Is this racist or...??? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 April 2012

Is this racist or...???

Swedish minister of culture Lena Adelsohn Liljeroth attended a party for the Stockholm cultural elite on Saturday April 14th and declared the party officially started by slicing the genitalia (clitoridectomy) of a cake that depicts an African woman.

The photos went viral on social media with a lot of people saying its racist. You agree?

130 comments:

I'm not sure about calling it racist, but it's extremely rude.

Why they didn't use a model of themselves is a mystery. It's not like there are may blacks in that country

frank said...

Apparently, the Minister is a strong anti racism advocate and the artist who made the cake is actually a black man. so it may have a racist overtones but would be laughed at due to the circumstances surrounding it.

Yesso, dis is pure racism. Ahn ahn, c d way dat woman is cuttin it happily. Y else wud a white person make a cake dat kinda depicts d africans? D msg is soo clear. Mtchewwww, yeye ppl, like say dem betta pass us!*angry face*

i wud say devilish

THIS IS TOYAL STUPIDITY WHY ON EARTH CAN A MINISTER ALLOW A CAKE DECORATED IN FORM OF A WOMAN TO BE USED OFFICAILLY TALKLESS OF A IN FORM OF A BLACK WOMAN THE BLACK COOMUNITY ALL OVER THE WORLD SHOULD QUESTION THIS! I NEVER KNEW THAT SWEDISH IS ALL THAT DUMB

Professor X said...

Bunch of psychopaths and sociopaths.

God knows better

I agree its an act of Racism 2000% Germans are Racists it runs in their blood but its so sad that a top government official is doing this publicly na them sabi sha....

OK said...

i think its inappropriate. It was so wierd with each slice of cake from d genitalia...the mouth on the head cries out..like groaning...not cool.

Of course it is racist!!!!! What nonsense!

kween said...

If you ask them now, they'd tell you it's 'art' or it's appropriate because she's the minister of culture. I've got one word for that cake though.. REPULSIVE!!!

Wow really?!! Thats not cool if they actually intended to du dat..but luks lik a Witch to me..maybe they are Killing all the foul spirit and Binding all Demonic attacks in Sweden and they want to start from the vagina, were the little ones will come from. maybe They want to end it.

hnmmm i dont know but it does not help that there is no black person in the picture... it might just be innocent

She is an idiot for this

it went wrong but it wasn't intended to be racist. we are sometimes too quick to cry racist.

I am, the no Sender. said...

Yeah. Definitely racist. No doubt about that.

this is racist jor, she is even feeding the sliced part to the cake again. which kain woman be dis sef. mshewww

These are the possibilities:
1. It is was a racist act and they didnt care what the world would think of it.
OR

2. It was innocent art gone wrong and they never bothered to consider that it might offend black people.

Either way they are wrong and it is racist.

mary gift said...

Biarche wat dar f is this, so not cool madam

mary gift said...

Biiartch dats so not cool, justifing ur level of foolishness thru a cake try sometin. new

UBADIRE ASHIEGBU said...

What rubbish is this now, i dont blame her sha. In fact it is paining me nonsense

It is what it is! Racist

ONOME says....................
repulsive yes;
racist ehhhhhh;not quite sure

Swedish dumbAss..why wont they be racist.when idiot like u still exist.

Linda I saw dis yesterday n I was crying.... Ppl can't really understand wit dis picture, can u pls get the video it wil move u to tears. When dey caught d genital of the velvet cake the cake start crying 4 help n look like is bleeding.

Pls linda post the video... This is rasist n disrespctful to black human race, I wanted to call ur attention to it but I don't knw how to contact u. It was viral on twitter n fb yesterday.
There is no way u wil c d video n u won't feal bad, dis ppl re animal n God wil punish them wit their generation.
I take it very personal wen I see black men wit white girls bcos dis ppl dt like us, here in London it all fake smile, useless set of ppl, calling us coloured. Do u knw how often dey change colour? I reserve my comment.

Well @kolaboofreally had a go @ this yesterday. Cutting the genitalia (which is female circumcision/mutilation) on this cake is very insensitive and inappropriate. There are a million other ways of being artistic, why choose a black woman, a caricature for that matter.

A white man may not be rascist, but knows better than to call a black man "nigger".

