UK-based Nigerian tackles church over marriage breakdown | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 14 July 2014

UK-based Nigerian tackles church over marriage breakdown

UK based Nigerian Ayadi Moniaye is claiming that his church's hierarchy in Nigeria and the UK took advantage of him, wrecked his marriage and are ignoring him. He claims his Nigerian wife used him to obtain visa /stay, then stitched him up, took his children, and took his possessions/house. He also claimed that the church and his ex-wife ganged up on him and smeared that he was insane.

Around 2010, he was a PhD student at Manchester University's Manchester Business School and is currently a lecturer at University of Manchester, Manchester, UK. Read his full story after the cut...

Culled from Punch

A United Kingdom-based Nigerian, Ayadi Moniaye, has accused the Jubilee Parish of the Redeemed Christian Church of God in Manchester of turning his ex-wife against him which eventually ended their marriage.
Moniaye, who said he got married to his wife in 2000, said the marriage packed up in 2009 after years of domestic violence.
The father of three alleged that a group in the parish taught women how to get the support of the UK immigration policy by abusing their spouses.
He said, “Nigerian women in the UK were brainwashed by the group to abuse their husbands so they can claim their husbands’ property and exploit the UK immigration policy to their advantage.
“I challenged the church, telling the coordinators of the programme that the Bible did not support such practice. Unknown to me, my wife was part of it.”
He said his wife assaulted him on many occasions, but he did not retaliate which got her frustrated.
Moniaye said, “On one of such occasions, she injured me. She later called the police to drive me out of the house. When the police got to our home, they met the children around me, consoling me, and because of what they saw, they could not drive me out of the house.
“After series of such unprovoked attacks, my wife admitted that she was maltreating me to get me out of the house.”
Moniaye showed our correspondent documents detailing his ordeals in the UK, including an alleged accusation by his wife that he was mentally unstable.
The allegation of mental instability was, however, rejected by a document dated June, 2010 and issued by one Dr R.A. Jones of Manchester Mental Health.
The document read in part, “As far as I am aware, our Team Manager, Emma Hinchcliff, has also contacted the Children and Families Social Services to outline our thoughts that there is no evidence of you suffering with a major mental illness at present.”
Another document by one Mama ‘Toro, an elder in the community, dated February 2011, read that Moniaye had been beaten several times by his wife.
Moniaye told our correspondent that although he had been separated from his wife, he was concerned about the negative impression such incidents were creating for Nigerians.
He said all efforts to get the matter to the attention of the General Overseer of the church, Pastor Enoch Adeboye, had been rebuffed by protocol officers.
“I am deeply concerned about the way women are portraying the image of this country to the outside world. And it is unfortunate that the church would be used as a platform for this. My concern is how we can correct this impression,” he added.
PUNCH Metro contacted Jubilee Church, Manchester, through its official telephone lines.
An official of the church told our correspondent that the pastor would not respond to the allegation.
The official, who did not give his name, said, “I can tell you that the pastor will not want to talk about it. But I appreciate the call and will pass your message across to him.”
It was learnt that police in Manchester, which investigated the case, sent a feedback to Moniaye.
The reaction reads, “Inspector O’Reilly followed up the allegations you made, and on one occasion he attended the church on Hyde Road to verify your story. He spoke to the pastor, who told him that they found you to be intractable and not only did they not confirm your account, they stated that they were concerned for you and prayed for you.”
PUNCH Metro visited the national headquarters of the RCCG at Oyingbo, Lagos, where he met one of the church pastors.
He directed our correspondent to the Redemption Camp on the Lagos-Ibadan Expressway, saying matters of such magnitude were usually addressed there.
The Chief Legal Officer, Pastor Ayodele Oladeji, said, “Yes, a letter has been received at our office here, written by Moniaye, requesting to see Daddy G.O., and we are treating it.
“I want to assure you that even those who write to Daddy G.O. on ordinary piece of paper receive attention. We will investigate this and know what happened.
“We have all the documents which Moniaye has submitted to us. He will get a redress of his case with a little patience. We ourselves could feel his pulse with facts on the documents. But you know for now it is still one sided until we get the other side (from the UK church).”

