Lagos court sentences 30 beggars to Kirikiri prison for begging alms | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 February 2013

Lagos court sentences 30 beggars to Kirikiri prison for begging alms

Beggars are now being locked up for begging alms in Lagos. Wow! About 30 of them were sentenced to Kirikiri Prison, some Badagry prison by the Special Offences Magistrate Court sitting in Alausa, Ikeja, today Monday February 4th. 

The Attorney General of Lagos State said the beggars committed an offence under the criminal law of the State.

Begging alms in the streets of Lagos is illegal and the state environmental agency is doing all they can to get rid of as many beggars as they can. But is sending them to Kirikiri prison the answer? What do you guys think?

139 comments:

hot girl said...

Fashola is sick
God punish him and punish our govt.
how can a human being be so wicked and unaffectionate?
doesnt he have a conscience?

Ridiculous!!!!! Naija government ...always working from Z-A!!!!!

hot girl said...

Fashola don kolo,you all should wait till he dances naked on the streets of lagos.he will soon ban his wife from wearing shoes becos they soil lagos roads.
yeye dey smell

African Sweetheart said...

sad.

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

Moi.Moi said...

That won't solve the problem...

beggars in prison? Thats awful! Shouldn't there be a better way to solve it? Naija sucks

We need too start running a proper welfare system in this country. Until then, we might just have to bear the nuisance of having beggars on the street. There still beggars on streets of major cities of the world so I really don't get the drift. I like fashola but this is extreme. IAI

da empress said...

Ve always said our system is wack,why can't they send them to a rehabilitation centre rather than sending them to kirikiri,God I know you up there

Fuck lagos state! Find them something to do or deport them to their home states.

Gbabe said...

Never heard anything like this before!! This is so sad.

p5 said...

Yes!! When all parts ur body are intact n u still go abt beggin for alms in lagos, Kirikiri is the way forward and I hope they mk dem do hard labor we don elude dem all this years..dos wey dey form handicap sef go dey able by force..So that's a reality check for d odas that are still lurking arnd.

Haba naw.... This is too stringent and harsh jor! Lagos should just find a more effective way of controlling them, I know most of these beggars wouldn't even want to take up any job if given due to the fact that they want free money, so Lagos State Govt. Should just come up with a means of pushing them away but not jail pls.

sarafina said...

Really I think if u'll block a pipe, u'll def create a leak somewhere. If u're sending them off the streets, give them options

I never recover from laughter

I laff so te I cry

splendid said...

That terrible...locking them up isn't jst Ƨ̷̜ђƸ̵ way forward. Fashola you can start an organisation that will cater for obviously handicapped people...that ll be definitely better!..nt cool

Ehnn see this is the problem nigeria will continue to have until God intervenes. Making decisions w'out adequate infrastructure or watever to back it up. So if the beggars stop begging what should they do na? They should create an area for them to stay and beg na...

Ewo cheiiiiii. I don laugh tire

Lolade said...

Now this is just as cool as it sounds! All we need is a LEADER that knows what's best for a sane society, a True LEADER we got in Lagos state! I bless God for this present Govt. Once they r taken off the roads, we will know how and where to reach them to give other than been nuisance in our faces on a daily basis.
Things I still look forward to in Lagos; 1. State Police 2. Constant electricity 3.Better Transport systems 4.Quick attention to dangling poles,hazardious pot holes 5. Banning crappy TAXIs frm operating in Lagos state(onli 2005 model cars upward shld be permitted to operate in Lagos, all othr crappy 'cab' shld be used as 'cabbu cabbu' to replace Okada roots).
God bless my home town Lagos. God bless Fashola!

Stupid people...they think backwards.....is that the way to solve a problem

thief that loot government Treasury roam freely beggars who a victims of poor government are now going to prison what an irony of life in my dear Nigeria!

Marcel Duplexis said...

The law is an ass! They are compunding the problem! Well let's look on the bright side; they'll be getting free food & free shelter( at least that's a better bargain than what the cadets at the Police College at Ikeja are getting)

Am just dumbfounded,am just loss for words.
could only open my Bible to Luke chapter 16 verse 19.as tears rolled down ma cheek.

I think this is a mockery of the judicial system! These beggars are definitely illiterate and therefore have no idea of the said law that established alm begging as illegal. What has the so called government put in place for the less privileged of the society? What they are courting is called anarchy, where the government fails the people would arise to defend and fund for themselves.
SJD-

Immaculate said...