Blak kofee

Am disappointed by the swedish ministers show of insensitivity. With the nature of the world at this stage one can only be 2 careful. I can tell u 4 dis singular act u will be getting bad blood 4rm the black public. The art of diplomacy should be mastered

finemocha said...

these people are disgusting and sadists. this is racism. stupid woman

its funny how people are so quick to comment on Racism.If you look well, the head belongs to a human being who opened his mouth when the cake was being fed to him.
at least,if you can see enough to write comments, you might as well open your eyes properly to see every detail in the 4 pictures.The body being black is simply what it is,a woman's body.

Oluwa Troy said...

Its rude, non-sensical and absolutely rascist. She may have tot of it as a joke, but dat was just barbaric. Just take a look @ d big smiles on their faces.

That lady shld be striped of her position. One its racism secondly she shld be ashamed of herself cutting the cake from the genital as a woman its disrespectful to females as a whole. She's a foolish woman trust me. That act insults her too and she has no idea.

This is disgusting

iamfascinating said...

hmmn.

the top skincare products now available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com
Order now!

How do u know there are not many blacks here?

Gosh !!!! Black people need to calm the hell down about this racist shit. Everything is racism, the victim card as expired abegiiii. If it was in 9js that they used a white woman, people won't be shouting racist oh.

Ifyody said...

Whatever the intention, it is not well represented

would you Call the couple with a white woman cake racist?

duchessa said...

Stupid people mcheeeeewwwwww.. Linda Nexxxttttt ooossshhhii

I will go with Kween on this, its repulsive and that Minister shld not be associated with such. Its also racist in a weird kinda way, if not why didn't they depict a white person?

but i trust the world, this thing will work one day against them, watch and see.

Racist or no racist.....the cake looks disgusting..and why on earth do they think its funny to slice the genitalia and feed it to the cake.....na wah o.....is this a witch coven disguised as a party? Cos I no trust those swedish people o.

toolu said...

​S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ ​Wђγ use a black cake?? dats total bullshit and its uncalled for ...mtewwww, D̶̲̥̅̊Ĭ§ is racism and has no oda name dan dat...stupid whities,,cant even stand their looks *eyes olling*r

makode linde..The black guy that made the cake is the one you guys should blame. It is always us africans selling ourselves...Charity begins at home..if we respect ourselves others will respekt us but if we drag ourselves on the ground others will do likewise...That is why i stay clear of most black people here in Sweden...so annoying most of us.

Is what racist? Cutting a cake made in the form of a black woman or cutting the er clit part of the cake? If na breast she been cut nko?

I think people are just looking for the slightest excuse to shout 'racist'. Who made the cake and why in the image of a black woman , that's where we should start first

Doris said...

This is pure racism.why is the cake not in white color.Some pple like wahala sha

Let us just bake alook alike white cake, butcher it and spread the video through the internet. #Shikena

I feel dis is so offensive God dis is really annoying...Pure racisim

YINOTINTO said...

crazy racists. ndi ala... black are dominating the world, just keep hating...smh

CYNAMIX said...

A lot of racism still exist. BlackBerry Bold 2 white expensive than Black. What's that? Racism. This is also one!

The Bitch is just stupid.

BLOGLORD said...

Apparently its a slap on the face of the black race.
why didnt they make it a white woman cake????

Very tasteless and so not cool!!

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

As far as I'm concerned its racist.

Y.Tee said...

Ewww. Disgusting and classless. Mtchewwww.

@sijizell said...

all i see it as is been super rude..and bin racial...y not have their swedish leaders cake.... stupid fools.....

Seriously Frank! it is so much in bad taste! How could they. I am totally shocked.

so you mean to tell me that cake designs have finished in this world and the next design now is to make a cake that looks like a black woman and use it to celebrate culture ehhh nawa ohhhh this is just pure and simple racism small time now they would say we black people have started again abi well i hope she brings that her little sorry self to apologies for her supidity amean just imagine... it really looks repulsive and anoying infact she should not get me started ehhh

Linda post the full story. They are speaking out against racism that is why they made it look this bad so that we all would talk and have a renewed fervor against it.

the swedish people are very racist to black people go to sweden and you would see what i am saying and aboslutely nothing is done about it so this does not surprise me at all

abeg where boko horam dey make dem come finish the job absolutely nonsense

Alusi Okija of Nairaland. said...

