Nicole Chikwe's N1.7million wedding gown | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 19 October 2012

Nicole Chikwe's N1.7million wedding gown

According to award winning couture designer, Yemi Osunkoya of Kosibah Creations, Nicole Chikwe's wedding dress which he designed cost £6, 000 while the matching veil cost £850, which all adds up to £6,850. That's about N1.7 million. He told NET in an exclusive interview that it took him about 7 months to make the dress.

Meanwhile, my peeps spotted Mrs Chikwe yesterday at Reeds Club for Rotimi Domingo's pre-wedding party and they swear she's preggers. They said her tummy now has a slight bulge and she looked like she's just finishing her first trimester. If this is true, you read it here first. If it's not true...well, you never read it here...:-)

139 comments:

nduka said...

1.7M for what?

naijaopenmouth.com

she was ripped off

sheylee bee said...

Lmao, linda U̶̲̥̅̊ crazy o, what's U̶̲̥̅̊ read it first here or U̶̲̥̅̊ didn't read it here! That got me laughing hard

ahhhhhh so she was preggy wen she got married @suprised face@

UgoBabeeee said...

The bride looks beautiful nd it is a pretty lace dress...but am sorry that dress does not scream <6,000 pounds...sorry-the kosibah should not be braggin about this style- looks like any ordinary mermid design that u rock using ankara...not trying to be mean but just saying there is no wow factor about the dress.....

This white lace? Na wo.... Abi d lace dey sing Nicole and neato c name for d wardrobe now? Just asking o,cos I like to know y such a waste for a piece of lace material. Linda post am o..........

her folks can afford it so why not?? linda u are looking for traffic abi??

Dr. Rukevwe said...

LOL! Linda, Your Amebo no get competition o!

Wtf!i don't kno about wedding gown but I sure kno that tin should not cost dat mch.6850£!e de mad?
Meanwhile seven months to design fish net!d guy na snail?
Abegi!

That is rather much for a one day event but the gown is fine o

7months to make the ugly dress?

Critical Observer said...

Ikeji baby! U r on point sha!

This report is true (as a famzer of life I know!)

The dress can be £200 for all I care..

Something about it just says "Funeral", "Lying in state"

Hmmm mm.....lips sealed.

Wats so special abt d gown?tailor under d stair case can do better.akpa buruku

she needs a refund..that dress was just there

NA SO

This dress is too ugly for this price tag, that shows the designer is seriously overpriced...... she could have gone with a foreign designer for half the price

smh..... I paid 150 dollars for a custom made replica dress in china and looked flawless. This na waste of money . The dress wasnt even fine and looked too big on her. Koshibah fall my hand big time

Newbie said...

Linda AND SO WHAT? PLEASE GIVE US BETTER GIST

Mtcheeew!! Waste of money. There is nothing special about the dress.

Wow..money is talking jor

Eme Achanga said...

hahaha if its not true"WE READ IT HERE OO".LOL

Weneva I say ds babe ain't fine,dy attack me cos I've got a crush on naeto c....look closely pple,she looks like a man,,,eeeeekkkkkkk so masculine.....Kiki B

this yeye dress when no fine. mtschewww. 7months my foot

goodie said...

9ja we get ppl wey dey touch money...njoy jare

Lyk how much dos ds artist make dz dayz dat he could aford 2 buy A̷̷̴̐͠ gown of #1.7 or s it d moni his moda stole while she was d minista of aviation...hmmm,jst askin sha Oº°˚

errrr, i'm sorry but my wedding dress of less 90k from mori lee (blue cross x4 sale of course!) is more superb than this! not feeling it one bit!

What a rip off , d wedding gown wasn't worth it. There ® better looking gowns for 100k and less.

clevadani said...

Linda u funny well
all Nigerians visit http://naijamustchange.blogspot.com/

Linda U be complete amebo *winka

Abeg go and collect your change!!!

linda tatafo lol luv u plenty

Petite Diva said...

Say what?!! Isn't that a little bit too much for just a wedding gown?

There has to be something else that makes the dress worth so much other than the fact it took 7 whole months to make 1 dress ¯\_(•͡.̮ •͡ )_/¯

kosibah yahooed her. that lace that looks like curtain for my psychic palor

the $800 dresses at Davids Bridal beat this nonsense hands down

It took him 7 months to make the dress? Did he put d stones on d lace him self? He so sounds like vera wang wannabe.

