TV host Toke Makinwa doesn't think I'm a role model. Urm, OK...:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 April 2012

TV host Toke Makinwa doesn't think I'm a role model. Urm, OK...:-)

Ghen ghen, fight between Linda Ikeji and Toke Makinwa. Lol. Unfortunately I don't really know who she is...never met her...only seen her Flytime interviews. I hear she's also a radio presenter...and apparently she said on radio recently that I am not a role model...

Here's how Thenetng is reporting it
Popular radio and TV presenter Toke Makinwa has aired her thoughts about popular blogger and former model Linda Ikeji stating she ‘doesn’t think Linda Ikeji is a role model’.
Little known Makinwa who works as a radio presenter on popular urban radio station Rhythm 93.7 dropped her comments on air while she was co-anchoring ‘The Morning Drive’ recently.
I don’t think Linda Ikeji is a role modelShe’s a gossiper, She sells gossip’, Makinwa said on the show and even appealed to her listeners not to take the likes of popular US blogger Perez Hilton and Miss Ikeji seriously.
Well, she's entitled to her opinion. I have nothing against that statement...I understand where she's coming from. Some of the posts hurt people, some help people. It's the media, it's the job I chose. Like every other job, it has its advantages and disadvantages. You win some, you lose some. I get it. I accept it.

It's times like this I almost forget who I am...but then I remember where I'm coming from and I smile. Let me tell you guys a story. Please continue...

It was early 2000, I was 19 years old, in my second year at the University of Lagos. I'd been a model for about a year and a half then. Modeling back then didn't pay a lot. Sometimes you eat, sometimes you can't find food. Sometimes you had money, sometimes you will have to beg for it. I'm not from a rich home. I started struggling since I was 17 to support my family. So I kinda hard a tough life growing up but I kept working, doing all sorts of modeling jobs, ushering, fashion shows, and at one point I sold beer at a hotel. I'd leave lectures, go to a hotel and sell beer from 1pm till 10pm. I did this for a few months. It wasn't easy but I had to survive. One of the things I said to myself back then was, the day I sell my body to a man for money, may God strike me dead. I was determined to make it on my own, never let any man take my dignity. In those days, most young girls had an aristo...I was never one of those girls. I would rather starve or beg for food than give my body to a man for money.

So back to my story. It was early 2000, I hadn't done any modeling jobs in a bit. I didn't have any money in school, hadn't eaten a proper meal in days, there was no money at home...my sister called and asked if I could send money home...didn't have any. I wondered what to do...then I thought of this aristo who had been chasing me for months now...old man...married...rich...in his fifties. I said to myself, why don't you call him and beg him for money. Tell a lie, say you need it to go to the hospital 'cos you're sick or something that desperate. Which was what I did. What he said to me was 'you know I like you. I don't know why you're behaving like a child. You need someone to take care of you blah blah blah'. Eventually he said I should meet him at a hotel. I will never forget that hotel...Ambassadors hotel in Ikoyi. I was apprehensive about going but I was desperate...I said to myself what's the worse that can happen? It's not like he will rape you and there was no way in hell I would sleep with him, so I figured even if he didn't give me the money I asked for, at least he would give me money for transport fare to go back home...that transport fare was what I was looking forward to honestly. I didn't have a dime on me, in fact I borrowed small money from a friend to go to the hotel.

So when I got there, he bought me hotel food (my first real meal in days...:-)) and after I was done eating, he made his move. I shoved him off. He kept trying and I kept pushing him away and after a while he got angry and said something like, why did you come here then? Are you a child? He was angry that I made him pay for a hotel room, spent money on food etc and not give him what he wanted. So he got up to leave...and I told him I didn't have any money to go back to school. If looks could kill, I would have died in that moment he turned to look at me. He left the hotel room, and I followed him. I kept begging and trying to explain to him that I didn't have transport to go back, he didn't say a word to me as he entered his vehicle and drove off.

I stood in front of the hotel wondering how I was going to get back to school. All I had on me was N15. N15 wasn't going to take me from Ikoyi to Akoka. In my plans, I never imagined that I wasn't going to at least get a few thousands from him. I'd seen this guy before...he was a friend's boss. He owned a media business back then and every time I went to see this friend, this man would call me into his office...tell me how pretty I am, how much he likes me and how well he can take care of me. And he always gave me 5k whenever I was ready to leave his office. But this time I was the one who called him...so he must have figured I was ready to give in. We both misunderstood each other, I guess...:-)

Anyway, after standing in front of the hotel for a few minutes, I went back in and saw a young man at the front desk. I explained my situation to him...he was kind enough to give me N100 and that was the money that took me half way home. By the time I got to Yaba, I'd run out of cash, so I trekked from Yaba bus stop to UNILAG Akoka. I remember saying to myself while I was trekking with tears in my eyes, that one day I'm going to make something of myself...every money I make in this world would be my own hard earned money...I don't care how bad it gets, no man is ever going to take away my self respect...that's all I have!

And that's the way I lived. Determined to make it in life. On my own terms. As my own woman. I kept struggling and struggling until God finally blessed me. Now I have more money than I even know what to do with it. I make millions of naira from what I love doing...blogging. The best part of all this is that I would blog for free. Now I don't chase money anymore...it chases me. It's not even just about the money, it's the great friends I've met via this blog, the wonderful people I interact with here, the freebies I get. How much of a big deal I am to some people. How some people see me in person and scream with excitement and want to take photos with me. Sometimes I pinch myself...I almost can't believe this is my life.

Once in a while I think of that 19 year old girl who trekked for miles to school because she would not sell her body and I say to her, we made it, Linda, we made it!

So maybe I'm not a role model in terms of what I do, but I know I'm definitely a role model as a young woman. To all the young girls out there, if you're reading this, you can make it on your own. You don't need to spread your legs for men, you don't need these old married men who just take your glory. You're strong, you're beautiful, there's nothing you can't achieve on your own. God has given you something no one else has. Find what it is and build yourself. Don't worry about what other girls around you have. Dignity is far more valuable than a range rover. Make it in life on your own terms and as your own woman, so that you can look back one day and be proud of who you were and who you are.

I wish every one well in their journey. God bless.
Linda Ikeji

1,773 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1773   Newer›   Newest»

Linda,i m going thru d same:unemployed,broke but determined to make an honest living.ur story s encouraging.U ARE MY ROLE MODEL.PLS FORGIVE ME FOR JUDGING U.

Well said linda, I enjoyed reading ur story..,

God bless you Linda for this post. It is so encouraging to see your journey, and to know that not everyone sleeps for money

reinedamsel said...

linda i read ur story with tears in my eyes.u are a wonderful lady.i love u linda.#nohomo

Tolu (@twreckx) said...

Hi Linda,
Let me say this first: you are a gossip blog. Own it and accept it. There is nothing wrong in being a gossip blog. Own that and accept that. You don't owe anyone explanations about who, or what you are.

I personally think you're amazing. Your blog has sass, heart, and tongue-in-cheek humour. You give your unvarnished opinion, and take the criticism on the chin, apologise when you feel you have wronged someone. You cultivated an audience and a following that are loyal and while the blog is not perfect, it is good at what it does.

And for all those who tell you off for selling out celebrities for fame, really don't see the effort that it takes to post stories that are honest, without delving into slander and innuendo. There are millions of websites that post all sorts of crap. Yet everyone wants to emulate what you've done.

