Gone too soon: Gafar Syntillate, CEO of iREP Tee dies in car accident | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 December 2011

Gone too soon: Gafar Syntillate, CEO of iREP Tee dies in car accident

The young and creative designer behind the iREP Tees died early boxing day morning after a car accident at Elegushi Beach. Below is how a friend described what happened, plus scene of accident.

Heard police held onto his body for bit but released it to his family this evening. RIP Seun 'Syntillate' Gafar. So young, so talented. Sad!

72 comments:

Im confused, he HUNG ON to the jeep? May his soul rest in peace, but that's a darwin award right there...

All Android All The Time said...

Rest in peace homie! You'll be missed...

Kunle said...

Rest in peace, Seun Gafar.

You really need to translate his friend's version of events, so that educated folk can comprehend. Had a headache trying to read waht he wrote!

*what

i tot hes still in coma

Str8FrmDaHips said...

See...if we had street lights would that have ever happened??...useless local authorities the money probs gone into Tinubu's thier boss's pocket...even though Fashola is trying!!...RIP..
I just hate anything to do with driving and going out at nite during the festive season

kambinachi said...

may he rest in peace. so sad

RIP. But we can not continue blaming the roads and government for these deaths. Knowing that the roads are bad, we should be making smarter decisions. Stop speeding, stop drunk-driving, and stop making stupid decisions like hanging on a jeep. I don't mean for this to be insensitive but I'm sick and tired of hearing about these deaths. We know our roads are bad and yet we still make reckless decisions.

Ok, so let me get this straight, he chose to HANG outside the jeep with the cars of the jeep wide open while they drove? him along with 3 others? like they are some silly teenagers with no brains? Ok oh. Hmmmmmmm

Sorry to say this, but why would 4 people be hanging on top or outside a moving car...already sounds risky to me. Anyway, may his soul rest in peace and his family be comforted.

I've been crying, I can't believe he's gone *sad face*. I pinged n called him cos I cud nt believe it, I just wanted him to tell me he's still alive. #RIP Gafar gosh

What a careless and avoidable death... such a talented person. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

My fellow LIB readers, as we all celebrate in this festive season, we should remember to be careful. This season comes with different temptations of its own. Say ur prayers before u leave the house.

Rest in peace.

lucabracee said...

I'm sorry but why would they hang on to a jeep risking their lives?
the road safety and nigerian police needs to be more firm and resolute with us nigerians..i remember a time i was in nigeria on holidays,i was drunk,driving and i had a bottle of brandy in one hand while driving with the other hand. the policeman stopped and took a bribe and let me off...i was so drunk i didn't even know how i got home the passengers in the car told me all that happened..

the policemen didn't help me by letting me off,the least they should have done is detained me there till i sobered up.

when the british police pick on what some of us africans see as minor infractions we term them racists sad incidents like this avoidable accident which has claimed a life shows that they are actually helping us.
life and death is a micro second away and i realised this some years ago when i was being stupid ...

i was rushing to another city from london the morning after clubbing the night before high strung on red bull.
i dozed off on the fast lane full speed on the motorway and only woke up when the metal studs started making noise..if it was nigerian roads i am sure the accident would have been fatal.

may his soul rest in peace and may the good lord give his family and loved ones the fortitude to bear this sad loss at a time like this

who is that foolish Mayowa and what is that rubbish he/she wrote?! Even a 10 yr old can compose a far better story than that! Punctuation and everything! I didn't understand that crap he wrote jor.

Stunned said...

WOw! no way. This is horrible. To think I was just thinking of contacting him for a whole bunch of logo shirts. The description of the accident is eiry. How was he hanging on to a car? hoe did he end up under the jeep? that is sooooo sad. Such great talent and really doing big things at such a young age. These our naija roads na wa and the reckless lifestyle some of our youth live sef get as e be. RIP Irep masta

Ms E said...

What is happening
Father in heaven :( :(

How terrible. The accounts are horrific. This is unreal. His young life just cut short just like that. Just went to his FB page and some were even speaking to him a few mins before he died. Us young people need to be very careful and start acting responsibly. Cant believe this young man wont see 2012. Who would have thot this

why do you have to hang on a car?when ure not an AGBERO??rip

Gafar syntillate it's a pity u av to leave so soon but I pray you rest in perfect peace.

kkdlegend said...

may his soul R.I.P AMEN

toolz...no, not that one... said...

how on earth could he have hung on the jeep like a common conductor. Rip.

