2 cars containing 6bodies that sank a decade apart are found in a lake after 40 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 September 2013

2 cars containing 6bodies that sank a decade apart are found in a lake after 40 years

They had lain undiscovered under an Oklahoma lake for fifty years. And now the discovery of two rusting vintage cars containing five bodies has reignited the mystery of how three teenagers and one man and his friends vanished more than four decades ago. One of the cases is believed to be connected to the disappearance of Jimmy Allen Williams (top right), Thomas Michael Rios, (top left), and Leah Gail Johnson, (bottom right), all went missing after going for a drive in Jimmy's blue 1969 Camaro on November 20, 1970. 

Dive teams were at Foss Lake conducting training with sonar when they came upon the vehicles last week. They went back and did a scheduled dive yesterday and when they pulled the cars out of the water, they found human bones. Continue...

The discovery of two rusting vintage cars containing six bodies has reignited the mystery of how three teenagers and three other people vanished more than four decades ago. 

Highway patrol officers testing their sonar equipment Foss Lake near Elk City, Oklahoma on Friday stumbled upon the rusting 1969 Camaro and a Chevrolet dating back to the 1950s. 

Inside the Camaro were three bodies believed to be of local teenagers who vanished after going out for a drive in 1970. Inside the Chevrolet were three more bodies – thought to be a 69-year-old man and his two friends who went missing in the state in the late 1950s or early 1960s.

Police say the Camaro matches the vehicle associated with the three missing teenagers who disappeared on November 10 1970. They say they have confirmed the identity of at least one of the victims however details are yet to be released.

Authorities have not formally identified all of the remains belong to but the local paper has made a clear connection between the discovered Camaro and the teens.

Jimmy Williams poses next to his then brand-new Camaro as a 16-year-old in 1970
The latest reports by local station KFOR states that one of the victims in the car thought to have belonged to the teenager has been identified but they are waiting to notify all of the relatives of the victims involved before releasing any names. 

Jimmy Allen Williams 16, Thomas Michael Rios, 18, and Leah Gail Johnson, 18, all went missing after going for a drive in Jimmy’s blue 1969 Camaro on November 20, 1970. 

They are still listed as missing persons and were thought to have been headed to a football game in nearby Elk City but also could have detoured to go hunting at Foss Lake.
 Local woman Kim Carmichael was a friend of the Camaro's owner, 16-year-old Jimmy Williams.
She told Oklahoma's Newsnine.com: 'I just remember how devastated everybody was
'We lived in a little town ... Nothing like that ever happened in Sayre.

At the time of the disappearance, Ms Carmichael's father was the undersheriff in nearby Beckham County where the teens were last seen.  He died in 2003 never knowing what happened.
Ms Carmichael added: 'He said there was nothing ... There were no leads, no nothing. He said it was just like they vanished into thin air.'I can't imagine what [Williams'] family was going through if I could see what my dad was going through.'

Oklahoma Highway Patrol said they are hoping the discovery will offer some relief to families who may have gone decades wondering where a missing loved one was.

Source: UK Daily Mail

90 comments:

Wow!

Memiee

Oh my God,t click here to read this shocking story please post my comment.

Na wah oh. Nothing can be hidden forever oh

What a discovery!!!!

After all this years, they can now be laid to rest. Only God knows exactly what happened.

First to comment!

Wow!!! Scary stuff! Reminds me of catherine coutler and heather grahams novels!!! D crimes dat happens in America tho!!! Just unfathomable!! *ONYX GODWIN*

awww ...eh yaaa

Jbankz said...

Titanic part2 bt diz painful.who dem wan arrest now fr dia death?coz al dia age peepz don die finish

@misssyno

so sadz. maybe there parents or loved ones would be hoping that one dsy they would come back home alive. but its a kind of relief now since they nkiw know what happend to them its not assive its a murde

My giddy aunt! What a revelation! Americans and their strong quest for the truth and discoveries is so intriguing! Nice one!

Hmmmmm Nawaohhhh

hmmm quite bizarre.
It may offer the bereaved families some sort of closure.

Gistyinka Blog said...

Hmmm oyinbo people after 40 years. More trending Buzz and Entertainment Gist and News here at Gistyinka Blog

Strange..glad the mystery has been solved though

Kofi Oppong Kyekyeku said...

Hmmmm.....

cutemumm said...

If it was in Nigeria now, they would say signs of end time..they would never link it to what happened decades ago..eyaa they would have been grand parents now..RIP

Bloxxy said...

Shocking!!

atlast am first to comment today....
it seems very interesting..whites are good in documetary,not like we blacks..

bliss gurl said...

Hmmmm Speechless

Chop Chop said...

Na wa oh. RIP

nkiruka ashiegbu said...

Aww soo sad!!God help us.

nawa o.

FIERCE! said...

Wow! may their souls continue to RIP

Wow,hmmm.40years,is a long time. Reopening the heart of their loved ones again. #sadmuch.
Tweet

This is terrible, after fifty years. waoo just imagining what the families went through back then

Hopefulhope said...

