Cancer Awareness Campaign with Toke, Vixen, Tosyn, and Shine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 February 2013

Cancer Awareness Campaign with Toke, Vixen, Tosyn, and Shine

As January is cervical cancer month and World Cancer Day is February the 4th, the people at Brown Eyez wanted to use the power of radio and the influence of its female presenters to raise awareness of cervical cancer in a fun creative way.
The participating on air personalities (OAPs) from the radio stations decided to speak through a photo shoot with an emphasis on using the colour green which represents cervical cancer. 

It will be a chance to give back to the community, raise awareness about an important health issue and reach a wide demography of all ages that’s connected by fashion and socializing.

The OAPs are; Toke Makinwa and Yvonne Vixen from Rythym FM, Top Tosyn from Top radio and Shine from Cool FM.

68 comments:

hot girl said...

stupid bleaching Toke!mtewwww!!!!!

hot girl said...

she is bleaching towards cancer ,wats she campaigning against?

Commendable initiative,yep me and Vixen can actually kickout cancer.
just me and her.*wink*

Nice initiative.

Nice reli nice...they are creating awareness for somefin nice...ps toke is rocking dat bob

www.ivymarshall.blogspot.co.uk

All I see is makeup advert here.

How nice!shine looks like she was crying

Pregnancy Concierge said...

Nice one! Shouldn't they all be wearing something green? Can someone tell me if ladies in Naija go for Pap smears on a regular basis? Is it something offered by gyn? Not trying to be funny, I really don't know....

theLASTMAN said...

Being a Nigerian man priviledged to have experienced diverse cultures and absorbed a great deal of learning, I long for the day when the Nigerian woman will take pride in her roots and cease to masquerade herself in foreign hairpieces, accessories and outlook hereby losing her soul in the financial pursuit of this nothingness. The woman of color is the epitome of natural beauty and mystery to other races and they long to be like her...we must embrace our local heritage because herein lies the soul of this planet. Africa will be great come what may.

Nice one girls

It's the official gathering of Event vendors as an international events company (with over 365 weddings a year in record) embraces Nigerian!!!
vendors in the various categories (Make-up Artist. & stylist, Catering, DJ, Dress & Attire, Ushering, Event Rentals & photobooths, Favours & gifts, Flowers, Invitations & design, Photography, Lights & Decor,Unique Services,Videography, Cakes & Cocktails, ) are hereby invited for a Session of appraisal @ ZaaZ hotel(4 Allen Avenue ikeja) on Wed 6th 2013 (11am). Vendors will be classified to various categories and signed on a One year deal!
Interested vendors are adviced to come with there company profiles , evidence of previously done Jobs, 2 passportphotographs, A valid Government issued ID.

Toke looks lifeless inn these photos. No energy at all.

why didnt they shave off their hair like the other chic

yaaawn..why can't some people remain behind the mic eh?

Didn't Toke get the memo? Where her green?

Toke is taking the criticism to heart o. Short hairstyle suits her

Didn't Toke get the memo? Where her green?

So true..dis lyf has no part2..we shuld secure our lyvs..devote our tremendous time and energy in protecting our health..ppl whom ar victims olredie I jus pray de fight d illness and may God help dem 2ru....Cancer no b poor man disease oo..be aware..Fernando!!

Our aunty toke is so bladdy fake!wtheck

Linda l sent a mail to your mailbox about a 14 years old girl who has bone cancer and needed financial assistant to enable her get treated before it's late. Today is world cancer day please let us save the little life of joy emmanuel isong who lives in port harcourt.

Blunt Queen said...

This toke sef: old cargo tryin so hard to stay relevant with all d bleaching creams available. Vixen is so annoying.

Joy said...

Omotoke trying too hard. Me no likey

Wat is Toke wearing? Why all these campaign on prevention by safe sex only? How safe can sex be again? Condoms or being faithful to a partner? Fine,as a lady, u play safe by keeping to one guy, and wat if the guy Goes out and knocks some ass filled wit STDs? how do you know and how wud u even go about it? Do u know some STDs go unnoticed? You only know when the damage is done!!! Ladies and gentlemen, there are cervical cancer vaccines now... They can protect you for several years.. 3 shots are giving in the span of 0-1-6. Although, if u are sexually active, u will surely need a pap smear first- and if not, u go straight to the shots! Safe sex only is not an "only" guarantee anymore! If u need these vaccines : Email me on stacyadewale@yahoo.com, I can tell u where to get them! Kabish?