79 comments:

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Don't know if I should say you are a weakling or rather you were being the good man under your miscomfort !!

Peejay said...

"Beaten by his wife severally"?! One doesn't hear this statement frequently... That being said, I don't support domestic violence. Pls RCCG, look into this matter ASAP.

Go after your snitch of a "wife", leave the church out of it.

That is what happens when men decides to bring babes from nija instead to marry the ones with him over there. Sorry dou bro

Jenny says

oilandgasdissertation said...

Stories dat touch

Mab said...

Pele

Linda, ds story is too lengthy, learn to do add nd drop 4rm ur news report. U dnt hv to quote evrytin naw, u wil end up loosin d readers interest.

Until then. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

H S C said...

Na wa o! It must have been a while since this chap last felt shame.

DOBY DOBY said...

Yea lyk seriously its still one sided.. if its true den d wife shaa.. did she evn love her husband

This is what happpens to guys who do ojukokoro to marry British girls. They end up bn thrown out of the house. This same thing happened to my uncle in the UK.

God help u Men

Naija Dey Rep Anywhere. (Linda's Man)

Leave the church out of this n go n sort it out with your wife.

LINDA said...

Some women tho. Feminism spirit! God help the man if all said is true.

I hope he gets attended to soon o. so sad.

CoolDiva speaks!

So painful story, sorry bro. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Seriously what is this Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

EbonyAma said...

I love my catholic church. Catholic 4eva.

One of the many reasons why i won't marry a Nigerian.... when we have better behaved zimbabweans, Ugandan's etc.... Nigerian girls are always after something. once they get what they are after,you are screwed..

In today's world, you hear all sort of bullsh*t! Some true, some just a well prepared cocktail of lies. You can't put anything past churches of today but then again what the man is saying doesn't altogether make sense.

#King said...

Steve Anus..u are a fool..never enter my post anymore..last warning..u don't know u fvcking with..u rush to comment first in evri post am sure u live in a dog houz..idiot..jobless wanker........................................#KingOfKings

its well oluwadarasimitope@hotmail.com

Unfortunate but this is just exercising creativity. Salama.mallam@yahoo.com

unbelievable churches and their different policy. oluwadarasimitope@hotmail.com

I don't know whether to say thank God, men are beginning to get a taste of what they put women through or to say it it's quite a pity and sorry for paying for other men sins. But like Linder said and I will add. There are three side to every story. First party. Second party and the truth.

I used to know a man in the UK that had same exact experience.

Sorry pastor,I got to realise sometin,about men,dey lik new cloth nd easily discard old ones dat knw dem ,love dem,nd respect them,pick a woman u knw nd nt some person who can b easily brainwash,nigerian men if u ar in jamaica pick a nigeria wife in jamaica ,dnt come down here ,woman easily get carried away ,expect she's discipline.bt a woman beatin her hubby nawa oh ,I dey fear oh some ladies sha#bebo#

Millypee said...

this man is lying. he should just shut up. Don't bring RCCG into ur stupid lies. yeye man.

As far-fecthed as this might sound, it is happening for real. Naija women are exploiting UK/US laws to put teir loving husbands through hell and eventually taking them to the cleaners. I know quite a few men who have been set up betrayed and lost everything .. by supposed God fearing wifes!!!. Tboyz.

One sided story...would love to hear the wife´s story too.

Although it is not uncommon for women in the UK to act up to get their hubbies out of the house so they can claim single parent benefit and stay in the property that the hubby still pays mortgage on.

Nigerian women that came to abroad through marriage are so possess with this habit and if one refuse to frm naija people go dey insult am but here is the disadvantage..... Nansance...

I cant seem to find the man as a lecturer at University of Manchester..... but it is not my business lol

I quit agree with him, so many nigerian ladies pretend to be good wife material just so they can travel, once they get there they begin to show their true color and misbehave like that wicked Bola.

Chop Chop said...

Something happened but let's hear the other side.

Ok so touching... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Zoe Ami said...

Sad story, sorry bro.

