Billionaire businessman Ifeanyi Uba spends second week in detention | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 October 2012

Billionaire businessman Ifeanyi Uba spends second week in detention

The billionaire businessman and MD of Capital Oil and Gas Ltd is currently in a small cell at the Special Fraud Unit in Ikoyi. He was arrested on October 9th following accusations of fraud totaling N43billion from the Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede led presidential committee on verification and reconciliation of fuel subsidy payments. The committee discovered gross abuse by many marketers and reported the case to the police. His company leads the list of 25 companies indicted by the committee which discovered about N62 billion of subsidy fraud.

So he's now facing criminal investigation and prosecution for Capital Oil and Gas' involvement in fuel subsidy fraud. He was in court yesterday and the Special Fraud Unit of the Nigerian Police told the court that the money stolen by Mr Uba, could conveniently pay the monthly allocation of 11 states of the federation and asked the courts not to grant him bail, which they didn't. The case was adjourned to Monday October 22nd.

Meanwhile, his company has been blacklisted by banks on the recommendation of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

61 comments:

kcee said...

Corruption in the highest order. Imagine money that can pay monthly allowances to eleven states. That is too bad. The moment we stop treating corruption with kid gloves will be the day Nigeria will start moving forward. Please let this be the beginning of meaningful prosecution of corrupt individuals and Govt officials. Enough is enough.

tunde said...

allocation worth of 11 states stolen by 1 man....Our economy is being bullied by people like these..I hope his personality does not influence the law this time around...let him spend some quality time in Jail!!! God help us

na wa i remember the superlative birthday......we are in hot soup in this country....

Amarachukwu said...

The sorry state of affairs in my fadaland. Why still refer to him as billionaire if the billions are stolen?

Dr. Rukevwe said...

Nice one! At least let it be known that there are no sacred cows in the eyes of the Law. If this attitude is consistently practised, believe me, in no distant time, corruption would be a thing of the past in Nigeria.

God bless my country. I believe by His grace and with our discipline, dedication and determination, as a people, we would get there eventually. Amen.

And d fact dat his company is incharge of d NNPC new initiative of direct distribution of kerosene,makes mockery of d whole ish,anyway I trust him to get off d hook soon.

B A R B A R A said...

oh oh. I guess it does mean that justice is gradually moving forward. Thank goodness.
Barbara
http://barbsiesmusings.blogspot.com/

"the money stolen by Mr Uba, would conveniently pay the monthly allocation of 11 states of the federation" JESUUUUUUUUUU *THIS GUY NO BE SMALL THIEF*

Nilla said...

Hmmmmmm.
CAPITAL OIL.

Hmmm! Ify i told u didnt i? Still lov u tho am praying 4 u

He must have stepped on some heavy toes. I guess both at the Federal and State levels. Peter Obi is touting him as his successor and some big guns have vowed it will never happen.

its just beef cos he is an igbo man, where are d remaining 24 companies, y wont dey grant him bail. afterall all d major thieves r granted bail nd u hardly find an igbo man amongst them. rubbish tribalistic Nigerians.

Hw r we so sure he won't b granted bail later cos all those ppl dat hv bin arrested 4 fuel subsidy fraud hw many hv bin actually percecuted

mosesakinfe said...

OON- Ole ole of Nigeria

May God punish him and all d other blodd sucking millionaires among us.

You mean, "former" Billionaire.
True and lasting success is not achieved by sudden flight. Most of his strength came from the Yar Adua era when he could act with impunity and was awash with more than he probably ever expected. Now he is not so much in the good books of GJ's camp (You know Dezzy eats big-time men for breakfast) (She doesn't give a damn!). These "young cats" keep ascending based on political relationships, which is tantamount to dancing with a deadly snake. One day you Will get bitten.

Ifeanyi Ubah just got-got! (got-got in hip lingo means he has just been badly bitten)

He might survive and hopefully be smart. Perhaps with some wealth left to rebuild properly.

Warri Girl said...

How have the mighty fallen. How the judiciary doesn't misbehave this time and let him go off easily

Highest they sentence him to 6months in hospital ! Him go come back con enjoy him Bastard money !

Heee 11 states. Abeg let him relax there till christmas joor

Money One Man stole can pay 11 state monthly allocations, My God are Nigerians this dump? "It’s not the wickedness of Evil men that destroys a Nation but the Silence of Good men" Nigerians are you all dump? You killed four innocent undergraduate over laptops and smart phone and your Billionaires thieves are escort with the strongest security to Court, What is wrong with Nigerians?

Otu Ocha !No be dis guy jus marry the oda day?/?? Kai make she no run o...oge for better for worse erola o

lo!lo! said...