Ohhhh u guys should shut d hell up. sewing is nt d problem . its d fabric dat cost alot do u kno hw much beta lace cost?????
Kosibah is a fab designer!!! U lib readers should stop being razzzz!!!!

kobnomi said...

There's nothing spectacular about this gown to make it this expensive for goodness sake!don't see any difference between this gown and d ones supposedly ordinary people wear which seems to be even finer! If kosibah used 7 months to finish this gown (which is s big lie) except he is a snail according to alex ony, then I wonder if he'll need a one year notice to finish more tasking jobs.

lovelylady said...

Errrmm for the person that asked how much stars re paid that naeto can afford this dress,it may interest u to knw the girl is from a wealthy home !!!Meanyle there is nothing £2k abt this dress talk less of £6k.and dat veil for £850?does it include tthe hair piece?if yes was it diamond?na wa.6k for this ???its nt even beautiful

Wat is a big deal about that. I already saved $8,000 for my wedding gown and $2,000 more to go so I don't know why u r tripping Linda....SMh

The guys dresses aren't less than £5K and i'm yet to see one that has wowed me. Maybe the one Chima's wife wore. His gowns just don't have that wow factor. This dress didn't fit her at all. Look at the boob area. He's much better when he designs for curvier women. I guess they are buying the Kosibah name.
That said her parents are multimillionaires. So the price isn't the issue, more like the quality.

Zinnia:
Lol, rotlmao, lwtmbh. Kai! U are mean men!

Why call him akpa? That is a harsh word to use na; wetin the man do you sef.

Still laughing at "akpa buruku".

Wow. Beef.

Diva said...

Can't believe this cheap looking gown cost her so much. Not hating but the gown is really tacky, shows how poor her taste is

susy said...

wat a waste of money. the dress is a plain jane type dress..... linda post my comment thanks

Big money, Small Sense... Simple!

£6000 for this rough tailored looking dress, this mediocre raw seem dress? He defo swindled her cause he knows her father can afford it

Nicole pls return the dress to him and get a part refund, hope you have your receipt

Even MAI ATAFO that just delved into wedding dresses recently has far better gowns to his name

Obsidian her friend self would have sewed something better than this for mates rate not 6grand

Hahahahahahahahahahaha! U funny die!

Femiluv said...

That was one ugly dress!

i just want this girl to get a nose job

Linda, would u come for my wedding? Ill email u. Ill be a lovely bride. My dress is so 35k buh amazing! Mine looks more 1.7M than that. Ill send u pics

I wonder ooo its not worth it

Bikonu, where is d best site to order for a 50-70k wedding gown frm abroad? Congrats Nicole, I tap from ur blessing joor.

Honestly, I'd expect a £6k pounds dress 2 be unique bt dere's nofin special abt dis 1 ryt here.Any tailor(4get designer) can mk dis given d materials(which is available all ova yaba). Doesn't even fit perfectly. Mtchew. Bt den y do d couple look lyk dey're in sep worlds. Whr's d love? Even d previous pix had me finkin. Hp its nt arrangee. Ehnnnn.... I say so

kemsugar said...

What's my bizz? D weding gown is dry.

Mama ifu said...

Get a refund horse-face

A dress witout a peal or stones. Cannot worth even £2000 talk more of this tin d girl shld stop smiling she wore that 8yrds net lace called a wedding gown coz d babes who hire wedding gowns are so much cooler dan hers so babes park well sharply !!!!!!!!big grin!!!!!!!!!!!

Oyinkansola said...

Aunty lin lin,ul neva stop makn me laff.ur finishn note na die.about d gown,its biutifl bt nt 4 ha body type,lukd drab on ha.if u hv d kind of tobi oyelakin(nee banjoko)'s body,no prob.she was smashn in a simila 1 by mai.

lol...the dress was nicely tailored, but i'm not so sure about this price o! you can get much nicer gowns for less....if it was a ball gown with plenty material sef, i would understand...my budget for a dress and veil is $5000. Yes the price she spent on the dress isn't extraordinary/outrageous but for that dress??? hmmmm
anywaz i luv yemi koshiba...God bless his hustle!!!
Z

Honestly I'm thinking he is prolly worse dan a snail sef. 7months for dis???? I can't stop laffing Abeg.

Oya quit asking stupid questions u hear. Its not fresh atall. Jst talk abt d wedding dress and sharap my dear. I dnt have to bring d mother into dis.

