Olu of Warri rescinds decision to renounce title | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 September 2013

Olu of Warri rescinds decision to renounce title

The Olu of Warri, Ogiame Atuwase II, has rescinded his decision to renounce his royal title, Ogiame, as well as abolish some ancient Itshekiri cultural practices. The Itsekiri Monarch bowed to the wishes of his people after days of protests. His people asked him to either rescind his decision or abdicate.

His decision was made public this afternoon Tuesday September 10th at the Kings Palace by one of his High Chiefs, Rita Lori Ogbebor, who read from a statement that was issued by 22 Palace Chiefs

94 comments:

Choose ye this day whom you will serve. You cannot serve two masters.

His rescindment is commendable! At least for the sake of Peace.

Babs @ Edubabs.com said...

To me, he has chosen the right path. But he can still be king and rule his people. These tradition people sha!!! Long live King. Heaven will you surely get to.

IkwerreBoy said...

If ancestors are real he has already shamed his ancestor... whatever sacrifice he does in future will not be accepted my them I think he should just abdicate and follow his new found faith/tradition.

looiolz the man actually thought of the royalties he'll loose should he abdicate his throne.
give to ceaser what is ceaser's and to God what is God's.

Rough Diamond said...

Mtchew!!!

English ooo...sigh, the only thing i could note were his rollie.... chai, the king be living Vida-loca...

If he is truly serious he should step down and remain faithful to his God, choosing to remain king means he will continue to pay allegiance to the river goddes. If you ask me I think he just wants to eat his cake and have it.

Wet Pussy said...

wow . .i never knew the chiefs could be so powerful

click HERE for more gist

TangoTangoAlpha said...

And these same people can spend 23 and half hours a day blasting Islamic fanatics while claiming southern Nigeria is majority Christian.
I'm Christian but I think southern Nigeria is majority pagan. Everyone rushes to their village for "New Yam Festival" (South East), "Oshun Festival" (Yoruba), "Ojude Oba Festival" (Ijebu), "Ekpe Festival" (Calabar) and hundreds of other masquerade parade, animal slaughter and libation pouring festivals yet they claim to be Christians. Didn't the Bible say have no other god but Jehovah the true God? SMH.

D seat got 2hot he cldnt seat he dosnt knw u can't serve God n man same tym he has to choose God said if u are neither cold nor hot I wld spit u out its either the world or ur savation wat shal it profit a man if he gains d whole world n loose his soul *LILYBIEN say so

The man is greedy,he does not want 2 leave d throne n all d vanities dat follows.....its hard 4 a rich Man 2 enter heaven than a camel 2 pass tru d eye of a needle

Honestly I admire him, for him to have made publicly known he's denouncing the throne...for GOD, God is proud of him even though he changed his mind, this is for Peace to reign and I know my God is a merciful God.

Janelicious said...

U can serve two masters @ desame tym

Since he doesnt believe in the practices, he should be dethroned!

OMG!WOMAN said...

Poor man, you have to trade with wisdomn even modachi adviced esther not to reveal she's jewish till gets the crown *wisdom*

Long live the Iwere Kingdom. Ogiame!!! Tsuooooo

Leaked Photos said...

Serious issue

Money matter

Itsekiri clan aren't who anybody can toy with even the Olu himself knowns. We are good xtian but forgetting our culture is out of it. Nigerians&this their hypnotized xtianity way of life oyinbo's wnt let deir culture die yet dey brought xtianity into our nation. We nigerians are nothing but what this yoruba Adage says with the way we practise xtanity "Eni to ri nnkan e to fe ku nitori e owo eni to ti so nu nko" meaning he who find a lost &found item that wants to die over it what should the person dat lost d item in d 1st place do.mr,miss&mrs na me holy past blog commentators abuse me if you want na u sabi. Culture is culture, culture is what differentiate one clan from the other if we now let go of the culture I wonder what we will tell our children that will interest them about their pple. Christianity has come to stay but robbing us of our culture is a no no issue. We d itsekiri's aren't bastards that uses his/her left hand to describe the house of his father. Ogiame suooooooooo

Things fall apart

What's this man trying to prove....is better for him to just leave the throne and focus on his new faith in christ...this is called traditional ruler n nt just a king,tradition must stay.

DownUnder said...

Same story. Different interpretations. Different comments.'

Nwa said...

Confused king .mtcheeeeew.

I am totally disappointed with this man. And take note, he is the Olu of Itsekiri not Warri. You should have stood ur ground. Men may fail u, but God never will.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Wished he had forfeited d throne n follow christ,I knew dis wil b difficult but let God b d judge,its well

Favourmoyse Blog said...

