Shoprite don open for Ibadan o... Lol | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 28 June 2013

Shoprite don open for Ibadan o... Lol

A LIB reader who was at Shoprite Ibadan today wrote: Attendance at Shoprite today - 11,083.
Buyers - 83. Tourist - 11,000. Lol. #Jokes. 

Shoprite opened it's Ibadan outlet yesterday June 27th at Heritage Cocoa Mall, on Oba Adebimpe Road, Dugbe, Ibadan, Oyo State.

205 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 205 of 205

Ibadans will not shop dere. Evrytin is always costly to them, until they get to gbagi. Waste of money. The red light is already flashed, 8 buyers, over 11000 tourist. lol

Next stop = abeokuta

Mena UkodoisReady said...

ROFL! Linda am definitely sharing this!

To the anon that said New Benin Market and Oba market is ok for Benin. Abeg free us na. Up Bende! LOL

Those running a grocery store and fast food restaurant always wanted to have their customer details so that they can send updates and inform of promos. With LoyaltyrewardsNG, it is now very easy. Your customer just need to sign up form their phones and that is all. As the store owner, you have access to an admin panel where you see your customer info, see those that are patronizing the most and reward them accordingly! All from a matching web and a mobile app. It costs next to nothing. Read more at http://loyaltyrewardsng.com/

I think there are pros and cons of this development.

Cons:
Potentially destroys small scale businesses
People opting for processed can products with additives and preservatives not the most healthy choice rather than fresh products from the markets.

Pros:
Employment creation for youths
Conducive environment for shoppers.

And about the subject, I think Blog allows people that do not have facts to comment. I lived in Ibadan for about 18 years and have spent longer than this in diaspora - The attraction of large crowd to a newly open mall is not exclusive to Ibadan or Nigerians. I remember Westfield Mall was opened in Stratford last year, and the place was overcrowded at some point they had to stop people from going inside. So, it is not a big deal at all.

About Ibadan as a city, I remember growing up to know Kingsway Shopping Mall not far from where Cocoa House is. This was modern shopping mall of International standard even back then, and Ibadan has a strong history of elites living there way before the 80's. I remember visiting Cultural Centre in Mokola to watch top class Nigerian Movies (Taxi Driver), and Premier Hotel to swim. UCH had quite a number of foreign Doctors working and living in Ibadan. So, the place has been a modern city for some decades now.

IBADAN IS THE CAPITAL CITY OF THE FORMER WESTERN REGION OF NIGERIA.

A lot of people that lives in Ibadan do not pronounce "sh" as "s", it is just a minority that resides in the interior part of the city just like you found some Lagosians saying "mide".

Anyway, it is unfortunate that people that do not know their facts just post blog on a subject without doing their due diligence that is a bit of research.

Ibadan is not what a lot of people think it is, I was there quite recently few months ago and the place is returning back to her glory days.

If not for Infrastructural challenges that Nigeria has as a whole a train ride from Ibadan to Lagos should not be more than 45 minutes, which would then open a lot of doors for people to commute to their work places in Lagos and reside in Ibadan similar to Kent to London commute. This would have even further enhance the developmental growth in Ibadan beyond what is currently on the ground.

Yes, I believe there are areas of improvements in the city Sanitation, security and Power of course but all these are not peculiar problems of Ibadan but the country as a whole.

In summary regarding the blog, LI should stop ridiculing IB Shoppers that are just excited about a mall opening in the backyard.

Point regarding Foreign Brand Supermarkets in the Country:
Few recommendations that I will make in regards to all these Foreign investors setting up businesses to generate revenue in the country, first of all I believe there must be a policy in place whereby they should source for produces locally thereby enhancing the growth of related industries in the country, and government must ensure that they pay their due taxes on profits makes whilst doing business in Nigeria.

Ire o

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 205 of 205   Newer› Newest»