‘My Experience With ‘The Stalker’ For 6 Years’ – Omowunmi Akinnifesi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 September 2011

‘My Experience With ‘The Stalker’ For 6 Years’ – Omowunmi Akinnifesi

Funny but I am not laughing

His name is……..yep I know his name, his full name. I have heard it so many times when I finally decide to pick up an unknown number after dodging the calls that show his caller identification. Numbers I have come to store on my phone over and over again.  I have about six of his numbers and for a while that saved me from speaking to him. Well that was only until he got a new number off course.

It all started in 2005, after I won the Most Beautiful girl in Nigeria Pageant. I granted an interview with a popular newspaper in Nigeria where I was asked who my role model was at the time and I mentioned Oprah Winfrey. Little did I know that Oprah was going to get me into trouble?

My phone rang early January 2006 and it was the voice of a man, possibly in his late 30s or early 40s. His voice was coarse and suspicious. Innocently I said ‘Hello‘ and this marked the beginning of the terror. ‘Am I speaking to Omowunmi Akinnifesi?’ he asked. ‘Yes‘ I replied without a hint of fear. ‘How are you?‘ He asked again. ‘I am fine thank you. Whom am I speaking to?‘ I asked. ‘This is…… I admire you and I think you are the most beautiful girl I have ever seen. You are charming and extremely sexy how can I meet you? I know you like Oprah Winfrey. I can introduce you to her, she is a very good friend‘ he said.

The first thing that came to my mind was huh! Who ever said I wanted to meet Oprah? I tried to imagine the voice I was hearing over the phone talk to Oprah, and laughed……naaa not a good match. Don’t think Oprah will know this one, I thought jokingly in my head.

To be honest I cannot remember the whole conversation but I remember trying to get off the phone as fast as possible by saying ‘ok thank you thank you‘. And since that day this man has been calling my phone non-stop. At first I thought it was just a fan, just someone that liked and appreciated me (which I am always completely grateful for). But I knew something was wrong was when he called me twice a day everyday for one week, asking me to come for different events. Today he was lunching his foundation; tomorrow it was a fashion line. How many events can a man have in one week? I asked myself. And then I thought, this is definitely not normal.

Dodging his calls, he started calling forcefully. My phone rang thirty times in a day continuously (And nope, I am not exaggerating). This was it, this was the beginning of my paranoia.

It became so bad that one-day he decided to show up at the Silverbird head office in Lekki Lagos. I had an interview that morning with a magazine and I have no idea how he knew I was going to be there. As I entered the office I remember seeing this person wearing a pair of glasses, sitting down and staring at me like he had just seen a ghost. I walked in wondering who that was and just then, I received his call. Luckily I had saved that very number he was calling me with that day, amongst other numbers he owned that I had saved. As usual I did not pick, but he sent me a text message that read, ‘I am at the Silverbird reception waiting for you‘. I shrunk on my seat and immediately alerted my chaperon. She immediately went out to my rescue and would you believe this? The man had to be carried out of the office because he refused to leave till he saw me.

Well luckily that was the first and last time I set my eyes on him. Since then his calls began to fluctuate from three times a week, to once in a month. Then just when I think he is gone into thin air, after 3months, he begins to call again everyday for the next six weeks.  I will scream, ‘Please never call me again’ and even tell my male friends to act as my boyfriend or even my husband, yet he was persistent. Saying things like ‘lets get married, you will have my kids. Omowunmi when are we seeing? We need to be together‘. Now if this was a boyfriend, won’t every woman feel loved and adored? (Like he actually calls), but this was a total stranger calling every month in every year until 2011 when I stopped hearing from him. I even changed my phone number a couple of times, but somehow, he still got that number.
In 2011 he called once or twice and i totally ignored them. Little did I know what Sunday the 21st of August had in store for me?