I fancy myself to be one of those hoity-toity (lol, no!) educated people who wouldn't be caught dead reading a gossip rag, but along side the celebrity news, you make the effort to post stories that have heart. People read and respond to that; I certainly do.

I guess she didn't notice that you helped someone get the healthcare he deserved.

I guess she didn't notice your bravery posting Chude's story on gay rights in Nigeria.

Or Naeto C's then girlfriend, now wife, "outcast" status in 21st century Nigeria.

Or the story about women being abused, beaten, killed.

Or your own personal stories on sexuality after FGM.

I could go on, but all I'm trying to say that lots of and are jealous of your success (including me).

While you skirt (and on rare occasion, cross) the line of appropriateness at times I have yet to see you be mean, spiteful, or come across with anything more than good humour.

Keep posting, and keep your chin up.

Wow! Linda I'm speechless. U re a brave woman and an inspiration to many young girls. Infact you are a Role model regardless of what anyone says.keep up the good work! Love u loads
-Abimbola O

U know Linda, I'd never really understood ur kinda psn, but after today I jst want to say that Ure a role model and I respect you now that I have read ur story. Be sure that the glory of God wl never cease to manifest in ur life in Jesus name.

Gozman said...

Linda, this is the first time I am commenting on your blog. I am a university don, but i do find time to follow you. I shed tears as I read your story. You are an outstanding young woman.One of these days I hope to meet you in person to tell you so.Just be right before God, people's opinions are secondary.

Well said Linda. Everyone will fight their own battles and chart their own course in life. You're a role model jare. Who no like am fit go hug transformer

yaay am the first ..........kai see how this tokstarr uprooted memories. LINDA dont mind her , whats her business she should concentrate on her job , e be like say work never wire am well well , na she come be role model shior?? that overbleached child iranu
linda dey carry waka joor, just blog about reasonable & interesting stuffs....cheers

spicee said...

Keep doing what you do and keep ur head up Linda.‎​I can totally relate with your story and truely like you said,there's no glory spreading your legs for a man for money.‎​I just fell in love with you all over again..#no homo.

Toke Makinwa STOP bleaching. We all know U from secondary school and UNILAG. Where did the fake British accent come from?? Magic

Austno Da Whizchap! said...

Awwwwww.....now, I feel like crying. Its not fair. Anyway, am so sure Toke didn't mean it that way, cos I was listening to the radio on that very day. Which ever way, you ladies, I love. You both inspire in ýour own very little and massive ways. Linda, I love you more now. *wink* Wishe you more success in your choosen career. Please blog more abt yoursef often...such an inspiration. Adios!

adenike said...

Hello Linda,your story is a touching one. Well done Sis,I'm really glad at what you turned out to be-successful. We all have stories to tell and while some are touching,some aren't that great. I knew you when you were with DanFoster and you were pretty cool then. As regards Toke Makinwa;that was a silly and tactless statement. I always tell people this "A woman is a woman's greatest problem". Have solace is TheNetng's line which is "little known Toke Makinwa" and kindly move on. I respect and appreciate what you do. I'm also a radio broadcaster and if there's one thing most of us lack-it is TACT. Once you switch on the microphone,you feel you're in charge of people's lives and maybe invincible also.
All the best love!

Michael said...

Emmm Linda,I don't know if dis ur story is true,but u shld knw dat pple are entitled to their opinion.so if dat "Radio presenter"not even Tele presenter feels she can run her mouth,no problem.let's see where she'll get to in her carrier.you know wat lInda,let me advice yhu on somtin,if pple haven't started talking wrong or bad about u,u better enroll cos dats d only way u can move fast higher than them.keep the hustle girl,in no time we'll celebrate your castle

wow linda, that was inspiring pls keep doin what you do. people who talk ill about other people, let's see where it will get them.

U know Linda, I'd never really understood ur kinda psn, but after today I jst want to say that Ure a role model and I respect you now that I have read ur story. Be sure that the glory of God wl never cease to manifest in ur life in Jesus name.

KAYODE TRINITY said...

Linda, don't mind what anyone says. There are a lot of people who get inspiration from you and believe in you. You build dreams and you are a source of encouragement to the hopeless nigerians.

You may not know me but I have known you long time ago when you were a model, till you started the blog (remember when your blog wasn't this tight, when it had month and dates at the right hand side).

Even if you are not a role model, the fact that people wake up in the morning and first thing they want to check is your blog for latest news shows they like you and believe in you. I'm far away in London, and your blog keeps me up to date with my mother land (Nigeria).

People will talk but what matters is your focus, passion and determination to keep doing what you love doing and doing it to the best.

KEEP IT UP LINDA.....AT THE END, ALL THESE BACKBITERS DON'T MATTER.

Rita said...

This is definitely a plan work between the two of you just to make you a headline,I call this cheap publicity plsss

Aawww linda,ur story is very touchy. After i read dis,it give me hope within dat i can make it 2 in lif,dough gud tins dnt come easily . Tanks 4 ur advice nd 4 sharin ur story.God bless.

Dapsyn said...

Wow!!! Incredible. I believe there's nothing I can't achieve in as much my heart conceive it... I love your blog.

Chinedum Ucheoma said...

Linda this is it! I"m not a lady but for sure you spoke to me. You are a wonder and no one can take it away from you.

I saw a tweet the other day where some one said LINDA IKEJI BLOG gets more visitors than Arik, The Nation etc; wetin people dey read there sef? I just replied, more visitors because she knows what she does and do so excellently

Teddy said...

Don't listen to her Linda,speaking about who's a role model your more to people than her worthless self. she wasn't there from the beginning its God who has lead your this far in lyf and trust me,this is just your stepping stone. Don't let her words hurt you ..>keep walking straight and keep your head high cuz your getting there .Much Love.

rilla64 said...

Does Toke Makinwa consider herself a role model? has she achieved even half of what Linda has achieved?
Linda, You should not have dignified Toke's rant with a response at all. By the way she's been getting free publicity on your blog from those flytime videos you keep posting else she would have been unknown to us. She should be grateful to you if anything.

I can't spend a day without checking you blog at least 5 times. There is no assassination of character on your blog at all and you have single-handedly put all those soft selfs out of business. Met you at Woolworths two weeks ago and you were totally down to earth. Some people just don't get it though. I dey vex

Ray

dat a gud story m proud of u its just dat m a guy if nt u r my role model dnt care wateva any1 says dey can go 2 hell.

now that's an inspiring story. you should write a book u know (that's when u get bigger) so save some of the stories.
i listened to that lady (Toke) while she said all sorts of stuff like that and I felt that such an opinion of hers should not be said out on air. I like your maturity on this issue, GGMUB!

Pretty Lashes said...

oh wow,

Well done Linda.

nuges said
Awww!!!
Inspiring.
As Toke Makinwa to google her name and lets see what she would get. Or what could she have would she tell American Embassy she does that Nigerians in thier hundreds (dead & alive) have not done. .. TV & Radio presenting .. lonsense..

We luv u o jare Linda... Keep ya head up..

God Bless

Nice story. But what is one man's meat is another man's poison.

