The stocks originally belonged to Alhaji Shande Ako Dzungwe and Alhaji Isa Koto (both deceased) but were fraudulently claimed, converted and sold by the three defendants. Lawan allegedly forged identity cards, drivers licenses; school certificates and international passports of both Dzungwe and Koto, to perfect the scam.
The total value of shares converted and sold by the three defendants was N141,652,951( One Hundred and Forty One Million, Six Hundred and Fifty Two Thousand, Nine Hundred and Fifty One Naira)
Counsel to the three defendants, J. H. Bashir, informed the court of his bail application and a written address, urging the court to grant the defendants bail. He specifically prayed the court to admit the defendants to bail "owing to their fragile health condition," but Giwa countered that the EFCC had been taking good care of the medical needs of the defendants.
Justice Akapo, after listening to both counsel, adjourned the case till July 8, 2014 for ruling on bail applications and ordered that the defendants be remanded in Kirikiri Maximum Prison, Lagos.
One of the charge reads: “Mohammed Rabiu Lawan (alias Shande Ako Dzungwe), Raphael Olorunfemi Okomoda, Adegbesan Theophilus and others (still at large) on or about the 16th day of May, 2013 at Lagos within the Ikeja Judicial Division with intent to defraud, conspired to obtain the sum of N11, 493,137.83 (Eleven Million, Four Hundred and Ninety Three Thousand, One Hundred and Thirty Seven Naira, Eighty Six Kobo) property of late Shande Ako Dzungwe”.
Another count read: “Mohammed Rabiu Lawan (alias Isa Koto) on or about the 16th of May, 2013 at Lagos within the Ikeja Judicial Division with intent to defraud posed as Alhaji Isa Koto and fraudulently instructed Fidelity Security Limited to sell 216,625 units of Guinness Plc shares valued at N44,092,048 (Forty Four Million, Ninety Two Thousand and Forty Eight Naira) and transferred the proceeds into a Fidelity Bank account you opened in the name of the said Alhaji Isa Koto and withdrew same”.
Wilson Uwujaren
Head, Media & Publicity
7th July, 2014
48 comments:
Look at dis old man ooo....o ma se o
Things that people do for money#inmafikizolo'svoice#
Fiat Justicia ruat cealum
Ok na seen
XDON D DON
Baba, so naso yu wan take leave this world bdat, digraced, wetin yu dey tell ur children and grand children...... thank God hw everything turnsout though....
What greed can cause.
Na wah ooo fr dis lagos am sure dis people hv been doing dis paro since nt only dis one imagine that kind of money $ henhenhen. Tneyoth@yahoo.com
D money plenty oo.. Thank God dey caught dem tho I dnt trust EFCC
Criminals Kawai!
TOO BAD...
FOR WILL THEIR CHILDREN SAY/DO ABT DIS ACT.
Moye B
when are we going to stop these.. it is in no way good for the image of the country. cmon.
Making N15k weekly isnt a bad idea. Anyone can be part of it. See for yourself. click here .
Gud job EFCC
diaris God oo. patoswife@gmail.com
Jesus wooooo! See de 2nd man face lik wt I dnt knw. ekwuruibea@gmail.com
Even dis old man dey do scam. Poverty don finish Nigerians. May God help us. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***
Hmmm see old man wey dey fraud.. Country hard ohh
Check my blog post PHOTOS: Meet The Lady Who Makes Millions Through Massaging Boobs...Click to view
Nawa. Chioma_kairo@yahoo.com
So grandpa is involve in fraudulent activities too, may God av mercy on Nigeria. U can't trust anybody this days
Even at this age. May God help us all. dadp007@yahoo.com
Nigerians with scam #bright bravo#
Let the court decide their fates.. riwo11@yahoo.com
As old as this man is ???
Very sharp men and clever move let them enjoy there money in jail
Breezy_p rocking MTNyellow
danabiaziem@gmail.com
Chaiii this kind fraud me likey. Lols
old dudes....but i still say efcc is chasing the wrong set of people
Indeed u die u go empty ended u can imagine the millions the deceased left behind on shares alone how much more other valuables, God have mercy on the people remaining on earth that if they die right now they got nothing to leave behind ( that's how critical some people's finance is). Hope the loot would be paid back to the deceased families... mmike9@yahoo.com
1st to comment
Linda I appreciate ur efforts of fighting crime by sharing all these EFCC info thereby bringing caution 2 the general public. On ma personal opinion I think it's berra u share court outcome instead of promoting EFCC politics of sharing info on suspects even when they've not been a trial. Generally I luv ur work and contribution 2 our youths. OneKay
THIEVES!
Na waoooo!!! Ifeomatundeasolo.gmail.com
Wonders shall never end....smh for some people
Show of shame, even wit grey hairs. Too bad
If I stole that sort of money, I would vanish from the face of the earth!
hmmm... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com
na waoh...just the way our old men have refused to leave politics for u, thats also how dey wanna partake of crime ni....lol.. http://www.omobar.blogspot.com
N c their faces. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com. 08063645540, anuty, mi email is nt functional at d moment.
Nawa oooo
Mamamfunkky@gmail.com
I'm telling u!! The very height of it!
Dat baba for middle nor respect im age?
na wa for this old man hmm...
love2nicee@yahoo.com
Greed nothing more than that!
They should pity the old man and hold the other 2 men
With ds great-great grandpa.well now I blve in trust no ONE
@gracenot2001@yahoo.com
See old papa wey still dey do 419...what greediness causes.
things are happening..sometimes it jst feels to me like am living in anoda world and d peeps i hear doing all dis un=imaginable tinz prob lives in a different planet...i dey sweat..
Foolish EFCC expose politicians una no gree expose dem...SMH FOR NIAJA USELESS COUNTRY AND 80% USELESS PPLE
After dey wil say na only igbo pple lik money