Cecilia Ibru no Longer a Member of the Nigerian Banking Profession | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 December 2011

Cecilia Ibru no Longer a Member of the Nigerian Banking Profession

The executives of the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria met today and decided that the former CEO of Oceanic Bank is no longer worthy of being a member of the association. Her name has been removed from the register of the association. She now ceases to be a member of the Nigerian Banking Profession.

Too harsh or well deserved?

53 comments:

Too harsh

Kemi said...

If that's their policy then well deserved. I hope the same 'punishment' was meted out to the other shamed bankers. You never know in Nigeria - some people are "untouchables"

\ said...

Was she a banker really by training? She was just called in by virtue of her family wealth to manage a family bank.

methinks said...

before nko? was she ever a banker in any of the word? psssccchhhheeewww, make pesin hear word o jere #onpe. anon 8:02, u r joking right? she stole over 19billa nd u think this is harsh? no e no even do me, she needs a harsher treatment. shameless goat.

Very well deserved for a commomn thief cloaked with the bible.... dreadful woman!! She was never a banker to begin with, just a secretary who slept with the boss!

Managing a bank makes her a banker. The decision is too harsh and if I may ask what is it meant to achieve? Too much bad blood is what I see. Most of these people were her friends, traitors, betrayers.

All na tif....But na persin wey dem catch na im be tif o...Abeg make dem free the lady o jare! Carry dem yeye association dey go

Well deserved!

harsh abeg...ahh ahhh........

Mobolaji Johnson said...

There are so many other people in Nigeria that needs to be punished. Both the private_sector and public_sector... This is what would prevent people from committing financial crimes and engaging in corruption!

Fine girl said...

Too harsh jor

Augusts said...

This is just unnecessary ! She has been punished enough.We shouldn't throw away the baby and the bath water. Austa

Kemikal said...

Cecilia Ibru stole enough money to buy hair dye for every black person (on earth, heaven, hell, Moss Side, Peckham, Brixton, Soweto, Surulere and Ajegunle) for the next 900 trillion years. Cecilia Ibru is the co-owner of the Central Bank of Switzerland. I bet y'all didn't know. Cecilia Ibru has no need to be a member of the meaningless Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria and neither does she have the need to work in the Nigerian Banking industry or any industry, ever. Cecilia Ibru is currently setting up her own country.

All those supporting her must have benefitted directly or indirectly from her loot! Or may just be stupid! How can you say this is harsh for a woman who stole billions,when common goat thieves are being lynched? babies are starving, Nigeria is falling apart because of greedy, selfish people like her... She deserves even harsher! And she is NOT a banker!

Ohizest said...

A little too late for this act of self-righteousness by the Nigerian Banking Profession. Anyway the deed is done!

bloglord said...

hmnn...

Angel Ricardo said...

Harsh I say, harsh!! They all doing even worse...

If you lost any money in her bank, then ofcourse you'll see this action as justifiable. As for those saying its too harsh, lets hope you loose money in some bank soon, we'll hear how you'll start singing a different tune.

Femillionaire said...

Really of no consequence as there's no way the CBN will ever allow her to run any bank in Nigeria even if na community bank...

linda,use ur blog to open the eyes of Nigerians so that they can stop giving the current terrorist attack a religious coloration.it is being masterminded by a group of powerful and disgruntled northern leaders.pls take note:
"THOSE WHO MAKE PEACEFUL CHANGE IMPOSSIBLE MAKES VIOLENT CHANGE INEVITABLE" Atiku Abubakar.
I thought they were mere ranting of a sore looser but apparently they are nt.Pls go to atiku's page on facebook...very interesting.

well deserved. to whom much is given, much is expected

mimi said...

Harsh? Embezzlement in d USA attracts 30 yrs imprisonment. its only in 9ja dat its treated lightly. Taking her license away was a small price 2 pay

Hrd sapele boiz have bombed a mosque in sapele great news......Linda verify its veracity abeg

Ìwò yí l'áàárò... Shio!

Jesus saves said...

Was she ever a Certificated Proffesional? she was Just a Manager of Family wealth and she Managed it the Family way. But the decition to delist her is coming too late.

Adsense alternatives said...

Judging isn't right?huh.
But really,i don't see anything good in her board of friends decision,but i hope she's save things down already when things like this happens.my consolence to her and her family.but wait.happy new year celebration in advance.

Not harsh enuf, she needs a harsher treatment.

MY VIEW said...

Way to go! Nigerian government and parastatals need to learn from the banking industry. There has to be consequences for actions. This is the only way the country will be moved forward.
BTW, this should not start and end with Ms Ibru.

Well Deserved! She is fraud and should be treated as such. Besides she is NOT a banker.

tboy said...

