TV host Toke Makinwa doesn't think I'm a role model. Urm, OK...:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 April 2012

TV host Toke Makinwa doesn't think I'm a role model. Urm, OK...:-)

Ghen ghen, fight between Linda Ikeji and Toke Makinwa. Lol. Unfortunately I don't really know who she is...never met her...only seen her Flytime interviews. I hear she's also a radio presenter...and apparently she said on radio recently that I am not a role model...

Here's how Thenetng is reporting it
Popular radio and TV presenter Toke Makinwa has aired her thoughts about popular blogger and former model Linda Ikeji stating she ‘doesn’t think Linda Ikeji is a role model’.
Little known Makinwa who works as a radio presenter on popular urban radio station Rhythm 93.7 dropped her comments on air while she was co-anchoring ‘The Morning Drive’ recently.
I don’t think Linda Ikeji is a role modelShe’s a gossiper, She sells gossip’, Makinwa said on the show and even appealed to her listeners not to take the likes of popular US blogger Perez Hilton and Miss Ikeji seriously.
Well, she's entitled to her opinion. I have nothing against that statement...I understand where she's coming from. Some of the posts hurt people, some help people. It's the media, it's the job I chose. Like every other job, it has its advantages and disadvantages. You win some, you lose some. I get it. I accept it.

It's times like this I almost forget who I am...but then I remember where I'm coming from and I smile. Let me tell you guys a story. Please continue...

It was early 2000, I was 19 years old, in my second year at the University of Lagos. I'd been a model for about a year and a half then. Modeling back then didn't pay a lot. Sometimes you eat, sometimes you can't find food. Sometimes you had money, sometimes you will have to beg for it. I'm not from a rich home. I started struggling since I was 17 to support my family. So I kinda hard a tough life growing up but I kept working, doing all sorts of modeling jobs, ushering, fashion shows, and at one point I sold beer at a hotel. I'd leave lectures, go to a hotel and sell beer from 1pm till 10pm. I did this for a few months. It wasn't easy but I had to survive. One of the things I said to myself back then was, the day I sell my body to a man for money, may God strike me dead. I was determined to make it on my own, never let any man take my dignity. In those days, most young girls had an aristo...I was never one of those girls. I would rather starve or beg for food than give my body to a man for money.

So back to my story. It was early 2000, I hadn't done any modeling jobs in a bit. I didn't have any money in school, hadn't eaten a proper meal in days, there was no money at home...my sister called and asked if I could send money home...didn't have any. I wondered what to do...then I thought of this aristo who had been chasing me for months now...old man...married...rich...in his fifties. I said to myself, why don't you call him and beg him for money. Tell a lie, say you need it to go to the hospital 'cos you're sick or something that desperate. Which was what I did. What he said to me was 'you know I like you. I don't know why you're behaving like a child. You need someone to take care of you blah blah blah'. Eventually he said I should meet him at a hotel. I will never forget that hotel...Ambassadors hotel in Ikoyi. I was apprehensive about going but I was desperate...I said to myself what's the worse that can happen? It's not like he will rape you and there was no way in hell I would sleep with him, so I figured even if he didn't give me the money I asked for, at least he would give me money for transport fare to go back home...that transport fare was what I was looking forward to honestly. I didn't have a dime on me, in fact I borrowed small money from a friend to go to the hotel.

So when I got there, he bought me hotel food (my first real meal in days...:-)) and after I was done eating, he made his move. I shoved him off. He kept trying and I kept pushing him away and after a while he got angry and said something like, why did you come here then? Are you a child? He was angry that I made him pay for a hotel room, spent money on food etc and not give him what he wanted. So he got up to leave...and I told him I didn't have any money to go back to school. If looks could kill, I would have died in that moment he turned to look at me. He left the hotel room, and I followed him. I kept begging and trying to explain to him that I didn't have transport to go back, he didn't say a word to me as he entered his vehicle and drove off.

I stood in front of the hotel wondering how I was going to get back to school. All I had on me was N15. N15 wasn't going to take me from Ikoyi to Akoka. In my plans, I never imagined that I wasn't going to at least get a few thousands from him. I'd seen this guy before...he was a friend's boss. He owned a media business back then and every time I went to see this friend, this man would call me into his office...tell me how pretty I am, how much he likes me and how well he can take care of me. And he always gave me 5k whenever I was ready to leave his office. But this time I was the one who called him...so he must have figured I was ready to give in. We both misunderstood each other, I guess...:-)

Anyway, after standing in front of the hotel for a few minutes, I went back in and saw a young man at the front desk. I explained my situation to him...he was kind enough to give me N100 and that was the money that took me half way home. By the time I got to Yaba, I'd run out of cash, so I trekked from Yaba bus stop to UNILAG Akoka. I remember saying to myself while I was trekking with tears in my eyes, that one day I'm going to make something of myself...every money I make in this world would be my own hard earned money...I don't care how bad it gets, no man is ever going to take away my self respect...that's all I have!

And that's the way I lived. Determined to make it in life. On my own terms. As my own woman. I kept struggling and struggling until God finally blessed me. Now I have more money than I even know what to do with it. I make millions of naira from what I love doing...blogging. The best part of all this is that I would blog for free. Now I don't chase money anymore...it chases me. It's not even just about the money, it's the great friends I've met via this blog, the wonderful people I interact with here, the freebies I get. How much of a big deal I am to some people. How some people see me in person and scream with excitement and want to take photos with me. Sometimes I pinch myself...I almost can't believe this is my life.

Once in a while I think of that 19 year old girl who trekked for miles to school because she would not sell her body and I say to her, we made it, Linda, we made it!

So maybe I'm not a role model in terms of what I do, but I know I'm definitely a role model as a young woman. To all the young girls out there, if you're reading this, you can make it on your own. You don't need to spread your legs for men, you don't need these old married men who just take your glory. You're strong, you're beautiful, there's nothing you can't achieve on your own. God has given you something no one else has. Find what it is and build yourself. Don't worry about what other girls around you have. Dignity is far more valuable than a range rover. Make it in life on your own terms and as your own woman, so that you can look back one day and be proud of who you were and who you are.

I wish every one well in their journey. God bless.
Linda Ikeji

1,773 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1773   Newer›   Newest»

Don't mind her Linda. Be proud of who you are. You inspire me to work hard even without knowing your story.
Toke has had things handed to her all her life, that dint stop her from dabbling in aristo. Kmt. With her bleached old woman face and she's just 27. Stop bleaching Toke!

Wow!

Ronke said...

maybe you will put this up. May you wont.

Maybe your story is true. Maybe its not.

However I think its wrong to even think "your chosen job doesnt make you a role model!" IT DOES.

Your chosen job "gossiper" abi what did Toke call it? makes you a role model. Your job, your personality, what you have achieved, how you compote and portray yourself all come together to make you a ROLE MODEL.

It portrays you as persevering, insistent, consistent, driven, having strong networking skills, socially adept...customer centric, goal focused, you have made something out of nothing and if that alone... if that alone - You are a good enough role model for someone out there.

I honestly dont understand this desire we have to tear each other down... I dont get it.

Please dont ever apologise for what you are doing.

Its your choice and one you are allowed to be PROUD OF.

