Obaifaiye Shem still NSCDC Lagos State commandant | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 March 2013

Obaifaiye Shem still NSCDC Lagos State commandant

Contrary to reports making the rounds that Lagos State Commandant of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, NSCDC, Mr. Obafaiye Shem, has been dismissed following his 'Oga At The Top' debacle during a live interview on Channels TV almost two weeks ago, he says and Channels TV says the report is false. 

Shem said he was not suspended or dismissed but has been on casual leave to bury his father and will resume work next Thursday.
"I am still the State Commandant of NSCDC and I am determined to work hard to expose the vandals across the State.”
His wife also never went to Channels TV office to protest.

104 comments:

Is this not Nigeria again? Who was expecting him to be sacked? Lol... Na wa to the wife o! Woman of valour!

Tams B said...

ℓ☺ℓ awwww! I can imagine his voice as he said what he's saying abt still being the state commandant and the smirk on his face =)) bless

teemah beent said...

Chai,Linda wich one I go com blive na? Just read somwhere(in anoda blog)his apology message and plea to be recalled back to office(from his supposed suspension),dis one wey u giv us anoda angle alltongeda hmmmmm.Okay na,d truth will reveal itself eventually...

Honey said...

Lol chai tatafos too mch oo linda no b only you dey dis bizness, see d funny pix you even used.so he had no sleepless nyt abi lol. Pple sha.

My oga at d top u again,may God help our 9ja police o.

ŊO̶̷̩̥̊͡ be naija we dey?? Mtsheeew the other mumu promising N1m ƑƠ̴͡Ʀ mr biggs meal

wasn't expecting him to be sacked,he might be better than the main oga at the top.

emarketstrategy said...

This man's story is one of the bad issues plaguing Nigeria but its definitely not the worst. The worst are the likes of Jonathan and Akpabio..Nigeria is not a failing state; it's a failed state.

Does he now know the website?

Brownsugar# said...

Enjoy ur leave

Funny as that interview was, the guy does not deserve to lose his job over it. Internet literacy is not likely to be a requirement of that function. He sounds to me like a good ex-soldier who is probably a very good Reservist which is essentially what the Civil Defence Corps is.

J.W said...

I've just developed one kind likeness for this man.
His face looks so comic.

Thank God 4 dis post,aleast pple go shut dere mouth

now we know who the oga @ the top is

Hey wait oh i no understand..this dude dey happi now say him fall em hand on national tv or what? Najia i hail oh

Queen Bee said...

Why won't he still be there when its long leg and Connection things that got him there!else he shouldn't be on that rank and position cos he's slow and unintelligent!
Sure he's learnt a lesson from this show of shame at least he will enroll to write waec and finish Senior secondary where he stopped.

My nigga

Please let us leave this brave manin peace. How many of our politician know the email address, policies, and other details of their offices, or can sing our national anthem? This mam is a star - "My Oga at the top" is indeed an original and nice Naija cliche. Up Naija! we love you!

Abegi umm, mek una free the man joor, who is above mistake?

I don't get what is so fascinating about the interview. It's seemed like they were out to make him appear ridiculous. Not that he helped his case either. But certainly not worth the hoopla. I got the gist of his message. I've learned in life that folks who speak well can't always get the job done. He looks like he could. Here's hoping his record speaks for him so the internet doesn't.

Can't stop laffin tho! 'my oga @ d top'video clip of d year

Aymii said...

Lols.....but were Y'all. Really thinkin Mr shem would be suspended????....Dis is Nigeria ooo! Not the US of A!.......................................If he was suspended then I would protest with lots of "PATIENCE" That Oga jona's wife shouldn't give a public speech anymore in this Country in front of National TV!!!! And YES I said so!!!! What is good for the Goose is good for the gander(bb sarcastic)...............................IF this happened in USA,Mr shem would Resign with shame and apologies!!! But this is Naija, and MR shem is now one of the most popular persons in this country funny enuf!...............So in future,I see him being promoted 2 the post of Overall Oga @d top!...Or contesting political position!!...............................Sad but true!