Wisdom is profitable to direct

If u are in a particular position, its coz God has wished it so. I don't what his reasons are for taking it back but I do know he must have prayed and given it a lot of tot. So, stop talking rubbish like"he must have tot of what he ll lose" pple shud tink b4 they talkk or dey re no better than animals.

See born again,he can't leave the things of the world yet he boldly calls himself a born again. Go and read ur bible Mr Olu

His reward shall be truly great IF he has decided to serve the one and only living GOD. May God bless him and see him through this period.

commendable act.

Wat was he thinking..you cant eat your cake ans have it.if ye want to serve the lord abdicate the throne and let somebody else continue in the ways and tradition that has survived his ancestors one that will obviously survive him.he cant change the traditions of the land and at the same time sit there to reap the benefit the throne brings plus why want to do away with the title wen it simply means(king over a riverine area).#misplaced priorities

High profile indecision, what shall it profit a man 2 gain the whole world and loses his Soul. Remember Daniel and the 3 Hebrew boys.

This Rita Lori sha! Why will he not succumb to Rita Lori, when she is the one that single-handedly helped them retain the controversial "Olu of Warri" title. Madam Lori, has ties and I mean "ties" with the powers that be in Nigeria. SMH @the Olu sha, I actually thought he made up his mind not to go to hell. Rita Lori and her escapades at the top. The Olu never had a say where she is. They always run to her for everything and she calls her Oga at the top for them, even when they are wrong like the case of Naming their already named King of Iwere Kingdom the Olu of Warri. All she did was to call her Oga at the top. I knew it from the start, if Rita Lori comes from her Oga @ the top and I mean "on-top-of-her", this sham will be ended and that's what happened. It will all end one day. Very soon, the tables will turn. I don't see why any people will accept and celebrate harlots, witchcraft, occult practices, Juju and all the barbaric things openly. An Itsekiri man, whether he was a pope, on his burial, his children and family must go to the shrine to do what they call "play oracle" and they appease their water gods. They'll eventually bury the person at the juju burial ground, that's if it accepts or be thrown into another of their Juju's forest. What manner of people are those??? They are never fully into anything except Idol worshipping or witchcraft. Nine out of ten Itsekiris are witches and when they die their oracle asks for their bodies to be thrown to its forest to continue the "fellowship". God is still God. It will end sooner than later and it'll begin with the change of that Rita Lori's given title "Olu of Warri". The name is an insult to other ethnicities in Warri. Rita Lori you can't have your Oga's on top of you forever. Watch out!!!!

Friendship with d world is emenity to God

Monetary reasons u knw

He's a good king wat he did shows humility... Nd he used rule of law.........nd equality.... Absolute predominance nd suprimacy of law over everybody.. 1 mans's poison is noda mans food

Esther##.....

Shame! I just lost my respect for him. Reminds me of the young man who Jesus asked to leave everything and follow him, I guess the title and royalty were stronger than his new found faith. Well, God knows best. Praise King Jesus!

Omo bendelie said...

Well 2me D king&his immediate family should stick 2his new found faith

Give to Caesar wot is Caesar and to God what belongs to him. Its also in the bible

Edwin Akwudolu said...

The man still needs it http://highteknology.blogspot.com

news world said...

only him knows his reasons.

So sad, he bowed to pressure and denied Jesus. Ang

Beta.U can't be a king n said u don't want to hav anytin to do wit tradition.It can't work dt way.

Daughter of Zion. said...

For Peace sake, that is commendable sir.

The whole of Foursquare Nigeria, International and McPherson University stands by you and is praying for U in your moment of trials. We understand your decision too. God keep and bless U.

Why start Ẅђα† u cannot finish? This new development is contraditing his believes. He shd have put his foot down or walk away frm the trone that is against his believes. Now he looks like a greedy man who cant walk away bc of kingship. N those chiefs will be pushing him around now bc he danced to their tone.I really liked is former decission.

A king dat lick is vomit dat wat he is

Greed I'll say. If he's truly changed and a real born again christian, he ought to have abdicated the throne in order to practice his 'new-found' faith.

victor usifoh da illustrator said...

Loose royalty ke! U know how many witches go don appear to him as we speak..dem go do face warn am wella! U tink say na clr eye. Wen u see ur great grandfather wey die before dem born u inside ur room dey pour u whisky! No be man to man be dis o. Man to spirikoko!