As the yoruba adage would say - Eni ba jale lo bomo je "it is he who steals who has spoilt his name"

Toke should please try and stay in her lane.

bomi said...

i have never commented on ur blog but after reading this i had to comment because it brought tears to my eyes. Dont mind the haters jare, u dont 've to prove urself to anyone, well done and enjoy all that comes with your hardwork!!!!!

Linda, thanks for telling this story. i am happy there are still people like us, who believe in what they have. that girl has her mouth. everyone is entitled to thier opinion. Guess she doesn't understand what blogging is all about. Don't worry, she is of no importance here. I am proud of you and your experience. one day, when i start running my T.V show, i will love a repeat of this experience shared, so that girls and ladies can know that many have made it in life going about it the right way. cheers to us. You don't need anyone to tell you that you are a model, cause that is what you are destined to be. Nobody can change it, and no one can take it away from you. I AM PROUD OF YOU............ (ZINNY)

Fashion,Love and Life said...

Your going to get people who will judge what you do and that's ok. It shows your making some sort of impact. So take heart. God knows your story and what you've been through. Us bloggers have got to have a very strong heart.

Fashion,Love and Life

www.fashionloveandlife.com

good reply hun ..yes linda u made it

Good for you girl! Tell them! It's annoying how people think every woman has compromised,must compromise to get to where they are. Trust me,a lot of ladies have been through this n more and come out with every ounce of their dignity intact.
But let's not be quick to judge those who sadly compromise we all must understand people do the things they do based on their knowledge and understanding of life, believe me if they knew any better they'll not engage in these practices.
Its even more sad we live at a time where we all put the "cart before the horse". Everyone is desperate for the good things of life but not ready to invest their time to work for it,they'd rather take the quickest n shortest cut to attain these things. God help us all.

Yves-Odion said...

For me Linda, the most important thing is that u made it through your struggles with God by your side; if "some" people take offense for your success now it's becos they dont think they can genuinely make it in life. just like Omotola's post "WHEN PEOPLE ARE FAILURES, THEY CONVINCE THEMSELVES OTHERS ARE OVER ACHIEVERS" I havent meat u (Linda) one-on-one, i just read what i see on your blog. if they don like u or ur blog then TO HELL!!!

Nihin said...

this story is touching just tells us we cant judge a book by its cover.....

Chineke!!! so Toke knows the meaning of role model??? I was in Unilag at about the same time you were there oh Toke!!!! make I no come open your yansh for here oh, you and Amara and co.

nnennai said...

This brght tears to my eyes. I Lv u linda. Kp up d gd wrk. U rock.

abegi!!! Linda Ikeji over Toke Makinwa any day. At least she was born with a silver spoon in her mouth and shes still a bitch and you Linda you have worked hard for your spot. Respect to you Linda and shame on Toke.

P.S Toke o ti Fo ara e je...awaiting your haters to dish your secrets out in 5,4,3,2,1....

Linda ,I am so inspired by ur story .PRISCY

Saphya said...

where is the "like" button here? thumbs up linda....everybody including makinwa is entitled to their opinion. This is d first time i am commenting on ur blog,,,gossip or no gossip u stil pass on info.Bottom line is,u are proud of urslf,and thats some achievement.I Love u.....#nohomo.

Really inspiring post...weldone babe..haters would only do what they do best...hate!when has that ever stopped greatness?

Linda this is my first post since I have been coming to your blog. Your story made me cry and respect you more. Seriously you have given me more reason to believe in my self and I would like to say thank you. To the lady that said you are not a a role model, Is she one looking at the two of you in the picture she looks so irresponsible with her manly breast. Please Linda continue to do your thing cos you are a role model to so many people. God bless you, and do have a fulfilling life ahead.

lush said...

Toke should go look for her role model oshi.......

You made it LINDA!!
KEEP SMILING YOUR WAY TO THE BANK JOR

Wow dis is awesome,you re my role model,tanks for the advice,God bless you too...

funnysmile said...

Hmm... That's the spirit Linda. We all have our stories. Was so close to meeting you but I didn't. Got to the office a few mins after u had left and when my colleague told me I screamed. "You came to register a sim". Well anywayz, God bless you too.

NecFix said...

One word: Epic! Beautifully scripted & Inspirational. God bless u linda.

Linda ,I'm proud of u. You are a rolemodel. Dnt mind d hater toke. Ur story reminds me of myself as a teenager in d early 2000s,when gsm came out. I refused
To giv myself to my then boyfriend,who told me I had to sleep with him to get a simcard and a phone.
I finally raised 11,500 and bot
a sim myself and my big sis gave me a fone. I refused to change dat line even after my husband suggested it after we got married.
Bcos it reminds of a good choice I made

damola said...

This is some real powerful shiiiiiii! U rili dd make it! (Y)

Icepy said...

Hmmm true talk my sis!

Sincerly, I love u Linda and der is nobody who can change my opinion.. Am sure u ve passed through a lot dat cant be told here. U rock shuga!!
Who is even Toke?? i tink i saw her interview with 9ice and she was speaking yoruba as if it was forbidden or bad tin. u are not yoruba but a proud lagosian, who speaks all her reader languages. I love u and u re role model (nt now oo but for years)!!

nnennai said...

As for d lady. She jst wnts publicity.she is usng u to gain it. As much as thts silly. It was a calculated move on her side. So maybe she is smart.

Intoxyka said...

I am the first o!!!! *dancing azonto*

Well, I have to say that I'm impressed by your story. No one know what people have gone through until you actually say something. I read this with tears in my eyes but I'm very happy for you.

PS: I saw you at Shoprite but I was too shy to come over. Maybe one of these days, when I finally chop the liver. More power to your elbow dear, you deserve all you get.

Well said linda...u sure have inspired me with your story

Nihin said...

this is a touching story.....just tells that we cant judge a book by its cover

toolu said...

Whaoooooo,reading dis with moist eyes,*very deeeeeeep sigh*,linda,pls continue to βε̲̣̣̣̥ urself dear aπϑ i hope others wuld learn from Uя story....it is well dearee aπϑ i wish u all †ђξ best in Uя endeavours aπϑ may God continue to bless u...dis is indeed touching

Hmm Linda this your post just went straight to my heart. It is easy for Toke to judge when she has never had to work hard for anything in her life and does not know exactly what it feels like to have NOTHING. You never know what someone has gone through or is going through until you hear their story.Behind every smile is everything you will never know nor understand. Until you have walked in the person's shoes, you are in no place to judge.

As for Toke, he without sins should cast the first stone, you are not exactly a role model as well. Do not think because you have made it you are What's up. Please have several seat. I am sure you have skeletons as well.

At the end of the day we are all entitled to our opinion but remember the people you are talking about have feelings as well.

awwwwwwww. u r my role model linda. muah

Eya, No one knows what anyone has gone through until they talk about it. More power to your elbow. I like the way you handled this

PS: I saw you at shoprite but I was too shy to come over. Maybe some other time, i would chop liver :D

Linda I loveee yyou die now u really a role model 4k wt dis attention whore z lukin4

Okay, first let me say that it is no one's place to say another is not a role model (that is if the net quoted her correctly); second, Linda your story is a good one and an inspiration to young girls in this age and time that they get carried away by material things far too early.

I am also proud of you that you did not stoop too low to gratify Toke's comments with an equally harsh response.