U mean for just a crappy wedding gown?

Doesn't look like it.

Ezenta said...

it is try no coz I no naeto c

nooope I read the preggers bit on ladun's blog first. she reported it before you.

We've hed enuf publicity stunt on naeto c's wedding jor..first the controversial wedding gift now wedding gown!btw,nofin extragorgeous abt d dress!

I totally agree with u dear. Big waste of money if u ask me.

Before she starts to copy Kim Kardarshan's wedding looks, she should remember the wedding lasted only 72 days. Just saying.

chika said...

Na wa oh, she is wearing 1.7 on her body, i dont think a sensible person would want to do dat, even if they ve all the money in the world, seriously speaking the gown doesn't scream 1.7 sef. since they ve all that money i hope they remember the hungry ones once in a while sha. Please guys this is my new blog www.businesswithchika.com check it out and dont forget to like it and leave a comment

na hype joor

Roflmaoooo. Abi na...7monthz gini? Dats almost a year WTF

the gown would have been more beautiful if a different lace was used,this lace just screams *china lace*...lol,well as an event planner,i know what matters most is the *happily ever after*

I saw the link and when I opened I was expecting to have a jaw-drop! Well,I did but for the wrong reasons! Kosibah yea?..i'll keep that name in mind!

Rachel said...

This nonesense gown na im be 1.7mil abegi....

Monique said...

D gown does not worth such money abeg any fashion designer can do dis in less dan a day so Kosibah don't brag abeg

Shut ur mouth, u have forgotten they did their trad marriage b4 church wedding. So u n ur surprise face shld shut d f**k up.

@anonymous 9:08pm. God will punish you for saying her wedding dress screams lying in state. Your wedding dress will scream dead in the mortuary. Well, the dress was very nice in reality. You girls are just beefing bcos you can't afford such in your next life.

N1.7million for a gown that meant for one(1) day event, why some Nigerian people are homeless cos of flood. “This is not wise now!!!“

Really?! I mean, she looked nice and if she could afford it it's okay, but it soooo doesn't look like it was worth 1.7 mill. That's the kind of thing I'd be kicking myself in the arse for the day after the wedding

This is a Total Reap off and its not worth it...Total bullshit... This is China lace! A normal Tailor can Sew dis Shiiiit..Nothing special...I can't see the Spark in the GOWN*straightface*

who are you to tell them what is wise? go and make ur own money and spend it how you please! it is their money so they can spend it how they like.

im sure all of you that are saying they should spend their money on poor and hungry people will not remember to do so when you have half of their money...scratch that....even with the little money you have now why not spend it on the poor? Remember if you are faithful in little you will also be faithful in much.

p.s her wedding took place before d flood! dumbolina

Warri Girl said...

Ok so the gown was expensive, we don hear. As for the belle, linda u just 2funny.

laposh said...

No be say the gown fyn sef

U said it all. Nicole n Naeto C abegi ask for ur 1.6million naira change. My wedding gown was 95k, but it was far far better than this. This ordinary looking mermaid, wit ordinary looking lace....mscheew. Designer kor, 7 months ni, I can bet this dress was made under 3 hrs. This dress is not even good enuf 4 brides to use as sample.

baby cute said...

what matters is the marriage after and not hw good the wedding gown looks, well she can afford it, thats why she bought it kuddos to her oh

C yur big mouth 'big waste of money'
Who asked u ????
Abi is it yur moni

Wor wor dress,wor wor bride. I've noticed something abt Nigerians, they always plan to intimidate others,they end up looking stupid. See how ugly this dress is,there's nothing spectacular abt it.
I wonder why all these rich men give birth to wor wor children. U see poor/middle class children looking so cute,beautiful/handsome. It's all those silver spoon kids u see with big heads.
Abet,mk no body come dey try intimidate us fr here.

She was totally ripped off,whatever she wants to call it, haba! I can make this dress with needle n thread. Lol. I dey vex

Aunty Linda abeg e don do oo! B4 my fellow women go put deir fiances 4 high jump sey dem want Nicole gown...heee#drawing my ears# crime don 2 much 4 we country oo,I don talk my own finish! My ppl wedding no b luncheon oo!

Complete rip off!!! 1.7M! for that thing that looks like lace bought in Balogun market

To make matters worse it took the tailor 7 months to sew ordinary fish gown wey don comot from fashion...