Linda thanks for sharing, believe me you have changed a young girl's perspective of life with this story already..BIGNAIJABABE

Linda I must say that I prefer this side of you much better....very inspiring....kudos babe

Chaii! your story is really touching.....dont mind dat toke....you've finished her with ur story.....

Chipmunk said...

Keep doing you Linda!!!! Cool story and God bless you!

Never let any of this get to you, keep yer head up!

Adele said...

Wow, Linda. This is deep. You really put yourself out there and that is why ever since I discovered your blog, I have come to deeply respect you. How many "celebs" will admit what you have admitted. Some act as if they don't even fart not to talk of crap, instead of admitting that they come from humble beginnings so that they will inspire others in similar situations. Don't mind that Toke Makinwa, omo de lo'nse (she is just being a child). I only know of her from reading LL's blog and the things said were not complimentary at all. In fact, they were so uncomplimentary that LL had to take down the post. The Lord who has brought you thus far will uphold you and perfect all that concerns you. I have new found level of respect and admiration for you. And let me also add that I knew of you from your modelling days so when I heard you had turned a blogger, I almost laughed out loud because of the misconception that models especially Nigerian models are airheads. So I am happy to admit that I was wrong about you. Like my mum always prays for me, God will give you your best friend as a husband. Someone who will not just be the head in all sense of the word, but a shepherd over your home, a lover, a provider, a father and an inspiration too. Continue to keep your head up girl!!!

Aunty Linda, u've put tears to my eyes reading this short story about you, I really do hope a lot of young ladies learn from this and as a guy myself the thought of how you struggled but eventually made it spurs me on to greatness....I've always been a fan but reading this adds one thing more,it make you a mentor to me.thanks Aunty Linda

Mur Dav said...

i know toke makinwa, infact i m a big fan but i think wat she said is wrong.Dnt mind wat she said linda, we love u and i think you are a great role model.

Linda! just when i thought i couldn't be more proud of you! I am so so proud of you! Your opinion of yourself is always more important than other people's opinion of you. You came, you blogged and we are all reading your blog but most importantly, even without knowing your back story, some of us were already proud of you and will always be proud of you!

Lyda r u saying she sleeps with men ... To get to where she is ...

Linda the propagandist!!! Hahaha....lwkmd for dis ur story o! Abeg U be role model you hear, lol, shey u are happy now? Hahahahaaa, abeg go and marry jor,or are u still kiping dat dignity at 32?

Now u wanna make me cry...sobs.. well if ur story is true, thumbs up 2u and to d small girls i bet u sld learn 4rm dis... remesoftgal

thad said...

Truly inspiring....and yes even though its gossip...ur blog is one of the more responsible ones wen it comes to reporting gist. So to u Linda i well done and kudos.

Thank you for sharing Linda.

Many people tend to mis-undertand others until they have heard their stories or walk in their shoes.

I had been insulted like this in my blog by a young Nigeria gal that schools in America and was a regular then.I replied her: 'WHY DO YOU BUY MAGAZINES? WHY DO YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING TO CELEBRITIES? WHAT IS DIFFERENT FROM WHAT IS INSIDE THERE AND WHAT I AM WRITING IN MY BLOG?

The truth is that many pretend but they like gossip dieee! It is what one does with the gossip that is the issue. We all learn from other people's mistake....IS IT NOT FROM GOSSIP WE HEAR ABOUT IT?

Keep up with what you are doing Linda dear..like you said, every profession has it's own risk. This is one of them.

I commend you for keeping to your 'integrity' many gals would had cave in when the pressure was much.

I'm really proud of you and your hustle...I'm also glad that you don't let such comments discourage you. Keep on doing what you do, like you said it doesn't matter as long as you love what you do. I hope a lot of young girls get to read your story and understand that hard work pays. Thanks for being an inspiration.

kammy said...

awwwww i have never left a comment on your post, i always read others and smile, but this time i must.

God Bless you darling, He deserves all the praise and is awesome.

Kisses.

Linda u make a wonderful role model.. Every1 loves 2 gossip, to knw what's happening, to have a hearty conversation and all sometimes, and dis is where we get all dat...sometimes I'm having a bad day I come on dis blog, check out d post and d comments make me laugh so hard...I realise life isn't so bad afterall... Neva been able to post a comment but I enjoy dis blog like every other active participant. Pple tell u dis and dat...u don't have 2 dis defend urself...just believe u're linda!... Be urself! life's short too 2 spend it trying 2 live up 2 pple's standard. Every1 can't love u... No mata how hard u try or gud u are.

Tolu (@twreckx) said...

I posted a whole essay, and it got chewed up by the internet :(

All I was trying to say is that, your blog, has heart, soul and sass, and is more than a gossip blog. Don't let people tell you any different.

She should go read the posts on Naeto C and his girlfriend, or Chude's gay rights post, or your personal posts on sexuality after FGM, or women abused by spouses. Or the one guy who was able to get his diabetes treated. Journalistic beacons? Not all of them, but they get Nigerians discussing things that should be aired out.

Signed
A (jealous) fan

My dear Linda ... I went thru worst , so plzzzzzzz , n I made it without any compromise

eBubaY said...

Dignity is far more valuable than a range rover

Nabzie said...

wow Linda!!! God bless you. God bless you more

My dear, you do not need to write this long epistle. She is entitled to her opinion. Besides, do you need to seek for people's approval? No! The only one you need His approval is God and once you have it, you have all. Wink.

Even the two pictures above shows Ʊ r a role model cos i'v never seen Ʊ dresses indecently. See her own dress. She's just one of the haters. Abeg 4get her joor and carry on. LIB readers dey gbadun Ʊ anyday anytime. Mariam

Quite touching, but everyone also has a story to tell, we've kept our bodies too, now living a good life. its not all about money and freebies, life is more than all of than my dear. People only like you for what you do because you're indirectly a source of income to them. God is watching us all, dont try to tell us your story for self-pity. We've all had our tough times.

Awwww so sweet,proud of u linda,hope young girls out there will learn from your story....God bless n keep up d gud work girl

@ObaFuntAy said...

Hello Role Model,
This is Beautiful. Simply Beautiful.
#TT

Awwwwwwww.....touching!

AMEN!!! Good story. People will always have their opinions tho *kanye shrug*

Dr.G said...

Nice story Linda! What do I think about you? I think I like you because I can relate to you. You are just plain simple. About being a role model. Don't worry too much about it. Forget what the lady said or what anyone says. We like you. I like you that's why I visit your blog & leave comments.

Linda, dnt mind dat yeye girl,she be MUMU, make she talk anytin way she like. Me dey enjoy ur swagga jare. Ode oshi

adenike said...

Lest I forget, why would a broadcaster say "gossiper"? It's gossip!! A gossip gossips not a 'gossiper' gossips. There's nothing like gossiper Madam Toke.

nwosu emeka said...

U'r definatly a role model(at least 2 me) am amazd at hw much u av influend d youthz tru ur blog.i realy wnt 2 appreciate u.i av a lot 2 say bt i jst cnt type them all.i jst knw u'r a gud persn nd a examplary nd vry creative individual.tke cre sis

I am overwhelmed by your story. You are indeed a role model and i'm sure Toke and her likes would appreciate where you are coming from after reading this story. These young, ill mannered, aristo crazy girls should just grow up and be real.