He neva see anytyn yet! But I still no trust 9ja ways of handling criminal cases, finally d whole story we die a natural death without judgement. Rubbish con3. But I love my con3.

upset said...

No doubt I've been calling him to no avail,someone needs to get him out sha,I need my weekly allowance I am sure like all other girlfriends around the world.Who cares what he stole the people who arrested him are thieves too so.

Mhhhh...and he wants to contest for Governor in Anambra, his girlfrnd and her family evn flies with private jets to anywhere in d world, they are d ones squandering d whole money.

fantansyberry said...

why are pple like dis for crying out loud?am sure he'll be reasled if he settle's(bribe)the rigth pple cos i no it will soon be forgotin.....abi no be for nigerian ni..

Heard the news 2 days ago. Was patiently waiting for linda to carry it. You are listening. Very good. Another problem is posting peoples comments. Please post comments. Especially when it has to do wiv celebrities. Nobody will kill u. Its ur blog after all.
Thirdly this man is a thief. He came from no where to become a billionaire, I remember on his birthday how all the papers especially the sun newspaper carried it. For days people were still wishing him happy birthday, I was wondering who this man was. Can u imagine what the man stole?????? So tey they talk say the money can feed 11 states..... In this modern day and time. Who is worse between him and ibori. I think his own is more annoying cus he is not in any political office and he stole this much, he is a bloody civilian! Imagine if he was a governor!

Hmm. One of the unlucky scapegoats that the "govt" seems to pick at random. Wonder who he rubbed the wrong way.

let true justice prevail
naijaopenmouth.com

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

God don begin they catch dem small small praise the lord.
Linda u c how these thieves take dey make moni wen they have robbed us silly they will start flaunting it.
but i pity this country the moni way the bank md,s thief how far with it, wat about otedola and farouk how far we no hear about them soon ifeanyi ubah go soon pull strings and his will be swept under carpet. this same guy man guy the chairman of coshcharis motors im hammer the guy billions of Naira nna men sharp men full nigeria o

Nekky said...

how are the might fallen???

Linda should i wait until he is officially declared a thief by d court, or when he bribes d officials n gets a simple slap on d wrist b4 i shout thief? Either way i will scream! THIEEEEEEEEEEEEF uba! Only u eh? Onye oshi!

With all the money, see the razz dressing! Tufiakwa!!

Thieves in high places ...my goodness!! only one man haba he should rot in jail or pays back all that he stole

Ella

Afua said...

When the bible says "touch not my anointed", God knew what he was saying!!!

I had no one to help me when this wicked man kicked me out of his flat I was renting in London after collecting over £25,000 from me. I was almost homeless if it was not for God. I begged this man, and the fact I was a Nigerian even made it worse, he sent his oyibo thugs to treat me like a criminal.

Today the table has turned and God has given me victory, who is now begging for help?? IFEANYI UBA, you will NEVER find favor in your life!!! This is only the beginning!!

Nonya said...

This one done step on powerful toes..HISS

where is Otedola and Faruk? why have they decided not to say anything about them again? Isnt that tricky. foolish Government

Everyday for the thief one day for the owner! Look at his ugly face. What in God's name is he going to do with all that money for crying out loud? Na wa o! I hope they are not giving him special treatment where he is being held sha. Stupid man

The Aluu community no go find this one kill and the likes of him in power. Na innocent boys dem go kill wrongfully accused of stealing...

Ifeanyi don use subsidy money for 40th birthday party

clevadani said...

detention my foot.detention wit ac nd dstv.all r stries 4 d media

hav u visited http://naijamustchange.blogspot.com 2day?

Ifeanyi Uba don return private jet wey he order. The heat is getting too much.

They did not steal as much as this thief.

We are praying for may God see u tru in this trying time. We love u ifeanyi

50 years sentence for starters, if not Nigeria will not go forward.Put him among armed robbers and hardened criminals, let them fuq his bum bum.

femi falana (SAN) said...

Nigerians u guys have aluu mentality he is just an accused not found guilty yet and you guys are lynching him,the aluu incident should have tot you that all accused aren't guilty,so wait for the law to take its course the case is before a "competent court of justice"

chris bassey said...

