No Nigerian university makes world’s most influential list | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 September 2013

No Nigerian university makes world’s most influential list

The annual Global Universities' ranking by Quacquarell Symonds (QS), was released recently and no Nigerian university made the top 1, 000 most influential schools in the world. Seven universities in South Africa and six in Egypt were among the top 700. Sad for us. Check on it HERE

149 comments:

someborri looking 4 T.R.O.U.B.L.E said...

Very sad for them not sad for us in Jesus name Amin amin! Shior kelebe tuweeeee!

Lol why do you sound surprised?

What a disgrace...to our Nation!!well still part of wat we r fighting for ..Asuu tinz!!!first to coment@ linda

I don't see why we should keep giving in to some stupid ranking that a white dudel will wake up one mornin and update. (Top rappers in nigeria, top universities rankin), all dis rankings are flukes. E b like say I go soon release my ranking too o!

Its a good news.....mayb ASUU university will make it next year!!! #yeyeGovt.

Lwkmd!

Amarachi said...

Am not surprise anyways.Yet they make us pay thousands of money and no job then go on strike

Hmmmm.mmm BEEF

Tiana said...

As our politician won use us play politic, how we won take compete? To even imagin I left d comfort of my litle room to go and vote for some one dat would keep me @ home for close to 3months or even turn me to drope out! Mtchhwmmm! God will judge dem and dia evil deeds......

oyekunle.b said...

Lolz, PDP + bros jona = asuu strike.... beside with right thinking leader will not be concern about the education of it nation, na Nigeria own I see Ooº°˚˚°ºoO , asuu d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ strike, the so call leaders claim there is no money yet they orders for 50k gold plate Iphone. May God help Nigeria

Rough Diamond said...

Before nko?
Our educational system is dead!
Gbam!!!

How is that even possible? Nigerian University? lol!

Nawa Ooº˚°º≈º°˚ºoO . If ₪a̶̲̥̅ ASUU strike and cultism ₪a̶̲̥̅... *NG* for be no1... I bow for dia mata Ooº˚°º≈º°˚ºoO

krisy k said...

Well, am nt suprise, when our politicians are alwayz sending their kids abroad, wat are they expected to do.

seunLondon said...

Not surprised at all esp with this endless strike actions and money making ventures called private uni in Nigeria?, May God heal our land .........#SeunLondon

Am not surprised....tanx to our govt..mtchewwwww

we really need to step up our game Nigeria! More grease to your elbow Linda!

kunle said...

This is part of what ASUU is clamouring and fighting for. It is sad indeed. Learn 2eat healthy, the right way.

Linda did u grow up in nsukka?

Am Not surprised sha!!! Our educational sector is dying day by day because of all this bullshit we call our leaders!! God pass them though.....

Oluwadamilola said...

Hahahaha! Before nko? What were you xpecting? Sisi Linda, gbagbe oshi, ko joor mhen! Lmao

Am Not surprised sha!!! Our educational sector is dying day by day because of all this bullshit we call our leaders!! God pass them though.....

Tele nkan...what do u expect?..who respects any of the universities?....the private ones are money grabbing...the federal ones are living on past glory...the affluent lecturers are all on sabbatical leave....so what remains?..

Saad...a foreign second degree is what most Nigerian graduates aim for...because even d Nigerian degree cert is not respected in the homeland...

I'd rather school in Ghana...than Nigeria...so sad.

A man once said that he will rather be treated by a 70 year old Nigerian veterinary doctor than a recent Nigerian medical doctor graduate!!..that tells the story...no confidence in our current education system compared with the good old days..

wemimo said...

#lobatan#

Concerned Nigerian Woman said...

We should be surprised because? It is well with Nigeria! Our leader have other things to deal with! Education is the least! Even a so-called educated president doesn't care!

Miss J said...

Its not a surprise....The govt is focused on mere political party n he's reign as president again than the future. Basically, d youths who r meant to b the developing force are asked to sit @ home while "foolish old mumus" who have been there since independence are still calling d shots. So tell me how can there be progress. Huh? Sick country, greedy leaders and scared youths.

