Over 30 houses, shops razed in Ibadan petroleum tanker accident | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 23 April 2013

Over 30 houses, shops razed in Ibadan petroleum tanker accident

The sad incident occurred yesterday afternoon Monday April 22nd in the Omitowoju area of Ibadan, in Oyo State. The fire started after a fully loaded petroleum tanker passing through a residential area fell off the road and spilled its 33, 000 litres of petrol.

Over 30 houses and and at least 30 shops in the area were burnt to ashes. The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) eventually put out the fire but couldn't say for sure if anyone was killed by the fire.

29 comments:

Hmmm Ibadan my home may God help them oooo

God save us from all these bad news all around.

OSE said...

So des leaders of ours wnt do anytin abt des tankers n dangote trucks ryt? Usin d lives of inocent nigeriabs 4 sacrifice on d road. Dat was how d last incident along benin-ore road killed a dear frnd Joan, a 200 student of mass comm in uniben. Kip rip ma dear

I just pray no life was lost.
Thats why we need efficient rail system to be moving petroleum products.

Awww so sad, lord comfort everyone involved

Mustafa said...

Hmmm Thats Not Good...

Sexily Endowed said...

Linda be α real abeg. How can no1 be killed in such an incident? I doubt it full time. God help us. 30 houses & 30 shops mayb, na lie, people must die, i sympathize wit de people dat lost their loved ones.

I jes ope no 1 ws killed....sassy.

So so sad.

Trust Nija things I doubt they responded promptly if not so many houses and shops wouldn't have been affected. They should check well before they give final reports for survivors.

Everytime i read of stories like this, i feel so sore in my spirit and can't help but ask God to judge our leaders. Just few weeks ago, i lost a friend to the Benin tanker explosion, he was travelling to East for his younger brother's traditional marriage when the Young Shall Grow bus he boarded was involved in the inferno. A young, promising computer engineer, an honest, soft spoken young man. Just facebook Goodluck Uchechukwu Chidolue and see for yourselves, he just got married about 7 months ago. What in for heaven's sake is Nigerian government doing for it's citizens. Our roads are death traps. Inspite of the incessant tanker explosions, there seem to be no regulation in place concerning it. I just feel so sad. Thank God no life was lost this time. God help us.

This is terrible n sad. It brings tears to my eyes seeing all this tanker n trailer accident all over and our govt hv been blind to it. What will it tk d govt to stop dis tankers n trailer to move by day?they shud only move by nite Biko at least it will reduce dis kind of accident.

Uduak Dyamond said...

My sympathy goes ƫσ the affected.

oh God help our country 9ja o 2 live a better lfy o.. Roadx, house etc

deborah said...

Kai! Ibadan houses wey dey always dey jampacked together,,i am sure its more than 30 houses and shopes..may God help us all

30 houses n 30 shops n dy r not sure if any1 died? Like seriously?d prob wit naija is we try 2 hide d no of casualties. Same wit d lag-ben own. Pray its not as bad as it sounds. Just sayin...

Are u prayin 4 pple 2die or are u d devils agent?

Hop no life was lost!

We thank God no life was lost there. Dat\'s M?????y????? town.

ennybaba said...

God help ib o

This is so bad...wow.....I live in Ibadan and I get to hear about it on Linda Ikeji.....

i am very familiar with that area and had always prayed this kind if incident wont happen. a stupid perso. biilt a filling station inside a residential area and only God knows who approved it. the tanket must have bn going to d fillk.g statio. ortherwjse the tanker dixnt have any business there. u need to see the road the tanker was passing. may God help nigeria

how can an oil tanker be passing a residential street, DATS SO STUPID. They need to avoid some particular trucks on somestreets. It should be illegal.

Sexily Endowed, if people no die, go and kill them.

Y is it dat whenever such accident occur we start blaming the government. That road was not meant for trailers. And people will also do double parking on a public road

April 23, 2013 at 10:06 PM

Why wont we blame our government. Do we hear of tanker explosions in other countries like we do in Nigeria. There must be measures that ensure that they moved where and when they wont cause problems. We ain't ruling accidents out as far as road use is concerned but one time too many is unbearable.

This is so sad! May God help us

mhdfaran said...

33,000 liters of petrol Oh my God. That's very Sad.
Online Shopping in Pakistan