Linda. This is so touching. I had tears in my eyes whilst reading this. Reminds me of my childhood,how my siblings & suffered so much after our father's death. I admire ur courage & determination but we can't all be the same. When I got to d university,things got too tough for me financially so I was forced to get an aristo. I ended up becoming a full-time runs babe to enable me buy hand-outs & feed myself. I don't regret doing it cos that was d only option. Linda May God bless u more abundantly.

Had tear in my eyes after reading this cus I'm almost in same financial situation*minus the feeding and family part sha* and I thank God. Your story was in 2000*you don old sha* and its 2012 the level of temptation now is tremendous, even ur own friends call u names*dolapo* and co. Its just very difficult now in the society we live in, the economic situation n all and I really can't wait to say the word 'we made it* your story really encoraged me and s/o to all the ladies working hard to make it on their own wiv their dignities intact God is watching and he's your strength. As for the presenter: yaaaay!!! You made it in2 linda blog. Happy now?

I neven knew much about Linda, but reading your bio and linking it to your success brings joy to my heart. YOU ARE A ROLE MODEL.
She just dey beef ur success jare.

Linda bad belle dey show face for different level,anyway, i wan correct you, she nor be TV host, she be radio presenter for beat fm.

i be ya fan for 9japidgin.com

jojoophina said...

Linda tell them o. mbok don't mind them let them keep hating. you are one of my role models jor.. Miss Toke can like to take a dive into the atlantic ocean or better still look for a mop and dry up bar-beach. hatter oshi! wit her dead interviews on flytime tv she can't even ask proper questions just be washing people. I'm even angry sef. Linda baby don't allow any one piss u off

GOD BLESS U MORE linda...awwww im so touched..u rock gal..ure ma role model..its jes beefs nd alwz remember. not everybody will like you.. love you plenty plenty.

Nkechi said...

If all u say is true, then i really admire you. I have never struggled in my life but i am desperately waiting on God for a blessing rite now and one important thing your message taught me is that God will reward our patience, he never owes! You are a role model in sooooo many ways unfortunately in more ways than Miss Makinwa can keep up with. That said, she's a free individual entitled to her opinion and truth be told, u mite hav hurt her in past with some of your posts. Larrrrvvv ya blog

Lola said...

Hi Linda, I am thrilled with your story and am so proud of you.
Toke Makinwa...... I will really appreciate if you can share your own story cos i don't why you will say that linda is not a role model.
Aside the story she shared, she has done nothing but help people (eg Okeoghene), comparing yourself to her, ow have you affected anybody's life.
Linda, Pls don't stop doing what you are doing.....you gat fans and so many people look up to you.
God will continue to bless you.

Cheers!!!!!!!!!!!

What's beef?

just when i was thinking of dating a married man for money, you told this story...I change my mind. Hard work and perseverance pays. God bless u Linda

ONOME says...................
Lindooooo,I read your story twice to make sure I absorbed everything and didn't miss any obvious detail or underlying nuance.

Somehow I think the Toke's remark got to you even though you so vigorously denied it."little known"lollllll.Anyway that is life.Some like you,some think you stink.In so far you believe in your heart that you are doing the right thing then keep rocking.Toke may be a bit right about the gossip part but your blog says boldly that it's about entertainment,news and *wink* gossip.(I hope I paraphrased that correctly:)But she forgets that this same blog has created awareness about topical issues.(wife battery,corruption:ibori;public nuisance:Patience goodluck in Lagos recently)This same blog has sent Oke to India.This same blog advertises designers etc and it is a platform that gives me and a lot of Nigerians both in Nigeria and in the diaspora;to air our views,yab each other,laugh at comments etc etc.

I find your story disturbing though.I am not too sure if it was wise to go so detailed.Too much information can be dangerous and things put on the Internet remain there.I understand that you were trying to give a glimpse into your growing up and what informed your decision to work so hard,I get that.i can also assure you that a lot of people me included went through stress in school also,but I am faceless and nameless and anonymous so even if I pour out my heart on your blog I remain faceless and it protects me and those in my life and keeps judgement and misplaced opinions far from us.I dunno if you understand where I am coming from.Maybe it makes me a coward but there are people in my life who would be hurt by the 2pence opinion of strangers commenting on them(me included)and that matters a great deal to me.hmmmmm.I guess what i am trying to point out is your mentioning your parents in this whole gist I no too like am(forgive me dear but parents are so precious and yes maybe some could not afford to provide totally for their kids ,my mom and dad too but I know it would hurt them bad bad if they somehow got to know that I was pushed to asking a married man for money cos they could not afford it even though it may be true)I also find it odd that your sister feels its proper to ask you to send money home as a student/model/worker.And I am glad that that married man did not take advantage of your naievity and rape you.You have been chopping his money(5k) and you still went to a hotel.married men do not just "dash"money!

For young girls who are finding it difficult to survive in school cos of financial challenges;there are so many ways to circumvent this.In my hostel I had girls/students who sold provisions,eggs,clothes,shoes,beads etc etc.There were also girls who made hair,fixed nails etc etc.I had a friend who used to wash clothes for other girls for money.THERE IS ALWAYS A WAY OUT.I didn't have to do all those but I had my own challenges too.Eating concotion rice continuously for 5days,no break.Buying okrika clothings,braiding my hair and carrying for 4 months,borrowing people's textbooks to read,trekking to the hostel from class instead of entering the campus taxis etc etc;there are always ways out.So chin up girls and face life squarely.

All the best Lindoooo!Your phrase"money chases me","I have so much money I don't know what to do with it" etc made me laugh die.Charity dear charity!keep giving,you are making your mark in people's lives!God bless you dear.

am almost in tears i'm really proud of u o lindy now know why god has blessed u so much keep it up dear u re really a role model to most pple believe me :). nnebbby

Inspiring story. Good one, Linda. It's amazin how people judge others without knowing their stories. Thanks for sharing that.

LeyiUsh said...

...very inspiring!!! Sometimes we have no idea why we through certain phases in our lives. God has bigger plans for us but most times he is testing our faith and attitude towards our present experiences.

EEE said...

Great Stuff Linda. Good work. I know some people will not understand this story in d manner it was intended for. Girl, i understand you very well. Good work once again, all them haters can go to hell. I admire your courage. Some people need to learn some basic truth of determination chanelled in the right direction. God bless you and bless you with a good man.

Anyone that says rubbish, i dare u to tell ur story. It takes courage to write something like this. Linda is a real babe, real to the core.

Ve bin a silent reader on ur blog 4 a long while now, I mst say u do sumtn great. No day is complete if I don't read ur updates. Mst people dnt even undastd d kind of job u do yet dey criticize. My dear, linda 2 me u r a role model 2 me n 2 many odas out there. Let her say wt she wants 2, its her mouth. Bt never let ny1 mk u question urself. D 1st n only tym I saw u @ shoprite I wz amazed cz u lkd so simple, humane n humble. I wz shy 2 walk up2 u thou. Stella Dimko hz received more yabs yet she is gd @ wt she does. My dear, kip up d gd work. God bless U!

ogbono ko si story said...

nyc one linda, d babe just wanted u to notice her. see her pic sef with all her boobs outside na she come b role model abi?

God Bless You Aunty Linda

LeyiUsh said...

...very inspiring!!! Sometimes we have no idea why we through certain phases in our lives. God has bigger plans for us but most times, he is testing our faith and attitude towards our present experiences.