Make una see as people wan kill theirself untop cake matter o!!

Whats racist about a black woman cake?! I remember my little sisters 5 year old birthday cake was made in the shape of a "White Barbie", does that translate into being racist?! I recently also saw a wedding cake on BBM that was made into the shape of a white woman, is that also racist?!

Naija people sef. . Una blood can sabi hot quick. . Free the woman jor!! Cake na cake.

Austin said...

Not just racist buh canibalistic!

wrong, very wrong, even if the intentions were noble. These people should understand that it's their actions that would be judged!

This is barbaric. They are telling us that they are barberians and would start with eating black people.

I can't eat a cake that depicts a human part, be it a a wedding cake depicting the groom or bride. It simply barbaric. YUK.

this is highly racial to me,was the cake symbolism to the occassion in the sense a black woman in form of a cake. wat cultural heritage r dey promoting. this so clear the message they were driving out wit the cake.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etAYFadObVY

the video of the cake.
It's just freaky.....

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/racist-cake-artist-behind-swedish-798491

The cake was designed by some moronic and pretentious "black" artist in Sweden and was very deliberately done as a racist caricature.

It has little to do with the Swedish minister and everything to do with some demented attention whore of an artist living in Sweden.

This cake they make these days, i dont understand. its not funny the image it dipicts. the baker might have nothing in mind as in racsim but there is nothing sweet about it.

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

RACISM RACISM RACISM RACISM RACISM,RACISM,RACISM,RACISM RACISM RACISM

Owariobo said.
I did not blame her, is our foolish politician that will take our money to invest in their economy. What on earth would they prepared a cake in a black woman form. That is racist.

Chioma said...

whether na racism oo or not,all i know is that they are not better than us,Period.

Unavailable said...

apinke says;

u all shud just shut d fuck up.wen a similar photo appeared weeks ago on dis blog of a nigerian wedding wit a cake dat luks white,u guys didnt say racism.i tire 4u oh
d fact is racism is inherent in us;whether black,white or coloured

Absolute Bullocks!

Lived and schooled in Stockholm for 2 years and they are as racist as they come,this doesn't come as a surprise,ode's!!!!

Certain things should be ignored

Linda! Check ur sources b4 u post. If u actually read d article properly on Daily Mail, u wld have seen the cake was made by the art museum to show more awareness on female genital mutilation in african countries. Y d cake was made to look so ugly & scaryn I

1}Cutting from below suggests circumcision which is common in Africa.

2}what is her spoon doing at cake's mouth? To dig out the tongue, hence removing the 'freedom of speech?' or

I really don't understand the concept behind this cake, but one thing is for sure: IT'S A DAMN UGLY LOOKING CAKE, THAT INSULTED THE SENSIBILITIES OF AFRICAN WOMAN!

Its rude and unnecessary. It should have been properly thought of. The cake is not for exhibition purposes. Its for eating...duh. Of course it will come across as racist.....and I dont like it. 90pc blacks wont and it will be the same reaction if if were vice-versa.

Lolsss

Let's call a spade a spade. If this thing had happened in a black country, it wld av bn all over the news CNN, BBC ąπϑ d likes. IT IS PURELY RACIST. To them, black pple r less......smh! *precious*

anti cic gossip said...

LINDA!! I am a first time commenter on your blog although I've been following it closely for months now, I school in Canada and hardly every find time to get Naija news, so I check your blog everyday to see whats going on, so thankss! :-) as for this story. hmmmm. only God knows the intentions of their hearts, and if it was infact racist, something HORRENDOUS must happen to those people. even more entertaining than reading your blog is reading what Nigerians have to say about the stories.. soo funny. write on linda! :)

Let's call a spade a spade. If this thing had happened in a black country, it wld av bn all over the news CNN, BBC ąπϑ d likes. IT IS PURELY RACIST. To them, black pple r less......smh! Besides, I wonder how much dat guy was paid. *precious*

Where do i begin? is it the fact that the image represent a black person? or the fact that the genitals are been sliced? or the stupid smirk on the minister's face showing how much she is enjoying the distasteful joke.
the image is very disturbing on so many levels. But then again everyone knows the swedish are RACISTS!

FortySeven said...

