Flood: President Jonathan, Dr Alban's country homes submerged | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 October 2012

Flood: President Jonathan, Dr Alban's country homes submerged

The flood has so far displaced over 50, 000 people in some states in the north, middle belt and parts of Delta regions. Dr Alban's country home in Oguta, Imo State and President Jonathan's country home in Otuoke community, Bayelsa State have bowed to the flood. More than half of the communities in these areas have been swallowed by flood.

Victims of this flood have been subjected to incredible hardship that most of us who live in states not affected will never begin to understand. Many deaths have been recorded. There have been rape cases, suicides and people missing.

This flood is not particularly a natural disaster, it's more like man made. The flood started early September when Cameroun released water from it's Lagdo dam - the dam supplies electricity to the northern part of Cameroun. Unfortunately water released from the dam is naturally unable to find its path within Cameroun to the Atlantic ocean, so it flows directly into River Benue, and because River Benue is steep, all the states around it is flooded by the water from the dam. Damn!

71 comments:

The rich also cries....
Hence, more attention to flooding problem across the country with rich affected

Says Moi Moi

May God help Nigeria

awwwwww!!! eeya!

Eiyaaa vewy sorry,he can now proceed to d nearest camp for his relief materials.lolz

There ll b a grt famine in diz country nxt yr

BLOGLORD said...

Lord have mercy! please i need to get my carpenter to start building Bloglord's Ark.
seems the world is coming to an end.

This is not what we need right now as a nation.how ever the proper thing is to get more hands,law enforcement agents,civil defense corps etc to go and work there.by the way lagos should start getting prepared for any eventuality.God help our nation.

Chinedu said...

may God help us

mosesakinfe said...

Tell Jonathan to resign or stop dis flood. God is angry with Nigeria, as a result of the evil going on in Aso Rock.

So dat means Cameroun can use their Dam to finish us if there's disagreement btw us in future perhaps?

Sasha Fierce! said...

The flood should have and destroyed all the corrupt Politicians' homes and all the people that have contributed in one way or the other,in messing up our beloved country.
Hmm,now am thinking,should we go to war with Cameroon,this is indeed a potent strategy to destroy Nigeria.Flood the country and Nigerians will have no where to run for shelter.....
Interesting!

mosesakinfe said...

Pastor Bakare said that the rich will also cry this year, not only the rich but our leaders

Na wa o, wetin concern flood and rape... some people need castration abeg!

Dr. Rukevwe said...

I hope they take necessary reactive and proactive measures fast enough to prevent further devastating consequences.

Lin lin,lucky d goat dat raised d false alarm dat led to d death of d 4 uniport guys hz just bn arrested. Slikky

so is this the first time the so called Cameroun has been opened? How come this happens now?

We really need to do something about this our neighbours man.

Get out if u have nothing smart to say. Is it only in Nigeria that disasters happen? Infact, we have been blessed in comparison to other countries. Stop exposing ur foolishness and find something constructive to say. If u don't have any, remain quiet.

May be they used the dam to warn us not to appeal the bakassi case,

Sasha fierce u r dense.....if this is sasha the musician then im not surprised cos u n sid were in tribes meen b4...them say something destroy dr alban house u say good for them, now u r thinking of WAR again...cant u c ur head is not correct?

Na waa o! What is the way out of this flood biko nu? People will be chased out of their homes thereby becoming homeless... Chei!

Ur idea of the flood being man-made is not exactly correct. There is actually rise in waterlevels. This over rise in waterlevels actually caused this by breaking the walls of cameroonian dam. The walls collapsed due to over rise brought abt by excessive rain. Also Cameroon is planning to release water from another dam to avoid another wall collapse. Waters are being released from dams each year but there was massive overflow. The dam walls broke down completely.

kcee said...

This is really serious. The first thing they should do once the water drys up is to dredge river niger and benue. That should have been a finished tasked by now and thereby preventing this disaster but corruption won't let them do what is necessary. I tire for this country. Once again it is the poor masses that will bear the brunt.

Cameroun 2 - 0 Nigeria, they beat us again after bakassi saga, and we will be fooling ourselves as gaint of Africa,

Linda if you are gonna talk about something please go through with the information.
The dam collapsed over a month ago in northern Cameroon and has left more than 10,000 people homeless in the 3 neighboring regions. In Cameroon a region is like a state in nigeria except that it is not a federal state. That dame which was built in the 60's was containing the waters of an artificial lake supposed to aid agriculture, particularly rice culture, in an area where rain is very scarce. The locaI population quit growing rice as soon as the government stopped the subsidy program and the water just accumulated. Associated with the non maintenance of the infrastructure, it was only a matter of time for this to happen. Only in the city where the breach happened first, roughly 4000 have lost their homes. There is nothing the Cameroonian government can do right now because it is still raining heavily in the region therefore experts say it would be impossible to commence repairs of the dam; The problem is that with time new holes are appearing along and more damage is occuring. I do not think that Cameroon would purposely created such a catastrophy just to hurt Nigeria. A lot of people have been displaced, a lot of local schools have not been able to resume activities because they have been turned into shelters.