LInda

Lmao na wa o! And Na naija you go write almost 100 exams to pass jus to enter dis useless uni.....God have mercy mehn....omo weather skul or not, man must mke am oo..no tym

*YAWNS* Lili odika u dnt knw d system of education in dis country.. Dis small strike wey we go do u knw how much d lecturers are losing from milking students? Its called *sorting* either by cash or kind. Tell me how we will be top 1000 wen d lecturers are concentrating more on d money dey get nd d student concentrate more on making d cash available... The motivation adiro there so everyone is fighting to survive... First to comment* SOMY*

Linda na wa oo.y unn cm dey ds post.u no like us ni?

Yh yh yh 1st to comment..... Guess all liberz don slip....... No wonder there's enuf rm here for m to comment.....
Well its nt surprising dat non of 9ja institute make d list of influential uni..... FG n ASUU don degrade our educational system....... Abegi dnt even lik discussing dis ASUU of a tin.... I sha no b4 january dem go call am off.... N if nt, atmost wen "goodluck" leaves office com 2015 insha Allah...... Gbam my case's rested

Qy Winks

Linda why are you sad, South African government gives 40% of there yearly budget to education, Nigeria gives only 6.7%.You simply can't have what you didn't work for. Went to report at my PPA some months ago it is the almighty Great Ife, the Dean of Student Affairs was so proud of the school, making it sound as if its d only university in d world, common first 1000 dey couldn't make. Shio

How can any Nigerian University make it on this list? Except if the criteria be runz and strike...lol

Oluwa gbami..

Mayowa

Oh really?!! *scratches jaw, ask me why I am not surprised.

Linda we can never achieve that yet oo only if our wonderful government and leaders make good impact on the education system. Mehn it's really sad that we have got all systems in Nigeria in a dead state and we are definitely government to ourselves»we provide ourselves good education through private universities. »We provide electricity for ourselves too,in short all.Instead of then to work on our education thing they are there talking about 2015 election and owing ASUU.*sigh* I fit write book on this cef *Eyes rolling*.I hope I didn't gbagaun
***EDO BABE***

What do they teach in the Nigerian university sef? It is only when you graduate that you realize that Nigerian schools don't educate you, they just saturate your brain, walahi!!! They just pack theory on your head and fail to help you put em into practice, leaving unprepared for the real world. The strikes does not even help, little wonder why people are trooping to even Niger! For quality education.

How we wan take enter, thees countries don't have kingdergerten president like us, whose joy is ASUU stike and delights in corruption and lies.

http://MegaStoon.Com/?share=131108

And why is that a surprise!!!! Nigerian institutions are very poor and that includes the students and lecturers in them.

Linda plzz mk ur question of d day. "WHERE HAVE ALL THE GOOD MEN GONE?"

What a shame to Nija

It's sad buh I'm not surprised!!! Plenty of our so called lecturers and professors are nothing to write home about (they know nothing), we lack adequate teaching materials/lab equipment, you can imagine the kinda graduates it'll produce. A good number of Federal, states and Private Universities should be closed down. Too many quacks around. Educational system in Nigeria needs revival!!!

@Bobo_Edo

On-air-person said...

How appaling and to even tink dat strike is on piques me

Linda? Seriosly! Am surprised ur surprised we aint dere!!!! Our education is fucked up!!! Nothing guud bout it!!! Not even al dose so calld private uni made it... Mtchwww! Education ni!assu strike ko!! Nxt plz!! *ONYX GODWIN*

Asuu strike thing **sad**

very sad indeed...mtcheeeew...plz dis is my first time of commentin in linda's blog

Pa Samo said...

I'm not surprise @ all, when u consider d poor administration in this country and d ASUU headache, U'll see that naija Universities can't b on the list...maybe some other time

1st to Comment Yaaaaaay! Morning err1.
@iam_yakzloopy

SIMPLYCOCK said...

With the perennial industrial action by ASUU, there is no way universities in Nigeria would be rated high. And the private universities whose calenders have been running smootly could not even rescue the morale dampening situation!

Ofilispeaks.com said...

we are number for "striking" universities and when we are not striking we are creating glorified secondary schools.

BUT WHY' NIGERA'

BUT WHY' NIGERIA...'

Ounpe!!!!!,go tell police...anyway, na me first comment...hehehehe!

