NBC bans radio stations from playing Wizkid's The Matter & Phyno's Man of the Year | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 September 2013

NBC bans radio stations from playing Wizkid's The Matter & Phyno's Man of the Year

According to Beatfm OAP Gbemi Olateru Olagbegi, The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has instructed them not to play two songs - Wizkid ft Maleek Berry - The Matter and Phyno - 'Man of the Year. Were they singing ashewo things in the songs?

197 comments:

Jobless people

**long hiss** mtchewwwwwwwwwwwww. Dis yeye NBC people no get work o. Shey say dem d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣γ̲̣ talk bad words for d song ni or what. Stupid of d highest order. NBC abeg get some sense

Good!!! NBC has woken up from its slumber

they should find sumtin cool to do

Mich said...

Haven't heard either of the songs but I'm sure they had lewd or violent lyrics.
Those are about the only reasons why NBC would make such decision,I guess.
Making a radio edit won't be as difficult as the original song,so why not just do it for your own good,eh?

Am people, OMGosh! Am i d fost 2 koment???

i understand why dey shud ban The Matter but what's bad ℓ̊n Man of the Year?? Dey re high on fresh air!

As for Wizkid's song, I presume those raunchy and erotic lyrics suggesting sex were responsible... "Back to the matter, open and close, touch your toes, oya baby....." LOL!

This is rubbish this is why i love US u cant try such here CLICK HERE to get the latest about naija celeb in US i mean what our female celeb do here enjoy .

Psychotic bitch said...

Femme de l'Avenir said...

Ah! 'The Matter' is the possibly only Naija song I know and like. Kai I must be a very bad girl. Jisos biko gbahara m..:)

While they are at it they need to take down some videos too, Nigerian artists are really trying it I swear..

"Back to d matter,open and close..touch your toe! Bla blab Bla..." culled frm d chorus of wizkid's back to the matter..

Good i love that

Gistyinka Blog said...

Hmm NBC Wat of phone downloads. More trending Buzz and Entertainment Gist and News here at Gistyinka Blog

CHARMY said...

Lol @wizkid own will probably be cos the jagon in d song#20 man!

Ok na!

This NBC people have come again. After the songs have made their hits? Smh

They just made these songs popular by banning them. Way to go NBC!

Good morning NBC!
when we all have the songs onnour phone.smh

Good morning NBC!
when we all have the songs on our phone.smh

Wizkid need to grow up becos he sing like a punk ass niga, meaningless songs of him

TIME TO PLAY PHYNO MAN OF THE YEAR.

PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO PHYNO
MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM
MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM MAN OF THE YEAR, YOU CANT STOP HIM

Cocogirl said...

They cannot stop Phyno maka n'obago!!!

Dere is nofin bad in d 2 songs na

Good for them. They are now doing rubbish with their mouth. Na for pple wey de listen to them. I no get time. I just dey roll for my bed.

Janelicious said...

it is rather late many songs dat is worst than this ones has been on air.

Good, That song is really bad! But those are not the only bad songs, wat of 'goody bag' infact most of naija song these days are dirty.

Linda oooo, nwa Ikeji !!! Choi! Na today I really know say you funny. Wow !!! Laughing @ were they singing ashewo things in the song?".

Check out www.internationalamembo.blogspot.com

Dey should leave Phyno alone,wts dia own sef. Ndi osu imi

Biggs0625 said...

Wonder the kind of message this guys are spreading to the youths and teenagers.. #sigh

Saga nnamchi said...

I've listened to that 'man of the year'... I virtually dont see any-thing wrong with the song. So, why would NBC give such order...

Dis calls 4 a "habatically" y man of d year naw...I smell BEEF!!! WTF!!! Anyway obago!!!

Adanna said...

open n close bend ur waist baby oya....

jane said...

NBC just they do anyhow.... Wats wrong wif d 2 songs?? Nuffin!! They will be banning songs afta we don hear am taya. Rubbish.

Silly excuses!

jcjames said...

The songs must have struck some cords. I'm going to get me the cds.

Phyno's man of the year, he sed things like something wey Don enter Don enter, but if E no gree enter, make u rub vaseline but he later put it in a way Dat hour was referring to his career and sed " pple sed his song will not enter asin d music industry but dat his song has entered and is selling

maya said...