In the first place, if this man is not Competent enough, He won't be appointed as Lagos State Commandant NSCSC, People pls give him second chance, let him prove to Lagosians that he's Competent, he needs to concentrate on his work in other to produce good results, the mistake he made can be corrected! Nobody's above mistake, if this man is sacked/removed today, do u know what would his replacement do? Nobody's perfect, this issue is causing Distractions from the main reason for NSCSC. Mama B!

Lwkmd....
@MzEllatyra

we heard you the 1st time. no matter how much you try to discredit bellanaija they are still 2 million times better than you when it comes to giving legit information.

Poor diction, clearly, uneducated, these are the people who rule in that country.

So its no longer nscdc its now nscsc. Ok oh

He should have ended the interview with 'daz all' hahaha that would have been the best

So because politicians don't know policies etc, we should further allow Nigerian sectors to be infiltrated by bloody numskulls? Can't believe some people actually think d joke is going too far. The guy doesn't deserve tht seat! He's one of d reasons many smart graduates are in d streets while he cools off his bum In D seat meant for them. My oga at d top Ko!! What nonsense!!

--Teeteelahyo--

Mr Shem ure forgiven jare, no one is above mistake. Let's forget dis shit N move on, but on a serious note I nid a job N I know u can help mi since u kno d Oga at d top, how do I send my cv biko?

I tire o,I tot I was d only one dt noticed it wen I dint see mention of it.

i cannot categorically tell if this is true or not but lets wait till our oga at the top(channels tv) give us full info,clearing my throat, dts all.

julz said...

Anybody could make that mistake so I don't think its enough reason to get sacked.He could be very good with the job in other ways.He should just try and be more versatile.

Best question...Lmao
Amaka

Am I the only one who noticed he said NSCSC instead of NSCDC.

BAADGUYZ

biko said...

Linda correct the second NSCDC before you join the mata

How can they sack him bcos he didn't know their website? This issue is just a way to expose the inadequacies of our system in Nigeria and for us all to brace up.#thats all# in Mr Shem's voice.

NSCSC like Seriously? Huh??????

Fearless! said...

My dear,ur argument is right but the reality in Nigeria is that there's nothing you can do about it,so live with it so you can live long.

If dey shud sack dis guy,dnt c y dey shudnt sack u(dats if u av a job)cos 90% of d tym,u re on LIB!dats incompetence 2me,hissss!dunno wat want2warrant sack jus bcos d man doesn't no dey an ordinary website,do u no how many yrs he must av bin working 4?n I can c u didn't settle down n rid well,dey said d wife didn't go der!so wats na wa 2d wife der?ITK

Fearless! said...

That's not a mistake oh,its ignorance,period!

NWA MAMA said...

@ d maga saying sumfin bout bella naija..........Libers ® brand loyalists and addicted 2 dis blog............all u want 2 achieve is to create beef abi........take it from me if u aren't visiting linda's blog den blive me u no follow @ all........

Dis guy wasn't embarassed, he embarassed himself bcos I know dt b4 d interview was conducted, d interview questions wuld av been sent 2 him. Yet he came publicly 2 embarass himself n d entire civil defence corps. Shame unto him.

Fearless! said...

Truth is,if this man was truly suspended,it would just be for the noise to come down.

My question is,who is that oga at d top,is he/she competent to suspend him?
Abeg,they should all suspend themselves,they all don't know it joor!

Let d man have peace pls..Nigerians nd dier usual way of blowing siLly things out of proportion. Hw much rampage has alams' pardon instigated?? Is dt not something to rant nd go to extra lengths for? Instead we'll concentrate on nonsense. It was funny, we all laughed..we can now move on

Nice one Boss....instead of Nigerians to be stoning those that steal billions under thier very eyes and pardonning peeps who stole billions on us...we are agitated by someone who did not prepare for an interview.......we have a long way to go #Godhelpus

Keep laughing dere with yur fine self ;)

Brume Alex said...

90% of graduates dont have any idea about the internet but they still crucify this man. Many of you out there after graduating for over 8 years, you dont have an email address and i know a graduate of over 3 years who cant prepare her own CV.

How many of you out there will opt to do the job of CIVIL DEFENCE? You will ask, "HOW MUCH DEM GO PAY". Can you put your life on the line for vandals? Stop crucifying this man pls!

