Man shot to death at home. His pregnant wife arrested for his murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 December 2011

Man shot to death at home. His pregnant wife arrested for his murder

Hadiza Afegbua, (pictured above right) yesterday December 28th, was arrested by police at Utako Division, Abuja, for the murder of her husband, Ibrahim Abutu, (pictured above with their child).

Ibrahim was killed in the Parakou Crescent home he shared with Hadiza and their child at Wuse II, Abuja, yesterday morning.

When police arrived at the couple's residence, Hadiza told them she was in the kitchen when she heard a gun shot and rushed towards the direction, only to find her husband shot. She and a few neighbors rushed him to the hospital where he eventually died.

Then the man's family went to police with their story. Continue reading.

According to the family of late Ibrahim Abudu, Hadiza allegedly used a double barrel gun in shooting her husband in cold blood, supposedly over his plans to marry a second wife. He's Muslim.

The police recovered a gun from the scene of the incident and an autopsy will be carried out on the corpse in order to unravel the cause of his death.

Hadiza is still in police custody while investigations are ongoing.

Will bring you update...

69 comments:

Probably he was well to do and the man's family just want to get her out of the way to claim his properties. You don't know what some people can do. It may not have been her who killed her husband.

Oh my goodness! Sounds like a story from CSI series. God help us all.

What's with all these stories about death all over the place, either someone is committing suicide, killing a spouse, accident or bombings. SMH# end of the world. May God be with us.

WEYTIN HUMAN BEING NO GO HEAR

This is a family matter turned to homicide!!!!!!!!!! Where will naija police process the gun for DNA? Abeg! which lab? except the family has the fund to take the gun outside the country( outside the country, i mean uk,usa not ghana or togo oo!)to the husband,RIP. To the wife, safe delivery my dear!, to the family, TAKE HEART, to the new wife to be,na you kill the man ooo! no be me talk na th blog oo!

i fink the police shuld conduct a thorough investigation on this..carry out autopsy on the corpse, finger print on the gun..ask ques around...get the trurth out..

you have 24-48 hrs to do a GSR(Gun shot residue) test on her its similar to finger printing and is standard procedure if her siblings think she isn`t guilty they should be shouting for one now as it will totally absolve her. Remember her prints might turn up on the gun if it belonged to the household it could be from last week or last month or the day the Man bought it and was showing it off to his wife as most guys would (in fact if he had teen kids i expect their prints on the Gun too) as kids would always find and play with such things in the house. A GSR test would tell if you shot a gun except she had on the right type of gloves which isn`t easy to buy.

Smh....RIP......I wonder why a gun ll be found at d crime scene if he was actually shot by an outsider....

are u freakn kidding me, an autopsy?! He was bloody shot, what other findings do u need? What they need to do is obtain the finger prints on that gun!

Her prints will always be on the gun. Cos she might have mved it around wile cleaning the house.

Sorry friends....this is not a CSI script...lol

Anon December 29, 2011 11:08 PM; forensics has always been available in the Nigerian Police for a long time. It's a separate specialised department.

The police better be sure they have the right person in custody. You don't want to further victimize the widow. Besides most in-laws do have the tendency of such accusations.

If she is an Ibo woman, then be rest assured that she murdered that man for his money.
---Gbenga

oscar said...

It is normal, the wife needs to be quizzed.She is the first suspect so to say to tell exactly what happened. It is from the wife the police will know if the husband is owing some people or if there had been threat from outsiders.The police didnt say she killed the husband.

This is so sad, God pls grant the victims family wisdom and strength

Oh nooooo she's my colleague in d office (nysc abuja) this is satan @work she didn't do it, dt am sure of she's sooo very peaceful may God see her through dis. U r in my prayers dearie

She was obviously set up. This is horrible. Naija and their wuruwuru investigation. So many innocent people sitting in jails for crimes they didnt commit. May the man RIP and may God vindicate this poor lady

She was fighting a lost battle. Her late husband already had a child with the new wife and only married her officially a couple of days back. Hadiza heard and this is the story today.. If there is anything life has taught me from your story woman, it is self control. The man would not have shot himself at the back of the head with a double barrelled gun people....

Heard this yesterday and goodness me i didt know that i know the chap.Oh my God is it possible to kill yourself with a double barell gun?