Bonike said...

Seriously and jokes apart,most of us are commenting in a non chalant manner probably because we are not directly involved,for split second put yourself in these peoples shoes and imagine just one night you and your family become homeless and all propertiies taking over by water,trust me for some months,your life at least for some months will not be the same again,how do feed,clothe,sleep,go to work,take the kids to school and thats if the childrens school are not flooded too,you and your families in relief tent,how long are you gonna be there,how long can the goverment sustain you at the relief camp,how well made is the food there even the water how hygenic,you become totally dismissed from the comfort of your homes and beds. Lets sympathise with all affected and not make light of what they are going through even if we are unable to contribute directly to the aids to alleviate the present plights.

This also calls for preventive measures to guide against future occurence,it was neccessary on Cameroons part to release the water in order to prevent the dam from collapsing i learnt,isnt there a way Cameroon can be releasing the water in bits in future eg quaterly,bi-annually or monthly in order to guide against neighbouring countries from getting flooded and is there a way Nigeria can put up a measure against future occurence.

Another question is how has Camerron be releasing the water before now that it hasnt had this much devastating effect on nigeria because i want to assume or think this is not the first time in their history of releasing such wter from the dam and why has it never affected Nigeria if this is not the first time.

Lastly,some parts of the country that were not flooded before are been flooded now,is Camerron still releasing more water or its the ones they released that is still flowing to other parts of the country? If it is so,then more states might be in danger and soon.

Please lets pray against famine in Nigeria as all farm lands are flooded already,life in itself is difficult for Nigerians already,famine will be suicidal to many,remember Somalia,its not a state to be at all,it is better imagined than experienced,Lord please help Nigeria and come to our aid.

It's well with us in Nigeria. Lord jesus please stop the flow of this flood.

Warri Girl said...

No body is above nature, God help us please.

NaijaFashionTigress said...

This is so sad. The people of Cameroon are very wicked. First they took our land (Bakassi) now they want to destroy what is left. It does not help that we have senseless people who r only interested in filling their pockets ruling us.

What's with raping women at relief camps? I heard it even happened in america after people sought shelter bcos of hurricane katrina. Even if the lord come today and we see am kpa kpa collecting I'm peoplem some men go still dey rape. Na wa ooooooooo

Move over south africa, nigeria is taking over as the rape capital of the world. Afterall no one is caught. We don't have dna profiles for matching, finger print database or even a register of sex offenders.

jennietobbie said...

something is going on in Nigeria. Something special...God is simply amazing. The untouchables.....

Cameroon has always been our frenemy followed by ghana. We should stick to our foreign policy- reciprocityn, give me I give you and not jump to help every west african state in distress when they will only rejoice if we were in the same situation. Nda li post my post ooo.

Suzie said...

Help the Flood Victims Project!

We appeal to the charitable and generous hearts of Nigerians to come to the aid of the people affected by the flood. Contributions such as food items, drugs, clothings, mattress, blankets, pillows,etc and also monetary contributions are very much appreciated, to mitigate the hardship suffered by the flood victims. Contributions can be forwarded to the Kogi State Laison office, plot 1224 Bishop Oluwole Street, V.I. Account info- Kogi Laison office 0019495624, Unity Bank. For inquiry- 08053250614,08023001162,08035731175. God bless you as u reach out.

zoomzoomzoom said...

Hahaha...they've stolen all the money they ought to have used in constructing good drainage systems&good roads.Make dem dey swim go their countryhomes...lol.

@ BONARIO NNAGS said... ARE YOU REALLY LOLing??? Thousands of people lost their lives, their homes submerged and you are LOLing?? God have mercy on your soul and teach you to emphathise with others.

lovelylady said...

And what has cameroun done about it?

Issorai...God help d poor oh

Dr Alban's home, ah then the Oputas may be affected too because they are neighbours. Linda ask him since you are now buddies.

This really an unfortunate situation. May they find strenght and courage they need to forge ahead.
Ella

may God help nigeria in these trying times

Nilla said...

My question is how can it be averted? what should we do? dredge the Benue river? whaaaaaaaaaatt?
I wonder if we will still have food in this country next year.
@BLOGLORD, lol, na real Ark o.

Good 4 him

M_unique said...

Don't b silly. Go 2 war 4 what?
They broke d dam cos of its weak walls and informed d Nigerian govt of their intention 2 do so. As usual,they did nothing 2 curtail this tragic incident.
A lot of lives and property have been lost due to their lack of empathy to the people of the nation they claim to lead. They 4get 2 lead,u av 2 serve. Smh.
Av given up on d govt. Its left for us 2 redeem ourselves and d nation.
Pls y'all can help the victims of the flood by donating relief materials (non-cash contributions such as mattresses, clothings, non perishable foodstuff, toiletries etc.) to them.
For those who reside in Port-Harcourt and are interested in helping,u can contact these numbers 08053346923, 08035502663.
They'l give u directions on where to drop off ur donations and they in turn will deliver it to the victims.
Those outta PH willing to help can set up something to help those around them.
We should not wait on d govt. cos they'l fail us like they always have.