Oh Babatunde Fashola!

Useless pipo.

So wrong! But at least they will be fed.

If u want 2 get rid of beggars kirikiri is not d best solution Wetin I no go hear 4 dis lasgidi

Haba naw.... This is too stringent and harsh jor! Lagos should just find a more effective way of controlling them, I know most of these beggars wouldn't even want to take up any job if given due to the fact that they want free money, so Lagos State Govt. Should just come up with a means of pushing them away but not jail pls.

pretty diva said...

Kirikiri prison is beta for dem wia dey wil learn trade or hand work.

simple baby said...

shouldnt they be rehabilitating these guys instead of jailing them...crazy country

If u want 2 get rid of beggars kirikiri is not d best solution Wetin I no go hear 4 dis lasgidi

so instead of helping them his sending them to prison aby? that governor is sick his placing a curse on himself.

Fix it or break it said...

A lot of Nigerians need to be locked up, not only beggers. There is just too much lawlessness,anachy and chaos in the land.

Sexily Endowed said...

Its not dat bad, but its worst cuz whr dese beggers use to sleep [wada under bridge or bush] will be much beta dan their new home now. Am so sure of dat. But then again, wat can we do abt it??????

CerebrallyBusy said...

I think you should all read The Beggars' Strike by A.S. Fall.

This is just the hight of wickedness,its not fair at all.

may said...

linda u didnt tell us how many years or months imprisonment.
Anyway it is good for them at least they wud have shelter n small food.
Aside that some of this beggars are jus unnecessarily lazy.they pretend to be blind or sick decieving people to part wt their money.the street of lagos will look better wtout them alternatively government can rehabilitate them train them n make them useful to demselves n d society at large

Fashola is becoming crazy.I see he wnts to make lagos Los Angeles but doesn't knw the right way to go about it.

This is So not right..is kirikiri d answer..mtshewwww

PSSNM said...

Sending them 2 d prison is a No! 4 me. They are human beings like you n i, what they need is a rehab centre.

Hahahaha govt na wa ooooo eko oni baje oooo

Not cool

senator said...

Very good but to how many months or years?

dat is bullshit,the govt need to creat job opportunities in d society,d beggars r poor puttin dem in prison is pure wickdness,may God almighty save us

Those that sentenced them to prison shall all become beggers

That will solve the beggars problems.......they get fed @ govt's expense! LOL. That's not the ans to d problem. They should deport them back to their states and before anybody says BS, Niger state has done that before!

SAHEED BADMUS said...

men na wa for our govt o is that the necessary thing to do any way the gvt go kuku dey give dem free food for jail and wen they are out wont they go back to the begging...in my own view Linda i think its better he gets a bus available and deport them back to there states since most of them are from the Northern Part of the Country...so d best thins na deportation staright ooo

Hmmmm! I'm short of words.FASHOLA!this one strong oh

Man neva sEe food chop dey wan carry am go prison. Instead of setting up homes for dem dey are sending dem to jail dey would have jus murdered dem at once. Mtcheeewwww!!!!!

Opelenge said...

There's regular food there, I guess...

Gbengzz said...

The govt is mad. Beggars have been since the beginning of time and they will continue to be till the end of time. There are beggars everywhere even in paris. Students involving in rag day beware .

Ikunkun Babbles said...

at least dem go chop for free

Disablity is no excuse for breaking the law. These people have been become career beggars.

I know it sounds cruel but these people are not the problem of Lagos state. Their home states in the North already have allocations for them and not using them efectively.

Disability is no excuse for breaking the law.

Wow how can nigeria progress when we can't even help our selves . Sentencing beggars!for christ sakes is a crime against humanity forget wat the law says.let the government instead of sentencing them tell the masses what they have done I over the past 6 years with 6.7billion dollas!

Well it just unfair to sentence unemployed beggars like as if the gov made life anybetter they would beg.let lagos state provide for okada people who just lost their source of livelihood than occupy filled up prisons with innocent people.

Wow how can nigeria progress when we can't even help our selves . Sentencing beggars!for christ sakes is a crime against humanity forget wat the law says.let the government instead of sentencing them tell the masses what they have done I over the past 6 years with 6.7billion dollas!

Tough call. They will graduate as armed robbers. But what do u do with them? Most of them are simply not willing to do anything other than beg for alms, even when they r perfectly able to.

Fashola we hail o...so u left all the police, and politicians, and KAI ppl, and crooked business ppl to arrest and jail poor beggars...hmmm

owner said...