Hah hah! Another punishment after jail sentence, ki lo de? Hope they will not tell her to leave the world very soon.

naijaneedsharshness said...

well deserved! it ia about time actions like this get taken in Nigeria. With they way our country is going.. we need more harsh and strict actions. God bless them for doing this!

This woman should be in jail for crying out loud. This thieving mama of i fit be you,catwalk the world and moon used avenue to steal so much money with their cohorts. No it is not harsh.

Hmmmmmm! The same pple that dined with her are still the ones aganist her now! well, that's life. Whoever you're in Life, Rem to be good, kind and charitable mostly to those who are really, really poor( no house, no good food, no money for business,depressed pple, orphans,widows etc) i know you can't help the whole world but you can try by helping the ones in your neighbourhood. A good name is far better than gold. You can only live in one house at a time, sleep on one bed at a time.

Deby said...

Why? this is a harsh decision. she was not the one involved. why her only? I hate such decision.

OYB said...

long overdue

the woman is a convicted thief who got a slap on the wrist and disappeared while serving soft time. she belongs with bernie madoff

well deserved

Please do we even practise banking in Nigeria in the first place? However we look at it, this woman worked so hard and transformed a small entity into a big institution and a great employer of labour. The association should look at more serious issues in the Nigerian banking industry. Everything the ex bank executives were punished for doing are still being carried out in Nigerian banks. Even SLS knows!

Me said...

what did she do wrong? to me she did not deserve all the harsh treatment meted out to her. she did not steal any money from the bank,but capitalized on her position to make more money. was she justified? who is?
it is my candid opinion that the woman is better than most people i know. have they investigated the corruption that took place in the NSE? what about all the billions we invested there? what is the worth of our stocks there? how many people are answering questions about it now?
please the woman should be left alone.

And to think Pastor Adeboye was with you in all you did??I really dont put all the blame on you alone..hmm

methinks said...

God bless you OYB, na she madoff suppose sey rock 2geda! ole buruku, agbaya iranu.

Nonny said...

Why is she being punished alone. All those senators/house of rep memebers/local govt chairmen/even past presidents and serving president what have they done to them. Nigeria is too one sided with too many fish brains. Abeg make una free the woman jare!

fine after what she did to investors money. do you know how many lives this woman destroyed with her greed. infact she should not be allowed to practice any profession that is worthy.

About time!

methinks said...

@initebok, r u that much of a lazy arse to check up facts or u just prefer the illusional bliss of ignorance? she was convicted of bank fraud, embezzlement amongst other financial crimes all bordering on 419 moves, so what do you mean by she didn't steal. She STOLE dammit! #dumbass.

Truth said: toooooo harsh ke????? wht kin question be that. Abroad she'd be in jail. All these professional criminals are why Nija is f*cked. Our people are SUFFERING/NO JOBS/ NO MEDICAL CARE/ NO EDUCATION SYSTEM, NO INFRASTRUCTURE, AND NOW NO SECURITY. AND ALL THESE THIEVES KIDS ARE DOING BIG BOY AND GIRL ROUND THE WHOLE PLACE. BANKER KO BANKER IN. She shld try this in UK where I live. She's even lucky sef she be in nija.

Eya, I just pity her. Can she even appear in public again even after having served her term?

That is serious.
FREE GLO SCHOLARSHIP 2012, APPLY NOW.

good riddance. too little too late. they should strip her of more stolen money. Oleh

ChiChiluv said...

WHERE IS THE MONEY, that's the most important question! What does she care about them yanking her license when she's still got 19billion at her disposal? Did she return the loot she stole after she came back from her very brief stint in jail? PLEASE with this slap on the wrist.

SMFH said...

I think the fact that this topic is even up for discussion only goes to show that not only is nigerian leadership corrupt, but the mentality of the average nigerian man/woman has also been warped and corrupted. How can one even justify not taking away her banking license after all the stealing? Does accountability even still exist in this country of mine called nigeria? How can we as a people demand or will good leadership if our sense of justice and ethics is not up to par? I fear for this country oo, we are our worst enemy. "Too Harsh????" Is that supposed to be sarcastic?

Am surprised that with all the money that she stole, she could not give some money to her daughters to get a lipo or lap-band, so that they would lose weight and get married. And yes, this was well deserved.

oscar said...

She was never a banker ab initio. She was just a sociologist and sociology is not in any way a numeric course. She gtot to that level because then it was a family business but as soon as the bank went public she was suppose to step down for a professioner to take over. Well as it stands now she remains an x convict. Beautiful but greedy.

Ken_Whizzy said...

... I think this woman was simply made a scape goat,is she the only rogue banker? very unfair!