BAYO said...

Such a careless death..RIP Bros..Pls we should all learn from this,why hang on a jeep just for fun,he just killed himself for nothing.if he knew he had such talent and all you described linda,why such wrecklessnee?i just dont get whats wrong with ma people not having value for life.May your soul RIP

RIP Gafar. So sad. However, What the f*ck is this person saying?

This is so sad. His death could have been prevented. RIP

May his soul RIP, so sad

Ps.
To Nigerians out there, writing in shorthand I guess you call it that, like his friend did, for example using "dz" instead of "this" etc, its not only very annoying, its very embarrassing in the international community. People outside of Nigeria e.g America have now assumed that you do not understand the English language, so get a grip, act like you are educated and take the time to make abbreviations where they are appropriate and when they only make sense. It does't make you look cool, which I assume is your goal, (I may be wrong), it really makes you look ignorant though

Save that silly kind of writing for your friends and please, please, please, keep it off facebook too, save a whole bunch of us the headache!!!!

Wow, we need to take more care....sad times. R.I.P

Very unnecessary death
I feel sorry for the people he caused untold pain

RIP Young man. I hope would stop playing Russian Roulette with their lives. Sounds more like Alcohol and Immaturity were involved.

How come no one is talking about the ditch expressed as the main cause of the accident and the death traps in our roads? He may have been hanging on the side of the car but I assure you that there are others (siting in the car) who have died resulting from the same ditch and these cases were not reported. It is a yuletide celebration and our roads are potential death traps... RIP..so sad

@ annoy 8.43am, you obviously spent more time critiquing style of writing than showing sympathy with the dead. Just so you know, you are hardly any better than someone who chooses to abbreviate words inappropriately. Given that you chose a time when a family is bereaving to say this rubbish. There are better forums for your inappropriate message and you so-called English concerned Americans.

ERE EGELE!!!!!!! Sad

@Lucabracee - You are an IDIOT! Read what you just wrote to your Mama and see if she's proud to have raised you.

Nigerians blame Govt. for everything, This incident is very much self inflicted. I was not there but going by the broken account of his friend, these jokers were playing Russian Roulette with their lives. Alcoholism is a very ignorant and terrible disease.

Chris said...

from what Mayor wrote, the car was filled. they just needed to get to meadow hall (school) where they parked...if u ever been to elegushi this makes sense because its quite a walk to whr they parked from the beach. the road isnt even a busy one at all. only folks going to the beach use it, its nt even tarred!
...I have driven on that road too...for the JEEP to have tumbled, the driver was reckless...dats a fact. Its just unfortunate. RIP GAFAR

To all those dat said it was a careless decision he took,i quite agree wth u but he could av died thru anoda means.I guess that is his destiny.All i would say is,we should always commit our ways unto God's hands.

@3.01am .you are a disgrace.Keep your London story to yourself.Its people lioke you that give Nigeria bad image.

grace said...

wow his friend's account of the story is confusing. i think the car was in motion. anyways it was such a risky thing to do. Rest in peace Gafar. This is so sad.

she says said...

@Annon 8:43 ...sory,but i saw you typed "does't" instead "of does'nt". Wat does that make you???
Puhleasee!! Spare me!!!

Extreemly sad to lose such a talented and up and coming star in the society, his death reminds me of dagin's death. May we not shine only after our death IJN. My thoughts are with his family at this time. RIP seun but if this tragedy was not from God then I ask for the judgement of God upon those behind ur death dat did not av mercy for ikunle abiyamo(ur birth). Sun ree o

Anonymous @ December 27, 2011 8:43 AM - You've summed up a lot of what I've been telling people in Nigeria for so long. This "shorthand speak" is embarrassing, annoying and it truly makes the person writing it look stupid. For some reason, which I cannot fathom, they think its cool. Can someone please decipher what his friend wrote cause it's given me a headache.

May his soul rest in perfect peace and please keep his family in prayers.

RIP even though that was a silly way to die.

It was a major pain in the butt trying to decipher the absolute junk Mayowa wrote.

Rest in peace!:(

MAY THE ALMIGHT GOD GIVE HIM A KUL PLACE TO LAY HIS HEAD ND BODY MAY HE REST IN PEACE.

nametalkam said...