Nigerians u guys are lynchers a business man was just accused of foul play by his business parteners (federal government)which is yet to be proven, you are already calling for his head like aluu community without waiting for judgement,poverty has realy made the head of people from this part of the world scanty....SMH

So a guy stole billions, then calls himself billionaire businessman. He is a thief & not a billionaire businessman.

why not go back to you godfather Dr c m Ibeto

I dnt knw why my country pple r easily fooled,a man who maybe has issues wth d powers that be n being mde a scape n pple r sayng all sorts.Ask urselves hw d Man got d bilions in d first place,who wr d pple who facilitated him havng sch amt n hw mch dis man truly had of d looth.Our use n dump govrnmt defntly usd dis man.maybe dis is d whle reason 4 d fuel scarcity thng.Ubah was built 2 be detroyed bt he didn't knw it.Des evil politicians will all be exposed.Dnt let dem deceive n divert our attentions wth issues lke dis!

Beneficiary....... I don't want blame u for supporting him. But to say you're praying for him is like mocking God! So just shut up and don't comment if u don't want the money the man has given u and ur family or the wealth uve gained through this man to turn to SAND

He's not d onli prsn, if justice must b servd it shudnt b just on one man, there r so mani ppl dat shud b detened too... Uba, it pains mi ure in ds condition, may God c u tru

I believe they should send him to aluu community, they sure know what to do with him. LWKMD

a thief is a thief no matter where he come from if he throughly commit the said crime for me he has to forfith capital oil and gas and all other properties that belongs to him. Am from southeast and would not take sides, this is pure wickedness. I believe his not alone in this anybody found guilty should face the hangman lets start somewhere and i believe it will go round. Lets cal a spade a spade......

Nigeria is a cursed country! Thousands have stolen yesterday, its ifeanyi and his subsidy gang today, and many more executive,legislative,civil service,MDAs stealing will still happen tomorrow. Citizens are morally bankrupt, insecurity, killings and everything is just upside down!! the only thing constant in Nigeria is:The rich thieves are getting richer, while the poor are getting poorer. "Water lighty foodu housy yeparipa oo wetin do dem"@fela--They will never be there for common man until God uses his divine intervention to save this country! I rest my case here.

wenger02 said...

Dis ar d kind of ppl dat cause a lot of hard ship to dis nation.wat is he goin to do wit such amount of money for christ sake?Anambra ppl b warned,knw d typ of individual u vote in as a gorvn.i wil b d happiest pson if dis man and his kind wil suffer for untold hardship dey cause to dis country.on d oda hand dnt trust our naija judiciary system,if dem say mey u stand find ur level o.al dis dia kurukere na wash.bfor d end of dis month d criminal go buy him way out.

Why wont the money he stole be enough to pay 11 states monthly allocation.
Ifeanyi Uba of Capital Oil is sorely in charge of the importation of kerosine in this country. The pump price of petroleum is about 50naira but before the poor citizens of this country could get kerosine into their kegs, they pay as much as 150 naira per litre which is 3 times the pump price.
Last Xmas, Ifeanyi Uba brought in Tankers of kersoine into Anambra State for free, just for him to clear grounds for his governorship quest next year. People were praising him for his 'kind' gesture not knowing that he robs them of 1 million naira and gives them 1 kobo in return.
May God judge these thieves and mass murderers.

Exactly my dear. He is one of the reasons for the scarcity. In one of the dailys I read, they said, some people insulted him so bad that if he was literate enough, he won't have been spending money the way he was doing, he was truly built to be destroyed. He was his own downfall, he stepped on toes and he could not control his wealth. People wey no am well will tell u of how lavish this man is........he wasn't smart!

Definitely his enemies wnt 2 bring him down,seing d way dis man has just takng over d oil n gas industry,they set him up 2 tke evrythng he has worked 4,ruin his name n dent his political ambition of contestng d governorship of his state.I'm not sayng his clean but dr is more 2 dis subsidy money.Our government is not honest!

thurnder go fire anybody that opens his or her mouth to say he was arrested bcos his from the southeast am from southeast as well but will not support evil. God will punish him nd his family nd those that took part in this criminal act. How can one justify the hardship this few criminals have put nigerians through? He should be treated like a common crimial thats what he is.

This is the bad man. I saw him on his birthday shaking hand with top policians and ministers, i quickly knew dat he is one of the biggest rat in the oil & gas industries. They're killing the development of nigeria. They keep our nation on hostage. I think minister of petroleum resource shud also present herself for investigation. Mr. Uba is just a representative of the corruption cabal. From mr. Richmond Belbari

If u know this man very well you will know that he is just a victim of circumstance. Govt is just looking for scape goats. Most writers in this blog needs to read the handwriting on the walls and know that this man is being unjustly punished.

Mr anonumous. 19th oct. Ure an ignorant black belle,poor pple like u, Always Delight in big pples down fall,but shame on u,he is out and even if he goes down which He won't even his house boy will be better than u,so jst go and work hard lazy fool. U cannot attract what u don't celebratehlhl