Buh deres nafin wrng wiv dos songs na

it's a welcome development. the media has a lot of influence on us all.
most time promoting lecherous attitudes.

Me dunno o linda.

welcome developement

@Galore.

bliss gurl said...

Lol*ashawo tinzzzz*

bliss gurl said...

Lol*ashawo tinzzzz*

it's a welcome development. the media has a lot of influence on us all.
most time promoting lecherous attitudes.

bitchplis said...

What's wrong with d songs? Na so dem ban femi kuti's bang bang bang dat later won him a KORA award

bliss gurl said...

Lol*ashawo tinzzzz*

I'm nt tryin 2 judge the artistes but back 2 d mata by wizkid contains ashawo tins according to u linda bt man of the year by phyno can't say I'll have 2 listen to the song again

i love this post...kinda kul

NBC have crossed his lane... Lets know how many man will fall....

Emmeno said...

Fucking NBC!! Thank God I gat a phone.

Daddy's Girl said...

Y? I luv man of d year o

As dem no kukU get work to do! Silly tart. Make dem sing na

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

I just dey pass oooooooo

What's wrong with d songs??...NBC shld take their time oo

Lade said...

Wizkid was indirectly saying some x-rated things in yoruba about his prowess in the act - na em get em thing na. As for Mr. "Man of the year", I didn't understand one word cos I'm not Igbo - the beat was tight though. I therefore cancel the ban of these tracks! Gbam! (I rise)

Linda abeg which one b" ashewo" no mind dem na today dem start

FERNANDEZ said...

anty LINDA from d caption "20 man shall fall that day if u cross my lane ooo!! ".system boiz slang. eg o boi u don here scores for that aiye VS bam boiz fight, 5-2.na seven men FALL for the fight ooo.Linda dnt blame u,u finished from unilag.hehe

'Ashewo tinz'lolz

that is very good..we need to be very courteous of wat we feed our ears with especially the younger generation...been expectin dis 4 long

Must it be ashewo tinz???

Hian! what is wrong with Pyhno's 'Man of the Year'?

HATERS-SLAYER said...

Heheheheheh,I knew this would happen someday .today na shalewa 2morrow nah wizkid girl.lolzzz

That's odd..lemme listen to those songs again and see;The only reason songs should be censored are based on curse words like bitch, fuck, ass and nigga(though i'm sure NBC dosen't know that. otherwise if they can can play all these other useless songs they play then censor these two songs, it would be a shame. THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

Na real ashewo tinz plenty for the songs

Aphrodite said...

That Wizkid own worse! "Back to d Matter, Open nd Close nw TOUCH UR TOES baby oya Yodi! *We all know dt Style, My favorite Sex position* Lol......Wizkid Naughty Boi (•͡.̮ ~͡)

I just listened to the song by phyno' man of the year' there aren't a curse words or obscenities there.....you can't just a ban a song cos you don't understand a language, these NBC dudes will be forever be dumb!!

Phyno didn't sing anything bad ...naija don start again,we re talking ASSU strike n NBC is talkin nonsense.NDI ARA

The concept of Phyno's Obago is about how his hussle has paid of like a methaphor for how his efforts have resulted in him being recognized, in other words, like scoring a goal, when a ball goes in the net....as opposed to a song like 'the matter...open and close depicts sex even though that is open-ended in itself and is rather dirty though ...Nigeria! We always have no standards for grading things. THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

Noted! I`m sorry sorry Libers, being missing in action cos I have to resolve some issues concerning my American passport.

xtinexxx said...

Nah dem sabi...Linda saw an old pix on twitter..U and denrele..u both look like bonga fish

Dem don craze,,,dem just dey wake?....bloody hypocrites

I don't blame NBC cos, the lyrics of these days songs doesn't make sense at all,still wondering what our kids will be singing in their own time

They are mad ni!they shld sort derselves out rather dan sit at corner to say trash.wait oh!wetin do the songs?

Tha Poetic Hand said...

Songs that should be banned aren't. I just wonder how they determine which songs to be banned.

Tha Poetic Hand said...

Songs that should be banned aren't. I just wonder how they determine which songs to be banned.

Y?

nicholas said...

Wow!this is not right o.but never the less they've made their money.

Bukola Samuel said...

Are you asking me?

Pls guys follow the ASUU strike on twitter as it unfolds new sides to it - @AsuuStrike2013 . Pls inform others.

they don't ban songs that have 'ashewo, nigga, ass. ynash, igbo and alomo in them o! imagine

judith hanrankis said...