You may be selling gossip but at least you aren't selling your body!
Most of what we actually read in your blog are not just rumours but truths.

So the babe should take a chill pill and stop trying to be recognised by tapping into your fame...

Ego Tamobus said...

I only stumbled upon your blog recently - but this piece right here is truly uplifting and thought provoking. much respect to you and yours. A lot of Girls (and boys) can learn from you. God bless and keeping doing what you do best. The sky is the limit..

ItsAllAboutMe said...

Seriously i respect you for coming out this way like i always say DONT EVER CRITICIZE WHAT YOU DONT UNDERSTAND.

i will try nt to write a long sermon (i leave that to the other LIB readers) we are quick to judge based on the surface (me i guilty of dt 1) but we all should try to understand the situation before passing judgment or jumpin to conclusion.
Having a blog that entails entertainment and some political news could be viewed as gossip spot but lets be sincere who no like to know wetin BLOGLORD get for pot (no vex oh na example). if u dont like the blog dont click on the page

AS FOR UNA WEY WAN YARB LINDA...NA THUNDER GO FIRE UNA! WETIN UNA DON DO TO HELP THE SOCIETY? SHE DON HELP PERSON REACH INDIA UNA NEVA DASH N50 TO BERGER FINISH. AS UNA DEY TALK NONSENSE ABOUT HER NA SO NONSENSE GO FOLLOW UNA (now i have written an epistole.
LINDA nonthing do you! you are a role model jo i cant cast the 1st stone cos me no pure

Don't get all worked up over this lady jare, u no be role model wetin u cum be. As far as I'm concerned u still inspire people i:e make money from the most unpopular of all enterprises

I'm dropping a comment for the first time, and all I can say is WOW!!! If you are not a role model, then who is? It is best to ignore all these young spoilt nobodies

chijioke said...

@Linda,your story made my day,l hope all our young ladies will read it & change for the better,as for the young lady who said that you are not a role model,ignore her,she is just looking for attention.

Otunba Chris said...

Well said, am truly happy for you.... but wait linda, so are you now saying u r still virgin?;)

glooooo said...

very touching!

Well done for making something of your life in a place where sleeping with men for money is becoming accepted as the norm.
As for the 'lady' who says you aren't a role model, she is entitled to her opinion and that's all it is 'her opinion'. My message to her is, the word is Gossip!!! not Gossiper!! Visit the 'G' aisle in the dictionary, its on the shelf somewhere.

Teddy said...

I'm really touched. Linda don't mind them haters...keep doing your thing! God is with you.

doll (retired blogger) said...

nice one! God bless your hustle

So it is toke makinwa that is now a role model

Bbie said...

This brought tears to my eyes... you are definately a role model in my eyes , I've always wanted to blog, but didnt know how to go about it. Your blog inspired me to start mine.(bbiebuzzin). i come here everyday (and steal some posts) lol..
Keep doing what u are doing ,cos u are amazing at it!!

U are my second role model ,after Beyonce ....and thats a mean feat :)

yes you have tasted poverty, like millions of us have. and it's a good thing you have made something out of nothing like millions of hustling nigerians are doing too.

but you have destroyed peoples lives and homes and caused damages that can never be repaired in peoples lives with the things you publish. sometimes i really wonder how you sleep at night.

we dont have to destroy other people lives and hardwork to be somebody.

the message you send out is that you dont care whose life is destroyed,as long as you make the money its okay. sad.

am short of words.you know what linda this has increase my love for you in geometric progression.dont allow any useless pikin(wheather toke or toto) to run you down.we the fans we love your blog,we love your person and there is nothing, i mean ABSOLUTELY NOTHING anybody can do about that.ride on and God bless

FRIVOLOUZ said...

Well done Lin, quite inspiring story for all the young and old females out there who simpliy cant see there next meal,weave,bag or shoe usless they see themselve getting up from underneath a man which has become like a separate religion amongst 9ja females apart from a few non converts like yourselve, but i have a feeling on read this post that on the contrary your saying indirectly that Toke Makinwa is/was a convert/believer/follower of that religion....."SPIT IT OUT" LOL

IVORY CHI said...

AWWWW Linda...this is really touching!!!!

I am really happy for you...and even though you may not be a role model, you are a shining example of the fact that hard work and diligence pays off.

Well done and my God bless you too.

Quote of the day

'Dignity is far more valuable than a range rover'

Sisters, take note xxx

Teddy said...

I'm touched..Linda keep doing your thing. Haters will always hate. God is with you..

linda can be a gossip a anytin but i knw shez not fake gbam!! * now linda anyday u let dis bitches get to u and u try or even tink of changin the way u blog, u hv finished me n i will hunt u* i don talk finish

Ehis said...

Good 1 Linda !But you know hw to throw stone sha !

Annie said...

Thumps up to u Linda and don't mind all those haters.. i am on my way to the top too, i tell u its not easy trying to get
there on ur own but God sees your(our) struggles and blesses us. all the best

Hi Linda! This is the first time I will be posting a comment on your blog, especially since it wasn't another story that just added levity to my day it was a very heartfelt, inspiring and refreshing story. I choked up while reading it, cause I could hear the sincerity in it. I read your blog everyday, I discovered your blog on my own while trying to figure out how to start a blog lol. Ever since, I figured, hey, why start mine when we have people like you that keep us entertained. It's become my guilty pleasure :)It is also your honesty that keeps me coming back.

People need to first find their role models at home, rather than search for them in public figures, tv etc. The public didnt bring them to the world. People are quick to point out that someone is not a mentor/role model or whatever but EVERYONE has something we can learn from, whether it is through their good deeds, success or mistakes. We often don't recognize our true role models until we look inwards to understand who we are and what we want out of life, the moment we discover that person, the search for a role model can begin after the "foundation" has been laid.

Linda, you shd consider writing a book. Hard earned money, I've always believed, is money respected. There are many young girls in todays Nigerian society that become victimised (I call them victims) ostensibly to fit into so called "elite nigerian society" but end up a far shadow of their former selves and as a result of that, they never know who they really are simply because they're constantly chasing paper and not taking time out to discover their inner skill, passion or whatever they've been sent to this earth to accomplish. I could go on forever but I will stop now. Let's be the change we want to see in the world and try to make a positive difference, no matter how small it may be.
Definition of a role model is a person whose behavior, example, OR SUCCESS is or can be emulated by others, especially by younger people.

On that note Linda, you ARE a role model! Keep on keeping on! May God continue to bless you! (Apologies for rambling on, just thot I had to comment today)

my dear, u r doing a great job... u're my role model. i got dis from Stella Damasus Blog Type A story
"there are three types of people in this world

A: those who were born to be talked about because of who they are
B: those who were born to talk about others because that is all they are
C: those who were born to observe because they don't know who they are

Which one would you rather be my dear?"

Wat a touchin n inspirational story

laolu said...

Awww! This is like your best post ever! Very inspiring!

Samuel said...

God bless you Linda. You're a role model womem and men, I can tell you.

I love you before and for this I love you more. God bless you and for toke she can go 2 hell 4 all I care

Awwwww, Linda. U really are a role model, this story touched me and I'm proud of who u turned out to be. U are really an inspiration to some ur young girls out there.
Luv ya.
XO

Toinlicious said...