Now to be sincere.......we suppose enta?ar we competent enuf......no!abeg make we pack well jarey......*boards a plane*na aso rock i dey go so,haba!(habatically)call off d strike nau

Linda were u xpectin a Nigerian university to be there,even our so called private universities ain't there..mtcheeeew.next

Parle G said...

Not surprised...

awwww! thats the main gate of my Alma mater.
Mbanefo see tanker!

What a shame! Nigeria a whole giant of Africa. The younger generation has to take over the affairs of dt nation! All DS older Gen generation shld go nd rest , thet hve done well in wrecking every sector of Nigeria .

In spite of the amount of money some private schools charge. Such a pity

Too bad ...FG una don c am na.

Hehehehehe what else were we expecting?!

May Almighty GOD save us in dis our country Nigeria,sometimes I begin to wonder..Its a pity anyway

Asuu Strike is still on & u Xpect NiGerian Uni 2 b Dier...LinDa Are u Dreaming ?

wat a shame...and we wil say we hav a president...does he even knw about tinx lik dis?

I don't understand ur problem nwa mgbeke ah,is it now unn pix that u will use?hehehe,okwa inwero respect,abi?

Nawa oh,2 bad.

ohluwatowseen said...

2 me d news is not sad @ all.it's d truth.d standard of education in nigeria is in total shambles.thank God it's nt possible 2 bribe d people @ QS.I'm sure most of our Unis will aPpear on d list.

harry4blink said...

linda y you come use unn for the image of this kind post

Do you tnk Nigerian university has wat it takes to even be among the top 1million?...hell no !

Didn't expect to see any Nigerian university there naw! Aren't they all on strike?

Normal.

When govt are busy focussing on how to do re-election, why won't our school lack behind

Asuu thingz

Am coming to take ur job. Wits graduate south africa.

Emmanuel said...

thats so terrible. Nigeria no even make sense in education nd yet Govt nd asuu ar still delibrating on wether 2 improve our educational system. God help us.

Emmanuel said...

thats very terrible. Nigeria is nt even gud in education, nd yet asuu nd government ar stil 'delibrating' up til nw. God help us.

UNN,UI,UNILAG,ABU or even Uni-ilorin shld hv being on d list

not suprised as our leaders have decided to igonre education.

they are fighting for there belly for 2015. what a shame

This is bad (sad) our education system is crumbling by the day. And we call ourselves Giant of Africa.

Hw do u expect us to make d list wen Jonathan is considering 2015 & d FG unis are on sabatical strike

How would we make the list...sorry to say nigeria is such a usless country,wit nothing but selfish leaders..mtchew

our education system is makn me cry.hw can they do dat since d FG nd education authorities ar busy pleasing themselves rather than d future leaders.

Ehn now..Linda what do u expect?..our so called lecturers can't even pass modern W.A.E.C..all they how know to do iz to frustrate student..BY FRENZY

They only come out wen it comes out to entertainment,dia's wia u would see pple like our baby davidi0 fightn 4 vanity,dis country is jus so messed up,or u would see dem talkn abt who dated bianca ojukwu,or wah beverly is doing,or wah dencia said,or wah rita domnic wore or wah dbanj wore or wear omotala n children went to,or 1 miss dah or miss d other,or annie idiba blazing on radio station,kia!..is so annoying,students has stayed more than 2mnths are home,..those who released that list need more than an appaluse..stupid useless country

How would we make the list...sorry to say nigeria is such a usless country,wit nothing but selfish leaders..mtchew

Giant of africa, huh.so touching.hehehe.

ike gift ifunanya said...

Even my Alma mata UNN . . Dis pix reminds me of d good old DEN. . ASUU has got some work to do.

Wen asuu dey go strike every time why niger skool go dey

ΔSHIΔ said...

Oh I wonder who's to blame for that? I point straight at our failed government and Goddamn Selfish rulers. God hav Mercy on d Nigerian Government.Dasall

What abt GH unis,i see thr's no use going thr 2 study as well.

MlleP said...

Linda were u really expecting any different??!

Its not a new thing... We all know we can't get on that current list, not with the on-going strike.