Legaldiaries said...

So what has a murder dt took place in wuse 2 have to do wit Utako police station? That utako police station is very notorious. If d family wants 2 get to d root of dis, they shud transfer d case to Force CID Area 10 Garki. Because those guys at utako will jst collect money and look d other way. So, if d wife is being accused wrongly, dts d perfect place to victimise and ensure she doesn't see d light of day and vice versa.
My advice is, madam get a good lawyer, preferrably Keyamo. His office is in zone 1. Make sure d law runs its course. Becos left 2 dose guys at Utako they're bunch of criminals themselves.

It's quite unlikely that a woman will kill the father of her children over another woman. The more likely crime would be the woman killing the new woman. However, this Hadiza lady might have underlying psychological issues beyond the norm.

This story is lacking many important details. Why did the killer leave the gun on the scene? Was there a break-in? Protracted quarreling? How did the man's family come up with their version of the story? Do they have a witness or are they just "guessing"?

Unfortunately, the Nigerian police will most likely listen to the side with the most money. Sad story oh!

@annonymous 11.08pm ur comment on the gun for DNA is hillarious..well the drama will unfold

This is totally rubbish this people are watching too much crime stories on DSTV

Psssst. Its the party that has the most influence that will win this case. The Gun? useless. I'm sure the fingerprints on that gun will be up to a hundred - including all the cops in the station. Autopsy? Wont help. The police are incapable of interpreting the information. Ballistics? Worthless. No lab. Investigation? An exercise in extortion.

@ Gbenga. Clearly shows you are a slow brainless tribalist.

Hadiza??? Duh!!! GFY!!

@gbenga i think you are an idiot for that comment. grow up

pegomay said...

linda who knows if u will post my comment. anyway its sad cus i know d victims brother,he was a nice and kind man, hadiza has a temper and she lost control. may God save us all and grant his and her family the strenghth they need at this time!

But men are useless sha! U av this pretty wife and you go and look 4 anoda woman to marry! Then you say ur religion permits u to marry as much women as you wish! Shame!
Well, Hadiza, don't worry, u won't be there for long.

this retarded tribalistic chauvinist called gbenga....change ur ways please.

This Gbenga guy that keeps dropping asinine comments about Ibo chicks needs to get a life..I thought you said you've repented..nonsense! Now I can see why your Ibo ex dropped your sorry ass...IDIOT!!!!!!!

Gbenga, you for sure do not have a brain. There should be serious investigation. May his soul rest in peace

bloglord said...

oh c'mon it could just have been anyone. family members who wants to lay their filty hands on their brothers wealth..setting up his wife to have d coast cleared, it could be d wife, a friend, an enemy...it could be anyone. lets pray the true culprit is caught n may the man's soul rip

as a muslim woman, expect ur husband to marry another wife anytime . Hadiza, did u really di it? why? i am so sad for all the parties involved.

Proudly Igbo said...

Gbenga; i have said it before that you should fuck off to Naira Land. It's for tribalists like you. You are such an illiterate that you didn't even read the the first two words of the story. Who gave you access to technology please? Faceless racists like you should be banned from using it. What have Ibo people done to you? Move on from your tribalistic hate filled no-brain.
LI, i blame you for publishing Gbenga's comments all the time attacking Ibos. You shouldn't give this racist an audience at all.

Why r some muslim men like this??? Firstly you marry a girl and rub her of her youth,then u rap her in black shiffon like material to make her uncomfortable and 1 can imagine how hot n chocky does horrible outfits r that retain heat..then u nake her unattractive to every1 around but u after a while you go ahead and marry some else...to every man who has done this to a gullible woman you deserve to be flogged!!! Barbara

Most rich people in Nigeria live primitive lifestyle.There are so many gadgets out there in the market that can record real time events.why can't this dead man spend little money on close circuit television.This would have shown anyone entering or leaving the compound.He can spend as little as £70 (seventy pounds)on voice recorder hidden somewhere in the room.This records for weeks.

Its sad that she killed him for me. Hope she eats his corpse.May Allah give us Justice

chichiluv said...

People, you give Gbenga credit by acknowledging his asinine statements. If you ignore him, if he doesn't have an audience, he will slink away into the dark where he came from with his separatist comments.

