. Lindaobserve
Oghene bikooooooo.kai!
Wow! God is able
Woooooooow! Dis is amazing. Linda take note!
Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!
Awwww that's so touchy
Goodness wonders
Wow! Thanks to God and science.
Awwww
Dis is amazing... At least, it givs her JOY seeing d kids to her deceased hussy...
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *
This PURE POWER OF LIFE exhibited by this woman made me cry. How I wish NIGERIAN LADIES will start showing unimaginable love like this.
Awwww....this is so brave
udieblessing@yahoo.com
It's touching
Linda this a real true life story and the real definition of true love, not this type as seen in our nigerian celebrity life, I just doubt if this can be replicated here
Wow live to rember. Cute family. Lolo1
Eyah.. Very touching. Wish her well
Smart move by a smart woman..
E ya, d woman really gt heart o, God bless r 4 keeping r husband's memory. Wat a gr8 woman
Awwwwwww....all alone without d husband! good job ma'am
Hian!!!!!! Dis oyinbo pple $ their wonders! Can Mike do same 4u?? Question of d day!
Awesome
Crazy but a very smart decision.
WOw lovely
LATEST: TOP 20 MOST CURVY?ENDOWED AFRICAN CELEBRITIES
God is great
Awwww , so touching.... I need a tissue... Lord keep these beautiful children.
Wow! Dis is great development, and it wil surely go a long way. I wisj her well.
This is touching. It's in cases like this we say 'thank God for science.'
Eya!
Happy for her.
So touching.
Congrats to her... I pray keeps having babies as long as mike's sperm didn't finish
This is love in action. It's not easy but it's worth it. May God bless them all and may the soul of the departed rest in peace.
❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤
Madam it's enof...two ezugo..stop having babies that won't hv a father biko..
So touching! It's a pity he is not alive to see his beautiful kids!
To God Be The Glory!
http://www.bummyla.com
Eeya, how touching!
OKORO UPGRADED
Congratulations ma.
Wow! So emotional! God bless and keep them!
Thank you technology. Thank you so much. Well, still the same technology transgender peeps use! Shame!
Chai!!! See true love. Hmñnnnn
You are a great woman for fulfilling your promise to your late husband. He will be very proud of you wherever he is and may God give you the strength to carry on and may he protect your kids.
So touching I hope that v a better life without having a father
Wow
Not an easy task4 a woman
True love indeed
May his soul RIP,Amen
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Good one*
Awww I almost cried. I like this
Thank God for technology.
Guys pls check my new blog and show some support.
Wow! Dats being loyal
Oh dear...teardrops**
Wow! Dis is good development, and I so luv dis. I wish her well.
Waooow amazing .may God keep dem for u so dt dey will make u happy.
This is so sweet.
Aww. Touching. Thank God for technology honestly.
This is true love. God bless this woman and reward her. I can do this for a guy whom I truly love.... it's a sacrifice but it's worth it.
How is this creepy? No sense
Hahaha! Funny you. Real question of the day.
❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤
a bitter sweet story. shes quite a strong woman
Faithful woman
"Slow and steady wins d race"
Ladies go search for that handsome man(like me) and start collecting sperms no tym abeg.....
And see how the once pretty woman has aged so fast.
And who told u they dont?
Will ego let y'all see road down here?
Thumbs up lady
Rip to ur hubby
touching.............
A TOUCHING AND BRAVE ONE THERE........
Are you learning how to use tenses?
So touching! Feel like tearing up.
Very resourceful
Hmmm... Mike Parke is dead, but his manhood lives on (just like mama Pepe said of Ojukwu). @doyinsola_decorachi
Our Naija ladies! If I hear
So touching....
Madam judge.....just say u can't......
10000 likes
What kinda of lady are you?? You are always negative ! What kinda of lady are you . You are so disgusting ... I wonder the kinda home you are from . You lack manners , no human feelings at all . If you don't have the spirit of encouragement why not shut up and learn to be a good perso
GOD IS GREAT
Its really creepy but happy for her
This is so emotional. I was moved after reading. Wish Mike was alive to see his son being born. Rest in Peace Mike.
Our Naija girls go vanish the moment his results were out.
Biotechnology at its best.
Sperm can be regrown in the lab in no distance time. Mike sperm might be lucky.
Linda, Good morning. I want you to ask Nigerian women whether they can ever be faithful like this woman. . you will be dazed with response.
She is life herslf.
Technology at its best.Even God is happy ........RIP mike but be rest assured that ur blood line lives.The lady is brave too.This is what a nigeria woman wouldnt do.
Great story
this is the part of science we should imbibe in, its actually a smart and positive move.........God see u thru ma'am
It is also available in leading IVF centre in this country. The issue we have here is the so called in laws & extended family wahala.
eyah...
This is touching. Happy her.
So touching
Omonime....ota na. benwven t'unu...
That's the white way...they damn all consequences and follow their heart.... But Black Woman....hmm...if you remember 9ja economy...and extended family gbege....the lady will simply wakanow.com.ng.forlife@nigeria.net