Linda, your last paragraph nailed it for me. You're amazeballs! *muah*

MeSTAR AM said...

As for me, i don't know who the heck the idiot (Toke) is. all i know is that i have never met you in person but you have over the years influenced me positively. no matter what she thinks, I, on behalf of all of us @ MORE MAGAZINE believe, know and take you LINDA IKEJI as a ROLE MODEL. let her come out with the awards her so called unlistened-to programme has gotten her. #ode oshi

Daniel Akobi said...

I don't even need your bio to know you are a role model. Don't blame her though, envy is a very powerful human weakness or else how can you say that an internationally acclaimed most succesful blogger from Nigeria isn't a role model. As a father I ll gladly want my children to be inspired by the life of someone like Linda Ikeji

Butumi said...

You are a Role Model indeed....good goings, more ahead. I love you more after reading this.

Dee dee said...

Now, this post is a big fat and well constructed "Fuck You" to the "little known" Toke who says you're not a role model. I am proud of you.

Lisa said...

Ok, Does Toke consider herself a role model? Isn't she the one who did that very mean interview with Vic O?!!!! I don't even know how she had on a serious face- no sympathy for making the guy look like a fool (must be a heartless babe). How can anyone even consider her a real interviewer or journalist? I lost all respect for her after seeing that cringe worthy Vic O interview. She was so condescending it was sickening and plain mean!!!! Gosh!

Toke, sweetie, you are not better and if you think you are, you are sorely mistaken. Wicked wicked woman to do such a mean, and condescending interview. I don't care if she does "good" interviews now, I refuse to watch her "interviews". Pathetic. Hypocrite. Mtchewwwwwww

omolohla said...

Linda ikeji is a true star. Toke Makinwa is an aspiring one who doesn't even have what it takes. Mschewwwww

taiwo said...

I love this story it is touchy.

Linda you know what???? You are one of my role model. Words are just words, they dont take away who you really are. You know yourself and that is all that matters. Remain true to who you are! To hell with that beech!

Neva hrd of Toke Makinwa until a ladun liadi posted sumthn about her...d post had 2 b taken down cuz of ow ppl were opening her ynash! Linda dnt mind her! I'm a huge fan of urs n I sooooo much luv ur blog! Bad belled ppl shld go n jump inside ocean...xo @ Linda

taiwo said...

the story is very passionate

People really never know ones story, but they will always judge you.Your story is really inspiring. The decision you made, tells us Young females that with God anything is possible, but we must believe in ourselves. Thank God i can point to one female celebrity and say that, She made it on her own. Thank you for inspiring us young ladies with your story.

Nanizle said...

I'll be expecting an apology from Toke soon.
She knew not what she was saying.

Hahahaha. I dare you to tell à better or even a similar story, Madam Toke Makinwa. God bless you Linda. Keep flying high.

omolohla said...

Linda ikeji is a true star. Toke Makinwa is an aspiring one who doesn't even have what it takes. Mschewwwww

oyinmama said...

Linda, this is your best blog ever, Toke, those that live in glas houses shouldnt throw stones u know.... some of us know you well well, ur paroles, ur aristo carrying shit, even with Professors like Awolusi, and all the English lecturers moves... you and that k legged friend Amara.. should I continue, what you did to get your final grades, how you bleached your skin..... Tell me are you a role model? how did u even get ur current job.... Linda, am I motivated by this your reply, u aint perfect, but u better than some, hope she (toke) enjoys the media hype while it lasts... no beef just irritated.

KENE said...

If that isn't what a role model is about, then i am mistaken about the concept. Thank you Linda for sharing this. U know some harsh realities in life can really instead of pull you down set your chin and push you on the way you must go.

God bless you too...I'm determined to make it too..(P.S--ur my namesake:))

*crying* ur story brought tears 2 my eyes Linda....iv seen u in person at shopryt (don't know if u remeber d expensive chinese food incident wif Dele) b4 I started frequenting dis blog. Honey dis Toke person is anonymous- absolute nobody..I bet u no1 here knows her and she just wantd 2 use u 2 shine. I'm inspired by u really. U r superwoman! And u r beautiful.
Billie jean!!

toolu said...

Linda pls dont listen to negative stuffs dat peeps say about u cuz they juz tryna pull u down aπϑ i dont know who †ђξ lady is buh i guess some peeps juz open their mouths to yarn shit,well they are all entitled to their opinions sha,,let them talk jooor while u do Uя thing.linda i respect u jawre aπϑ u αƦε̲̣̣̣̥ a role model of some sort †☺☺.so pls keep it up aπϑ may God βε̲̣̣̣̥ with you dear

Linda! I'm dumbfounded....I don't know what to say. Toke of all people on earth said this? Toke, the proper RUNS GIRL at Unilag. She could do nothing of her own except with aristo money.

I'm happy for this great encouragement, I have gone thru your type of experience and still passing by and I'm glad I made a good decision like you did.

Toke Makinwa...pls give us your long years of RUNS AND HIGH CLASS ASHAWO biography.

lanre wildcard said...

Wow this is really touching, been independent in life is one of the best thing..you are a role model and you ve inspired lots of young people....keep up your good work and the the sky wont be your limit..cheers

Anuoluwatosin soyemi said...

Wot a beautiful post, I guess some pple don't fink b4 talkin,they just open there mouth gbaga nd talk trash......

inspiring! Well done Linda, telling your story always goes a long way. Should change alot of opinions not like you need approval from any one

I had given up on d fact that in dis day and age, a woman can make something of her life without d "help" of a man, your story just gave me hope that it's possible... Keep it up
PS: am addicted to ur blog!!!!

Goldenk said...

U r indeed a role model n i luv u 4 dat."Toke Makinwa" who is she haven't heard 'bout her b4 4get 'bout her n move on wif ur life if she wnt 2 compete wif u let her write out her on story may b it will touch lives n b proud of her. Luv u Linda, Luv wat u r dowin u r d bomb no 1 else. muahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

@rochies said...

A round of applause for Linda...buh u fall ma hand.
Ah Linda o fumble!

Dianah said...

Linda dear, i might not like running a gossip blog, but trust me on this girl...you bring a little sunshine to your readers.
xoxo

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Awww dis is touching,I feel ur pain Linda. You re a role model to a lot of pple and u re also a role model to me,woteva Toke tinks is her bizness like u sed u dnt even knw her bt she knws u bt beef won't let sumpple rest. So do wot u luv doin gal and let d paper kip chasing u. Btw u shud say hi to dat idiot man so dat he cn knw u MADE it.

Solafunmi said...

Linda my dear, am so sure u are not taking that stupidly painted toke makinwa seriously. she obviously doesnt know how to interview as she talks more than the guests we are supposed to be learning about.
she obviously loves katy perry, because that the only reason i can see behind her ALWAYS so heavy and uncordinated makeup.
Toke also doesnt know the meaning of a blog!!!!! TOKE, PPLE WRITE WHAT THEY LIKE ON THE OWN BLOGS!!!
ODE OSHI, GO AND GET A LIFE JOR, OPONU AYERADA!

okonelvis said...