AHH! Even my Obioma tailor can do better

Ooohhh, thatz the same man that made Onyeka Anyaso's wedding dress. I see is his custom to dress his customers.

Lol! All of you saying you spent 5 naira on your dress and it looks better, you spent 35k, 95k on your dress and it looks better etc... pictures and links pls!! Just as the bride is not allowed to be the judge of her own dress, you too will not be allowed to be the judge of yours.

LIB= A place for hungry people to express their hate. Ugly or fine, please its not your money. Work hard and get yours.

LESS IS MORE,D DESIGNER SHLD B SANCTIOND FOR OVERWORKN DIS GOWN.DER R LOTS OF VERY XPENSV GOWNS DAT LOOK SIMPLE N ALSO XPENSV.EVEN GOVN DAUGHTR NEVA WEAR SUCH XPNSV GOWN.MSHEWWWWW THEY R TRYN TOO HARD TO GET ATTENTION

Abeg make dem park well wit d 1.7m wedding gown,ko ti e worth 1.7m like dey say mschewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

Linda it is very true that she is preggy.Infact i have know for over 2months now as i spotted her in a popular childrens hospital in Lekki with a friend and over heard her saying she was preggy and that she bought one of those pregnancy strips and she was really happy. didnt want to give you the gist earlier on as i didnt think it was my place to break such a news. All the best to her and Naeto

cynthia ogbeifun said...

Wtf! Dis gown is soo terribly ugly n for dt price? It aint worth it atall wunt b caught dead in dt on my wedding day I mean its too ugly

Is d 7 months to make them think they got their money's worth. I didn't like the dress, thought she copied kim kardashian, hard to believe it was a designer that did the copying. No originality.
I know if u have it, enjoy it, but 1.7 million for a gown you'll only wear once seems like a waste to me and he didn't do justice to the design. Got get 70 percent of your money back.

I guessed her parents were rich when I saw her with Naeto C. He had a history of asking a girl who her parents are before he dates them and dumped a girl as soon as her dad lost his governitorial bid. Good luck to them. The dress doesn't look 1.7 million though. The designer no try.

Honestly, he didn't do well! My Ghanian tailor makes better bridals. He just copied kim kardashian's veil and gown. Guess it took him 7 months to decide with design to replicate.

My budget for a gown: 900 dollars (know my sister won't let me rest till I increase it but I will only wear the dress once)
Budget on vacation: 25000 dollars (yet to tour asia and that's what I love doing, travelling hehehehehe)
One mans meat is another man's poison.....loool

Kosibah might be a fab designer but the dress in that picture is soo fab....NOT! Its people like you that will wear anything no matter how unflattering it looks on you, just because its designer.

I sell wedding dresses and you can get this exact same lace and style for 100k or less. Abeg park well, Mr. Kosibah. You ripped the girl off. Anyways, shebi she is looking for designer.

Sorry love,some of us can actually afford a better looking dress of same amount!we r dissing cos d dress actually SUCKS!

I agree with you UgoBabee. Just my thought when I read about the price tag.

Taaaah! Says by who? Asi!,na gold or silver dem take make d material.Giant Ngwo!

lol

See venom and rage on top somebody's dress that they could afford and so there for paid for it. Na so e dey pain una. Tell your parents to pass the place her parents passed so u can wear wedding dress like that too. Stupid cows calling a person wor wor and horse face. Your children go get horse teeth. Kmt. Linda pls post my comment.

Blazygurl said...

Its Good But i Dont see any thing special in This gown

1.7million is not it shud b. I'm a designer but for crying out loud my wedding dress was 180k and I was looking far beta that dis. Forget abt d looks, Nicole is a pretty girl with nice body. This dress looks handmade(if u know what I mean) most wedding dresses look flawless as if it was gummed with glue n pasted on your body. This one looks so tacky. The lace looks very cheap. The first time I saw the dress I was lik why will Nicole give her dress to a common tailor when she can travel to UK to buy a dress finished by experts. Dis dress looks extremely cheap. D bride is suppose to look beta than d groom but sorry Nicole Neato C nailed it. U look lik a village bride. The money isn't ridiculous based on your financial background but the dress automatically cheapened your look. Nicole generally looks lik a million bucks but dis dress???? Hell No...

Ex-blogger said...

