Police to begin seizing cars with tinted windows | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 March 2013

Police to begin seizing cars with tinted windows

Driving in Lagos with tinted windows is against the law but some people do it because they get away with it. But not anymore says the Inspector General of police. He has directed state commissioners of police to start seizing cars with tinted windows and prosecute the car owners henceforth .

The directive is contained in a statement issued by Frank Mba, the Deputy Force Public Relations Officer, today in Abuja
“Police Officers nationwide have been directed to commence a massive operation aimed at enforcing all existing laws bordering on tinted glasses and the use of unregistered/unlicensed vehicles. This unbecoming attitude has the capacity not only to heighten criminal activities but to place unnecessary pressure on security agencies and law abiding citizens
The IG wishes to remind Nigerians from all walks of life, including politicians, military and security personnel that the ban on unlawful and indiscriminate use of tinted glasses and legislation forbidding the plying of unregistered vehicles are still in force. He wishes to clearly state that the Nigeria Police will no longer tolerate few misguided Nigerians who abuse the use of tinted glasses and unregistered/unlicensed vehicles. Similarly, owners of unregistered/unlicensed vehicles are advised to immediately register them and obtain appropriate licences or withdraw them forthwith from public roads,” the statement read

64 comments:

very good....bcos som pple inside that tints glass,,dem dey inside car dey FUCK

I caught one on tuesday.

Rubbish.... Anything from th police are never trusted.

I thought the law was if the windows come factory installed, you have to show proof and it is allowed. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong...

Good to know Nigerian fucked up Police is slowly waking up from their slumber.

***KEMI OLUNLOYO FOR REAL***

emarketstrategy said...

Hahahahaahahhahahaaa!

Wow! You must be looking for something to have caught them!

KMT,awo oniranu,na today,dey wl soon forgt abt it again nd look for anoda means to extort money from us,if yahoo bois carry tinted cars nw police stp dem nd dey dash dem 100k dem no go leave dem ni,sure,dey r learners gan

usless police always lukin 4 avenue 2 collect bribe.D case of Aluu4 has been swept under carpet bcos of d bribe collected 4rom dat beast of a chief n his followers.Only God wil judge,even linda sef don 4get d monthly tribute evry 5th of each month.such is lyf wen u r gone,u r 4gotten.RIP Tekenah,Ugonna,Chidiaka,Lyod.Justics 4 Aluu4

④thمواطن said...

What of cars with tinted glasses that are factory-fitted???????

Now he has official called them 2 start all their illegals(roadblock(s),forceful extortion and even kill innocent citizen(s)because they can't handle their temper with assault rifle .lik my grandma would say "shey iyen lo tu wa kan" awon alakori meaning is that what's next alakori...

Hahahahahahahahah...lol fucking indeed...what were you looking for when you caught them??

abeg e that na formality from d police...even @ road block dey catch person next tin na settlement..POLICE
i hail oh

This country is turning something else real trash! Numb 4 post ur right cars manufactured wd tints nothing can be done, nd numb7 post God we really judge alotta nigerians they have a special place in hell.. Police men are mofos

This is madness!!! What about factory fitted tints????I hate this country!!!! Being lawmakers doesn't exactly make them smart. I can understand unregistered vehicles,but tints? Jeez!!!!

Waste of time mscheeew dis country na die we de so d IG himself check well his own private car no get papers n is over tinted.

Cool some pple don't know is for their own good what about if some one is being kidnap n his car is tinted,no one @side 'll know who n who is in the car.I hope this not another means of eguje collection.

Anonymous 1:18AM Na true talk be dat one oh. The case has been swept under d carpet. SMH chei! No updates about it. About the tinted glass, the police harrassed my husb on this matter 6yrs ago and bcos glaSs was factory fitted ,he was asked to provide documents for it which he did. But we r back in d uk now

Aymii said...

Anhhh!!!!! This is Sour news ooo!!.(For me sha)..hehehehehe ..........Ma car is tinted,The police were disturbin b4..but the've calmed down, Trust dem now to carry dis dere new order for head like "police work"!! Mtcheeeeew!................................No be like say if dem see d real thieves, dem go fit wait oooo!... Dem go jus dey stop pesin now 4 road unnecesarily! Bloody nuisance....Anyway Oga @d top has spoken!(BB Straight face).

Lol wetin concern police with Tinted glass? Armed robbers neva finish for Lagos oh,abeg leave d tinted glass palava for FRsC, LASTMA n ViO.

kings are allowed to use tinted glasses

Nawooo police no get job again mitchewww

And has tinted glasses now become the originator of crime in Lagos? *LongHiss* Fight major crime factors and not all these frivolous factors.

Did anyone tell u that's d reason tints aren't allowed? Smh.

Is that nigeria's problem now???