You are simply lunatic.I have heard of sycophants but yours is in the lunatic dimention.oloriburuku, omo ale

Linda pls post this. Lagos has some cooperate beggars. How do we deal with those? They always beg for transport fare.

vee said...

Mst of dese beggars hv arms nd legs y cnt dey wrk,do menial jobs 2 feed instead dey kip beggin,I fink its gud dey're in prison @least dem go dey chop,stay in a place,it shldnt b a problem 2 dem na

I like hw u praise Fashola but to be truthful ACN abandoned some areas in Lagos. It is as if Fashola is only tushing up elite areas in Lagos. But no be only elite vote for am. I'm sure this new law no go reach my area.

cicy said...

Mr or Miss owner, why d curses? Is it cos of the frustration in ur life?
Pls get over ur damn self!

Incredible! Is that the solution. Prison kwanu... This is bad and ignoramus of Fashola govt. Discover The Secret to Losing Weight and Having A Flat tummy

laura said...

Wat u guys dnt knw is dat rehabilitation also takes place in the prison.they ve various dept where they can learn any vocation they deem fit.so the ball is in their court

Chidozie Mario said...

Misplacement of values. Rather ironical and ridiculous.
10 Things That Are Better Than Sex

Plus some of them re evil! God b wiv us all

LINDA N FELLOW NIGERIANS,where were u guys when the law was enacted 2yrs ago???? Naija we no sabi coret govt or put them on their toes,they can get away with anything fashola is just the most stupid govnor on earth,there are beggers everywhere in the world,including the richest countries,hey yall remembered he outlawed hawking? Ppl hawk in certain places in us,not to kon talk of naija

I wz der one day wen a leper put his hand inside a big girl's mouth in d traffic claiming she made fun of him. To think dt disease is very infectous. So I'm of d view dt taking them off d streets is best but def not imprisoning them. We sure need ds beggars cz @certain points in our lives we must giv compulsory alms. I fynk building a place for beggars 2stay (jst like d motherless) is ok nd whoeva is interested in giving alms can go der

Great Job Fashola! If you're surprised that I said this then I think Kirikiri is where you belong. The same people that will complain about how Lagos looks, how there are thieves in the streets are the same people that will condemn a leader that is always trying to please the people. Do you not know that these beggers are the night thieves? Do you not know many of them are in pretense? Do you not know many of them have even built houses from begging but are just selfish and lazy? I'm shocked at the way Nigerians are shallow minded and quick to condemn even the few that do the right thing. I'm not against giving or helping, in fact I give as a habit, but don't take begging as a job because I've seen many without eyes and legs that do great things that even the physically okay will struggle to do. Lagos is where it is today because of this rare serious minded and honest Governor. Having said this, anyone that has anything against this man probably has an inverted brain. Eko oni Baje!

I actually don't knw y pple r blaming d whole thing on fashola,these beggars wen taken 2 d rehabilition centres they don't stay there,its either they jump over d fence or break fence to Escape come 2 ikorodu and see for yourself.well I'm not saying taking them kirikiri is so also right tho!

@BONARIO go to hell, people are discussing serous issues and way forward you open your sulfur infested stench of a mouth and write rubbish, just like your greasy ugly face. Never a sensible word from you, I take it you're insane and should be locked up like this beggers. MORON!

BRF has gone too far o cos even wen they release dem they wld obviously cme bck 2 d same cald"street" so I fnk he shld beta snd dem bck 2 their various states of origin cos they sha kuku no fit de kirikiri 4eva,anywyz dem sef get association their chairman go fyt 4 dem

Rehabilitation is d answer not kirikiri. This is absurd.

2 me, prison is d best place dey can be. That will deter others!!! If u rehabilitate or provide 4 dem den more people will flood d streets claiming 2 b beggars. Go Fashola!

Fashola just wants to build Rome in one day

To me its nice, coz most of d beggars can be so annoying esp dos fulani children,n some oda Hausa beggars dat on a gud ,dey shudnt be on d street begging coz dey re as normal as every oda normal person @dere.