Waiting to hear what the church and his wife have to say

Please don't condemn a whole gender of Nigerians because your wife is misbehaving. kmt!!
Signed a frustrated Nigerian

D.V is very wrong, be it from a man or a woman. Those of you based abroad should start marrying there because from all the stories i have heard the Nigerian women you import are even more dangerous.

Hmmm,strange sha;wife beating husband

Daddy adeboye should look int this matter o!
Mamafunkky@gmail.com

Naa steve, he's nt a weakling. If he hits her back, Then he's in hot soup and dats exactly wah d useless wife wants. She shud cum to 9ja and try that wit any man. Nways God will see u tru moniaye.

I live here in Europe, what he have said is not new, we all know about things like this. All for money, if only Nigeria government will make our country better, this type of story will not be.
Churches out here is far different from what they are in Nigeria.

shit happens... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

I am not surprised.men that bring their women from africa always suffer these all the time ..A similar story like these happen to a colleague of mine and everyone was telling him to report the wife to the immigration,but he did not,on several occassions,the wife would send the husband out of the house by inviting the Cops,he would beat his husband and go to the extent of inviting men to the house and have sex with them when the husband is at work..she doesnt even care if the husband know about it ..On these faithful day,the man told his wife that they are going on vacation and they packed all their luggages,Unknowingly for the wife that they are going to Africa,whereas the wife does not have her Papers yet, when the plane was abt to depart,they announced and said that the next stop is Paris,then it was too late her..That was how she got herself deported to Africa ant the man came back with his kids after spending two weeks.
Ayo

very strange.patoswife@gmail.com

Of course it sounds funny to some, but domestic violence against men is increasing, that doesn't make this man a coward!!! We however need to be careful of the type of Church, that we are affiliated with, as too much intrusion from some Church members destroy marriages, this is rampant with Africans in diaspora!!! I wish him the best of luck, and I hope he gets the chance to reconcile with his Children!!! Whizman

Linda, you need to follow up this case and give us feedback on the development and final outcome. I know the church will not keep silent about this as the name of the church is being smeared. I will believe this is an eye opener for the church for needful action.May god help His church. Toks

ganbell said...

One sided...I don't think so. Police report follow na...wetin wan pass "severally beaten by his wife"...my dear men in the USA have resorted to murdering their ungrateful wifeys...no thanks to their stupid women law...make them come naija come try collect wetin man work for. #golddiggers

Ganbell said...

Yes he is lying... See ur mouth like he is lying #oponu...are u worshipping God or RCCG? Yeye young too.

Ganbell said...

I agree with you. But no one is condemning the entire race of naija women.

He sounds crazy and immature.

God have mercy... marriage should be built on total submission! Whatever the case, men should be given maximum regards! But upon the motive our marriage is built on!

So sad tho.

I feel sorry for pastor Komolafe.people want to drag the church down.he has already lost too many members including myself.I see him losing more members.
Jubilee members where are all of you.come and defend pastor K

there is always 2 sides to a story.A Nigeria will feel he is God's blessings to you just because he took u out of d shelves of Nigeria to join him abroad.And the tend to command n treat u anyhow then still expect u to be humble submissive.Ask them if the can treat the ones residing there same way.ofcourse not .my hubby is always fond of raising his voice @ me each time we go out n it's always very embarrasin,i told i wont go to anywr with him n all of a sudden ve become very stubborn.
ve told him i will shock him oneday n d day he raises his voice on me outside again,i will also do same to him.
you dnt expect me to respect you wen you disrespect me.mrs

You this willemina idiot! Why are you calling her useless? Where you living with them or do you know exactly what happened? I hate the audacity of clueless toads like you! As far as we all know, this is still one-sided, how can a whole church take the side of a physically abusive woman? An African oriented church for that matter. You think the African men in the church would set down and let that happen to a fellow African man? This man has not said the exact situation that led to all this, he's still dilly-dallying. Whenever he's ready to speak, he should come back and let us know what really happened.

Follow them na! Who dey find you before? #oshisco!

Linda, I just sent you 3 comments, they are actually together but the box will not let me attach it all together.