Nawa o...40 decades? Truth always has a way of revealing itself, may their souls continue to RIP.

so sad, now the souls of the departed have been found, may their gentle souls rest in perfect peace AMEN.

I oblige every reader of this sad story to kindly observe a minute silence in their honour

ericabrandy blog said...

Touching

Hmm

Awwww so sad

wooow after 4-5 decades, yet could still identify dem & still retrace d incident, dt's good record keeping, can Nigeria emulate dis, maa there souls RIP.

BUCHI said...

May their souls R. I. P !!!

OMG!WOMAN said...

*scary&sad* God continue to rest their souls.... Amen!

Sane Mind said...

Chei!!,,if only these people know how many dead bodies and cars under the 3rd mainland bridge without trace!

Nigeria needs DNA database ASAP

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Maybe Jason got them.

O ma se o.dis is truly sad

Mrs E said...

So sad! Finally some closure

Wow! dis white people won't seize to amaze me, even after all dis years d case has still not been laid to rest, researchers were still not tired of trying to figure out wat actually went wrong, am sure alot of officers has come nd gone ever since dis case came up nd still every1 continues where odas stopped, Choi! can our system in dis country go dis far to unravel mysteries? hmmm! i wish.

E don tey ooo.

-Blunt Ibo boy-

So sad...thank God their bodies is found atlast, after 40years, RIP all

dudette said...

Mehn nothing realy stays hidden forever!!

Jesus christ,lord have mercy

Missy said...

Eeeeeeeeeeeya!

Ȋ̝̊̅t̶̲̥̅̊'s a pity, thank God Fø̲̣̣я̅ Ʈђε̲̣̣̣̥ discovery.

SharonAde said...

What a world! Feel so touched. At least, d family would be relieved to know dey were not kidnapped, seeing d remains.

Wow!! This is so touching!!! Over 40years of them missing!!! Wow!!! Thank God their bodies was found all the same. Hardluck to the families!! Mkat.

The families can finally have closure!

Na wa o

Misery

Na wa o! May God help us.

its really been a long time

That's a very touching story.post my comment linda.

Very long tym...God help us all with us wanting to catch fun...

This is a reflection of a country with a good database.They got hold of information concerning the victims in no time.Nigeria when will you learn?

So pathetic

tharnar said...

Hnmm...... Wonders shall never end... R.I.P y'all

etochi21 said...

Nothing remains hidden forever, they would've been in their late 50s not for the sudden death. RIP

Only God knows how many bodies are in our rivers and lakes...

mz sandia said...

Awwwwww,such a touchn story...

ericabrandy blog said...

Linda what happed to my touching that I commented na?

Eyaaaa its really sad

So touching!

Oluwadamilola said...

You are right..

Eyaa, we tnk God

Betty said...

Wow! So touching. What a painful way to die

so sad. Jus imaginin hw many r stil hidden at de bottom of lakes n oceans while dia families n friends r left wonderin wia de must av gone to n wil die neva knwin.

Foli said...

Ohhhhh on the exact date I was born, same date our president was celebrating his 12th birthday....ahhhhh

Foli said...

Ohhhhh sad, happened on the I was born in Ijebu and Mr Jonathan Goodluck was celebrating his birthday in Otuoke....

May their souls RIP

So how did the 2 vehicles end up at tje bottom of the river?

My prayers to everyone who have known loss, may God comfort you.

loudmouth said...

Olodo...d teens dere wld 56,and 58 by now....

GodHonestTruth:) said...

God is truly good.no darkness can hide forever..family have peace now good for them,so sad RIP to them

#JayBeyBlu where r you m missing u

lola bash said...

Its 'are so intriguing and not 'is so intriguing

adorable jewel said...

Notin can be hidden under d sun,,ABSOLUTELY notin!!?
Evryone shuld live right and put his/her ways straight

This is mysterious

Hmmmm.... God dey sha

Abi one rich man for don buy the lake build estate on top their head! Nigeria no get time to find out wetin happen, who don die don die!

Dem tell u say we get scooby doo for here abi u wa form ur own mystery inc?

wow 40 years after, that's a lot mehnnn well, atleast they discovered them.if it was Nigeria they wont even discover them at all bcos we don't even have divers..... everyone is afraid of the lake.-M..U.S

Sonar testing should be stopped,stop killing our whales n mermaids

Who d hell is this mermaid idiot? So sad! Atleast there will be a closure... May they rest in perfect peace.

Adoga Godwin said...

Mystries will surely be solved even though a lot of people will die without finding the answers

its quite sad that their dad died not knowing what happened to his kids, ff me on google.

yeah yeah.....maybe our long missing ship will be found one day. *I pray oh*

pwitie B said...

His a fool dnt mind him his obviously possessed by a mermaid spirit das ur doom bro btw wat a discovery