Hello Kitty said...

why didnt he abdicate if he is such a man of God. even he wants power. smh.

confusedwriter said...

you can't change an ancient tradition of people that they obviously hold in high esteem just because of your personal faith. I'm glad the people fought for d right to protect their culture and i'm also glad he reconsidered.

victor usifoh da illustrator said...

Royalty ke! You know how many witches go don appear to him last night? See u o! Wen him great grandfather wey don die before dem born am go show for him room pour whisky for round table talk? No be man to man tin be dis o. Dis na man to spirikoko!

Confused man mtchew!

C hz maga abı na akporz face....onye orı...ınstead of u 2 abdıcate n follow ur heart...oko-oko oshı

He's not serious. Why didn't he think properly before coming out with d decision before? "He who puts his hand in d plough & looks back is not fit for d kingdom of God.
www.kaylachanai.blogspot.com

elay said...

No one can serve 2 masters. Its either God or mamon. D best tin to do is to stepdown from the throne and serve God as he ought to.

It's really a good thing that u renounced the devil and his crafty ways to follow christ! Heaven celebrates you....

Couldn't agree more. Chat with me if u don't mind, inbox me ur pin on uju_ezu@yahoo.com

Ffw my hair and fashion blog for hair n make up tutorials and fashion trends @
www.vikissocietyofchic.blogspot.com

Why was it so hard for him to abdicate. Was his faith not strong enough? It is obvious he didn't really think through any of his decisions. Shame.

Oma said...

I understand his predicament, the Bible says that "righteousness exalt a nation and sin is a reproach to any nation".he tried but his people didn't want to accept,this tradition we are talking about might involve shedding of human blood,and this fight can not be successful if the chiefs in council are against him,he can not step down now because God put him there for his own glory,one day it shall be accomplished, stay steadfast in the Lord;it is well.

the bible says when the righteous rules the land is at peace, so who says Christ like people are not meant to be kings. The sooner we stand up and take nations for God the better...

Foolish man! He should step down jor! How can he say that he is a born again Christian and remain on the throne. Fake born again. What he should have done from the start was to step down and issue a statement explaining his reason. Nigerian men lack courage, dig its and integrity. Power hungry fools!

Its not about royalties wanker ...its better to give peace a chance

Wisdom they say is profitable. That he didn't abdicate doesn't mean he is thinking of the royalties he will lose, more of him thinking of what will be lost in terms of what he had already gained.
Abdicating would mean someone more fetish would be enthroned and thus all the things this Olu has fought to be abolished will be re-instated.
He made a wise decision, he will get his chance another day to make the changes the warri kingdom so desperately needs.
Long live the king.

He is not serious!

Hrm paul ojeih said...

clown you never should have made dat decision if u gat no courage to back it up and see it through you only brought disrepute to your self and your family i thought he said he was born again so he decided to betray his religion by not abdicating the throne if this chap was really born again and he was a soldier for our lord Jesus Christ he would have damned the consequence and left the throne for them after all we are all seeking eternal life what a pity wat a shame dat men are no longer men there is no difference btw this man and fani kayode

Sane Mind said...

His Belief was not strong enough for him to abdicate the throne,,you cant serve two masters,he will either choose one of the two!,,and i think his traditional belief is getting the better of him,,,

I seriously admire this comment....you made your points known backing them up with facts. You're 100% right!

Degovernor said...

I really appriciate the king for the first step he took by condem,those evil practise,wise choice he made by not abdicate the thron,who knows what whould have happen if someone else took over the thron.

Heaven is WINNING!

Chitastruth@wordpress.com said...

@ The Olu, he should have gone all the way and abidicated. But for ye, that speaks on paganism and tying it to festivals, read your bible well abeg. The Roman festivals where what was converted to Christain celebrations such as Easter. The festive days were followed religiously even by the early christains. Check out hotgist on Chitastruth@wordpress.com

GBAM! @ ANONYMOUS 4:16 AM. YOU HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. smH @ brain washed Nigerians, some people would die just to have a culture as rich as ours,yet you're willing to throw it away for a twisted view of religion!

R said...

GBAM! @ ANONYMOUS 4:16 AM. YOU HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. smH @ brain washed Nigerians, some people would die just to have a culture as rich as ours,yet you're willing to throw it away for a twisted view of religion!

Jennykiss said...

He rescinded? Did he publicly choose "man" over God?...how disappointing and Cowardly of him!

Look, its one thing to declare yourself a servant of God and another thing to actually Serve Him...one should always fully understand and accept the latter before plunging into the former.

Now, what kind of King would he make, when his words (which is all he has) cant even be trusted, and how easily he seems to fold under pressure?