No be only u talk soooo she tries too hard, see her white face like cancer cells.

Jessica said...

@ Blunt Queen said...:At least she is trying to be relevant and not trying to drag other people down you ignoramus one. Why must we turn everything into a Toke Bash fest. How about you focusing on yourself and finding your own purpose with regards to helping people with terminal disease.

Great initiative!!!!

www.federalrepublicoffashion.com/

Toksyb:weldone ladies nice one, I love tosin's make up she's looking good and cute as ever,fake toke dat forms like she no fit speak yoruba,omo ondo na wa I trust igbo pple they r pround of der language any day any time

vixen, your ete goes to school. shine, na you wowo pass. toke, na you fine pass jor. tosyn, you just dey there. i like you but you don dey old jor, go marry.

LMAO

Why evil? Lol

@Ritachychy said...

Get a life people and leave Toke alone, only haters, lifeless, and purposeless people beef. Most of you do jobs you hate, and hide behind anonymous profiles.No talent what so ever! Leave her alone she is living her dream biko! I usually don't comment on blogs but damn let this girl breath people. Ah ah!

How can toke be on the campaign to fight against cancer.....isn't bleaching and cancer positively correlated.

i never knew ppl had bad straw towards toke, jeeeeeeez, but on a real she looks likes an old woman in a young body, i think i need to meet Vixen, have a drink and know more bout her, hope she's not a bully on the wallet though, nice promo by the team though

And hair extension advert too

Pls joor, Hv u eva walked into a bar or restaurant n said Hi to a bald woman wit no makeup. Abeg, u guyz started it all. U love fake tins. So deal wit it.

And hair extension advert too

Lost a family frend 2 breast cancer 2day, Feb 4th, world cancer day. Mrs. Akinsanya, we love u nd I salute ur courage 4 bng strong even till d end. May God give us d fortitude 2 bear d loss especially ur hubby, daughters n mum.RIP.

Why are they all looking happy? And they are supposed to be wearing pink or red. Are they celebrating it or kicking against it? They look like fun....cancer isn't fun!

If you like bleach till you become brighter than your future.

Stop yapping the poor chick na, what did she do to una

*Linda. While they are promoting early detection of cervical cancer, we can as well talk about prevention. There is a vaccine called Human papiloma virus HPV Vaccine. It's very expensive and probably not in the Naija market yet. You can ask yor Dr to order it from UK or US.
Do you know that cercal cancer virus also causes head/ neck and throat canceresp with orovaginal sex?

I really don't understand some of you oh I mean people are tryna do something positive here and some of you are cowarding behind your devices talking sh*t about bleaching creams and all.I don't blame you people na, it's 1500 BIS and one day data bundle plan that is causing it. If you like, don't go and get relevant, stay slandering those who feel the need to. I mean, I don't even know the TOke babe personnally and I don't care about her skin. I care miste about the cancer patients wasting in the hospitals. Y'all should try visiting them someday.

Who are these women?? I don't know them??

Diariesofanothermua said...

Awesome idea. Welldone ladies! Pls check kosisoanthonia.blogspot.com

Whatever happened to Orede Uduaghan and her Pink Pearl Foundation, guess it was all a hoax for chopping Delta State funds.......such a fraudulent kid

"Notice me parade" is this how to create awareness? i bet these mamas dont know jack bout cancer, saw one with safe sex warning,do u get cancer from sex???

Pls use ur site to do better things than parading ol school ladies trying to be relevant

Miss jade said...
Where's Toke"s touch of green? Shes always d odd one out.

johnnykaro said...

Great move Ladies! God bless the four of you real good! As for Y'all haters and never do well ladies n fellas, casting aspersions and sarcastic words against these beautiful angels, Listen! If y'all ain't gat nothing positive to pour out of your stinking bowels, I suggest u shut the fuck-up! Shut-up I say!! Being mayorpic is an understatement, You're all blind and visionless, and your asperity will take you no where. This is Y the country isn't moving forward!

