Hoodlums attack community in Ajah, injure 3 over land | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 June 2015

Hoodlums attack community in Ajah, injure 3 over land

Not the actual photo
3 people sustained injuries after some hoodlums attacked Alabeko community in the Ajah area of Lagos State. During the attack, some buildings in the community were reportedly damaged.
Residents said the group, suspected to be members of the Oodua People’s Congress, wielded weapons such as cutlasses, knives and sticks.

They were said to have been aided by policemen from Mopol 20, Ikeja, Lagos.
A resident said trouble started on Saturday shortly after a meeting between some indigenes and residents.
ADVERTISEMENT
He said,
“Around 12.30pm on Saturday, the land owners who were indigenes held a meeting with residents over the illegal encroachment into their property by a land prospector, Rotimi Orimisan. The land owners said they did not sell their land to Orimisan.
“After the meeting with the land owners, we were within the estate when some OPC thugs attacked us with cutlasses, broken bottles and other weapons.
“During the attack, a former General Secretary of the community, Rotimi Ojo, was stabbed in his right hand with a bottle. We rushed him to Doren Specialist Hospital, Ajiwe, Ajah. He is still there.”
A resident, Olaseni Obafemi, was hit on the head with a shovel. Another member of the community was said to have been attacked in his home and his wife, who was visually-impaired, beaten up.
The Chairman of Alabeko Estate Residents Association, Mr. Uba Offorbuike, said he was shocked that the policemen joined in the attack.

He said residents were flogged with horsewhips, while the policemen used tear gas to send people out of their homes.
He said,
“I was shocked when the policemen, who are supposed to play a neutral role, joined them to attack us. Ojo was stabbed with a bottle in his right hand. As we speak, we have spent over N400, 000 on medical bills because of the emergency operation.
“As law-abiding citizens of this country, we are disappointed in the police because they failed to defend the people.”
When contacted on Monday, Orimisan denied the allegation, saying he bought 48 acres of land from the state government and got an acquisition letter from the Govt.
He denied using thugs to foment trouble in the community.
He said,
“The land in question belongs to the New Town Development Authority. We had initially turned to the omo onile (land owners) to buy the land, but we were told it was an acquisition land and was under the control of the state government.
“Though we had paid some money to the omo onile, we still decided to meet with the government and we paid huge sum of money for the land and were given our acquisition letter. We also paid more than N18m for the survey.
“If those indigenes are insisting that the land belongs to them, they should approach the government for compensation or go to the court. We are law–abiding citizens and it was when their trouble became too much that we petitioned the Inspector General of Police who sent some policemen to watch over the place.”
The Police Public Relations Officer, Kenneth Nwosu, said, “Investigations are ongoing to find out what really happened.

Source:Punch

22 comments:

Tigbuo zogbuo over a land which they'll still be buried in when dead...u die over a piece of land, the land will still be there. Mtchew

This is serious o, proper investigation should be carried out.

Xtrafavour said...

OPC? Once bitten twice shy, heartless set of idiots. However, I see a dancer in the picture. Hahahahahah.

Yoruba people and senseless violence.

Make them take am easy

It shall be well in Naija.
Gdmoni Linda nd Libers...Do av a blessed day

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

From the desk of the President , Anonymous From the desk of the President , Anonymous association of LIB( ASOLIB)!!!!

WHAT!!!

LIB watchdog will investigate this

People be killing themselves over land. They came to earth to meet those lands and will definately leave it behind when they die. So why the whole noise?

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

No b today wey police dey turn ref fr street fight...I just wonder who will cleanse police of their dip mess.. Even government no dey help land owners, dem go just collect vast land anyhow wt no compensation or due notification..#only in Nigeria sha

His last statement incites that but the police and thugs worked for them as he said they had the police to look after the place for them,and the community members said the police aided the thugs in troubling them.nobody is saying don't fight for your but use legitimate channels

Arinze Chiji said...

Terrible

Peace! Peace!! Peace!!! Should b d order of d day in Ajah. There should b amicable ways to resolve issues instead of resulting to wanting to kill each other.

These are no news nau linda. This kind of a thing happens nearly every day in different communities so this isn't news plz next

Lets wait till the investigations are done before judging.

Hmmm violence

Serious matter though.....

Land dispute no be joke o! I hope dey settle it. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix. Linda take note!

You this ode dnt always ave any serious thing to comment.

vien said...

gbeghe.....

vien vien

Xtrafavour said...

Too bad.

Really bad....

and fashola was a god, yes? You steal people's land using eminent domain laws that were set without input from the people, and with the future land grabbers holding the pen!! Basically Someone designated their land govt land without giving them notice and they have been under the false sense that they own their land. The government of Lagos State should pay the land developer his money, pay him the N18 million they made him waste, and compensate the people of the community for pain and suffering. LiberS, this is how the rich in Nigeria become richer on The backs of and at the expense of the disempowered. Let us Support this community and the plight of others to Bihari and that camouflaged demon fashola. Rotimi Amaechi tried the Same thing in a place Called Etche. Thank God for resilient villagers, most of the acquisition has not gone through. In Nigeria, identity, birth rights, wealth and inheritance comes through land transfer. Stealing of people's land by the goVernment Using the strong arm of the law is a steady and sure way of creating and perpetuating poverty among the diSem powered. Buhari Stop this NOW!