Of course no Nigerian University would make the list, afterall they are on strike!!!!

Thumbs up asuu and fg, u guys are d best

Hehehe,Sad 4 the surveyor not me.... I sha go good Naija sxol n my cert is not questionable. Make dem come withdraw my B.Tech na #Dhurr.
But serzly our leaders need to attend to the basic needs

So unfair .. Blaming it on d government

pwitie B said...

So wat?if its nt there its nt there wats d big deal btw Assu strike shud b called off am tired of stayin @ home

princess charming said...

Na wa oh,out of 1000 no Nigerian university,dats bad

It starts from buying and selling and upgrading of waec results from secondary school level even sorting out of common entrance exams of primary school level. In all, when time seemed so innocent; an evil seed was planted by the mating of a low performance driven teacher and a greed driven lazy parent when our valueless naira exchanged their hands thus selling any hope of a bright future of an innocent child unfortunately born into a soceity that holds no value for excellence through hardwork. I initially thought we had any university, only to find out it was a political body called ASUU. So why would anybody from this part of void be dissapointed when human beings rank their universities.

Dem nor well, Make Dem come Nigeria come sch if Dem go fit survive. Dem nor see OAU or even UI, make Dem carry their ranking go sitdown for shit...

Wat a shame!!! And our youth wil stil go out 2 vote com 2015. I pity those who wil waste der tym 2 stand under sun sayin they ar castin der vote 4 thiefs. Wit all d resources God as bless us wit in 9ja we stil cnt av gud education!! Its really painfull.

How are we supposed to make the list when we are busy going on strike. SMH

Lol... No b small sad 4us!

dats 2 bad 4 our bloved country

Thanks to the vcs of nigerian unis they are doing a great job.#thumbsup,let's not 4get Assu n FG.

Lol why would any Nigeria universities be there when our wealth politicains can send their children to any of this those top universities on the list. Lol
Nigeria have a long long way to SMH.

Sad for them. It evn sucks 2 be them. My alma mata all d way UNN.

juicyhawtstuff said...

Why am I not surprised?may God save this country.

see life na niger no dey shame

Ofcourse, taking into account the deplorable state of uni in Naija and coupled with the recent development we won't even smell d list

Seriously were you expecting any Nigerian university to be on the list?
No parent who has the capability wants his children to attend university in Nigeria. Nigerians now attend university in the republic on benin!The lecturers only sell handouts and request money for marks that is why most of our graduates are unemployable if we are true to ourselves. Some can hardly spell or string sentences correctly.
No research of any sort which is what the academia is know for. Something needs to be done and urgently too

SouthernSoul said...

How dem go make d list Na....with asuu,nasu,ssanu strikes? A time may come in Nigeria dat even students will decide to go on strike.

How we go make List wen ASUU dey strike.

This isn't news these days! When most of your readers can't even type properly, that should tell you something about the state of education in Nigeria.

shutup mofo! Even if asuu fights 4 1000years No Federal Nigeria University would ever be on dat list

that girl said...

Like seriously, Linda of destiny nd life, y is it sad? I don't get? Did u really expect Nigeria to be on d list? Haha girl u funny!! D Nigerian educational system isnt dying.... Dat ship sailed light yrs ago....d system is dead, na burial we dey wait......

The more reason, y i tink dis ASUU strike shouldn't be called off. And for the record, all those so called schools in 9ja that attaches "the great" as a title to their universities should tk note of this latest ranking!!! MSCHEW. In ASUU we trust. Lol

@Chinemerem, its 'Surprised'... do you now see the problem?
@Tiana, wrong time for pidgin English don't you think?
@oyekunle.b where do I start?
@kris k, 'surprised'
@Odeh Peter,I+am= I'm not am...
At this point, I need not stress the reason why there is no Nigerian University on that list.
I rest my case

You're shocked? Even with the current ASUU palaver?

Is not science rocket now!!! Abi? Work it out yourself. Strike today, Killing of student, Cult members operating,Bribe here & there.
If there happen to be one, I will even query it.

my dearest 'that girl' kindly note that 'light years' is used for distance and not time... guys seriously!

Janelicious said...

not surprised nay, commom linda with the standard of education in nigeria we can never be on that list in the next 100 years.