Am a man but after reading ur story about dignity,my day is made. I wish all d young women can read and abide by this advice. Leave men ur father's age mates and take an inward journey to discover urself. Takes linda 4 sharing such motivating story

But seriously though Linda, have you ask urslf if you are a 'ROLE MODEL'? The fact that you are doing a job perfectly well and making big money out of it does not make you a role model- if not ask the thieves, 419 and yahoo yahoo boys. (IMHO)
ME

Dear Toke, shey you have heard or read it yourself. She has told her own story, what's yours?

Chilee Agunanna said...

Nice! We have ended up reading Linda's lifestory 'cos of Toke, if u guys (commentators n commenters of LIB) would lay low on d insults, something good could come out of this.
By that, I mean, Toke could furnish us with her own lifestory which I believe would also inspire some of us n then, we take it one after d other sans fiction.. Whatdya guys think?

I like u Linda cos u say it as it is.....dnt listen to dat woman wateva her name is....she should focus on her career and allow u focus on urs...

bukky said...

Wow,I guess everyone have a story to tell at one point or the other.You can't change her opinion about you but that's her problem.You finally find what you love doing and putting food on the table... and more.Life is too short to allow negative people and opinions into your life.
Linda!you are the best jare

Nice one Linda...as long as you believe in yoursef that's what matters. those who love you know what they love about you and those hate, hate because they cant be like you...LIVE YOUR LIFE...

Helynn said...

Lyn u r trully a role model,If Toke has nothing to say then she should keep her mouth shut. I duff my hat for u

Linda, I hardly ever post comments on your blog, but just read a few post and move on. I love your response to the Toke girl and you should expect more of that from such myopically minded people. Just look at the way she dressed in that pix- baring her all for the world to see. Who is a better model, Toke? Your story is quite touching and I identify with it. I have passed up several opportunities just because I refuse to allow lecherous men have a go at me. I had decided a long time ago to be a successful woman on my own terms. I'm far from being as accomplished as you financially, but i know in no small time, that will be my testimony too. I am hardworking and I know I have paid and I'm still paying my dues, so when haters see my glory all they would do is talk, without knowing where I am coming from. In my eyes and in the eyes of many of your blog readers, you are a role model- your blogging makes many a people's day. So keep at it and refuse to be moved by what the likes of Toke Makinwa say. Infact, they should say more and create more free publicity for you so you can make more money and make them more envious.

Thumbs up Linda

im crying reading this....cos as a young girl in the university i had this same belief but fell off cos of the kind of friends i had in my final year..there is nothing like your dignity nothing at all.when u can beat ur chest dat i made it without selling myself short.thank God i came to my senses and have changed my ways.linda u are so my role model dont care what anyone says

RAVEN said...

Linda Ikeji,welldone my dearie u are indeed a superwoman,tears is dripping frm my eyes bcos of what u wrote.Note dat if Toke Makinwa did not say u are not a role model,i will not hve read this ur beautiful,life changing,inspired story 2day.cheer up my dear God pass dem.U Are A STAR,AMODEL N A ROLE MODEL.

even though am older than u,u inspire me.as for toke leave her to lord

im crying reading this....cos as a young girl in the university i had this same belief but fell off cos of the kind of friends i had in my final year..there is nothing like your dignity nothing at all.when u can beat ur chest dat i made it without selling myself short.thank God i came to my senses and have changed my ways.linda u are so my role model dont care what anyone says

LINDA IKEJI I LOVE YOU!!!! Tnks 4 d encouragement....God bless u...people make statements witout thinking....Btw Toke Makinwa, there's no such word as "gossiper" ...

Wonderful story. I admire your sense of decency and dignity. Wish all girls could be like you. God Bless you Linda.

Try and organize a seminar for young girls in secondary school about decency and dignity in women.

Delurge said...

Eya I really felt like crying after reading this story. You're big now that's why you can proudly say this. Linda I ask just one thing of you. Please grant me an interview (kneels). It will definitely make one life better. You've been an inspiration to me and I promised my readers an interview session with you. Hope I dont get turned down this time (wipes a tear).

Linda, All i can say is God bless u real good. very heart wrenching story.
Brazilian hair, RR, trips round the world courtesy of an aristo is just a flash in a fan. they would fade away but ur hard earned money would always make u remember where u r coming frm.

May u continue to b a source of inspiration to your readers excluding Toke Makinwa (whoever that is)

Ann Agbo

I am not a fan of gossip. I visit your site and its a guilty pleasure and i dont feel so good a lot of the time which is why i dont read or leave comments. I read the stories and leave. This is the first timei have read something real to me that touches my heart as a young woman. Well said - i

Ebere said...

How dare she say Linda is not a role model simply because she feels she is in television and linda is on internet,as far as am concerned its all about sourcing for information and disseminating it,ur medium is ur choice,what is gossip in what linda is doing that is not gossip in what she is doing?abeg she should go hug transformer please, enemies of progress,even me dey find linda to teach me blogging and that one dey talk wetin she no know.

At some point I was gonna say "this is superstory" buh as I read, it really inspired.. Nice1

WELL SAID! Success.. it will surely come, its jst determination.. i went tru hell in skul, im glad i can support my baby sis.. even if my salary is lil.. im so grateful 2 God.. People will definitely talk bad..

Amina said...

Wow...funny how I'm almost in tears. I think you are a beautiful person in and out and this post just confirmed it. I remember you advertising my Jewelry for free years ago when I'm sure your blog wasn't even making that much. God bless you Linda.

Amina said...

Wow...funny how I'm almost in tears. I think you are a beautiful person in and out and this post just confirmed it. I remember you advertising my Jewelry for free years ago when I'm sure your blog wasn't even making that much. God bless you Linda.

KENE said...

Thank you Linda for sharing this. If this is not Role Model material, then I am mistaken about the concept. It takes certain 'hardies' to sharpen our survival skills and that is the case here. Remain blessed

Ebere said...

How dare she say Linda is not a role model simply because she feels she is in television and linda is on internet,as far as am concerned its all about sourcing for information and disseminating it,ur medium is ur choice,what is gossip in what linda is doing that is not gossip in what she is doing?abeg she should go hug transformer please, enemies of progress,even me dey find linda to teach me blogging and that one dey talk wetin she no know.

Thank you linda. You actually brought tears to my eyes.

Linda this comment is going to be long please read it.
You are MY ROLE MODEL
I am tired of people calling you names from failed model to failed person and all sorts of things. If I had their numbers I would call them and finish them and they had better pray we never meet.

Linda what have you achieved well I'l use my life as an example.
1. Compassion. Every once I a while we log on and see someone who needs help and we rally round and do something even putting out a kind word or just simply tweeting about it and soon the word is spread and aid comes *the boy in india nw receiving treatment courtesy of delta state gorvernment.

2. Exposure. You have opened my eyes to the rape menace. As a male I really did not see rape as all so evil before, we are all boys In our house and so a story of rape from a hurtful aspect was never heard. I even have a cousin accused of rape and when the families met the girl was blamed for leading him now that has so changed. Stop is stop. Rape is evil. The case of abia rape made me cry yes it did. And all the others even the female brutality we see here.

3. Enlightenment. This blog has thought me so many new things I just can't start recalling. From outright strange to the bizarre things I can never learn from my books. Linda thanks for all that.