Imagine....im in d north @ d moment..plz come dere and see AW U WONT FIND ONE bEGGAR nywhere...70% of dese pple r hausa's...why cant they beg in deir own states...i tell u...u shud see dis *beggars* wen dey travel home for d end of d year....it is not fair wat u say about fashola...abuja is on d way to being a megacity...where wud u find such and find beggars on d street....i listend to radio dis last tym i wuz in Lagos nd i heard of dese empowerment programmes for 1k where pple were thought how to fend for demselves..capentry..farmin..talorin..etc..nd dey complained bitterly dat pple were not coming nd dese beggars ..some wif fit hands nd legs preferd d easier option ..begging...truth is nothing good comes easy...nd for us to get to d promised land..radical changes must be made nd not every1 wud be happy bout it but its for a better Lagos..plz think it tru#gbam

Haba bro fashola,u think say is ds no b d beginning of kolomental?I beg go 4 check up.Ds Is Ridiculous

Marzzzz said...

Lwkmd! Bet see d beggers are so happy 2 march 2 prison...fashola is a ram o! Rotfl

Lolade d idiot....very senseless selfish bitch...

Before yall start raisin insults and aspersions on d govt..Do u tink d govt is dat insensitive?..it wld b unsakpatious for us to kpoyash handicaps in2 4 unbreakable walls..only,d able-bodied 1s were catapulted 2 dier destined domiciliary habitation....nxt on our list are coperate beggers...Nsikan. Idung(SAN)

@ 'owner', how does this person deserve these insults/curses?? Nywayz, its not far fetched that ur words must best describe u

1000 likes

Queen Bee said...

Kirikiri maximum prison for that matter,home of hardened criminals and murderers!
The govt will do more harm to the state and individuals cos by the time they will be out,some of them would turn to hardened criminals and assassins out of anger......cos taking one to prison for being a beggar is the most outrageous thing to do to someone that is already door!

Lolade said...

@ Anonymous 2am, I see most places in Lagos been touched. Its a process. Frm Badagry to the Island, LASU IBA road, Egbeda,Festac (thou more work needs to be done there), Ogba, Agege etc. Its a process. Am not a politician, but trust me we, Nigerians knw good things when we see it. We knw good leadership. How come we pick out pple like Donald duke, Akpabio, Fashola, and now Oshiomole out of the rest. Nigerians mayb insultive somtimes *like 'owner' lol @ hs/her insultive comments, we cld be impatient , but we knw wat we want. God bless Nigerians!

Are you guys suprise? 😗

ema's strawberry said...

I THINK THEY SHOULD SEND DEM BACK TO THE NORTH, I BLIF A LOT OF THEM ARE FROM THE NORTH. AND PROBABLY START DEPORTING THE TRAILERS THAT TRANSPORT THEM INTO LAGOS BACK HOME.

Lool abi Ohh , its so stupid for them to send them to prison . Do they think that these guys want to be beggars, lagos state government had the opportunity to change these peoples lives and rehabilitate them but they choose to turn a blind eye . Mr fashola I expected better from you sir *smh*

What crap....I laugh in pidgin....

Sir jay said...

Funny enuf the things they should be paying serious attention and takin action on, they are not doing it, how can u lok up beggers because u want ur state to be diffrent? Even in western and developed countries their are beggers, tomorow when u here something now, dem go say eiya, na we d use our own hand set trap for our self, this is too bad, doing that won't make lagos heaven on earth.... Its sad really, is he the first person dat has been there, many had come and gone, a word is enuf for the wise, he would be receiving praises now, but the end of it will be disastrous,

Lolade...the way you sound tells me that your life is so perfect and the only problem you have is the beggars on the streets.. Now Fashola has solved your problem and so you are relieved... lucky you tho!

Gozzy said...

What a shame?Instead of providing shelter for dem and getting somfin menial 4 dem 2 do,Lagos State govt feels d best is 2 send dem 2 prison.Let God judge dem!

Most of them will def learn 'one trade or the other' inside kirikiri.....hehehehe! Watch out for part two.

Fashola has displayed and will continue to display his stupidity congrat man.....

There is no point raining curses on Fashola joor. begging alms on the street is frowned at in most clime. thought we always want our Cities to be as cool as london, NY, Sydney etc. I only feel they should be made to do community service as sentence and then sent to their home states afterwards.#Nuffsaid

waplegend said...

hmmm fashola na wao

@P5 ... Don't be in a rush ok. The next set of beggars that would be jailed will include ur Father then let's see how u will feel about it. Bloody Retard! Gov. Fash u r actually sick bro!

Sending dem back will not solve anything but brings serious wahala to lagos state so linda pls talk dem so dat dey will not use dat in attracting boko haram,s attention to eko state. My opinion

I don't lve in lagos but I think he's doing a good job,.those that want to crucify him shld also kick against his removal of the rugged bous from the street,for ur info some of those beggars keep guns for armed robbers.some people dont just think,I wonder wot their brains are ment for Hugh!!!!