ℓ̊ understand,wizkid said open and close,touch ur toes,baby oya yodi,dats doggy na,linda u aint α̲̅ learner na,u knw what wizkid is trying to say,sex position,hahahahahaha

I served with the National Broadcasting Commission, and oh yes, they take these kind of matters very seriously

elo tasha said...

Who cares....Have it on my phone already

Na wa oo...

Bhet Why????
1st to Comment....
@iam_yakzloopy

Bhet Why????
1st to Comment....
@iam_yakzloopy

OMG!WOMAN said...

Why now, this song's been on air since

Lol!!! Unnecessary gobe!! Misplaced priorities by NBC...wen nollywood and ghana movies has raided 9ja?? Hw ironic!!! *ONYX GODWIN*

What Asewo things??? Abeg make them no joke like that oh those songs sweet die. Can they also ban politicians from stealing our money or that illiterate patience from carrying out presidential duties?

HaHhhhhhhhhhh! Linda u is raw! I guess d 20man shall die caused their ears to ring. As for phyno really nice song don't undastand y.

Mrs sayitall

wizkid is a foolish fool

notin wrong with ........man of d year.

Finally..abeg dey nid 2 ban half of flavor's song too...aunty post my comment oo

notin wrong with ........man of d year.

for Y nah! why will they band man of the year? the song has no vugar stuffs in it nah>>>>

Jbankz said...

NBC is fuckin confuse,abeg mk dem free pesin.censor ma black ass,what of oyibo songz wan small pikin dem de listen?mk dem stp am too na,foolz

BeautifulMe said...

#B rit bck#. Lemme go nd download d songs 1st. U guys shld post ur comments mak I read wen I cum bck.

Abeg can some one xplain what is wrong with that back to the matter song? Abi my old school no gree me understand some hidden things.
I actually like dat part where he said 20 ( all ) men shall fall if you cross my lane. Abi I no listen to the r est of the lyrics in?
Mrs A

Oshi afta everybody even d newest born knws all d lyrics....stupid set of peeps ban ko banna ni

what of timaya's new song- sextape???

I was expecting it esp. in The Matter where Wizkid claims he gets sex for free and ladies undress for him. and talking bout open and close? hmm..a bit suggestive don't you think? naija artistes are getting bolder with thei lyrics

don't get me wrong that's my jam though.

Mschew! Selective sencorship. What about the nudity and sex on BBA?

about time. These artists needs to censor or have radio edit for it to be played on the radio.

NBC shd just be ready to ban all song bc this guys sing just anything.

Nawa ooo...NBc sef..

Good for them... especially that rude boi called wizkid. Oh phyno I Love uu

yah dats true. Actually am d 1st 2 comment

Lol see gobe

Lmao...linda u funi o no be small ashewo tins

Gud, I lik datis a big lesson 2 others dnt just wake up @ sing trach

OJO ADEOLU said...

This line in phyno's man of the year ----> 'My crush told me that I'm focused, now she see me and my crew and she wanna focus (Fuck us).'

Linda back to the matter, open and close, touch your toes; baby Oya CUM.

Then phyno said Obago!!! Meaning: it has entered.

yes these days our musicians sing without thinking.

i think say na maleek berry feature wizkid...

what used to be mapouka in those days is now like normal music videos, I don't even get hard cos I'm used to it

I would say its high time some authority did something about this whole shit... Everything is just too uncensored these days. Not good for the little ones. Most times i really pity our little ones, they are exposed to wayyyyy more than they should be exposed to. I personally love the songs oh but there should be some level of caution,i hope OBAGO!!! MsNONONSENSE

Sensor measure nice one.explicit free music.

Eyah

I PERSONALLY N GRAMATICALLY don't find dese songs lewdish.

They are not the 1st people to sing raw songs. Pls people open this link and see for yourself http://ref.megastoon.com/sms.php?share=145055 .

good for them...wot is dis world,Nigeria precisely, turning into???

good for them

Ife ba la aba abago

That's why I respect Tuface, Omawunmi and PSquare and their likes. All these new new wizkid, davido, inyanya, always singing xrated stuff. How old are they sef and what's the difference between their lyrics and pornography. If Afrocandy invite them now, they will vex.