Well, Mr "Olu of Warri" prepare to enjoy only benefits from men, cos obviously the source of your confidence, hope and success is derived from them! Enjoy your reign!!

yemzy said...

He's has done wat he tik is rite, but trust me. If e leaves his throne dat sit will b emply until his death. U can say all its only d chief dat knw d truth. I bliv d king still stood on his ground 2 remain a christain. D all tin is compired by d chiefs 4 peace say.

The last hs not been heard on this matter. I smell a BIG rat. Let's watch and see.

Are you for real?? What baseless accusations! That when an Itskekiri man dies....bla bla bla, nine out of ten Itskekiri's are witches....bla bla bla. You must be high on something honestly.
Get your facts right before you write thrash next time.

Everybody is crucifying this man, do you know if God spock to him not to step down but to use this opportuinity to win more souls to the kingdom? Do you know how God works? Stop the george and let God have his way.

As much as u hate to admit. It's about it. If he really wanted to follow his religion, he should have just stood his ground and abdicate the throne

If you ask me,he's not fit to be a king.A king never revokes his decisions,come what may!He's too feeble minded.Abeg,he shud just abdicate the throne and come and serve God.You cannot serve two masters.

LadyF

Sometimes,I tie my two legs together & pretend that I'm a mermaid.

THE GREAT ONE

How would living d throne make him relevant to d christian faith. Let's wait n see d end of d matter first. He'd change more lives as a king you know....

Teeteelahyo

Now that's what u call "chopping wisdom kola nut "

chike said...

U̶̲̥̅̊ have spoken d truth....

'Wot manner of ppl are those?'.....Find out from ur parents why most of them go by Itsekiri names

didi said...

If u don't knw wat to say or don't av ur facts right u berra sharrap ... U just said rubbish abt d burial tin ... Ode

Truth Hurts said...

The title of Olu of Warri, was formerly known as the Olu of Itsekiri, when the title was changed by Awolowo's Western Nigerian government in 1952. The Urhobos and Ijaws saw this as an attempt to impose an Itsekiri ruler over them. The title dispute has led to series of clashes between the tribes.

Chai see ibo girl oo, am sure its the dick on prince charmings profile. she see wey her body no settle... Will send u my pin too so that you can have plenty dicks to choose from..lol

The Itsekiri's are very fetish. Before an Itsekiri person can be buried in Ode Itsekiri, their ancestral home, they MUST find out from the High Priest whether the person was a witch or wizard, if the High Priest says the person was a witch or wizard, they take the body to the evil forest, no dignified burial. A shame on the family.

rolex on da wrist

Keep quiet. God kept him ther and has plans for him. What if he lives and a demonic person goes ther. Just pray for him dat God gives him wisdom on how to handle this situation and don't attck him

All these non itsekiri ignoramus wud jst cme on blogs n start talking trash..d issue is dt there is nothing like abdication in in itsekiri tradition.its never done..once a man ascender stays there for life...its either he is dead or he's alive..as long as d man who once sat on d throne is alive,evn if he claims abdication n runs away,no body cn eva occupy it.. a new king does nt meet d former king alive..he knows the enormity of d issue on ground dt was y he rescinded d edict..he believes on d wish of his ppl.the throne wasn't creatd by him or his fore fathers, hence he cn not wake up n jst say he wants to abolish d traditions.he has a right not to participate but he doesn't v a say on who cn or cnt..d king was made to serve d ppl nt d oda way.tradition supercedes evn d king himself..if in a case he decides to abdicate n run away.. no oda person cn b crown until he is seen dead or alive evn if it takes 50years for him to b found...d throne ll remain empty.so he knows wt his at stake.wither his life as the king or him being..its nt abt d material tins he's benefitin,its much more dn dt..as for dos idiots claimin d itsekiri r fetish...ur tribe is even worse..hw many monarchs cn u name who's is cme out n publicly claim Christianity?it takes lot of guts to do dt and as a traditional ruler he must v gatherd a lot of courage...d only way he went wrong was dt,he didn't consult d full council of chiefs b4 making dt edict..if he had done dt..the issue won't v seen d light of day cos he wud av bn told its futile.u cnt force a religion on ur ppl cos u practice it..he knws wt ws at stake b4 he accepted d crown...so he shd stick to it...as it is..he as destroyed d chances of his sons being king..pls y'all shd knw facts b4 running ur mouths

What has tribe got to do with the love of dick, you stinking Yoruba idiot? Yoruba babes that love dick like it will run out one day, even married Yoruba women sit on any dick they find... In any case it is a thumb on Prince Charming's profile photo not a dick... dodo head.