May not be racist but it definately is distasteful! Especially with all the awareness going into female genital mutilation. These pics could be interpreted as support FOR female genital mutilation...

LaellaNorway said...

The artist who baked it is an african oh. The meanings he gave are different and the minister on acted based on how he interpreted it. Its not racist, its provocative and if anyone should be blamed it should be our black brother who baked it!

Charles said...

Linda, maybe it will serve you and your readers well to report the full story surrounding this.
Apparently, the artist who happens to be a black man designed the cake to highlight the plight of African women still subjected to female mutilation aka circumcision.
Maybe not very tastefully done or presented but racist? i don't think so.

ejura ochoil said...

Sure this is pure racism. Mtchewwwww yeye oyibo ppl.

Yes, I agree it was racist. But is anyone addressing the main issue @ hand here....In 2012, in some remote villages young poor girls are still getting circumsized....That's the issue we need to address.

Admin said...

Linda-Linda, bone these people, BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL

everything dat happens these days is racism.why don't you guy take ur time and read about their motives,i'm sure they've got some,so u can understand where they're comming instead of just making judgements base on gossips...tunde

Anon April 18, 2012 11:19 PM; Germans? Did you read the story? More obscene if anything.

UgoBabeeee said...

And look at the way they made the face, very ugly...as a black baker is this how he sees his people? the cake face has such a primative look to it....why our own people join outsiders to insult us, i cant figure out...selling their soul

This is not a racist act but it is very rude!!! I think we can call it an expensive joke!!!

Oyidi said...

Well, its a shame, not 2 the black skin but to her and her co-horts. For a prime minister to show off her hatred for the blac race in a despicable manner, is really a shame. The irony of the pix which I find most amusing is the fact that she still ate the damn cake**disgusting* what does that tell u??

laxtazy said...

dis cake is soo illuminatic in nature...lol

it was great art by a great artist.
it was his head wearing a mask and crying when the cake was being cut.
this was done to highlight the evils of female circumcision carried out in africa.
take a huge fuckin' look in the mirror.

base said...

i ve never seen where a cake was decorate with black ice. atleast there shld b a motive for for using that ridiculous decoration.

base said...

i ve never seen where a cake was decorate with black ice. atleast there shld b a motive for for using that ridiculous decoration.

base said...

This is disgusting and ridiculous. I am actually short of words.

If it was so funny, why didn't they depict a white woman like that?

Of course it is racist and another way of demeaning your fellow man.

Sylvia said...

Dont even know what to say, bt that cake, whatever it is doesnt even look appetising! Yuck, the sight of it makes me wanna puke. A black cake??? Jesus!!!

Speaking as a black person, I am deeply offended by those black people who use every opportunity to cry racism. The piece of art work was done by a black person, not a white person and the artist's intention was to draw attention to the plight of many African women. We all need to wise up and stop crying foul at every given opportunity. I am sure many persons who commented here about the piece being racist did not even know the artist was a black man, goes to show how fickle some people are

PS: i live in sweden by the way and i am black! This minister is anti racist there is even a black woman who is a minister here in Sweden. We should change our attitude and stop being an object of self pity. Should white people be crying racist to the cake that was shown here on LIB of a white woman cake at a black wedding?

Cece said...

@Anonymous 08:48
Looool....'White wedding cake at black wedding'....that's a whole new perspective! Nice one.

this is racism disguised as a 'laugh off'. Whites know how to do that, Whether it was a black baker that made the cake or not.
They should have cut a Caucasian instead, then it might have actually been funny!

@anonymous April 19, 2012 4:48 PM, please listen to yourself for a moment, you sound like a zombie

given the current racial tensions especially in europe and america, the cake, the photos and the whole idea portends and passes messages that may not be palatable to the average black person!!!

mary said...

This is so so disgusting and upsetting, whatever it is ,is far from being a black woman for sure, however it depicts that and so for that reason, this woman and the group or association should be sued. Very insulting...

YOu all are dumbos!!!Is that the face of a woman or ??????....please get real people

The cake maker is most definitely a coconut

April 19, 2012 4:48 PM what rubbish are you vomiting ehh which part of sweden do you reside in ohhh as it is know here in sweden that racism is of the highest order so please let us know where you reside in sweden

why did the baker not use green icing suger ehjhh why black anyway it was disgusting pure and simple

Essy said...