Linda if u were surprised, then u need Jesus...lolz
While schools around the world keep improving, our lecturers are looking for better pay after all d sorting fee, their recycled text books from the 70s they make us buy by all means...The government on the other hand has relegated education to the back of the back seat. I bet u, no Nigerian schools wld even be among the ist 2000.. Its not a curse, its the bitter truth

Well I believe the ASUU strike has a factor to play but hey what about the private ones then? Babcock should be in that list.

Not surprised anyway, the facilities are appalling. They government need to STOP stuff the money into there pockets and invest it in the education system , its so sad that loads of us have to go out of Nigeria to study

Hilary i swear ur ryt o. Nothing to show for except certificate. D onli tin u can boast of is wateva u learnt on ur own

Every year Nigerians go to Ghana and spend more than $7,000 yearly developing the educational sector of Ghana, hundreds of students paying for almost the same form of Education you should get in Nigeria,(without asuu strikes or cultism).

My Point is we do not value the little things in this country. There are so many ways to make Nigerian schools and universities self sustaining (eradicating the frequent strikes) but our leaders are not equip to think!...

May God help Nigeria.

#ViewFrom10thFloor.

I wonder o,no b magic na. They worked hard for it,Naija didn't. Congratulations to d Govt n ASUU!

Why am I not surprised? Mtchewww!!!

I can see my son's future school :MIT', @ no 1. AMEN!!!!!!!'

Pls where are all dos schools dat collect 800k for dier fees per semester? Dey arnt in a list of 1000? Too bad and wat a shame indeed it is. D standard/quality of education in Nigeria keeps deteriorating by d day. Wit all d money dey make dey can't put up dier schools to standard. Again I say, wat a shame. Y won't ppl send dier kids outside dis effing country to skul?

Sorry but if you went to college/university in Nigeria I don't respect your degree. In terms of facilities, resources and technique, your medical doctors are graduating thirty years out of date. It's a joke.

Chidi Onuke said...

Thanks to ASUU strike..University of IBADAN still first and the best...

Big Solo said...

It is a shame for a country like ours including the almighty private university where parents pay over 5million annually. What a shame to our government. President Jonathan wake up from your slumber.

yeah! my school is no 5!

naija babe said...

Buffoon, does dat matter? Is dat d issue at hand...like u don't know dats d University of Nigeria...Slacker!

naija babe said...

Buffoon, does dat matter? Is dat d issue at hand...like u don't know dats d University of Nigeria...Slacker!

And so??!make we fry beans 4 u?

Am not suprised... FG ordered 53 gold plated iphones worth of 679millions of naira... also all Nigerian universities are on strike... lecturers ain't helping.. so ar d students... even if na first 3000 most influential universities Nigeria no suppose dey

SIMPLYCOCK said...

@Eze Chukwumereze...why can't we find Babcock among the best 10 Nigerian universities in the last NUC ranking of Nigerian universities?
Why didn't we find your Babcock among Webometric's or ICU's best 100 Universities in Africa?
Oh it is ASUU strike that suddenly would cure Babcock or Babpussy of its inability to measure up.....

You don't make top1000 by sitting at home three quarter of the academic year. And you cannot do research without libraries or electricity. Keep praying Nigerians, the Lord will hear your prayers after He has settled Syria

Buh wait.... We are all talking about ASUU strike, this and that. What about the private universities, did they go on strike too? Why didn't they make the list?

Make money online now! http://MegaStoon.Com/?share=58448

Hey, it should be "on the list" Smdh!

obviously, nigeria's education section is shit. wai 5years for exam malpractice my bloody ass

Anyone who has ever schooled in a developed country will understand why.

Some Libers here are so daft,do you people study in Nigeria..Dullards...

Anon September 17, 2013 at 12:03 AM...You re the dullest person in this blog,other comments re okay,this is not about racism or something,if you travel abroad always you will even love whites the more for at least accommodating us this much,if we were like them we wouldn't want the next person to smile.Nigeria is just a good example of a failed nation,I hope they is a revolution in that country someday.For those of you that are so daft look at the so called house members fighting while on national seating....I wish most of you have the privilege of traveling Abroad to see.