1 TIPS FOR A FLAT BELLY CLICK HERE said...

awww this pple again

Very sensible comment.

Poor diction, clearly, uneducated, these are the people who rule in that country.poor diction ko,abeg free the Man as long as u understand what hez saying,shay English na him papa language,abi every body go dey form accent like you?yeye person.u that is educated come and rule nau,maybe your papa no fit speak English now who know?

Hmm if it's not a misquote, then the man is really a clown. NSCDC or NSCSC, what is he trying to do, he can't remember the name of his organisation agaian?Na wa o and to think I was beginning to feel sorry for him

marris said...

U see ur life, naija polcie ko,nigerian navy ni.

mr diamond said...

I kno they wunt touch him bcus that very day at the intervew he was tryn to protect his oga at the top that's why he refusd to tell pepl about the websit,now tell me how u want him to be removd? is it not the saMe oga at the top that he Is protectin wil stil remove him?

hope u're going to make us proud this tym...OATT..A.K.A oga at the top

Police? Is he in NPF? Didn't know that until now. Thks for ur 'info'

Barry Black *BB* said...

My hats off to mate!

Bellanaija you don,t have to be anonymous when commenting ok. We all know is you.

Barry Black *BB* said...

Is NSCDC now d same with NSCSC? Or has he replaced d 'Defence' with 'Shem'? Oh dear!

I don't think any country will sack him for what he did. The only thing is that in other countries he might resign due to the shame cos they r very emotional

MR SHEM IS BETTER OFF THAN MANY OF YOU CRITICIZING HIM! FACE UR FRONT. MOHAMMED MAIKANO.

If this is true then am happy, then God he wasn't suspended. We all make mistakes everyday even GEJ wife is worth than him. So if he should b suspended bcos he said in wrong website then most of our leaders should vacate their post bcos they r all d same. Try watching the national assembly live on nta nd u wod c d errors they make. Plus moreover channels news didn't act professional, if it was in an international station once they notice he doesn't know wat to say they move to d nxt ?. Bt also dis should server as a lesson to everyone once u r asked a ? Nd don't know the answer jst move on to the nxt. No one is perfect

u guys cut the bros some slack. everybody makes mistakes. his made him a star overnight with a phrase hanging on the mouth of everyone's lips.
make una free the guy jor!

Dis man is dumb, I would hav coughed my self into a fit of convulsion just to save face

@ Oga @ the top enjoy ur life jor www.nscdcdatall

Dem no dey do IQ test before u enter military/palamilitary naaaa.

leave Mr Shem, he is better than most of u criticizing him. Mohd

Is his wife supposed to go and protest at Channels tv? The man is naturally STUPID! Channel's anchors did not make him do what he did. They just gave that post to an unqualified man..mtchew.

Deyinkami said...

♍γ̲̣̣̥ Oga at ∂̶̲̥̅̊ Top D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ look una ◦O◦°˚˚°◦◦o pls Äηð pls let stop this.

What vandals is he exposing? Abi wetin NSCDC dey do again, no be civil defense be that? Abeg wots their job

na wa for we naija people o, even the dumb ones are pretending to be wise.......see comment no.4; My oga at d top u again,may God help our 9ja police o.na naija police?! and i no even know if na NSCDC or NSCSC we dey talk about *sigh* pls help.

i hope some of u that are condeming this man over a minor mistake a not one of the oil vandals, bcus where are u people when d same chanel TV were shoing d same man who has been aresting vandals in that command

Temitope, Joseph Olanrewaju said...

In a world where security largely relies on intelligence and where the internet is vital to the quality of intelligence one possesses...In a time of cyber attacks and the likes, we have a senior security operative who doesn't know what a website is or even his organisations website, yet we have Nigerians screaming that he should be pardoned! This goes to show how deep rooted our problems are in this country; it goes beyond bad leadership to uncritical followership. We are too emotional to do the right things and this is one of the reasons why we will never move forward. For those clamoring for an end to the OATT movement, i boldly say to you that you are all mediocres just like him and i suspect that the reason why you all are advocating that he be left alone is because you wish to get the same sympathy when your mediocrity is exposed too. Shame on us as a nation...Shame on you all for advocating for mediocrity based on senseless emotions...Shame!!!