Pls post my comment cos it's crucial that the other side of Moniaye Ayadi is heard and he needs to stop all these childish behaviour he's been portraying for years. I'm happy to give you names of other family members, his co-worker

Linda, I just sent you 3 comments, they are actually together but the box will not let me attach it all together.

Pls post my comment cos it's crucial that the other side of Moniaye Ayadi is heard and he needs to stop all these childish behaviour he's been portraying for years. I'm happy to give you names of other family members, his co-worker

Linda, I have been your fan for several years and I was going through your page tonight when I saw this write up. I usually don't comment but I have to make some few things straight tonight.

This man called Moniaye is my relative, actually my uncle so I can tell you that whatever you hear from here is authentic.

He hails from Ode-Erinje in Okitipupa and was a very brilliant man who came out with a first class in accounting at OAU Ife. He lived all his life in the village but God favoured him.

He was dating another village girl all through the university who studied Agriculture and had promised her marriage which the whole family knew. He went to Lagos for greener pastures where he did well, built houses at Oworonsoki, worked in top banks and generally things were going well for him.

He continued to promise the village girl his hand in marriage and this girl waited for years for him, she was in her 30s then.

Suddenly out of nowhere, Moniaye brought another woman home and said she was better than the village girl and was a cultured girl who lived and studied computer in Lagos.

I'm waiting linda

Family disagreed but he insisted and they had no choice than to accept what he wanted. Till date, I hear the village girl is yet to marry. This is over 15 years ago.

Mr Ayadi was a Manager at one of the top banks in Lagos and at some point, his colleagues were becoming concerned about his behaviour at work. They mentioned it to some close family members but anytime he's asked, he screams at anyone that "what do you mean?".

He had a wife who was a full time housewife with 3 children. Suddenly, he resigned from the bank as a Manager and came to UK for his masters/phd, he was working part time as a security officer and any other odd jobs he could find. This was strange to a lot of his family but what can you do when an adult makes a decision.

Few years after,his wife joined him with the children and all hell let loose. I believe living together as a close-knit family brought out the "real" behaviour of Moniaye, this the wife saw and became scared. Moniaye became uncontrollable, physically and verbally abusive towards the wife and kids, the kids had several times missed school due to this which got a lot of NGOs in Manchester involved on this case as well as social services.

There had been several occasion that the wife had to escape to London to stay with Moniaye"s family but the minute Moniaye finds out, he will scream and fight any family that tries to help her to points where everyone was tired of way forward.

He became uncontrollable, elders in the family couldn't talk to him. He had grandiose ideas of himself and no one was good enough for him.

This wife had no one in UK and was with 3 children. At a point she resorted to making hair for people just so she could feed.

She was attending the Rccg jubilee in Manchester and this is a Christian church that noticed her demeanor and her kids, and they tried to reach out to them. They helped with Counselling and at least built her self confidence back a bit which I think she needed to manage 3 children who were all still in primary school.

It became unbearable the minute Moniaye heard the woman was being helped. He started talking ill about the church. The church elders and pastors called him several times to try and settle their differences but trust me, no one can talk to Moniaye, he is ever so full of himself.

The ex-wife gradually started making her decision on how to move on in life. This led to a lot of court cases some of which some of Moniaye's family were present just to witness. Everyone kept begging him to at least cool down a bit, but not him.

The woman finally got her freedom and I'm sure she's fine but I have no contact with her.

My problem now is, what is Moniaye talking about and why is he involving Rccg in this matter ?

Moniaye, you clearly destroyed your family, you sent this woman packing.

We all believe that it might all be linked with the first girl you destroyed her life but you are too full of yourself to even listen to any other person's advice.

You need to change your ways and maybe one day, your children will at least call you daddy again.
No one has anything good to say about you, not your former colleagues, not your family, not your present co-workers and you know the truth.

Yes, maybe the mental health group couldn't certify you suffering from mental health condition at that time cos you were very articulate and it was not possible to say you had no "insight" but trust me, you still need continued check up.

This did not start in UK, people had noticed your change in behaviour even from Nigeria.

What did you expect the poor woman to do? She had 3 lives to cater for when you refused to be a man in a foreign land for that matter.