Dare To Be said...

You're a role model.

amandaberry said...

Linda i'm so blown away by ur story and i'm positive it'll serve as a lesson and inspiration to other struggling young girls. Thanks alot

udrimz said...

My darling lindalino..leave dat idiot "TOKE" alone 2 yan rubbish..she's jst beefin,may God never let her get 2 ur level...buh linda u realy suffer o,did u treek without shoes..lolz

MY DEAR LINDA,DON'T MIND THAT YEYE TOKE JARE!I KNOW SHE AND HER VOLTRONS WILL SOON SHOW THEIR BLEACHED OUT SELVES ON THIS BLOG JUST LIKE THEY DID ON LADUN'S BLOG!SHAMELESS GIRLS!PLS KEEP BEING REAL LINDA.HATERS CAN ONLY HATE!LET THEM KEEP HATING WHILE YOU KEEP AIMING HIGHER AND HIGHER!

kate said...

Good talk Linda, you are a role model to me(a survivor) and to many ladies out there, irrespective of what any envious person is saying.Make them talk, na them get their mouth.

Go girl, you rock,keep up the good work.love you Linda

Chique Afrique said...

...very inspiring!!! Sometimes we have no idea why we through certain phases in our lives. God has bigger plans for us but most times, he is testing our faith and attitude towards our present experiences.

This is absolutely uncalled for... All these stories... Even one has a story... I think its better not to weep up sympathy whatsoever... lets keep moving and keep smiling.. thanks...

Wow! Nice one Linda! Even if your not a Role Model to her your a role model to others, an achiever and an inspiration to many.. People have their own views... This Role Model thing in Nigeria if we start to open people's secrets we'll see how many real role models we have. Thing is, i have come to realize that a role model is not someone whose perfect in all areas of his/her life but a role model is one who is persistent and determined to make it no matter one or no matter how many times he/she fails... The women i call Role Models are not perfect they've made so many horrible mistakes but i admire them because they never gave up, Example of which is Marion Luna Brem,she had a failed marriage, no job, Cancer and Two kids yet she made it despite all. "Role Models are not Perfect"The reason we celebrate them is because they made it despite their imperfection and despite their circumstances.

yes o! na so dis life be, nor be everi bodi persin go fit to please, even sef bad belle dey show for different levels.
ya own be say, make you dey continue to dey make sense for wetin you dey do.

i be ya fan for 9japidgin.com

Awwwwwwwwww God Bless you Real Good!! Forward Forevr No going Back Linda..Keep Focusing and Head up high always!!

This makes a lot of sense. God bless you. Jahbless

Mag said...

I love u soo much Linda!n u are a great role model!I wish I can be talented like u in the whole blogging thing,I'm stil tryin to find my talent..God has blessed u gurl,dnt let anything put u down.I won't even insult dt flytime presenter,cos as d article said'little known Makinwa'...dt says it all..she is nothing but a gurl tryin to b beautiful n known..no talent or achievemnt watsoeva to her name who must ve gone thru al d ways u said no to,to get to the little place she is now..incase u dnt know,u inspire most ladies!u make us blieve in ourslves,ur courage,charisma,attitude n behaviour is jst unique..it battles mi to undastand hw u hardly let negative comments get 2u,u shove it aside n move on..uve made changes in Nigeria n even outside wit the blogs u post,given pple deir dreams,made deir problems heard by the government,etc.its soo beautiful to read ur story now n hear ur begining..makes mi admire u d more...God bless u dear,u r a role model...#nuf said : )

Pee Cee Cee said...

Linda, your story brought tears to my eyes... and P.S, u don't have to explain yourself to anyone.... No one...Your outlook in life and your general demeanor shows who you are and where you are coming from... Haters will always hate... Keep your head up, girl... You have made it...

Am so touched....this story need to be told to this younger generation.moral decandace has eaten deep into our country, talk shows, seminars to curb such excesses be brought up. So we could cut down the rate of decandance

ibukun said...

Goo GIRL... True tal there and if anyone isnt proud of what you are.. they can as well take a flying F*** and has for our little miss makinwa or whats her name... u dnt need to listen to shallow minds.. let her to her opinion.who is she by the way to say things like that .. if am right u guys should be of the same age range, so for where that talk come from..cos i know u but av never heard of her so i tink she should be more focused on bin a more popular person than talking down on odas... U ROCK LINDA and trust me i learn from ur story...*wink

Anabel said...

lindaistic ikebishi......., heeeyaaaahhhh! Really don't know what to say! U've done well for urself. Congrats

bee007 said...

Really inspiring, had tears in my eyes. Trust me Linda, Toke is not half the woman you are in all ways; I know her. I personally love what you do, always looking forward to read your blog. Toke can go and jump inside lagoon.

To me , Linda , you are more than a model. You are a superstr.
PLs leave that big mouthed girl, na she get her mouth. she can say whatever she wants.

Are u saying toke makinwa slept with Aristo to have success?

I read Toke's statement on NET via twitter this morning while I was still in bed and I thought to myself, what guts? Who knows Toke? How many people listen to her and want to be on radio?

First blog I saw and wanted to do same was Linda's at that time I was looking for a platform on which I could be heard, just me doing my thing without any overbearing boss tearing down my nerves. Yours was the model!

Not all of us can be radio or TV like Toke. I have had my own fair share of working as a TV producer, editor of a magazine but none of them gives me the joy and peace of mind which blogging has brought me. I may not agree entirley with Linda's style of writing about people (I have often thought them to be malicious at times) but one thing is clear for all to see and that is the fact that Linda Ikeji has raised the bar when it comes to new media and anyone who does that in my books is certainly a ROLE MODEL!!!

Now Linda, back to the story you just shared, why did you make me cry? I could almost picture the face of the young dejected but strong Linda.

In any case, leave Toke alone, she might have made more sense if she had left it at the gossip. But my advice to you Linda is that you have to watch the way you write about people, it doesn't matter how determined you are to make something of your life as long as you use other people's lives to achieve your dreams then its malicious success.

Enough said by me. I love you Linda and do think you are a role model but you have to watch it.

And precisely because of that I am reposting your piece on my blog.

GistMaster said...

Very touching.... Linda, you are a very rare gem. I pray to God to give you the right husband

And at d end u come out smelling like roses......nice one

wth is toke makinwa...overbleached loose whore talkin trash on radio!
abeg make she go siddon for inside bush.who says such on radio anyhoos

Awwwww linda. I luv u but pls send me .oney na. I am a broke corp member

So toke is a runs girl . Heheh

Awwwwww linda you almost brought me to tears...you are a strong girl and a role model.forget what people say.

Don't mind her joor, u're a role model to us.

Dear Linda I love u even more now...d sky is just d begginin 4 u... U r an inspiration to me and milions of other youngsters...I'm not even goin 2 dignify d girl dat made dt statement by callg her name here...2 tink dt I'm ffg her on twitter...I sure hav unfolwd her...God used her 2 make u share ur story wit us n b more of an inspiration...God bless u more

ibo boy said...

Preach it Linda. Preach it. Because of aristo, many girls brains can't think of how to make money.

That TV presenter is ignorant... maybe jealous (Never even heard of her before until you made her semi-popular now). you are an inspiration and role model not only to girls but to guys, entrepreneurs and lots of other people.