Laura tell them.thers national open university in prisons too.so I think they ll learn more,there

Oh pls stop.y are u encouraging beggars how much have you given to them.they shld get of the street get a life,and stop constituting nuisance .they can do better

I guess he is doing something about the "agberos" littering the whole place soon too.

deccentlife.blogspot.com said...

Best answer is for them to relocate them to another environment not putting them in prison.

http://deccentlife.blogspot.com/2013/02/see-why-wizkid-is-leaving-eme-and-banky.html

Cecilia said...

Guys calm down! Let's get our facts right, why do we like talking about someone's bad side and not the good, or why is it so hard to accept change?
Fashola have rehabilitated these beggers and sent some of them back home, he has also empowered others financially and taken their finger prints to be able to hold them responsible should they come back again.
These 30 beggers arrested, are they the only beggers in Lagos state? Why is it only them that are arrested?
Let's not forget so soon how guns and knives were recovered from under some beggers wooden wheelers.
In as much as I think kirikiri is too extreme, let's not forget that these people constitute nausance and that being a good leader comes with making tough decisions that might not go down well with some few for the well being of many in the long run.
Check the accident rate in lagos state since okada was banned and tell me if the decision to ban them was actually wrong. Let's embrace change when it is genuine.
S

That's supposed to the least of fashola's worry

Wat r u saying? Can u hear urself? So if dey stop begging wat shud dey do? So begging is nw work abi? Hw much do u urself give dis beggars if I may ask. Who r the they to create an avenue?u create sth cos u r also part of d govt...

and sending them to prison was the best option abi sometin is wrong with the judge and fashola himself. people still billions of naira nd they get a slap on the wrist then beggers who have no means of survival go to prison SMDH and may they never find themselves in such a ssituation. useless FOOLS

I am not against helping the poor, but this begging on the streets of Lagos has become a Career choice for many of these people. It is passed on from generation to generation. Some children who are born normal have even been known to be deliberately blinded or disfigured on purpose to make them carry on the begging tradition.
What most people dont know is that Begging is Organised Crime. It is very lucrative, especially in Lagos. It only benefits the Ogas that send them out.
They must have been warned over and over again, uncountable times.
Personally, I don't enjoy seeing them on the streets and even when they are offered alternatives these people choose to beg because it is more lucrative.
Prison is a first step to show them how serious the state is, but when they come out, they should be helped.

Mrs Anyai said...

plz can u all abusing BRF just shut up!!!!!!
Dis so called ''beggars'' are able bodied humans and only constitute nuisance.
They will give birth 2 uncountable kids cos d more THEY have the more money,d kids are like investments...
Lagos state built a massive rehab centre in ikorodu and they bring d beggars dere on daily basis 2 learn sometin n b useful but they will scale tru d fences n go back 2 d streets.
D prison is much beta cos they wont b able to scale tru d fences and will b forced 2 learn sometin dat will empower dem PLUS THEY WILL HAVE FOOD.
Go to d north and c how 'begging free' it is.
Nigerians are just hypocrites,they av d most degrees n masters,av d most churches and yet they r d most shallow minded. Quick 2 say ''God punish Fashola'"...i pity una cos BRF is d best tin dat has hapund 2 Lagos state. God bless him

WTF!!! nawa oh,like how are they gon do dat to beggars,dats jst wrong,Nigeria we hail thee :(

I totally agree with this. I stay in the north and I was on a bike that hit a so called crippled begger about two years ago. We tried to take the woman to the hospital and we found over N300,000 in her purse. Where did a cripple/beggar get that kind of money from??? They even have more money than people that work hard and give them arms.

They should all be carted back to their various states. No need to send them to jail. My thinking might be incredibly myopic, but they simply remind me of the boko haram people.Let their state governments take care of them.

Even though I am not a Lagosian, I pay tax in Lagos so I can live in Lagos and benefit from general infrastructure(or lack of it).

Let him do his on & go.soldier come soldier go.he can't be there 4 d rest of his lyf.#shikenan#***lincoln

Nigerians are so dumb, this is gonna keep those aboki beggers off the street of Lagos, when the govt is trying yo do something, we oppose it... Good work Fashola

Push them where? You didn't offer any suggestions...

We act like a nation of bitter and dull people.

We're all so quick to criticise, curse and all the terrible things. I see no one offering solutions.