Why would this woman murder her husband? If this happened in the US or UK, I would say it was for the life insurance policy but for Naija? Wetin she go get in a country where the man's family can quickly through her out of the house? In a country where women have no recourse?

Something is funny

Stop minding Gbenga people. He's not a yoruba man. And if u like u can email him. His email add is on the post giving away free tickets.

The problem with people like Gbenga is that they get shot for making careless statements and people like Linda will blog about it and people like us,would post various comments.

Life and death are in the power of the tongue...Holy Bible

I thought say na only Yankee dis kind thing dey happen. Nigerians wetin happen now?? Yeye People.

mama somtee said...

@ gbenga ---- seee oooh i have one nice ibo babe for you , she is well read , and not a liability cos from what am seeing igbo babe have showed you , like you were chasing one and she dissed you . but hope is not lost get in touch with me and we shall take it from there .
p.s . i hope you are well read and can stand on your own cos all dis gra gra wey you dey do , idey fear oooh and hope you do not have phobia for igbos ???????

mama somtee said...

@ gbenga ---- seee oooh i have one nice ibo babe for you , she is well read , and not a liability cos from what am seeing igbo babe have showed you , like you were chasing one and she dissed you . but hope is not lost get in touch with me and we shall take it from there .
p.s . i hope you are well read and can stand on your own cos all dis gra gra wey you dey do , idey fear oooh and hope you do not have phobia for igbos ???????

This is ridiculous! The family of the man must be after his property and from the autopsy report, he was shot on the left chest №t from the back. He probably killed himself! Why would a wife who has been asking God to bless her with a second child after more than six years of delivering her first child kill her husband??? The police should investigate her relationship with her in-laws. Something is fishy here!

How can a woman kill her own husband! Lai lai, me I no believe am

Ibro couldn't have killed himself....its not possible. we all knew Hadiza has never liked Ibro getting close to any woman...she knew ibro had a lady outside and also knew when the baby was born...then she taught it won't lead to an official marriage, which later happened some days ago before his death.
Ibro is a muslim and Hadiza knows that,as she is a muslim too. How can he shoot himself with a long gun...how?
God knws the truth,judgement belongs to God.
God is God.

he should confess. because she boldly told the family that she has people at the top that are connected and she will go free....

collagen supplements said...

I thought only white people where this sentimental I was wrong.

laila said...

personally, i dont think the wife could be so foolish to have shot her husband.she is the wife, she has the opportunity of poisoning his food without anyone suspecting. so she shot her husband, dropped the gun and called the neighbours abi? no, she couldnt be so dump.i guess she has issues with the family.and if the story of the second wife is true, then there is something wrong with the guy. beautiful young pregnant wife with a sweet handsome little son?hmmmmmm, we women have suffered big time oooo.

i have a very reliable source who happens to be her friend that says she actually killed him becos he married a new wife which when she married him she knew he was allowed to marry up to 4 wives....very sad,i pray she doesn't go free

too many people watching Crime and investigation channel.

@gbenga, it seems an ibo chick broke ur heart! you're beginning to sound like a baby, my dear move on!maybe you were tight fisted eh! so waka joor! aka gum! i know you and your name is not gbenga so behave or else i'll put your facebook pic here ooo! na your guy dey talk oo.

@ gbenga. I think you just displayed your backward thinking on this blog and i sincerely hope that you do not have an ibo wife cos she wont kill your kind for money but for lack of polished speech.

@gbenga,mind ur utterances. U are taking us backward. What of yoruba women that are serious steady customers to babalawos

@gbenga as I was saying. Yoruba women are they any better?most of them engage babalawos to remote control their husbands$make them living dummies so they can freely flex with their money$ commit adultery with boys$guys anyhow. Dnt make Me talk. Even The whites are isolating racists in this new era. Dnt be tribalistic here abeg. Let the law take its course.

toy said...