Now for you linda you are a journalist and you job is to tell the story be it about rape or crime or corruption or about First ladies blocking the roads or about lapd cars in nigeria or about gays. It is news and it must be told. Go on linda baby even my mother who does not watch nigerian films knows you and applauds you,in our house we check your blog regularly. Who is that person to talk. Linda has taught me so much that I can't believe someone can say all that nonsense. Has she ever visited the blog. To compare you to perez even perez is greater than her and you are better than perez. You shine light on things hidden sometimes I actually fear for your life and yet someone has the guts to say this. I HATE HER along with Tonto *that one is for life* and susan peters oh and any other person that will say rubbish of you. Of all nigerian celebs world over to me you are first. You have changed the way I view things *especially the rape part*

God bless you.

My darling Linda no mind dem bad belle people. I so much love what you do and my girlfriend gets jealous whenever I log on to your blog. GOD bless your hustle.

Yimiton said...

I've got tears in my eyes and all I can say is "I love you Linda"

i m a fan of ur page but dis is d first time i m leavn a comment....i must say i m encourged by ur story cos i m in d same position nw n i knw make it knwing u did.....tnkz...kip up d good wrk

Marian King said...

Hmmm... This is very touching. God will continue to bless you dear.

she just gave you a little taste of your own medicine. why are you not looking the other way like you expect people to when you publish nasty things about them. you get to tell us your own side of the story but many who you have said nasty things about will never have that platform to counter your lies against them.

what goes around comes back around. life is too short to wake up every morning digging for dirt to destroy other people's lives, homes and hardwork.

Frisky said...

Linda, Honestly, its only clear you have given this girl what she wants, i have never heard of her, now i have, u shld have ignored her and not write about her thereby giving her the popularity she craves, better still take off her picture, so all pple will do is wonder who is she,she aint worth it.

Nnenna said...

Well said Linda! You are truly an inspiration to young women to pursue their dreams the right way! Short cuts never come without a price! This Toke is of no consequence! She called u a gossiper! Really? Gossiper is a real word now, huh?! Umm ok!#suchanepicfail

It is a Gossip not a gossiper!!! Geeez english!

OnileEre! said...

I hope i wont cry a river by the time i finish reading this. That's a truly inspiring story. I'm happy you didnt really take what she said to heart. Everybody cant be ur friend. You lose some you gain some. Those kinda words should be like water off a duck's back by now.
I dont want to engage in abuse slingfest here-she'll get more than that from others- but i think she should've looked elsewhere if she really wanted to condemn gossip blogging. I know of a blog which is like totally dedicated to slandering Toke Makinwa,why didn't she mention that?
My sister just do ur thing God be with you.

I luv u Linda.....'M a young girl praying to be an independent lady one day (soon) ...wot u do gives me encouragement..Kip doin wot u do...and as a popular person, u nid to develop a thick skin (I see u have)..kip it boo..:* ...Ama

This is my first time of commenting on ur blog linda,am so glad and proud of all you have achieved and I pray that God will continue to make you a shining light unto ur generation.

AWWW Linda, i am so inspired by your story. this is actually the first time i am posting a comment on ur blog, though every morning the first thing i do at work is to visit your blog. God bless you

Bundu said...

Great tale. You made it Linda! Do not mind what any other person has to say. I got introduced to your blog just about a week ago. Got introduced by chance as i had an accident and cannot walk yet. A friend of a friend came visiting and mentioned your blog. I checked it out the next day and have found myself checking it everyday. Sometimes twice a day. What ever anybody says you've made it.

You remind me so much of my Fiancee. We were supposed to get married on the 21st of April but for this accident. I see her everyday putting in her best at her job and at her pet business and i feel so proud of her as her business is gradually growing.

Keep your head up girl! Keep being an inspiration.

goodgirlwith$ said...

hehehe. Linda just used style and story to diss toke makinwa. Dont mind her jare, she is talking her own. People who know toke know that she shouldnt even talk. Weldone Linda, I feel your story and i appreciate your journey/hustle. FIRE BURN ALL HATERS!

Linda, you should be proud of what you have achieved and your accomplishment. No need to explain yourself to anyone seeking undue attention. You're not obliged. Chin up and focus on what's important. Remember Omotola's Tweet

I had tears in my eyes while reading this. Well done linda. I admire you so much . You're a role model no matter what anyone says. My day is never complete with reading your blog. Blogging is what you enjoy, so do it. God bless you.

AWWW Linda, i am so inspired by your story. this is actually the first time i am posting a comment on ur blog, though every morning the first thing i do at work is to visit your blog. God bless you

It doesnt matter what she thinks Linda, what matters is what you are.

Your story is quite touchy! weldone Linda

Iheoma Ironuru said...

Hi Linda, I read your story and I was inspired. It is said that though it may tarry, but it must surely come to pass! I read your blogg every day and I learn 1 or two things from it. Your story should serve as inspiration and motivation to so many young girls and women out there who are facing one kind of challenge or the other. Have it at the back of your mind that whatever good you make up your mind to achieve, with focus, dedication and steadfastness, beyond the sky will definitely be your stepping stone! Thanks Linda for bringing sunshine into our lives!

@sijizell said...

y d word choice ......everybody gat what profession he/she chooses...linda u rock ....toke ku ise enu....love u both

Amazing! I am thrilled at your story, Linda. Forget Toke, you are a role model to many more than Toke Makinwa would ever be. Keep being strong girl, God bless you mucho

Brava Linda. It takes ONLy Courage to make it. Infact, Something that drove me to this site years back was an article like this you wrote when i was searching online some positive thoughts. I came across this blog site, ever since then, I never looks back reading it early good or bad. Girl.... You've spoken well. Role model or not. You have ur fans. Brava brava Linda.

I agree with her. You have published some untruths in the past and it still hurts. The issue sometimes is that you dont realise that once it is online it cant be taken back. You may argue that it isnt your intention but thats the outcome. You can still have a successful blog without selling gossip.

All glory to GOD for your testimony and GOD bless you.

Okpotokpo Tchidi said...

Linda, Please dont mind Toke Makinwa, she is just jealous.....She is not by any means match to you. I love your blog and you as a person...Go girl!!!

Aww.... I feel like crying.. *sniff sniff

Well Done linda, U r indeed a role model, those who can't accept tht shud go hug a very huge transformer
Mscheeeew!!!

Wow!! Well said, well articulated and well delivered. For a 31 year old (19yr old in 2000 + 12...as in 2012), you sure do show a lot of maturity, which explains why people are drawn to you.

I live in the UK, and hardly a day goes by, without touching base with your blog.

Hold your head up high. We have a lot of common values...as in, coming over to the UK as a young African migrant on a tourist visa, choosing not to follow stereo types of marrying/settling with a citizen (for obvious reasons).

But rather, choosing to do it my way (with God on my side), determined not to compromise or falsify love, affection and emotions etc Which in "some case" will lead to a broken home...after getting the kpali and then, you suddenly decide/realise you are no longer in love (never mind the years invested in that relationship or children caught in the cross fire). Not one to criticise others (everyone to his own), but these things do happen.

Anyway sha, many years on, not only did I make a success of myself personally and otherwise, I have touched others both home and away.

People, you can choose to set your own rules and standards, choose not to follow the crowd and still make it.