Finally, I know you must have done somethings you are not too proud of but I know you wont tell us that part. ;) Hope our hungry naija girls will ponder on your story.

9jachic said...

Awww, felt like sobbing....nice story bout urself dear...really nice!

But hey Toke made a remark on what she thought of you...not what U are!

N/B: Hate the pic of urself u chose to put up here

Theresa said...

Wow N wow! My respect for you has gone up, u are a role model to young ladies. More grease...

Well, seriously I enjoy your blog and I read it everyday like the scriptures, but I dnt think you are my role model at all. I dont even rememba you wen I am thinking of my role models. If not for this unconfirmable story that you just told us, how would we hav known you were this virtuous as a teenager. And offcourse I dnt expect you to come here and tell us how you had a one nite stand wit a man twice your age or a lil boy old enuf to be your son,once the story is about Linda, it must be positive **winks**. Just face your blog business and 4get abt who see's you as role model and who doesnt.
BTW Linda try and marry na! Seriously maybe it is bcos u are nt married and becos you use to post some small small stories dat are nt true in your blog dat dis girl now said you are nt a role model.

Spe3cial said...

Linda..this is the first time i will write a comment to support u loool...the fact is that although she calls you a gossip..she is as well...she reads these 'gossip sites' and then picks points from them to use on her shows..her line of work is no different from urs, so don't let her belittle what u do..cos u probably make more from ur job and she is jealous. In my opinion, she used Ur name to TRY(cos it dint work) and increase hers...but its all good..cos u can tell that 19 year old girl that u r now so important that people want to use JUST ur name and influence to make a way for themselves. That's quite a feat and u should be proud. U have a similar story to my mum who is my role model and I am determined to pass on this message to my child one day. Be proud of hu u r cos im sure there r millions hu are proud of u!..have a wonderful day!..xx

For me, You are a role model to generation. i am inspire by your story

toke, u fuck up. who are you to say linda is not a role model. do u know how influential this blog is from occupy naija, to rape cases to oke ie the boy that was just flown out for surgery? or how linda has inspired soooooo many people to start their own blogs???? toke what have you done? is the flytime fame getting to your head already??? you are nowhere near linda! nowhere! she works for herself, earns her OWN money, meanwhile u still get paid by someone. you made a huge mistake by saying this. linda inspires me. i'm one of those who has walked up to her telling her how much she inspires me. toke, how many people have done the same to you. ur a pretty face, good presenter, i admire you for that, but that's all. u dont exactly inspire me, u have 'skeletons in ur closet', so what are you talking about?

linda's voltrons are going to finish you sha. i'm a voltron myself, but i won't say too much. would just sitback and enjoy all the comments that would roll in about you! yes YOU!!!

meanwhlile, linda, keep doing what you're doing. God has blessed you too much.

luv u loads.
Z

Linda, God will continue to bless you - as long as He is the Almighty.
I am proud of you (irrespective of what anybody thinks/feels).
Love you munchos! :-x

ada said...

So this pit toilet is still talking? Toke please use the time u use to gossip to visit clinics and make sure u are free from STDs. Linda darling, u are my role model. Don't mind that silly airhead! I love u Linda!

Omokolapo said...

I have always read your post and never bothered to comment....however based on the content of the article I just read I will make an exception.

I like you and Toke alot, however, I feel Toke was wrong to have said you are not a role model and you took it with class for not replying.:-)

Great job Girl, continue to do what you love and impact people around you the best way you can.

Gift said...

A persons opinion of you, doesn't have to become your reality...
And truth be told...Those that know the least about you, judge you the MOST. You're great at what you do..So keep 'doing' you...brush that dirt off your shoulder...*hugs*

I am sure that you are aware that some of us reading this story will be calculating your age. You will soon be getting a flood of marriage proposals.

That said, I think anyone who works hard at what they do (like you do) and are consistent and focused is a role model. Last I checked there is no special requirement for role models.

In a country where (excuse me if I am wrong)young women tend to want to take the easy route (sometimes that includes getting married so some poor fella can do the slaving) , any woman who does her own stuff especially where no favours are required from anyone should be applauded.

I suppose if Toke has started a blog she would know just how hard it is to regularly update it and even make it interesting enough for people to keep seeking it out on their own without your having to use the friend network (even that hasn't worked for me lol)

Keep up the good work.

So touchy u dont ve to say all dis dat one dat calls herself presenter is jealos of ur success rock on

lin do not be bothered about such comments coming from such a negative persona in d society.Hizzzz jelousy is coke and fanta like toke.

This post brought me to tears. Well done Linda, its not easy. I love ur easygoing style, u don't take yourself seriously and that's very endearing. I think blogging is a fab job; don't hold yourself responsible for peoples comments. Anything I write here is the same thing I'd say when gisting with friends. Thank your detractors, that's proof uv made it! And incase ur in doubt, you are indeed a role model.

Linda,this is a touching story.But why is it that when something is said about you,u run to ur defence post,with one long tale.it was the epic for susan peters,now biography for toke makinwa.U can't keep answering everyon.If you talk about others,others will talk about you.Just let it be άŋϑ stop being so sensitive.

toke, u fuck up. who are you to say linda is not a role model. do u know how influential this blog is from occupy naija, to rape cases to oke ie the boy that was just flown out for surgery? or how linda has inspired soooooo many people to start their own blogs???? toke what have you done? is the flytime fame getting to your head already??? you are nowhere near linda! nowhere! she works for herself, earns her OWN money, meanwhile u still get paid by someone. you made a huge mistake by saying this. linda inspires me. i'm one of those who has walked up to her telling her how much she inspires me. toke, how many people have done the same to you. ur a pretty face, good presenter, i admire you for that, but that's all. u dont exactly inspire me, u have 'skeletons in ur closet', so what are you talking about?

linda's voltrons are going to finish you sha. i'm a voltron myself, but i won't say too much. would just sitback and enjoy all the comments that would roll in about you! yes YOU!!!

meanwhlile, linda, keep doing what you're doing. God has blessed you too much.

luv u loads.
Z

Am so touched by your story, had same experience like u way back in school and each time I remember it, I always say to my God we made it...cos now I have more money that I even need. It's always good to persevere. Love u more now Linda!!!

Jane said...

Linda,don't mind toke makinwa,kettle calling pot black,toke 's gist was on ladunliadiblog ,around feb/march,where all her past and aristo runs was publicised ,like more than one thousand comments about her,luckily for her ladunliadi blocked the comments ,l don't know if she had to block the comments due to threats on her person or maybe oke begged her,but Toke mind yourself ooooo.yeye dey smell.

What a teary press release

Na wa which kin long story b dis,I know fit read am sef e too long.D thin weh she talk pain u sha na make u dey write dis one

Anyway...It depends on d angle u view it from....To take somethin trivial u like doing and making it a success is worth emulating.I guess she didnt see it from dat aspect.Its not easy to be one of the best blog in the world...The Mentalist

She shuld have just said you are not her role model. And not that you are not a role model. Linda U sef!!! Wat of the times wey dem open ya leg, I knw say u no go tell us those ones. Lol.....

Tokene who? who listens to her show?
Next!