@anon 9.07 a.m. Thank u, so on point!

boko haram gbenga

bloglord said...

pls u guys should stop paying attention to d OBVIOUSLY RETARDED GBENGA. its a strategy; he is making ds stupid comments to gain popularity on LIB. wen u see his comment just ignore him as u would do to a child full of whinning. period!

idontgetit said...

lmao @gbnega. the guy is a nut case...funny thing is he does not have any issues with igbo men, just their women...funny dude. The igbo woman who stole his money and broke his heart has left him permanently scarred... About the story. I dont know, it seems fishy kind oF. The woman may have been set up but at the same time hell hath seen no fury like a woman scorned so she may just have lost it after her husband not only impregnated the young chick but had the audacity to marry her. CouLD make any woman go crazy especially if the woman was there for the man when he was nothing but still to kill? this story is just sad and full of holes

A man is presumed innocent until proved guilty. Kindly let us allow justice to prevail after investigation. Situations like this are always very deep and usually deeper than we think. I hope the Nigerian Police can unravel this, though i doubt it, as celebrity cases are never solved, therefore , how can we expect that of these nobodies.
Tops

@Anon dec 31,7:04: which friend will say such a thing abt her friend...some people α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ desperately wicked åπϑ would say anything Τ̲̅ȍ pull others down,especially their close friends..It possible someone took advantage of d situation åπϑ killed d man cause I see П̲̣̣ø sense why someone will kill her husband åπϑ drop d weapon at d crime scene..This looks more like a setup Τ̲̅ȍ me,her in-laws probably dnt like her åπϑ tried Τ̲̅ȍ play a fast one on her..God knows best,I J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ dnt support people coming here Τ̲̅ȍ tell us a reliable source told them dat she said she was going Τ̲̅ȍ kill her husband..who knows if d people saying this α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ not even T̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ ones dat killed d man..

@ all:please,u guyz should ignor gbenga,its possible d S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ called gbenga sef П̲̣̣ø be Yoruba..Na J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ person wey dey purposely look for trouble åπϑ u guyz J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ fall for it everytime

Did the gun belong to the man!

Who knows if there was a disgruntled boyfriend somewhere who after hearing his girlfriend had just married another man got mad and shot him.

Some men a so thoughtless, young pretty wife and you go looking for another woman. Yeah you are Muslim but does Islam preach promiscuity?

Tunji said...

Sure there is freedom of speech, info n whteva the law permits.
To be candid, nigerian police are hadworking n resourcefull. In a few days, i'm sure they'll have the truth.
Now, will they actually reveal the truth, trade it for money from the highest bidder n even robe an innocent; probly a neighbour, friend,buz associate or even a family member.
Hope ab order doesn't come from above this time.

Here's the reality on the situation at hand. Wife is murdered in the house and the husband is proclaimed guilty even before he gets to court. Husband is shot with a double barrel gun and wife is innocent (according to most of the comments here). My people fear God. A life is a life. Who do you think would be the 1st suspect? Me. Its always the person closest to the deceased. According to the the little i know about situations like this, the question is did she have 'Probable Cause'? She did if the stories are to be believed. She should get a good lawyer, if not she should prepare for jail. As for the family, there are victims here. If it was your brother, Half of us would do the same; regardless he was rich or poor. People should learn to judge cases based on the merit of the case and stop attaching stupid sentiments.

Dear all,
I am shock the nigeria police could hold a pregnant women for more than a month without evidence." remember innocent until proven guilty" I believe the police force based their arrest on ear say possibly from the mans family. I am a computer forensic student and I can verify that anything could have happened to that gun.1. On the process of loading the gun it can go off, 2.on the process of cleaning a loaded gun it can go off. Y'all be very careful in destroying an innocent woman name, as far as I am concern, thorough investigation hasnt been conducted yet.

I am sure the deceased family are interested in his properties, come to think of it, why are they running to the press everyday to publish stories that are untrue? from all indication they want to get the woman out of the way to claim his properties. They know she didnt kill him, they just want to get her out of the way.

meg said...

God punish the inlaw. they are bloody liars. its so obvious they want the property.speaking from experience,theres no lie under the earth they have not told about me especially the young girls who are too old and wicked to get a suitor so they unleash it on me.my husband is alive and its this bad. crazy liars thats hw wicked these in law are.pls release the innocent woman to mourn her husband and take care of her kids.God go punish bad people.

My GOD!! See plenty CSI for here!Too much DSTV! Ballistics and DNA ke? In which lab? Logically sha, its humanly impossible to shoot urself in the head with a shotgun. What did he pull the trigger with? His toe?

What a pity for the two of them