Popular Indian actor Sanjay Dutt sentenced to five years in prison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 March 2013

Popular Indian actor Sanjay Dutt sentenced to five years in prison

A court in India today Thursday March 21st sentenced Bollywood top actor and host of India's version of the Big Brother reality-television franchise, Sanjay Dutt, to five years in jail for the illegal possession of firearms in a case connected to a series of bomb blasts that ripped through Mumbai and were one of the deadliest terror attacks in the country.

Mr. Dutt was sentenced to six years in prison in 2007 for illegal possession of weapons that were supplied to him by men subsequently convicted in the bombing. That court cleared Mr. Dutt of involvement with the bombing plot. He has denied involvement with the attacks and said he asked for the guns to protect his family.

He appealed the decision at the Supreme Court and was let out on bail in 2007. He has remained at liberty since then until today. The court reduced his sentence to five years but said the circumstances and nature of offense was so serious that Mr. Dutt cannot be released on probation. Mr. Dutt, 53 years old, already has spent a cumulative 18 months in jail on related charges.

Mr. Dutt will have to surrender within four weeks to serve the sentence, the court said.

44 comments:

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Wow.

OSE said...

See a country whr der are laws nt our lawless naija

Justice served!!

nawao him,if he were a Nigerian he would av entered a plea bargain,and serve d remaining reduced years in a comfortable hospital of his choice.my sisters dat love sunita movies will miss him.

So sad!

One Gud chick said...

Oh My Gooodness, wow 5 years, feel bad for him sha

lf na 4 naija now,dem qo use maqo maqo nd wayo cover am

So sad.... 1of bollywood's best Actor

SENATOR BREEZE said...

Eyah..and he's a very good actor.

can u imagine? no-one is to be trusted.

QUEEN CHIOMA EZENWA said...

Speechless

SPATACULES.. said...

This is Tragic

Na wao mmmmm

No one is above the law,good!

Hrm paul ojeih said...

His crime was obtaining a fire arm that was not duly registered he got it from the black market he will probably do 2 years and get discharged for good conduct laws in India works not like Nigeria God save dis damn condemned country a country were looters like depriye Alams of Bayelsa steal billions and thy get national amnesty tufiakwa

naija na lawless country. Just imagine saint obi going to jail in naija. Dat one no fit happen now.

Am sure dis' d same person dat was using d name 'ogechi okoye'.I can tell by his/her monotone comments.obviously his/her level of intelligence is low.

is a pity . i will miss him in the movie .

Justice must take its cause

tonia said...

Wat do u know is a plea bargain? SMH

For those of u dat missed d drama dat went down on LIB today on d story about Naija doing soft porn now, wen dis idiot called Jobless ranted over n over again,d funny tin is dat d idiot forgot to switch from his profile wit his name to anonymous n sent comments praising himself,he later deleted d comments himself n said som1 hacked his account, here are screen shots of his comments before he deleted the comments. ( http://tinyurl.com/dyzerty ) ( http://tinyurl.com/d6rt4wo ) Copy dis links n see for urself, dis goes to show how retarded he is,prince jobless anyday I see an anonymous profile praising u here, I wud knw its just U! Fool.

GLAM ME PRO said...

I love Indian films sooo bad and hes always playing a bad guy. hes got sexy eyes too. E kpellee ooo wud miss u whyl u re behind bars.

Chai! Sanjay Dutt, one of bollywood's finest!

Abi...if na naija them fo don forget am tetee

I can't still believe anyway I will miss his film #sadface#

Hindi SMS said...

Personally I feel sorry for a brilliant fellow like Sanjay Dutt. But he should have been brought upswith some love for our nation and his partents should have made sure that his friends circle was from good families and not from the underworld. Had he have any respect for law or love for India, he would have prevened Mumbai serial blast.

in well...watched enough of his flims..he mostly acts bad guy roles....wud surely miss him.

tolu said...

choi! and his movies are dope o

now listen Nigerian's,u people hate ur country so much dat every post of crime here,whether in Nigeria or beyond,u beging to condem ur govt.too bad.dis man was accussed of possession of ilegal arms and having hands in bomb blast dat kill many people in India.he was giving six years inprisonment in 2007 and now was reduce to five years.ur claping 4 justice in indian and condeming ur country,so sad.former head of boko haram sect.kabiru sokoto dat was trial yesterday in de federal high court Abuja,I saw ur comments,some said he shld be killed immediately,some condem de president 4 nt acting quick.here is similar case wit desame treatment and ur praising dem.desist 4rm such an act.u can't do morethan he is doing now if ur in his position.respect ur president,he worth it.it's obvious dat most of u dnt understand what politics is all about in Nigeria,do or die affair whether current or past.so to say some of our past leader's are de sponsor's of de sect.boko haram.they wouldn't want there predeccesors to achieve more than they had achieved to de country if any.Goodluck is a man of vission and they av seen it,that was y they are distracting him wit security issues so dat he will loose focus on his agender and is affecting him anyway.I av relocated from Abuja to Lagos since january due to security threathen.there are ministries,let dem face there job and stop putting blame on president.minstry of Education shld face Education problems,power tacle power problems etc.President wil nt play as a footballer and keep as a keeper also.am nt a politicia,I dnt even av anybody in politics,am nt 4rm Bayelsa state.I dnt even av interest in politics.I love u all.Advocate.

The 3 jobless guys

India isn't lawless? You're aware of the sudden rape/attempted rape cases, right? I applaud the sentence as it upholds justice but don't make it sound like its a lawful place

Acts fine moviez sha. But 5yrs is a bit harsh 4 illegal weapon wateva d source. If na america , will be rehab,safety sessions n community service. 4get naija(e go die down). Shows sometimes crime does pay. Just sayin...

Anon4:04pm
God bless u o. Didn't see it.
As 4 u dis idiotic, eczema infected agama lizard wey say em name na Amobi aka Prince Jobless, I neva found ur posts reply-worthy. Only saw dem as d rantings of a frustrated nd rejected imbecile. U're jst a sinking ship. God don catch u. Anuofia.
***JANTA***

Ha ha he is now commenting with the name "Nathan loves Girls" after using PJ

tilo said...

Thank u, dis is jes one outta a million cases in India wr justice ws actualy served properly.

awww..n i like d guy...wat d hell is wrong with all dese stars..and they act movies related to all dese stuffs n yet......smh

Hmmm una dey talk about Nigeria your own country, how una take know if him go dey inside the jail sef, na waiting una won hear PRESS go tell una.

Hey Anon 3:15pm. Why do I hav d feeling dat u are d same dissing d 3 jobless pple. Wot is ur prob wit d regulars in LIB? U are acting like a jobless person urself.

i wonder but precisely i cnt say sanjay dutt commit d offense but what i knw is dat he wil nt use a year in that jail.

general_dee said...

me i n0 see wetin j0in bicycle n filling stati0n. If sanjay wan g0 pris0n, fine....aluta c0ntinua vie

#de general was just passing by...#

fatima said...

Arrai baghan di!!! Arrai Baba

If na my Almighty Nigeria he go go Free.Lawless Country no Law against the Rich,Stars and Politicians wicked People .Na only to kill the Good once them sabi.Pro Ambross Ali suffered and Died for no Reason.People are doing worst things and going free with them no Law .

Fools are linking Sanjay Dutt with blast and riots. He was accused of having arms illegally, court has confirmed that he was not involved in blast or riots.

Hindi Love SMS said...

Sanjay dutt should be jailed. Do time for the crimes he has committed.