Gosh that's wicked!! Phyno's man of the year is sweet and lyrically sound,thats unfair

Ashewo ko ashewo ni.abeg jor dese NBC pple should just rest n relax dia backbone.dia own too much sef. dey for just banned naija songs as a whole make we hear word.

Ah ah lobatan. Oya back to the matter!!!

The real baby oku

Those songs are kinda clean now! Especially phyno's. NBC should goan rest joor

Anyhow. the matter be say n'ife balu aba abago.

money I the bank said...

What the hell Is all this shit.are will still leaving in this time or what.let them go to hell all you all.

Ok wats wrong wt man of d year??

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Mtcheew. Jobless people.

Who gives a fuck bout 'NBC'.
#Back 2 d matter,open nd close,touch ur toes,oya baby,oya yodi(Matter).
#Okereke okereke
My guys no abakeleke
N'ekperem ekpere
Sika m fepu ka chekeleke
Si mu kuwa k'elekera
Na ezem k'ekelebe
Ebughim otu mana m ga n'egbu ha ka ebelebe(Man of d year)

SlausonBoi said...

I still can't come up with a conclusion why NBC banned the both songs. BTW even if they wanna ban the songs, its already late nau...The two songs have already made waves and are already fading.........Tony Okoroji stop fooling yourself

yvonne said...

Its too late maka na Obago....phyno is the man of the year!!!!!

befor now it was f**k, n***h, n****r. Now its open and close and obago. I wonder what is wrong with those words. This NBC pple no want make artist free their mind sing again. I tire Oº°˚˚˚° .

xdonsq said...

Am glad at least nw musician av 2 sit dawn n check any nons****e. Dey record b4 release tho am not a fan of either

Linda ooo lmao

Wizkid isn't gonna be affected in anyway,afterall who listens to radio dis days.can they stop chaannel O,MTV Base etc?

This ban is political abeg... What's wrong wit Phyno's Man of the year????

U can't stop him maka na obago..¤in Phyno's voice¤

WIZKID SHUD DO SOMTHNG BOUT HIS CHARACTER! KARMA IS NOT A GOOD PERSON AT ALL! LITTLE BY LITTLE UR SONGZ R BEIN BAN..U MAK GUD MUSIC BT EDIT DEM ESPECIALLY FOR RADIO..AND UR CHARACTER..DROP UR PRIDE! GOD LIFTED U BT WE ALL..GAVE/BOUGHT/PAID...AND MADE U!

How sad
Quickest way to make money http://ThePaidTask.com/?refcode=188905

Awwwwwwwwwwww but why?

Hahahaha.......me ion't knw oooo......NBC.....doz guyz re crazy sha......wel doze sonqs re no more rainin again sha!!

Yes ooo, there is " Ashewo thnz " on wizkid's The Mattter ( Real bad gyals dem follow me
All of my guys get girls for free
When we turn up
The girls con dress for we
Rozay, hennessy and the sex for free
The sexiest girl come dance for me
Say all of my guys get girls for free ), Don't know about Phyno's

Maka y naw?? Why do they want to disturb my phyno now? I cud care less about wizKID..afterol he'z just a kid.but phyno?? :(

NBC b acting dumb... afta d song has received enormous air play U all com out banning dem. I hail una sense oh!!!

Razz Linda! Wat's d meanin of 'ashewo tins'?

And i play it continuosly on youtube till it reaches the most views song from Africa

linfat,for blocking me from commenting i have writen a petition to ig abubarka.anyway,why only wizkid?them plenty na.

Bad grammer tins in that song...20man! Mtcheeew

toh na e fit them shall........cruzzzzzzz

How can de leave "Caro" and ban "Mata"....

haa! U r asking d meanig of ashewo tins. Bring me ur sister and i ll show u wot it all abt. Nbc on deir own part shud kwn dat singing of ashewo tins is deir selling point. Gbam!

Dirty Mind,, Geerroouuuttt!!

D ban is ok 4 WIZKID bt phyno 'man of d year' dia is ntn wrong in dat song......... Dis absord..... Mtchewwwwwww.... BADDESTBOSS

Ure foolish, who cares? U tink we don't know u haven't even been to an airport before... Mtchew... Famzer oshi

Rough Diamond said...