That is one of the most disgusting things i have ever seen in my life i dont care if she is an anti racism advcocate this is just plain rude and insensitive what da hell

A said...

The cake is ugly pure and simple.... but as the person who baked it was black....... MAKE ALL OF UNA SHUT UP.

Linda I think you need to update this article and add that the minister is an anti racism advocate and what the artist had in mind when he made the cake and that THE ARTIST WAS BLACK!

A said...

The cake is ugly pure and simple.... but as the person who baked it was black....... MAKE ALL OF UNA SHUT UP.

Linda I think you need to update this article and add that the minister is an anti racism advocate and what the artist had in mind when he made the cake and that THE ARTIST WAS BLACK!

Well, the artist who did this is black by the way. The irony on so many levels. He did this for media publicity----looks like he got it!!

I don't know whether the cake was meant to be a racist act or not, cos I don't know the reason behind it but it definitely looks gross and disgusting.

If she's really against the mutilation act, why smile when doing it? White folks are too queer...this 'work of art' is odd...especially with the way the cake was 'crying'

This is sickening. I will like to get into the mind of the sicko that baked this cake. It is a weird sense of humour and I am afraid to say almost borders on satanism!smh

Probs one of those coconut men in Sweden..I mean blackman in Sweden says it all..when we don't have any respect 4 ourselves how would others..this is nothing but covert racism FOX news do it a lot get some brainwashed idiotic blacks parade their foolishness..and White people would say..ay..ur people said it..a black man baked it!!..and u surprised that bastard killed 71 people in Norway..its this same mentality that fosters hatred..@Str8frmDaHips

@Somi..u a bush gal and probs just gotten into Europe or worship whites foolishly..just zip it alright..grown folks are talking!!

I'm appalled!!!! Don't even know what to say...

Frenchie said...

I was going to qualify that as racism but I read the comments ... goes to show the caution we all need to use
anyway this is extremely gross and crass kind of surprising a female minister would even accept to joke aroung this

OluwaPelumi Ogunde said...

dis is racism ,pure and simple , if not racism then somebody tell me what she means

Linda y do lyk 2 instigate negativity?u always present stories half-way....

Goebbels said...

BUT THE CAKE WAS MADE BY A BLACK AFRICAN ARTIST....LINDA YOU INTENTIONALLY LEFT THAT PIECE OF INFO OUT!!!

IS IT STILL RACIST NOW?

Why don't we make jokes about AIDS, or human trafficking, or child labour, or wife battery, the list is endless. If they wanted to bring light to female mutilation, why not air a documentary on it, showing real victims, and not make a joke of it.

I am appalled by the comments of african people here, especially the one who claims to live in sweden. For your info, a cake maker NEVER unilaterally decides what design to use in making a cake, they are usually given specifications on what to make so the excuse that the baker is black is unfounded. If GEJ had an event, would the cake maker design a cake without instruction???

The minister cutting that part of the cakes simply is a mockery of genital mutilation and the primitive look of the woman just shows what they think of us.

finemocha said...

linda why arent you showing my comments. grow some thick skin

Chipmunk said...

It just looks gross, but I bet it tasted great!! All that chocolate, yum!

Y? Y? Y? Y? Y? Y? Y? As far as i'm concerned this is the height of being IN-HUMAN!!!! To think d cake is 'female' too....shuldnt they even be scared to eat a black cake??? i mean cake shuld look appeallin not scary..i jst dont get these white people..#not interested either# Ibk.

ade isma said...

i'm simply speechless*mouth open* at d level of insenstivity displayd by both d artist and d minister. Really insipid,stupid act.

What we see here in this photo, is a clear evidence of the persistence Swedish discrimination of coloured people in Sweden. You can see the intensity of passion in her laugh by dehumanizing the act of a black man. I do not have the right adjective to qualify her. I am going to raise this issue before the legal department.

simon said...

I'll reserve my comments lol

An annonymous person wrote here that because the cake baker is black we should all shut up, if u haven't lived in Sweden it is impossible for you to how very clever the Swedes are in colonizing and brainwashing immigrant in Sweden. The cake is a clear evidence that the black baker is lost and have lost his bearing therefore have no more sence of his race or where he comes from... trust me I live in Sweden and I know how is like living here. The real victim here is the cake baker and not our African Queen