I celebrate you Linda, and the millions of folks out there who choose to look inwards, follow their dreams but most importantly, look unto God, the author and finisher of our faith.

Linda, if our paths ever do cross, me sha (typical naija bobo), I would normally pose and form as if I don't know you (cuts across all those so-called naija celebs), but I will make an exception with you, and give you the luxury of having one more of those "pinch myself moments".

One love!!!

NG Newspaper said...

Indirectly, according to Toke; All Editors of the Leading Newspapers online like Vanguard, ThisDay, NGNewspaper, Punch; even Admins of our famous Social Networks like Naijapals, Nairaland, etc are Gossipers shey"... Just one question. What's the Difference in terms of Professionalism between the Print Media, TV Presenters (Including Toke), Bloggers and Radio Presenters? We all belong to the same profession Girl. And according to you (Toke), GOSSIPERS.
She shouldnt have come out that harsh. Its not Etical nor Professional. Linda, Heads up.

Wow!!! Am proud of you. You've just lifted my spirit. You're a̶̲̥̅̊ great woman

God bless you Linda and I can totally relate with your story! However, in life NOT everyone can like you! I respect TOKE's opinion but guess what its just an opinion, doesn't mean its who you are. Biko no allow someone's opinion of you take the better part of you! Dust yourself, move on and keep shining!

Candy! said...

Linda dear, dont mind toke and her bif, I think you are a role model and I love you for who you are.

Well Said Linda!

I read this with tears in my eyes. I have never left a comment on your blog until now and just want to say ride on! You have done well and that cannot be said of the likes of toke makinwa

Wow.... Linda, I guess Toke's comment was good after all :) It made you share your inspiring story! Now in terms of not being a good role model, I don't know about that. But the thing i wonder about you often is, are you able to make and keep friends? Aren't people apprehensive that you're only in it for the stories you get so you can put them on your blog? Cos sometimes you dig really deep and put stories out here and i'm like "ouch, can't Linda just respect people's privacy and leave them be?" I bet a lot of celebs don't like you. Personally, i think being a solo gossip blogger with one face and one name (as opposed to being an organization like TMZ) isn't something I would want to do. But hey, it really works for you! And i LOVE coming here everyday, cos it's human nature..... we all love gossip!

Veekie said...

Does Toke think she is a role model? Toke Makinwa English Dept Unilag? really?

cool story!!!!!!!! u re indeed a role model

What is so difficult in d fact dat d term "role model" is a personal term that an OAP can't understand?
Anywayz,dats one hell of a true life super story you got there linda, goes to show dat morality plus hardwork n dedication truely pays. Toke is just asking for publicity,over sense linda use her shine,eeya

*Ochuko*

u re simply a role model!!!!

ammawhite said...

very inspirational and uplifting linda....hardwork and determination pays and you are not only truly a role model but have inspired many to achieve greater things in lfie. Best wishes always

boluwatife said...

Didn't think much of u, honestly just read here for gist! And all that! I swear u rock! U r like too cool! U rock!

nice one linda... uve done well for urself

Yes..very soul stirring..Keep it up and know that what other people think of you is not your business..God is whom u r accountable to..

Linda I'm with you on this one. Quite a touching story from you. I love your determination and as I'm someone who's quite new to the business of blogging, you are one of the bloggers I respect even though I don't know you personally and haven't met you. People will always talk. You just Keep doing what you love doing as long as your conscience is justifies you.

What is so difficult in d fact dat d term "role model" is a personal term that an OAP can't understand?
Anywayz,dats one hell of a true life super story you got there linda, goes to show dat morality plus hardwork n dedication truely pays. Toke is just asking for publicity,over sense linda use her shine,eeya

*Ochuko

kekere said...

Linda, I think we all have it in us to be good role models and u r definitely a good role model. I am also determined to make it in life on my terms and as my own woman and i can totally relate with ur situation as the 19 year old girl cos i went thru that and more as well. i have felt the sadness, embarrassment, and humiliation of not being able to afford what most of my peers have and even regarded as basic stuff especially as I had really flashy girls then as friends to whom money wasnt a thing to and i always felt out of place. I have also been tempted to do runz but for some reasons i didnt. I am still on my way to greatness and I know for a fact that i wud get there. Ignore Toke. What does she know??

Honest Nigeria said...

That's quite a touching story.. No doubt inspiring. Toke is entitled to her opinion.. Not like it matters to many. To alot of young ladies, you are a role model.

ammawhite said...

Truly inspiring and uplifting. keep it up Linda and to many of us, you are indeed a role mode and have inspired us towards achieving greater things in life..Best wishes always

Chai! :'(

miz Bee! said...

Fuck her!!!!! Who d hell ȋ̝̊̅ڪ she?! Serzly, av not even heard of her b4!
Am sure she knws u'll put it on ur blog and then she'll get small fame from that one! Mumu geh!!!!!we don't knw Ʊ mehn!
Linda all da way! Ʊ rock gurl!

ammawhite said...

Truly inspiring and uplifting. keep it up Linda and to many of us, you are indeed a role mode and have inspired us towards achieving greater things in life..Best wishes always

Awwww, this is so inspiring. Role model or not the fact that you made it with your dignity intact is a big deal and that in fact is worth celebrating and for coming this far on your own without dragging your self worth down makes you LINDA a role model.

Why are u letting one person's opinion hurt you. You a wonderful girl. You need to understand that some people feel better about themselves when they talk down on others.

i have never in my entire existence ever ever dissed someone via the internet but i will say this,.,.,TOKE MAKINWA U ARE AN ARRANT IDIOT!ASHEWO,OVER BLEACHED CHIMPANZEEE!if there is any one who is not a role model then it is yo,.,.oshi!LINDA my love u have made it,.,no 1 can crush your hussle!i love you,.,i always will.,.,i have followed you from the start wen u only averaged 5 comments per post,.,.and anyone who knows u knows u not only gossip thru ur blog,.,but u change lives!BITCH is just bitter AS FUCK,.,.useless bambastic fake whore,.,.public toilet that all island guyz have kpanshed!ur humility is wat i love most about u linlin,.,.u know where u came from and u never forget that!

Omg Linda,I shed tears after reading your story....I woke up this morning with tears in my eyes,asking God why it is taking so long for my story to become pleasant to the ear.I'm a young graduate in her early 20's whose struggling to get by. Men approach me everyday and remind me of how beautiful I am.you and I share the same ideology about life. I have a vision and goal in mind.your story has encouraged me to be focused and never to loose hope that one day,it will happen.
Thanks for sharing your story.if Toke doesn't tink of you as a role model.jst remember in your heart that today(with your story)you have inspired a young girl ,and I promise you Linda,I will never ever give up.
God bless you.

Awwwwwwwww.my eyes ar full of tears..love u Linda.!

Pumpkin said...

Ms Makinwa it if werent for Linda Ikeji and the likes of Perez Hilton Up until this minute i didnt know who you are or heard of your name! Linda is not all about gossiping (mind you gossips sells and we all love it including YOU!)Get over yourself already! If you were to stand side by side with Ms Ikeji Linda will win...just saying..

Linda Please you do not need to explain yourself or tell your story. We have all been through tough times at some stage in our lives afterall we all grew up in Nigeria abi?! It does not matter what she thinks like you said everyone is enttitled to thier opinion and it is ok if some people do not like you (probably out of jealousy! hehehe! Your are fab girl! can't you tell already?!