Smh, poor chick, this was definitely a rip off. I follow Yemi Osunkoya's work, and I know he has been in the industry for a while now, while I absolutely love some of his work, this gown leaves so much to be desired. The all lace fabric screamed tacky, the cut and detail was blah, I definately would not have guessed she spent that much for it. I hope a day will come when Lagosians realize that outrageous prices does not mean u are getting quality. This gown should not have exceed $3000 max.....and that is me being generous. For almost 10grand Nicole dear, u should have been Klienfields in NY , that would have been money well spent. Every one knows a Pnina Tornai dress when they see one, it's so grand and sophisticated, Vera Wang is effortlessly chic, Monique LHuillier is known for detail and killer silhouette, but this is just blahhhhhhhh...as in non stop snoozefest. Even a Lazaro gown is much better than this. My bad Nicole, not trying to bash u or anything, but u were dead wrong on this one and the head piece...Jesus take the wheel, Smh, I couldn't believe u went there, just cuz Kimmy K did it, don't make it cute, and FYI, I'm sure u know Kim is a fashion reject, she is sure as hell not no SJP material and not worth emulating.
Mr Kosibah, still love u like crazy, but u this gown is subpar and I expected more.

Ellen said...

N1.7m? Dats no money na tot was $1.7m.... Nice1 but it's notin to mak noise about...

Hope say after d Gown u no dey drink garri n karnel 4 house oooo

BLOGLORD said...

How much? for this dress? abeg make i hear word!
and it took how many months to make? mschew!
am sorrry but what i see looks too tacky for that ridiculous amount

anon October 21, 2012 4:20 PM did you read other comments? she's from wealth. she's not like you.

Go collect your change biko ,in 10 years you would look at your pictures and regret it or your kids will ask you what you were thinking buying this disaster.....koshibah's creations are always drab, tired and old.Nothing wrong in buying an expensive dress, but let it look it and BE WORTH IT.

infact, d bride no even fine at alll 4 this dress, that a galant waste of money

1.7m is just too freaking much for a wedding dress and dress is not there , it's not even wowy it's just nice and if she's preggy well good for her

She's wearing it fos just a day o...wetin dey take do the cloth wey go worth that amount?

this is not the first time hearing something like dis but is rubbish or maybe she want to be wearing it to church service every sunday..

thats her own cup of tea but that gown is tacky looks like it was sow with N5000.my tailor at Ago palace can do better.

LollyBabe said...

on top wearing the 1.7million gown, she still no fine . #msheeewww

Shee which kind white lie be this, the first time i saw the dress i score it 0/10 and i wondreed how a beutifull lady will put on such an ugly ugly shapeless dress, now dem dey tell us say na 1.7m insted of 1.7kobo

Wow that's pretty expensive dress! I think her budget for the dress is my budget for a decent wedding and that already includes everything! TheBridalBoutique.com

Hahaha your case is called misplaced priority. Hope the gown will help you raise your kids and be a better mum and wife. You are saving 10000 pounds for a dress you'll need for just a day meaning when u buy it, you'd go back to square one. Plix where is pamelia OH sooooo renting a 45k gown and saving that cash.

Just go to alibaba.com and order a very lovely dress for much less sef. Hehe.

as me na only linda ikeji blog I dey read na, I go still go ladu blog tell am say I read am here first.

 =))˚°◦hahahaha . _\\_ sooo keeping the name in mind to avoid it.

Dumbolina hahaha now that's epic. Then oga wey wan house homeless ppl (I luv you think that way tho) your english is da bomb.........not. Was just dodging missiles.

Off point.

Lool so true. Truth be told I have no problem with the amount she paid considering it's in pounds and she has the money but my only problem is that I would hv guessed the gown looks hired, and it made her look like a girl from a very humble background and not a girl that actually spent the said amount on the dress. The designer no try sha. If he said he made the dress in less than 2weeks for like 1600 pounds, I would have been bowing down for him.

Plix plix plix, on no account should you call kim k a fashion reject and you had to compare that bad actress with kim. Sjp wore black on her wedding day and still regrets it till date so Nicole should hv copied her. Kmt. Kim k dresses way better than sjp so please pass the mic.

pls whoeva designed that wedding gown be jailed for duping and fashion blunder... did u say a milion wedding gown? check well linda, may u meant to say she hired the wedding gown from her great grand mother for 10K.

pls i need a wiper to clear to laptop screen, apparently i am seeing well...

abia, anam anu, no be 1.7m, na 1.7kobo...

Nuli De Nonyes