To all those fools insulting the BB "messenger" did it occur to you, this was a msg he or she sent to their person/s and this is possibly how they all speak to themselves? Its a msg that just ended up in the public eye because of the circumstances. Biko free the persoin jare. It was not a BBM sent directly to any of u on here so why the insults? Awon ode. Anyways RIP to the young man. I see recklessness played a big part. Please let us be wise when we have fun. This man's death has probably caused some serious heartache

Gafar, my brother n friend. Words can't describe hw I feel abt ur demise! We grew up together:played together, u remember wen as kids we wld all stay out late, just outside ur house with Kenneth, you, Tawa n I, once or twice ur cousin Niyi wld b around. I remember wit sadness now, hw u taught me to ride a bicycle, hw ur dad called me ur wife, hw u settled quarels btw Tawa n I, hw we all wld fry pancakes, or fry potatoes..oh God! Hw we all wld return frm our respective schools n come home, start peeling groundnuts n fill dem up In bottles ready for ur mom to export them to England...I remember wit grave sadness, hw u and Ken my elder bro wld go abt having fun, laughing @ various pranks u guys made. Remember, u had dat accident, Tawa n I l wld come n stay wit u in Eko hosp., u were very strong. Then u left for England. I was sad. After some years u returned n we were happy again. I remember wen u had d SYNTILLATE dream, I told u I tot d name was funny, but u pursued ur dreams nywy, evryone loves d I REP tees... I told u they were d coolest Tees ever, u just smiled with profound humility...Gafar, now I won't c u again...won't see u smile, hear u say: Ngozi, come hang out wit us...ha Gafar! Na so dis life be? I knw u lived a good life, u'll alwys be in my heart forver. I LOVE U; but obviously, God loves U more. RIP bro...until we meet again, never to part no more!
Your sister n Friend,
Ngozi Nwarache

Mr Oyinbo,read wetin u go read and stfu......the jeep was in very slow motion,in traffic just after meadow school,it is a long walk from the beach to the junction i must confess,nut that was "quite" careless,heard d jeep slowly tumbled and no one was found initially until when d towing van came in d morning, then d body was found under the jeep.R.I.P to d lost Gafar.....

Nkechi Obasi

aww said...

Awww Ngozi ur write up has me in tears. This is all so sad. Don't we all wish we could turn back the hands of times at one point or another. Gafar or is it Seun, but ur loved ones didn't plan it with you like this na. U just have so many people in tears.

I'm a little confused at why people are all over the owner of the BB message. Was this sent to these english majors? Sorry mr or miss proper english. The msg was sent to sum1 who obviously had 1st hand info on the accident. Linda doesn't even have permission to share this so I am unsure of how mayowas write up is affecting any of the critics on here. Nonsense

This is friend, na a special one.
It could have been avoided if people will stop doing silly things. Anyway, rest in peace.

R I P!

This guy criticizing is a standard badstard! Can't u see the mayowa guy wasn't interviewed by whoever owns this blog,we all have different ways of talking to friends,and am sure the mayowa guy was talking to one of his friends,the picture looks like that of a munched screen from a blackberry message,stop the insults You FOOL,R.I.P to the young man.

Are we here to understand a story or listen to some "Mr know it all",wonder if u even made it in all your English classes,go find another place for ur proper english you FOOL,can't u see the Mayowa guy was grabbed(from a bb chat).People like you know nothing,dickhead,anuofia kibu

very sad death...May God rest his soul!

R.I.P Gafar Syntillate, you all should show sympathy not condemn a munched chat,at least it explains a bit,Mr Oyinbo,kindly stop ur insults,u are the only stupid person in here,u are criticizing whilst others are mourning,grow up. Mahn!

May his gentle soul Rest in Peace.(Amin). He has already been buried according to muslim rites.
This life nawa oo! Here today gone 2mrw!
It's kinda strange that Skales never mentioned syntillate's passing on his twitter. He only talked about himself surviving and continued to tweet as if nothing happened to Gafar. kinda strange....coz i thought he and the guy who died were friends...hmmm!

That's why some of you never progress, some people are telling you to speak proper English, and you are here cursing them out. Later on you'll say that you are unemployed....who in their right mind will give a job to you half-baked creatures? Totally unteachable and backward. It is NOT cool or westernised to spell like a retard!. Get a clue!