I Luv u Linda

Oh! God bless ‎♈̷̴☺u Linda ƒσя this heart-warming story. I hope young ladies will read this ąπϑ learn from it. Besides, pple are entitled †̥ their own thoughts. Never let what they say get †̥ Ɣ☺ΰ‎​‎​ becos the sky is not ur limit. I am an ardent reader of ur blog ąπϑ have introduced all d pple I know both old n new †̥ ur blog. Luv ‎♈̷̴☺u babes (no homo). *precious*

Jelly said...

Hmm.... people are certainly entitled to their own opinions... i do know that role models don't impress themselves on people they make a difference (positive difference) in their spheres of contact :-) Linda u'll be fine just keep ur head up.

naomi said...

Hi linda,
You just gave d girl the 15mintues of fame she is so craving for, she isn't worth it becos now I am curious to know what she yabbing about. If not for anything d story of oke should do ur talking for u.

Just to let u know I wish u d best

OH MY GOD!
I CANT CONTROL THIS TEARS!! PHEW!
I dont even know what to say!!
God be with you Linda Ikeji!

Teddy Oladipo said...

TOUCHING.......THANK GOD FOR U!!!!

Dear Linda,

Your story moved me to tears. It truly is a testimony of God's faithfulness to those who choose to honour him, no matter the circumstances.

Don't mind the haters, you are a role model to many at home and abroad. Not beacause of anything else but the fact that you are you, and you are real.

for the 1st timei had to make a comment!very inspirational. keep it up Linda! u r sure a role model.

I Luv U Linda nd I think u r a good role model

I Luv u Linda

You just opened a can of worms, Toke is well known as a girl about town, well leave it at that...

tom jones said...

wow . this story is truly inspirational. well done linda. may God continue to grease your elbows.

eesha said...

Mehn! Linda after this story i Like u more than ever #nohomo. Please keep up the good work, i believe toke makinwa is just another "susan peters attention seeking lady".she knows she can be famous thru ur blog. No mind am, u go soon hear her life history for ur blog. She is so in trouble. Can't wait for the comments to roll in. *hugs*

www.eeshalicious.wordpress.com

Jelly said...

Hmm.... people are certainly entitled to their own opinions... i do know that role models don't impress themselves on people they make a difference (positive difference) in their spheres of contact :-) Linda u'll be fine just keep ur head up.

YLaw said...

..Le fenu so...(In 9ice and Ajasa's tones)

Linda,l don't know you,but believe me you are a better role model than that weist Toke Makinwa.

Linda thank you for this story. May God bless you, It is role models like you this decaying world actually needs. Forget the haters, even Jesus Christ had the meanest haters in history....

Ooh ma God, linda, am soo touchd by ur story.. U'v really come a long way and u'v made it more dan u tink.as 4 d toke or waeva, she's jst a fool. Na publicity she want. Notice me oshi. Lin lin, u rock

Well said Linda....

Deola

Hi Linda, you are one in a million in Nigeria, for being able to use technology to generate this traffic. Traffic you know is impact. I have written three books on Internet technology, and I know how challenging it is to generate Internet traffic. A little advice will help, stop promoting gay course. It is not bad selling gossips for a living, since there is no smoke without fire.

That was a good one linda,its not aw far but aw well.its a pity most ladies dnt get to understand wat dignity is,all dey care abt is get watever dey want with wat dey v got in btween deir leg ch at d'long run doesnt last,thkss

Tears drops...A̶̲̥̅♏ encouraged,ur a role model miss linda.ǦØD̶̲̥̅̊ bless U̶̲̥̅̊ for this words

Chukwuebuka

AWESOME said...

@Linda... Though i am not a lady in respect of this submission, but let me tell you! I AM TOUCHED. your experiences flows through my veins.
But you can't remain single for life now? pls do something. You are getting aged.
Hope you will take my advice

Gabbie said...

You go girl! The world is your Oyster! #TeamnoAristo #TeamSelfRespect

which kind talk be dis na? Linda u sure say u and dis Toke girl no plan dis rubbish? Infact both of you are seeking cheap popularity and are therefore disqualified as role models. CASE DISMISSED! Mtchewwwww.....

Hi Linda,

I dont think you should respond to people like that...i think its pure jealousy that made her say such...keep doing what you're doing...wish u all the best in life.

Professor X said...

To think I actually felt sorry for this Toke of a bitch when she was put on blast on Ladun's blog. This bleached out bitch is talking about role models? Wonders shall never cease. Linda please keep doing what u're doing. U're loved by many. Of course there must be haters. That's how u know u're doing good. Ur story almost made me cry but odeshi! I be hardcore. U didn't even have to put the story out there. U should have just ignored this good for nothing housegirl wanna-be desperate social climber of a Toke.

Way to Go Sister, if your story is 100% true. Aye, one the lighter side, the chic dont look much of a role model herself. Word of the day for we Nigerians; NEVER EXCUSE IN YOURSELF WHAT YOU ACCUSE IN OTHERS. OOh ooh, someone's goin feel bad for that one, but its the truth. Have a blessed day y'all. God bless you Linda, at least you are doing something.

All i can say is God bless you. I am proud of you as a Nigerian.

Princess Neerah said...

Wow,this is so touching, and we are so proud of you. You have done so well for yourself and I hope you continue to do even more.

Nyc story...i just hope d young girlz out der will learn 4rm it

All i can say is God bless you.
I am proud of you!

this sounds pathetic. Linda does not need to tell a story to be a role model. We do not need Toke's definition for Linda to be a role model. It is a level of social acceptance based on interpretation of your role and responsibility that makes others want to emulate you. Shikena! Stop campaigning for it on condemning someone about it.

ode Toke said...

But Linda seriously, U̶̲̥̅̊ av helped dis foolish Toke enuff, i got to knw about her on ur blog, and am sure so many oda pple too...she shuld shut up already pls....Linda is a role model to young gals whether she likes her or not...and Toke,for the kind of work U̶̲̥̅̊ do, U̶̲̥̅̊ will need Linda seriously,next time think b4 U̶̲̥̅̊ talk cos when U̶̲̥̅̊ need her nw she go take U̶̲̥̅̊ do shakara well..Ntoi

God bless you dear, u just made me all teary in my office.....

FRIVOLOUZ said...
Someyi said...

We are all like a brand! Pepsi, Coca Cola, yeah, even more than that. Pioneered by our values and experiences.

Wow!...

Ebony ak 47 said...

Wow,Linda I am so moved......well, you know people talk a lot of sht about someone out of jealousy and what have you........I envy you and you are my role model, like I enjoy reading ur blog, that's my early morning routine, not because of gossip but so I could know what's happening around as I don't have the time to read papers and watch(listen to ) news cos of work :)
Please continue what you love doing and may the good lord continue to be ur strength and may his flavour never depart form you (I am not a pastor oh )
Love you ( I am not gay oh)

esquire said...

wow.. this is beautiful. This would be my very first comment on ur blog. i'lld say you are mature and a role model indeed. God bless

esquire

OMG I'm sooo inspired goodbye to all my menfriend #sobbing#

I laugh at wanna be Toke Makinwa.
Do u remember how lousy and stupid you where at FGGC Oyo. Now u have slept your way through and we no go hear word. Tschewwww.afi gossiper na...ode oshi
Linda, I love you die.. You are an inspiration and a blessing to our generation.Pls name and shame that old man jare

MAURINGABS. said...

am so proud of u girl.... for toke makinwa to av tok about u gud or bad dat mean ur making waves girl and d best is yet to come.... ur post has tippled my faith and determination not depend on any body for fund, job food etc cos YES I CAN MAKE WITH JUST GOD ON MY SIDE....