Prophet of doom!
Next year, there will be increase and blessings, prosperity and security, progress and economic growth in Nigeria in the mighty name of Jesus. Amen

Ify

Amiga said...

Nigeria needs to sue Cameroun for te damage. There are environmental laws in place for things like like. GEJ should stop foldilong his hands and nodding his head like an idiot and do something. Crops planted in the rainy season have been washed away by te flood. Yams come from gboko, all the seedlings have been washed away. God help Nigeria. They'd have import yams from Mali and Ghana.

God save my country Nigeria

pls flood should not destroy their houses ooo. cos at the end, its still tax payers money that they will use to fix it or even go to other areas and build more exquisite houses for themselves.

All those that raped the poor helpless flood victims shall know no peace. Useless things.

Mama ifu said...

What has flood got to do with rape?

J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇Ï„ tinkin ☀̤̣̈̇f anoda set ☀̤̣̈̇f money τнατ will b wasted 2 renovate it.
Have U̶̲̥̅̊ visited http://naijamustchange.blogspot.com 2day?

is the water still flowing from the dam in cameroon?...lord have mercy

Not like Anon 2:11 is a prophet of doom lol tho, a lot of farms and I mean a lot has been submerged in flood, in the north here, some pple are scared to farm. Imagine a module of beans N600 and I heard a cup of beans in lag is N250, that hasn't happened before. Prayer is good o, but we need a solution fast

Hmm it is well o. I hope something can be done fast not that I care about GEJ, he'll rebuild. Its the masses that have their homes and farmland completely lost in the flood.Linlin, I spend 2days for that lokoja own and it was baad, so I can imagine what this people are goin tru

Olodo so u no read lindas post b4 commenting?

K'kay said...

Linda,u r right,the Flood is Man-made....and could have been prevented,cameroun told nigeria about it long before opening up the dam...but our damn crazy leaders took no action now formin active....meanwhile all they had to do was dredge the river niger of its sand so it becomes deeper...infact sell d sand to build other things or stuff....bt na lie...this senseless leaders did nothing....d opening of the dam could have just flowed into a very deep river niger bt as it is before d opening of the dam,u could almst see the sand in river niger....not deep cos has loads of sand underneath.....
Nigerian govt cannot say Cameroun didn't tell them...they did!this after effect could have been predicted and prevented bt they really don't care.....they don't....
And see how many thousands of people are suffering from our leaders' negligence....and they say we av an Environmental Agency....smh!

goodie said...

Lolz..prophet of doom indeed! I concur wit u ify

goodie said...

He should come down so you'll take ova...i fink its ur sins dat made God angry

This flood shouldnt hv happened in the first place. It just shows the liars and thieves we have as leaders. Shebi our govt claimed to hv spent millions on dredging the river niger n benue. Dredging also helps to deepen and widen waterways, so what is their excuse this time? Our govt dont do any Quality Control/Assurance b4 undertakin any "claimed" project.

Dr Alban is from Oguta . Imo State

Nekky said...

May God hv mercy!! So many preposterous things have been happening this year. The death toll this year alone is beyond comprehension!! Lord pls 4give Nigeria n Nigerians. I can't begin to imagine d food shortage next year. My sincere thoughts goes out to d hapless victims, its unfortunate. Biko the rain or whatever that's causing ds flood should stop already!!

God forbid bad thin.....d famine go start n end in ur house

I concur wit u there will be famine in d land! Its not about getting upset n insulting him/her.start preparing for it.its good to have fore sight

Natural disasters cant differentiate on the basis of wealth, status or creed. Same to be said for environmental pollution. I wonder (pondering, eyes to the ceiling, palm on jaw)what would have happened if the government had created drainage systems that can channel this water to the Atlantic. Hmmm.Maybe the Brits are the only ones capable of that kinda thought.

Famine next year. Cassava and yam harvest season - no harvest cos everything is now buried under water. Fishermen - displaced. Vegetables - submerged. We dey import chicken before. We need food aid for another two years to even out the effect of the flood. .

And you think the ark will save you...

Seyi said...

Now i understand what the Bible refers to as Vanity. Just imagine Goodluck who calls Billions and Billions, though we cannot feel the impact in the lives of citizens and now he cannot save his properties from damage. every man who gather dust at the expence of other men is nothing but and unwise man

it you are a commuter in lagos,you'll notice that along apogbon-cms axis,the water from the ocean is beginning to find its way to the roads.A look across the barricade,indicates that the water level has risen.In my opinion,cameroun is trying to settle scores with nigeria albeit politically.

Dorothy Zyna said...

fuckkkk. my local govt Oguta. People are dying of hunger. :(.

Therese I. said...

Poor victims. Is there any foundation that is being sent up, an account being opened for them. Something genuine that can honestly be of help.