Nice one Ladies, great move keep it up. I personally appreciate what you're doing. God bless you real good. As for y'all haters and never do well ladies n fellas casting aspersions and sarcastic words against these beautiful angels, if you all don't have anything positive to ooze out of your stinking mouth, I suggest you'all go get a life or better still shut the fuck-up! Shut up! I say! Being mayorpic is an understatement, Y'all are blind, visionless, and good for nothing! And your asperity will lead you no where. This is why the nation isn't moving forward, because of people like u who don't ever support anything good.

benjy said...

Toke sooooo fake!! Shine sooooo fake and annoying

You are very stupid for this ur comment,go give am ur husband/boyfriend make she marry naw,stupid bitch

Hey! Cervical cancer vaccine has been in Naija for over 8years now! We have cervarix and Gardasil.. Its about 10k per shot for cervarix! Stop spreading wrong info.. If u can buy Brazillian hair, u sure can afford. It! Dunzor.. Stacyadewale@yahoo.com

Cervical Cancer vaccine is about 6k per shot... U need 3shots in d span of 0-1-6 months.. Go and get it o, esp if u don de *shook* email me on stacyadewale@yahoo.com on how to get it

I sure know most people hate Toke. The fact remains that, people are judging her from far without knowing who she really is inside. They are only correct about one thing tho,'bleaching' I don't know about been fake tho.

Anon 10:23..That's true. ...they'll be eating yam and condemning cocoyam!(eri ji abalu Ede)

Fake guy!!!his type come out here to preach and keep/ chase another type in his house..ladies don't ever listen to this kinda of guy they are never real instead they do contrary to what they preach...deal with it fake dudue

true true... Toke did not get the memo on the green... ema binu. Blame her management or PR team or some shit like dt

I really wish the Nigerian government will provide this service free to ladies. I have gotten letters requesting me to go do the cervical screening free under the NHS care system of the UK government. And I'm just a student here o. These things are so expensive in naija and not easily accessible

GTO said...

Are these comments not reviewed/approved by Linda herself? Linda, why then are you allowing your blog to be used as a vehicle of hate towards Toke and just about anyone/anything that is posted by you? This is very discouraging.
How can you allow your blog to be used as a vehicle for sexist and tribalistic outpourings? Can one not come here and just read comments based purely on the subject at hand without veering into the negative.
Linda, you really need to do better. What is the point of reviewing posts if most of what you approve of is abuse of the people you post about?
Toke, Vixen, Tosyn and Shine are joining millions of women around the world to call attention to a killer disease. The least we can do is encourage them to continue whilst we also make moves to keep ourselves safe.
People, you can do better. If you have nothing good to say, why not just say nothing?

theLASTMAN please shut the f up there..... How does it make me less of a woman if I like using makeup? How does makeup translate to me denying my african heritage? Since when has makeup turned to a cultral preference? Please shut up if you don't have anything useful to say and take a sit. How does your being privileged give you the right to make such judgmental comments...mchew ode

tonia said...

Great madonites !!!!!!!!!! Shanino a.k.a shine I see you make us proud girl.toke short hair suits u like crazy to me u 're d prettiest girl here.I love you girl.*kisses*

naijababe said...

Toke needs to back up what she says personally. Has she heard of skin cancer? So she needs to put those creams down or is it d pills that she uses.

Dee said...

Its people like u dat will always be under critisizing people on top, later u wou
D complain that the world is unfair to you . #smh

Tohfwesh said...

y r u pple agai
nst toke naw

Tohfwesh said...

y r u pple against toke

Tohfwesh said...

y r u pple against toke

i see nothing wrong with toke, she is a lady doing her own thing, bleach or no bleach it has nothing to do with anybody's life. we all have different wants in life.

To have toke's skin the herbal way please follow this link....http://www.facebook.com/orabella.signature

What's up friends, its great piece of writing about educationand entirely explained, keep it up all the time.
Review my page ... diets that work