See beef o...this toke wey I no know weda na shemale I go call am...with her fore head wey big pass basin and breast like old bathroom slippers....pple just talk trash wen they don't even know your story.....Linda no vex you hear? Na yeye dey worry am...GGMUB...you are a ROLE MODEL any time of the day...people wey know say you be their superior must call you OGA directly or indirectly.....Thank you for sharing your story joor...really inspiring.

Nice one linda,keep it up :* Am proud of you and keep doing what you do best

La Cream said...

I been love u b4 but now ehn,I OVER Love U.U're a role model any day any time to sooooo many girls..U rock babes.

Your story deeply resonates in the hearts of a lot of people... i included... i used to struggle mehn, back in lagos... it was total shit. i remember trekking from ojota to akoka, and then from surulere to akoka... chei, i suffered sha. but then as God will have it i moved to abuja and now i work 3jobs. God has been faithful. i admit im not the ugliest guy out there and i happen to be an IT specialist. Yahoo was a BIG option mehn, i was soo tempted. but i never did it, and today God is rewarding my decision. May God Bless your hustle Linda. Anybody that thinks u are not a role model should gaan drink fufu water. How many people has toke affected as positively as you have?? abeg she should gaan park jare

at first i thought this was one of those "do you think we look alike" segments! i was like linda be prepared for comments! lolol...
well all i can say is she doesn't know what she is talking about. you may not be her role model, but you are a role model to so mannnnnyyyyy others. she "may" just be a hater! and always lurking around your blog. you did not need to justify anything by writing a long story! lol, the story was interesting sha (pls, many more so we can get to know you lolol...jist us about all your current toasters!!! heee)...anywaz most times you even try to verify your source...most of the things you post on your blog are true/is fact. I don't consider that gossip! to be fair, i don't think the things you post are hurtful...i don't even know who she is, u just made her famous by featuring her on your blog.
pls she shld check the definition of blog and gossip in the dictionary. everyone is entitled to their own opinion.. again these kind of statements come with the territory, the fact that u responded with some looong story shows you were hurt by the comment! not to worry...some yeye comment like that will not push your true and loyal fans and those that regularly visit your blog away...side note - again whatever you read, whomever you read it from, incl CNN, BBC, Naija news, Linda, Perez, Blogs,Kony 2012 should always be taken with a grain of salt, everyone writes a story from their own perspective and spins it however they want to...do your research abeg...
pls this is just a blog, it shd be fun and not taken serious (often times serious issues are discussed though),linda can write about whatever she wants to write about!! anywaz I can go on and on...

Z

So touching, I wish a lot of our young girls wld borrow a leaf from Ūя̲̅ tale. There is dignity in self actualization. †hankڪ Linda for sharing this with us. Femi Kingsley

I rarely feel moved to comment but let me say this. I do not agree a lot with the content of your posts but I enjoy reading your blog daily. I think you have a very very powerful platform and in your own way, you can be a driving force for some good in this deeply flawed society of ours. Who cares what some "socialite" who has a similar platform to yours, media, but who hasn't made much of a mark that I know of. I think you're a strong, independent woman who can show women in our society that you don't need to be a Mrs. Somebody to have self-worth. Thank you Linda for your personal story

linda i was going to scold u for even paying attention to toke who is suffering from a rare form of diarhhoea(pardon me if spelling is wrong]of the mouth but i cld not help but pardon you after reading ur story.
linda u r made, let the likes of toke kip fucking around for everything they own. let me confess linda, i neva liked u, i dont know if i like u yet but i am proud of what u do. ur blog completes my day.better put i m having a romance with ur blog n i know this love will last forever and a day. KUDOS

Ebony ak 47 said...

Oops favour I meant to say*

Linda nnem.. thnx 4 this.. u juz spurred me on right nw.. i love u Linda<3

juliet igboekwe said...

i don't understand how someone else can sit there and say someone else is not a role model when i dnt think she herself is one.
what does it even mean to be a role model? cos that's how Time magazine says Jona has influenced naija when i dnt see how.
Linda as far as i am concerned that i wake up every morning looking forward to ur blog says a lot bout u.
you bring the news to our fingers tips and to me that makes u a role model.

So inspiring,am so proud of you made it on you own,you are more than a role model no matter how hurt some people get reading your blog,i think most of learn from the news and stories coming from your blog,don't let anyone tell you other wise.

dmj said...

Linda, what Toke said.. it's not clear why..just don't let it bother you,

if nobody talk about you, then you are nobody - Tubaba Idibia.

No one decides if you are fit to be a role model or not. those you inspire decide if there's any virtue worthy of emulation, even without reading ur story you know and we know there is and also her opinion is hers alone...erm..maybe some others join sha...lol

Angelo Xpression said...

Linda if i tell you my story, you will see that yours is a case of buttercups. Sha Good Story. Keep up the Good Work

Wow linda.. Am 21 I live in abuja n am trying to do this on my own without sleeping wit anyone. Am determined to do it. N wit a story lyk this my determination strengthens

awwwww!!! so touching!!!! *grabs a big box of tissues*...way to go Linda, classy way to reply your haterzzzz.

angel by fifi said...

OH LINDA, I AM SO TOUCHED AND PROUD OF U. I FEEL LIKE CRYING FOR U BUT I AM IN THE OFFICE SO I CANT. LOVE U, URE A MODEL TO YOUNG GAL

You have spoken like a true hero...The best is yet to come...Let ur light so SHINE..

OMOLE said...

Who is Toke Makinwa? Linda u ignorantly dashed dis fake boobs babe cheap publicity,now millions of Lindaikeja blog fans will now hear her name for the first time...she is the winner here Linda,cos her wish is granted...(CHEAP PUBLICITY)

To think I was just beginning to like this Toke girl, I'm shocked at how shallow she is. I cannot imagine a lady who is not a role model talking down at someone else who has worked hard to achieve all she has today. Listen Toke, it's never too late to tun a new leaf. Waje has popped the question, right, I'll advise you to live right for your self, your man and your future kids. If you have nothing to say, keep your mouth shut rather than put yourself in the limelight unnecessarily. Remember you have a stinky past which can be easily forgotten with positive changes. Good luck!

God bless u Linda!! God bless u.

Oh Toke all the insults on Ladun is not enough for u, If u say Ladun shouldn't be seen as a role model I accept with u 100% but Linda.....come on girl she does more good than harm

Deola

I respect your decision n I enjoy your blogging. However I disagree with you trying to portray the guy in a bad limelight. You knew the deal when you went to hotel to meet him. It's transaction albeit implied so he owes you nothing.

Either way, you dey sharp.

Lindy they can say what they want to say.All i can tell you is keep your head high and keep doing your job.Their words doesnt matter and will never matter.What matters is what God and 'you" feels about you.SIMPLE!!!!!

I love your courage and bolness Linda. God will bless you. YOU ARE A ROLE MODEL no matter what anyone thinks.

Wow!!! Speechless well done for this post, forget toke you look preetier! If u were not successful pple wouldn't have opinons.If not for any thing you had the tenacity to achieve a goal you set well done woman!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1773   Newer› Newest»