This is an old news naah*they have been seizing it like decades ago!!

Choi! But this tint covers sun ray, na wa o that privilege has gone Goodluck Jonathan too must abide by this rule ooooo.....:( and of course what of cars that comes wif factory tint do we shatter d glasses???

SUNSHINE said...

Anon 1:18am, you must be an idiot for that. So life shouldn't move on after all that drama? Do you know how many people that have suffered much terrible fate even worse than that of the four boys? We were only aware of it 'cause of its recording that went viral.. I guess you are related to one of them.. Since then, did you stop eating, taking your bath or stop breathing 'cause of them? You are here telling Linda that she has forgotten the Monthly tribute.. It can't go on forever. They are gone! Its better we let 'em rest in peace.

switchloe said...

rubbish,hu r dey tryin to dcieve hia? I guess themslves coz i've been in nigeria long enuf to knw aw d nigerian police works...harrant nonsense

Blogman said...

Very good move by the police

Nigeria Graduate Fresh Vacancies

i love u Ma'm

Give me some DILDO

Madam governor.

Good reply Bently, must be looking for something to peep in someone's car.

These vehicles are tinted from abroad cos ☀̤̣̈̇f the heat ☀̤̣̈̇f the sun, especially i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Texas,USA. Most cars are tinted cos summer †̥Ħε̲̣̣̣̥я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ Ȋ̝̊̅ƨ̣̇ so hot that most cars are tinted τ̅☺ ♏‎​​​​​​​kƺ it Cool i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ the vehicles. Α̲̅πϑ ☀̤̣̈̇f course †̥Ħε̲̣̣̣̥я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ are crimes abroad especially i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ US, Α̲̅πϑ the police know how τ̅☺ tackle that Α̲̅πϑ not harass people that their cars are tinted. ȋ̝̊̅ D̶̲̥̅̊☺Ω̴̩̩̩̥'t †̥ђȊ̝̊̅n̶̲̥̅̊k stopping tinted glasses i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Nigeria Ȋ̝̊̅ƨ̣̇ going τ̅☺ stop any crime or terrorism. Some people's cars are tinted i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Naija cos they can't stand the heat ☀̤̣̈̇f the sun while driving, I̶̲̥̅̊ts just too hot n̶̲̥̅̊ only the tint makes it Cool i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Ūr vehicle. Police could stop a̶̲̥̅̊ tinted vehicle n̶̲̥̅̊ D̶̲̥̅̊Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ a̶̲̥̅̊ search Ȋ̝̊̅f †̥Ħε̲̣̣̣̥я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ Ȋ̝̊̅ƨ̣̇ any suspicion, b̶̲̥̊u̶̲̥̅̊ђ not outright ban on tinted glasses. WĦε̲̣̣̣̥я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ the world does that happen, Nigerian govt just do things the opposite direction.

Nekky said...

nooooo. please they shouldn't do this!! i had sex last night with my bf in his car. his windows are tinted and he parked in a secluded space and we had sweet but short sex. i'm still relishing the moment cos i enjoyed every bit of it. it was my first time of having sex in a car and i thoroughly enjoyed it.looool. he won't be happy about this news cos he really likes his tinted windows.

My car tint is factory nd is nt for anytin bt sun

Lol, Na wa for u o

My car tint is factory nd is nt for anytin bt sun

Yes I could have sworn if you could show proof about factory-fitted then it was okay. And I can bet ANYTHING that politicians with all their stupendous convoys will continue to use them undisturbed. Bloody hypocrites.

@toluwalashe's boo your boo wont be happy you insulting people you don't even know. If he/she pointed something out shuo that's their opinion naaah

Tinted cars are to protect individuals from the na wa we bother over stupid things in this country.

jahzmene said...

D police simply amuses me most of d time!.....well,dey av done well by banning tinted glass but until I see politicians and dose alike adherring 2 dis rule,I simply refuse 2 believe dat dis ban is 4 d gud of d pple + I knw its anoda mins of collectin bribe 4rm dose dat av tinted glasses...POLICE???I fear dem no b small!until dey provide me a means of gettin rid of my tinted glasses(financially or odawise),I remain loyal in my car wit tinted glasses!

U be king?

Asin ur a nut case lmaoo evrybody wt e own oo.she hz given her candid opinion dasall..

Thank God they r stoppn it cos men take underaged gals into these tinted cars andd abuse them. One 70yr old man was beaten last week I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Festac bcos Ħ̀ε̅ was abusing a 14yr old particular girl I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ his tinted sienna promising d gal marriage.

Naija babe said...

Like seriously, Kemi Olunloyo commented on Linda's blog. Does it then mean that she read all the insults and abuses LIBers heaped on her?#Cantwatch#

In anycase, I hope this there law is binding on all Ogas at the top,big boys, politicians,governors,GEJ and the IG of police himself..... If not then this law is considered null and void.

what about the factory-fitted ones?