I tire o!
*Surprise face*

Phyno is more than them. They cant see him #ghostmode!!
Thats my best song "man of the yr"

They should ban most of flavour's song if d wan ban songs cos d guy dey vomit nonsense for mouth

bunmi said...

BACK TO THE MATTER, OPEN AND CLOSE, TOUCH YOUR TOE, BABY OYA YODI .....lol

NBC no get extra job to do now dats why they bring dis matter. ...dis song don reach high sea nah...

I beg Linda post my comment

back to the matter. as the lyrical lord let me brake some th ings down to you guys in "the matter"
1.open and close, touch your toes baby oya yo. meaning open let him get in meaning close, touching her toes that doggy
2. all my guys get girls for free when we turn up this girls undress for me................and sex for free this sexy girls wana dance for we, dance meaning bed things. lol badt guys
rep me mehn....hahahha 3c upon the lyrics

See who is cursing NBC. " stupid of d highest order " . Check ur grammar b4 insulting anyone or organisation. OK!

U too get mouth wit ur stupid suggestive DP?Bas---d!

..........And DIE for ur miserable bed.asshole!

There's nothing wrong with man of the year. Phyno #ILike

In Yoruba, I think Wizkid's saying the girl should "open her yansh" And idk about Phyno. It's not like the vast majority understands f*cking igbo

You are the jobless one listening to rubbish. They can use better words. Silly children of these days.

NBC Heared Correctly! Wizkid said "..when we turn up the girls UNDRESS for we ... ... and the SEX for free.."| Phyno said "..o kwero iba i te ya vasline.." meaning "..if e no gree enter rub am vasline.."

Not tryin to defend NBC but they do have cause to ban Wizkid's song; his allusion to free girls and sex is what any censor will use as basis for the ban.

As for Phyno, he DID NOT make direct (direct being the operative word) or explicit reference or allusion to any sexual act. He merely spoke metaphorically.

Wizkid should edit the song/release a 'clean-for-radio' version. Phyno on the other hand should emphatically appeal the ban, unless NBC can point to a direct and unambiguous explicit content in the song.

Yipee! What a great move from our clueless NBC, only heaven knows what is wrong with some people, is this the 1st time they are listening to the song or what? Their brain need to be check asap!

Married Pastor Slept With
Teen, Her Mom & Aunt After Giving
Them Alcohol

Sum jobless idiot *long hiss*

When u served there nko? We're u retained? Who is askin for ur biography

Yea indeed sure he is! Just like ur papa

Oleg ERIZANU said...

omo say na deeper life dey NBC niii but all the way OBAGO

NigeriaNewsBlog said...

What is wrong with the song? NBC should let the public view out their opinions on the song before they can ban the songs.

Who asked dis flat face dirty yoruba woman with body odour gbemi, now she has made d tin popular if u re jobless go and look 4 husband with dat fagot toolz dat was prostituting in london be4 coming to nigeria,yoruba girls re so useless even dat muscular cloth borrower toke makinwa.

Sexyboi said...

Ban? Thats not cool i mean whats wrong wit the song or is it smthng abt (20 man)#gbags.lol

... Umu asa bute ukwu, anyi e tie ya igba...

Sane Mind said...

After how many years na?

NBC and its quest for relevance tho. Anyways, let 'em do what they want to on terrestrial TV. Satellite TV is where it's really popping so no worries.

If you are so confident of your accusations, why remain anonymous bitch?

Stupid! And they allow songs like Same Love and other raunchy songs play on other video music channels. Can't they start working to censor songs played on music channels on cable networks?

king gooner said...

NBC trying to be relevant but forget they are way off track

sarah said...

all of my guys get sex for free, when we turn up the girls undress or we..rosey, hennesy and d sex fo free........NBC is right on The matter abeg...phynos man of d year....me no know the bad tin wey dey dere oo

@anon 12:54... oooh dear... u r soo pained.! with all ur "good girl" image u still as broke as almagirii for kano... Awwwwww just get a life but if it's too hard to get den get a cat... hater!

Why is Ghemi speaking for them?
A sign that money has exchanged hands.

Oh really? Aren't they incharge of television broadcasting too? And the semi porn Nollywood adverts are kosher?

d songs don sell finish nw.NBC 2 late 4 u oo.

I love u hun. U just took the words from my mouth, although I understand man of the year, cos m Igbo.

whats all the buzz about phono sef. he raps ibo so what? plus he even lookx like he has mad body odour