Polytechnic students take over Abuja Expressway in Owo to protest tuition fee | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 7 July 2014

Polytechnic students take over Abuja Expressway in Owo to protest tuition fee

Some students of Ondo State owned Rufus Giwa Polytechnic in Owo, Ondo state this morning July 7th took over the Owo/Abuja expressway to protest the recent hike in their school fees.

Management of the school recently increased the annual school fees of students of National Diploma in sciences from ₦21,300 to N58,300 and ND students from ₦53,800 to 73,000. A levy of N20,000 was also imposed on non-indegenes of the state by school management.

The angry students locked up the offices of the rector, Prof. Igbekele Ajibefun and thereafter took over the express road to drive home their anger. See more photos after the cut...

Photo credit: Sahara Reporters

47 comments:

come ooo is it the reigning trend for all schools to be increasing their school fee for no just course?...... there is God ooo

Gobe! Double wahala, they should just make sure its a peaceful protest

mimi pearl said...

Schl fees hike here n there.. D Students should pls calm down..

Tuition fee protest everywhere. Naija, which way nah.

CoolDiva speaks!

Hmmm increment kwa. Ogunaomi@gmail.com

turn by turn now on protest ...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

CHERRY said...

Must the skul authority increase fee? Haba na wa.

but must they increase school fees? and with over 50% increament. this is so sad for our country nigeria. it is so terrible..obahorvictoria@gmail.com

Nawa. Poor man no go go school again? Chioma_kairo@yahoo.com

DOBY DOBY said...

Extra 20k for non indigens. . Dats too much. . After we say we ar 1 nation.. mtchew

Is too bad #bright bravo#

CROWN said...

Na wa o. Shame on federal Government.

CROWN said...

Na wao

everyone is protesting ...nawaoh!

tjayTEE Bello said...

Should we accuse the government of indirectly aiding the objectives of the boko haramies by inconvenienting the already frustrated students with there sudden increase in tuition across all federal schools? God help this country

I doubt if F.G will ansa dem sef...

God have mercy and help us in this country the poor keeps suffering even under academic sector where 50 percent of our future success lays is not active / mmike9@yahoo.com. First to comment

Sometimes I get scared of d break of dawn cos everyday life gets tougher for d common man. Why r our leaders cruel? Pls o let dem allow us manage d insistutions in Nig since their childrn r miles away in better learnin enviroments. Its2nicetomeetyou@gmail.com

Rufus Giwa poly owo my skul d only best state poly dat wll have in nigeria.pls Gov Mimiko and our rector do sometinz about it.hear d cry of d poor

Hmmm! Pple taking such risk in abj..... Wot if sumtin happens? Nawaa

Jeeeez! The increment is too much. Reminds me of my days in de university. Same incident took place but we couldnt do anyting about it. I pray it shouldnt be de same case with dis school. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF CAN***

Ok nw...

C.E.O

This country is a nightmare !

But this increase too much na..they now want empty schools abi?

Why all this increase every where

Feel free to check this post
Runz Girl Stripped, Fights Married Man for Not Paying After Sleeping With Her(Photos) Click to view

This is wickedness,making things difficult for the poor Citizens, what a Country Nigeria I hail .

This acts of increasing school fee inspite the lack of qualitative education is disgusting and I can proudly say that it is ruining the future of Nigerians who after trying so hard to secure admission end up with rejection.
Ondo state governor please resolve this asap before some unscrupulous elements take over.

After this wahala nw many go come out looking for employment..... Naija goverment... There is God shah....

Naija...when will d govt stop all dis on polytechnics...rajilanre@ymail.com

Where is nigeria education heading? Some poly are still on strike and d ones that are nt on strike going through this? Lord help us

School fees hike everywhere..they shld pity parents na..na wa ooo

Students wit skul fees protest. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com. 08063645540, Anuty pls mi email is nt functional at d moment.

when it comes to expensive phones like iphones, htc, smasung s4 and s5 which are more expensive than the increased fee these students are ready to do anything to purchase it, now that their school fees was increased it boils down to a protest. SMH

What the fuck is non indegenes.......this is fucked up in Naija....

XDON D DON

Wat dis nonsence abt all d mgts of higher institutions in nigeria! All dis recent hike in d school fees with dis their poor infrastructures!! Rubbish country

If it is not fee hike, it is strike or corruption as in the case of Uniabuja, there has being a total disregard for education in Nigeria! Prices are climbing, quality of education is plummeting at an alarming rate!

the increment is much abeg.. patoswife@gmail.com

No wonder Nigerian graduates can't read and write proper english this days, all they do this days is strike. * hiss *

wanna learn how to contour for your daily makeup look? check this easy tutorial https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ss8zGqUZbsk

QHNets said...

Keep protesting Boko Haram is coming for u guys. lols

Na waooo! Na trend now for schools to hike their fees!! Anybody dear students na only when una cook beans, they go hear una!! Cook beans for express road their joor!! Linda post My comment ifeomatundeasolo@gmail.com

FATHER GOD,please send down the holy ghost fire to start burning up all the spirit of greed,wicked minds and corruption in our school system !
What happened to STUDENT LOAN ? A BE E NO SABI WHERE NAIJA DEY ? THIS IS NOT FAIR O,AND IS GETTING OUT OF HAND BECAUSE THIS MONEY WILL DIVE RIGHT INSIDE D POCKET OF SELECTED DECORATED THIEVES !

Nedum said...

School fees dey hike, education standard dey lower... Hmmmm #JustShakingMyWaist

Oh my God! D should definitely protest but make sure nobody gets killed. Imagine d raise!

U mumu o...na u boko haram go kil foollllllllll