At least these once beg. How about those that collect the moni forcibly, where and when will they be sentenced? Misplaced priorities!

They soo stupid and I mean this wicked govt they never heated about homes for the disabled y can't they build private homes for them where people can come and take care of them it will also create more jobs in the country that's what they do in developed countries like America they are not to be discriminated against cos they human beings its against the law and they are well taken care of wt three meals a day and they look presentable so they can go out in d community.they should be ashamed of themselves they don't hhave homes for the elderly for orphans and disabled people just sad pls Linda that's y u a good blogger and that's we that are fortunate to go abroad and see the difference need to speak wats important and not stop until we are heared

Am sorry anon 10.27 u sound like a damn illiterate wat of if one of ur family is disabled that's wat u say instead of saying build a home wt people to help and assist them on being independent as possible I lived abroad all my life and just cos u want ur city clean don't mean treat them like animals u will definitely go to jail for abuse

jumai said...

That's is not fair at all..fashola should give them work that could help the state and still bring a little money to them.thats injustice..its not their fault they are poor begging for alms..What is this state turning into?what has lagos state govt turned the definition of prison into?this is not fair,i believe they should be removed because someday they would be out and they would rebel...A word is enough for the wise...

@cecilia, you 've got a point there. But I don't just want to believe they were actually sent to kirikiri prison.
2013 WAEC TIMETABLE

Cecilia, you have said it all.

the real thieves are the ones in gorvernment

leo4life said...

Good one as far as I am concerned. After institutionalising begging they come and dump dem in Lagos - for what? Another option is to carry them to Kano/sokoto and dump dem there for their Emirs and Sultans to sort out.
Generally speaking (with few exceptions anyway) the North has been a clog in the wheel of this country. Chew me if you like.

At least this is a sure way of getting free food and accomodation. Thanks the peoples'governor. The nxt move should be to identify the respective states and move them back, there brothers and state govts should be their keepers n not Lagos state govt.
some pple might love d sight of beggers everywhere but y not take them home if they so love them. Na u sabi

At least this is a sure way of getting free food and accomodation. Thanks the peoples'governor. The nxt move should be to identify the respective states and move them back, there brothers and state govts should be their keepers n not Lagos state govt.
some pple might love d sight of beggers everywhere but y not take them home if they so love them. Na u sabi

Begging is a run like cartel...trust me! Some all these rich people see organize this beggar who sum$it returns to dem(BOTs). They use jazz to 'tie' them(can't run, can't hide, can't steal). Some of these beggars are fetish, some are lazy hence habitual beggars; you rehabilite and empower them they still go back to street begging

Thhey wiLl find their way baack

Begging is a cartel with strong backing o! as in connects wonder how fashola battled 'them' to even put beggers in prison?... trust me! Some all these rich people see organize this beggar who sumbit returns to dem(BOTs). They use jazz to 'tie' them(can't run, can't hide, can't steal). Some of these beggars are fetish, some are lazy hence habitual beggars; you rehabilite and empower them they still go back to street begging. And yeah I work in a NGO into such...*floetry in Motion*

I mean 'already poor....queen bee

To me I don't see anything harsh in it. I have asked a beggar before with 2 hands and legs y can't she work she said no she won't. They actually constitute nuissance. Then for those pushing the once on wheel chair y can't they go and work for them.I see it as a good idea and besides its not Fashola dat makes the law its d legislators.

@jumai if someone can come out and rebel why can't he come out and work to look 4 his daily bread mtchew

To me I don't see anything harsh in it. I have asked a beggar before with 2 hands and legs y can't she work she said no she won't. They actually constitute nuissance. Then for those pushing the once on wheel chair y can't they go and work for them.I see it as a good idea and besides its not Fashola dat makes the law its d legislators.

@anon 3:28 thank God U said u lived abroad u need to come and see ow they constitute nuissance on the streets if ur loved one is disabled help him not making him beg on the streets.I av seen a lot of disabled pple trying to earn a living for themselves they also not an exception.

Can you imagine Lagos state gvt. beggars in prison 4 begging for money on the street. Did d State gvt provide shelter, food and money that can keep them to run thr day to day life, did ur gvt think they want to beg on the street?
This is absolute sucks, even in USA thr r beggars on major street and mall begging for money. Ur families are in abroad having opportunity to enjoyed good amenities, such as good road, good communication and utilities and u r making life miserable for common 9ija citizen. stupid gvt without focus.