What is even wrong with us in this country? Jonathan grants pardon 2 unrepentant and undeserving rogues, Akpabio goes on a retarded spending spree and our security operatives are inadequate and loads more r happening...This is getting too much mehn!

Temitope, Joseph Olanrewaju said...

In a world where security largely relies on intelligence and where the internet is vital to the quality of intelligence one possesses...In a time of cyber attacks and the likes, we have a senior security operative who doesn't know what a website is or even his organisations website, yet we have Nigerians screaming that he should be pardoned! This goes to show how deep rooted our problems are in this country; it goes beyond bad leadership to uncritical followership. We are too emotional to do the right things and this is one of the reasons why we will never move forward. For those clamoring for an end to the OATT movement, i boldly say to you that you are all mediocres just like him and i suspect that the reason why you all are advocating that he be left alone is because you wish to get the same sympathy when your mediocrity is exposed too. Shame on us as a nation...Shame on you all for advocating for mediocrity based on senseless emotions...Shame!!!

What is even wrong with us in this country? Jonathan grants pardon 2 unrepentant and undeserving rogues, Akpabio goes on a retarded spending spree and our security operatives are inadequate and loads more r happening...This is getting too much mehn!

Anon 9:48

I agree with you, we all make mistakes. The same way you made the mistake to use "worth" instead if 'worse' and "server" instead of 'serve'.

Other than that, your point was valid, and I agree with you.

BIG FISH * said...

oh, I guess my Oga at the Top is not angry with him.....STILL WATCHING FROM MY OCEAN

Completely true.

Exhibition of mediocrity.

Bloggers and lies....

Best question...Lmao
Amaka

Come, is he ur father, abi ur uncle, or ur cousin? Which one abeg?

ChannelsTV are not professionals!!!

Odeh!! He is not a policeman . Ignorant fool

@Marris and Anno 11:03 Its Civil defence... Neither Police nor Navy! U ve been @d fore-front of the "oga at d top" mockery but ur ignorance is worse off!

ctie said...

Dats true he might b beta dan d oda oga at d top lol

Did u have to shout to get ur point across?

Na wa oooo real comedy 4 dis blog...lol

LMAO. I'm actually glad he wasn't suspended. What they should do is make sure everybody at NSCDC (including Oga at the top) knows their website address from now on, but I'm sure they haven't even done that

This Oga at the top dude is a joker ,the best exit strategy for him after his fuck up would have been for him to keep mum and allow the matter to die ,he should borrow a leave from his political friends at the top. The chap is delusion ,shior

jcyexy said...

Lol...

Go to hell fool. Ewu

Shem looks like Lukuluku bantashi

@anon 12:45pm. U r so not serious. Hahahaha

Thumbs up

Buhahaha.... My dear, its NOBODY is above mistake and not WHO. Thank me later. #BBsmilingface#

NSCDC pls.... #BB sacrcarstic#

NSCDC pls.... #BB sarcarstic#

To me its like a boomrang komin bak to d security officials and government bodies. dere dirty and curruptd ways kud onli b xpose and treatd fair like dis. Although, no1 is abov mistaskes, bt mistakes r dere 2b korectd. I wish its one of our curupt leaders...

U GUY A CONDEMING D MAN OVER WEBSITE, HOW MANY OF U KNOW WHAT IS CALL WEBSITE 10YS AGO, IF WEB IS INVENT BY A NIGERIAN WE WILL NOT USE IT LIKE MADNESS AS TODAY

I felt sorry 4 dat man till I watched the full video of dat interview,dat man is not supps 2 b in dat position.
All d qus he was askd he neva ansd correctly. It was just a shame dat a grown ass man wil do dat on nat tv.my littl nephew dat is almost 2yrs wld av done beta. Guys u shld watch d full clip den ask urself if he needs 2 b thr

Thank God, I really felt for him and I always wished he had a sense of humour about all this.

marris said...

@anon 2:54, ur the one who's very ignorant , ever heard of the word 'sarcasm' . Mumu olodo, always quick to type hate filled comments.

@ anon d same way u used“instead if” it is suppose to be “instead of” u re welcome, teacher