I CANT EVEN IMAGINE THE COMMENTS THIS WILL GENERATE!

LaellaNorway said...

As a young woman who has values, i can say i understand what you went thru. I went thru same struggles myself and thank God, for lifting me up. Thank God for blessing you so that you can tell the story and encourage others today. Toke Makinwa has succeeded in doing something good today, and that is making you tell this story. I am very sure it will help many young lives. So thank Toke for her comment brought out the best in you!!

Money money money! That's all u care about Linda. Hope u ain't sold ur soul to the devil. So I heard. If not so na only you sabi blog. Make we hear word.

Dis was a very long post in reply to a comment she probably made in passing nd not directed at u alone(perez hilton was mentioned).u hav on several occasions made snide comments bout pple dat dey dint like too nd were probably wrong.though I agree dat some of ur blogposts hav hurt a lot of pple nd put me off atimes,I honestly dnt tink u need to prove urself to any1 or get evry1 to like u or wat u do.besides,pple wld always talk(abi?).a taste of ur own medicine kinda hurts doesn't it?lol

Bless you Linda! Yoou know what you`ve been through, and no one can take yur success away from you!

Nicely said, linda u r a role model. Do u knw hw many nigeria n foreigner look up 2 u 4 latest gist. I do o, thanks 4 d inspiration

Linda i was about to say who is Toke Makinwa insulting you when i saw the story on nairaland and then i quickly came to your blog maybe you have posted the story and there it was.

Well done my sis it has really been a very hard road for you and stories like these make me proud of being a woman. Although i have never lacked anything in life as wealth goes as far back as to my grand parents from both sides, but i have made it independently from my parents as i currently earn more than 2 million naira a month as salary as a professional in the finance industry and am also single in my late 30ies and still looking for the right man.

so linda yes who says if you struggle hard as a woman or man you cannot make it and with Prayers as well.

I hope other young ladies and guys would learn from your experience and make someting good out of their lifes and not through runs or yahoo yahoo....

this actually brought tears to my eyes. am glad u shared this with us... you are an amazing woman and i admire you alot. now knowing where u are coming from we can apppreciate and understand where u are.
i didnt want to say anything negative in dis comment but i just have to say what am sure every1 will say as well. TOKE MAKINWA IS A CONFIRMED ARISTO. when her engagement was announded on ladun liadis blog it got 1000 comments, ALL NEGATIVE! who the hell is she to talk about being a role model, except in her mind being a role model is teaching young girls how to sleep with old men for money and claw your way to the top on your back then in that case, yes... she is the better rrole model. she is the poster child for 'Lagos association of whores that shag for money'
Linda keep being you... you are a real chick and your story is so touching.
dont let these stupid people bring you down.

Akin said...

Linda! I have mixed feelings about what you just wrote. It appears this Toke girl touched a raw nerve in you.However, the experience you shared will definitely inspire someone to weather the storm in their life. I admire your courage and convictions. Let your works continue to speak for you. One love. Lindastic Ikejegbish!! (Sorry Bloglord). Lol!

Mz Classy said...

PREACH!!! the only reason why i like this ikeji girl is she is actually a respectful person! she just posts random gist on her blog and ur jumping up and down saying shes not a role model?? wetin concern u with her being or not being a role model? please every man or woman to him or herself! do ur own and she is doing hers. it shldnt be blocking ur view so much if u actually have a view. Linda and everyone out there dont let idle talks get to u!

uselles girl!instead of her to go and beef LADUN LIADI who wrote a post on her that generated 1000+ comments!if u see d way they opened her nyash ehhn??ladun had 2 take down the comments!LADUN IF UR READING THIS, please reopen the comments!stupid hoe!

Touching and Inspiring story. Love you told this... You just made me like you more, finally can shut some people up about sleeping your way to the top. People shld take note anyone can be a role model as long as u do positive things that inspire others. *thumps up*

Akin said...

Linda,you took her comments really personal and she is partially right. I have been following this blog from day 1. Veered off when it had too much gossip (am a guy & this was like 2007 or so). I wont forget the you will make it when you try post around that time. I said it then and I will say it again. Dont sweat the small stuff. Leave the gossip alone. You can do much better inspiring others. Gossip really has no impact, inspiration does. the choice is yours.

Toke is entitled to her opinion its a free world

I think Linda is wonderful for doing what she does. Linda does not fabricate her stories she only reports it like everyone else does.if she went out of her way to manufacture or spread untrue gists then there would be a problem. To the best of my knowledge Linda doesn't

Toke ive heard your gist all over lagos> Slut and gold digger dont begin to describe you.

If I had to choose a role model its rather be a "gossip like Linda" than a slut anyday

Deuces

Nekkyluv said...

Linda, thanks for sharing your story, I'm really inspired.

LINDA I am proud of you role model or not. She may not like what you do but you can sleep at night with the peace of mind that you didn't get this far on your BACK.
I love your blog and I am not Nigerian but I love Nigeria and its people.

Omg u just reduced me to tears !! :( aaaawwww and I hope that ********* reads this ! Me on the other hand is just a spoilt dunce !! Lord knows I would have given in to that man if I was in ur situation. Infact now I'm trying to start my own business cuz family money might run out soon .. Linda ur going to be my daughters God mother !! Ill pay u in dollars !! Millions of dollars just to be there! I'm still crying omg !ur such a great role model! Toke makinwa BE WARNED!!! *evil stare*

treasbuk said...

I am one of your regular readers and i look forward daily to reading your blog. Not once did it cross my mind that you were not from a rich background. You have indeed done well for yourself without having to sell your body and i am really proud of you. You a great role model for our young girls and women of today. Keep up your good work - "haters gonna hate" anyway. Remain blessed. Love ya

Moyo said...

Awwww linda.. u made me almost shed a tear with your story.. dont mind all these bad belle people.. u share gist, gossip, life issues and also help people as well. did toke not read about how your blog helped that oke boy. what has she done in her life to impact other people's lifes.. msheww. even if you havent done anything, you make people smile/laugh just by reading your blog and thats good enough. YOU ARE A ROLE MODEL!!!!! Gonna find you and snap my own picture when I come to naija oo :D.. xoxo

TOKE MAKINWA,.,.,.ALL I CAN SAY TO YOU IS YOU ARE DEAD!didnt ur mamma teach u dat wise thing about pickin ur fights wisely??LIB READERS will finish ur miserable life,.THEY WILL FINISH YOU!!U HEAR!!,if u know wats good for u dont even come here!

bluemagic said...

Dis is so touching lyn...u r sure a role model,nt minding wat sum sadist gat to say...n tnx for sharing ur story wif us....God alrdy made u bigger

Way to keep your head up Linda! Be the bigger person, because some people wouldn't respond to criticsim so kindly. Everyone has a story to tell (I believe even the self-righteous Ms Makinwa does too)...Women both yound and old can learn from your story.

This reply is absolutely unnecessary. You need to stop dignifying every nonsense people say with a reply.

yes,.,.exactly linda is not a role model yet FASHOLA praised her last week,.,.sure toke,.,ur over bleached fone speaking self is the role model,.,.hater oshi!

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1773   Newer› Newest»