You brought your village mentality to UK and you felt everyone had to bow to your commands.

I am happy to communicate with you if you want more clarification on this.

Yes, Moniaye, you are my blood but I will forever stand on the truth and not cover up the truth for your sake.

Free this woman and let her be. Face your security job or whatever ur so-called phd has earned you and pray to meet another good woman in your lifetime.

You broke your own marriage down and no church broke it down for you. Get that straight.

You better go back home and let your elders wash your head for you. You have stepped on too many toes Uncle.

He should have just invited her on a cruise and push her ass into the ocean at night. Ashewo poun kan abo

I am sure this is not the end of a story, how can u blame a church for your failed marriage, u and your ex-wife are responsible for your shit. I attend a branch RCCG the pathfinder church in manchester and i will say nothing of sort happens

Ur a fool. This is state that he married a British Girl? Or Dont u know how to read? My dear to comment no be by force.

Come u dis spare parts dealer, please if u can't construct good English Dont bother to comment. Haba, it is not by force to comment o. Ur such a disgrace. Please, stop that "currently in Jupiter" shit cos I know u Dont even know jack shit about our planet solar system. Get a Life, better still a sound education.

Linda pls post the remaining parts of my comment, thank you.

I know this Church in Manchester and I have attended a few times. The story just doesn't add up.
The woman should come out and tell her side of the story.

I find this story difficult to believe. From what I know of naija churches, they will try to keep a marriage together at all costs. This man is telling a very one sided story. To say that he did not start anything or do anything and for us to believe that will be very naive of us.

Strange though
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

hmm jubilee church there is more to the story and it really needs to be investigated.
i have had a similar experience with the church causing my family to break up.
if the allegation this man is making against the church is false then pastor k needs to speak up and defend the church before they loss members.
all u jubilee church members don't try and defend what u don't know about.it is a great church but hings are happening behind close doors. cause ur don't know the full story you only see what pastor k wants u to see and hear what he wants u too hear.
it is well sha

U see? With this little torture from the wife,he's already complaining. Come to think of what most women pass through in the name of marriage. The hubby using them as a punching bag,maltreats and disrespects them. Am happy joor,he should taste the little of it. Mtcheew.

Sommy said so....

Exactly the point here. This woman has nothing to gain from Mr Ayadi. Ayadi was renting a house, he was barely able to cater for his family, he was doing a security job while doing his phd. It wasn't as if the woman left to gain anything from him. Mr Ayadi has landed property in Nigeria which you and I know the woman will not have a name to anyway.

So my question is this, was there anything to gain? No

This man was abusing his wife and children verbally, physically and emotionally.

The woman resorted to making hair at some point just to feed her family.

She was a full time housewife in Nigeria before she joined Ayadi in UK.

Everything was fine and she coped well and Ayadi who worked as a Manager in a top bank suddenly decided to leave the job and go to UK where they joined him later.

Ayadi's colleagues had been complaining that he was acting strange even at work in Nigeria but when the issue was raised, Moniaye was quick to shut anyone down.

This woman in question is still trying to make ends meet in Manchester with her children and she's not causing any trouble so what does Moniaye want?

If he wants his wife back, then he should go and make restitution and speak to elders in his family to intervene on his behalf but he knows he has stepped on plenty toes and no one to approach again.

Pride comes before a fall.

I knew there was more to this and this moniaye guy's stories weren't adding up. How can a whole African church support domestic violence towards an African man and help a bad wife strip him of everything he has? What would be their gain or point? Especially when the church leadership constitutes of so many African men. And he claims to be a lecturer at a university but no one can find his name anywhere there. Instead of trying to drag the church's name in the mud, he should rather go there for one of their deliverance crusades. #smh

Loool...babe ur mean ooo

I know this man. 2min conversation with him will settle the whole matter. He is a sick man.

Na by church mumu, don't involve church in wat eva u r saying

very interesting story. I was a member of the church. I left due to personal reasons. the church and ailing marriages is nothing to write home about. I have seen comments from church members who have no idea about how members who have issues in their marriages have been neglected. please note that I am not saying the above story is true. I am just narrating a personal experience