Rest In Peace mate u won't be forgotten!*clears throat* eehh did I hear or rather read someone say the americans think.....retetetete oh please whoever u are, I have white, chinese and mixed raced friends and THEY if not WE as youth prefer to use slangs and abrvtns wen texting eachother.It is the norm !! sooo if u feel ashamed I dunno.. Ask ur mum y ..but pleeaasee let me hear word ! Ka m nu ife !! (Like my mum would say) soo just shut up!. Unless we are writing an exam or writing in school we CHOOSE not to spell d whole dictionary!!! If I must be racist.. D oyibo pple ur trying to look good for are olodo rapatas too!!! Its ur pure oyibo bu agbara mentality that makes u think we should worhip them by making ourselves look intelligent !! Nne or nna take ur time oo!!!! My grades r always excellent but I love to come across as an illiterate for pple like u to think ur smat AWON ODE!! And as someone who sounds like an oyibo (yes u won't believe it) I UNDERSTOOD what the bbm message was !! It was very transparent !! So stop forming that u had headache !! My oh my if u had a head ache reading that y bother sound smart?!? Anu mpam!! Ur having a hedeck(thick igbo accent) my foot !!
..Nwaojukwu

Her Excellency said...

its a sad one tho,dnt know him until his death,but i ve frnds who kns him,and i know mayor king as well.Fine the road to elegushi is bad,was trapped once,but his folks could ve avoided d ditch and also they cld ve insisted that he sits in d car coz its obvious he was drunk.i pity his lil girl he left behind.such a talent. RIP Gafar

sleekreek said...

Though dis sounds harsh from me and its not my nature to talk dis way but I must say he paved way for his own death........y should he hang on a car?? yes the roads are bad and there are no street lights like Str8FrmDaHips said but a little caution would have changed the whole story.......anywayz ,, may his soul find rest!!

Its strange Skales never said much about the incident,Banky W never gave an official statement too. All he tweeted was that he,skales and wizkid were performing at the calabar carnival. no mention whatsoever of the incident.RIP Gafar,may ur soul rest in peace...

vee said...

May your soul rest in peace,remeber the day we became friends and how we met, remeber how shy you were,....remeber the way i used to tickle you just cos i no u dnt like it...... remeber you came to my house that fateful afternoon to pick me up, and you could not wait for me, you were in such a hurry,.....remeber your last fone call to me at 5pm that day saying you had to go and i must be at ur parry wiv ma sis and cousin , remeber how you called my name with an accent which i tot was cute,i remeber saying the only fing i wanted for my birthday was a tee reping gafar ,i was that proud of you,i dnt know if u got started on it ,,,most of all i remeber how focused you were and the plans you had for iREP 2012, i remeber your reaction wen u hrd u dint win the dynamix award, you said "i cant be bothered', they cant stop my shine,...i remeber how creative you were and how much of a perfectionist u were, you would go for hours on end working on tees ,sometimes losing sleep,...u were a great young man. There is a lot i wish i said to you that i couldnt..i always wanted to know why yu had a skin cut and where your love for crystals came from.. i was looking forward to your birthday and the iRep party in london snd meeting your daughter. You dint desreve to go the way u did but God knows better. This is just to let everyone know that they should not judge or criticize, seyi was a very sane young man ,he was not excessive at alll, dat was a one-off .. i never got to tell u i cared or dat i wished i wasnt soo busy,so we d see more. I miss you loads and your legacy continues...we wuldnt let ur ideas go to waste. Adieu seyi, or boo like i prefered to call u....u rep till LATE..

I think it was his time to go whether he hung on top of the jeep or sit in the jeep. More importantly, we must be very careful how we keep late night outings. Da Grin died after hitting his car on a parked vehicle at the dead of the night and same as CD John. Government should not be blamed on our careless lifestyles. Anyway, RIP GAFAR

Hw on earth did mayowas eng turn to a topic for debate eh? D dude was obviously in shock n disoriented seein as he jus lost a friend,u tink writin proper english was top most on his mind??? All he wanted to do was communicate,which he did so pls in Gods name stop crucifyin d guy. If u eva loose a frend,take ur time n construct proper oyibo. Olodo!!!!

stormola said...

Choi!..this 'Government' person in Nigeria has suffered o!..'i shit,e no flush,na Government!'
RIP Gafar! and young ones,PLEASE be careful oo!!You cannot live twice!!!

Aduke-luv said...

Very very sad indeed!...R.I.P Gafar.

P.S And I'm 101% areeing with Anon Dec.27th @8:43am. Rightly said dear.U said it all!...And why all these insults people?!?What did he/she say wrong?!?Jeeeez mehn!...Ignorance!!
Its only by accepting our mistakes that we can correct ourselves or learn the right things.

Aduke-luv said...

.....agreeing* I meant.

This is so sad RIP gafar

So said