Oga/Madam.. dat 1 na 4 abroad oh,here in naija most of the tinted cars are use 4 badt things*yes* E.g like when the government or yahoo boiz go buy human part or kidnappers. So let dem stop it,enuff of missing pple nd killing tinz...

I really like d tint o,can't they just allow light tint,that is d medium tint.they wan dey see faces of people to tax

Our government should plz continually voice dis development on several radio n tv stations so as to make d masses highly aware of it. Cos not everybody frequent blogs n oder online platforms.

jahzmene said...

D 14 year old girl shuld av been beaten senseless! Imagine a little girl lyk dat agreeing 2 av sex wit a 70 sumtin yrs old man cos of marriage?and u say d man ws abusing d girl,tell me hw ws he abusing her?he promised her marriage and she agreed 2 f.ck him in his car,hw does dat amount to abuse?abeg park well if u dnt av anytin sensible 2 say!mstcheeew,some pple wil just open dia mouth n b emitting shit!

jahzmene said...

Monthly tribute??abeg wo is dis fool?do u knw hw many pple die even worse death each day?u 4 say make Linda dey go dia graves go dey put flowers 4 dere every wikend na or do u wanna b payin her 2 b gvin tribute 2 dem 5th of evrymonth?story wey we no even fit confirm if d boys were rily thieves or nt aldo I dnt advocate such killings....pls just shut up n muv on or beta stil jump off a bridge as Linda no dey do monthly tribute 4 dem...mstcheeew

jahzmene said...

D 14 year old girl shuld av been beaten senseless! Imagine a little girl lyk dat agreeing 2 av sex wit a 70 sumtin yrs old man cos of marriage?and u say d man ws abusing d girl,tell me hw ws he abusing her?he promised her marriage and she agreed 2 f.ck him in his car,hw does dat amount to abuse?abeg park well if u dnt av anytin sensible 2 say!mstcheeew,some pple wil just open dia mouth n b emitting shit!

Linda seriously what about the factory fitted ones with tint permit. How do we ask IG this cos his men will start overdoing it now. Trust 9ja policemen and corruption

Tint makes my Car Look very Cool, there's this Beuty tint gives 2 Cars especially mint Cars. I have Paid 7K 1nce @ Iyana Itire Police Station, 4K @ Ikeja & 10K @ Festac where d Police men escorted me 2 a nearby ATM. D tint is still der, alwayz Carry Money.

Seriously this is a joke! Even abroad U can tint your glass but to a certain shade! Will dis really stop anything? Those who steal n do dese crimes r all on top they just v people working for dem? Have they even considered to sun we experience here? Long hiss they v been on dis tint issue for ever yet nothing has been Stopped bombing et al I see d customs boss, police etc wit tinted glass every morning I go to work even wit sirens abegi jor

This is complete ignorance on the part of the Nigerian Police force. Little do they known that there are some people that have medical illness that prevents them from over exposing their skin to harsh rays of the sun for too long. Therefore, tinted cars are the best options for them. Also, its a fact that tinted cars have interiors that are relatively cooler, and in a country like Nigeria where the weather can be unbearably hot, tinted glass should be permitted. I understand that bit is a measure to reduce kidnapping, but what about cars that are factory tinted? They could be used even if tinted cars are illegal. This is common sense.

@ Toluwalashe,u must be a fool 4 insultin someone u dnt even knw cos d person expresses his or her opinion.i am sure dat u took part in dat wicked act.God must surely punish u 4 dat.

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

Hmmmmm....Jealousy

Pls they shd not ban it ooo its help me a lot. makes d vehicle cool
Reduce hotel bills
Best place to have fun
Protection frm dSun
Protect individuals. Pls I don't want to start paying hotel bills

Apart from the sun,Jeeps don't have boots/trunks hence the tint...to prevent thieves from seeing luggage and stuff and breaking into the car. Silly police looking for egunje!! Instead of doing research before passing laws . Oloshi!!

it z a pity the police dnt really knw their job....if i'm wrong, is it their job or the road safety pple???

Hmm, I can't wait for d next road block,just 4days ago my "tint permit" just arrived from Force Headquaters ABJ after coughing out N25k for d "One Sheet A4 sized paper" signed from d IG's office.....can't wait for d next black uniformed idiot......

Lol!na so de fuckers dey follow me too go ATM,especially those ones in Area F.

Blogtoto said...

I thought so too cos d muppets tried to remove mine but realised it was factory-fitted so they let me go.

Anything 4rm d police is not trusted biko #NotInterested

We neva get our priorities ryt... Dats y dis country cnt b beta dan it already is

We dnt get our priorites right #dazz all#