I decided to attend church with my sister that wonderful morning. We had arrived a little late and made an entrance to the front row of the Church (which were the only seats available). Just as the service was over, I made my exit out of the Church. Unfortunately for me, this man had been seating on the row right next to that exit. Did he know that was my preferred way out of the Church? I am not sure if he did, but I still wonder why he was not sitting on any of the other two exits of at that church.

He got up right in front of me and said ‘hello Omowunmi my name is…….its been a while. I have been meaning to give you something. Take this letter‘. I froze and almost had a heart attack when he said his name; a name I had heard being introduced to me a thousand times over the phone. I started walking the fastest way I could and he caught up with me. My sister, who was walking ahead of me, was already long gone. She did not even bother to check if I was behind her because she knows how fast a walker I am as well. Frightened, I was desperate for her to come to my rescue. I finally found her and he kept following and sneaking up on us until we entered our car and drove away; and believe me, we did this as fast as we could. No jokes. Even my sister was in shock. I mean we had seen this in the movies but I never imagined it becoming my reality.

On Wednesday he called me again and I just could not help it but to ask what to do on Twitter. Some people said I should file a complaint with the police, some said its an obsessive compulsion disorder and that I should play safe, while some offered to ‘organize for him’ (hilarious). Well my family and I are trying to handle this and we will see how it goes. I hope he is reading this and realizing how much damage he is causing?

Stalkers are actually real. I love my fans and I am humbled when people reach out to me about how much I inspire them but this is just extreme. Please don’t get me wrong, call me, text me, tweet me and become my best friend on Facebook, I love and I appreciate the gestures.
Just don’t become THE STALKER

Culled from thenetng.com

43 comments:

de!icious said...

awwww! Queen it is well.

This gal go school so? As in, it's like, mehn, her written english needs a stalker!!!!

Amebo1 said...

Oh my gosh, Linda, I have just read the sh*t that Toto Dick or Tonto Dikeh called you on Twitter.

P-L-E-A-S-E, do not reply her at all. Why? She has a short lifespan with asthma and Igbo smoking. I pity her family because they cannot control or advice her.

Linda, face your job and ignore her. Six months from now, you will have the last laugh because she will no longer be relevant in Nollywood. She is a failed actress cum porn star.

When pornography stops for her, she will go back to the brothel that a film producer got her from. Ashewo original. Fine for nothing...

Amebo1 said...

Oh my gosh, Linda, I have just read the sh*t that Toto Dick or Tonto Dikeh called you on Twitter.

P-L-E-A-S-E, do not reply her at all. Why? She has a short lifespan with asthma and Igbo smoking. I pity her family because they cannot control or advice her.

Linda, face your job and ignore her. Six months from now, you will have the last laugh because she will no longer be relevant in Nollywood. She is a failed actress cum porn star.

When pornography stops for her, she will go back to the brothel that a film producer got her from. Ashewo original. Fine for nothing...

El-Rufai Says- Sleep With Eyes Wide Open said...

Gbam Gbam Gbam... Why not just marry the man, this way he gets what he wants and you'll stop having a stalker?

Just kidding. In Naija, not much you can do, just be alert and careful.

amebo7 said...

eyaaa my dear stalking is not just for celebs o, me too experienced it but the good thing is (i hope) we dont start having serial killers too...pele dear tell paddy adenuga to lend u his "wonderful" boduguards...lmao

gosh, i read with fear, i hope you make a report to the appropriate authorities. very bad experience.

Ms E said...

pls what did tonto say about linda on twitter??!

this girl dey funny sha,imagine make she mention de name now afterall oyin adenuga tell us d name of her stalker.shuo publicity hungry girl

I think she is enjoying the stalking,if not she would have gotten her male friends or the police to get him off her back!

Kemiismyrealname said...

I tire o. What silly write up is this? If you know his name you will OUT him immediately. That is how stalkers are dealt with. That way if he comes around you people will be aware and the element of surprise is reduced.

Lmao!! Did she seriously write this?? She wants us to know she has a stalker! Hahahaha...pele dear! If you are really terrified like you said, you would not hesitate to provide his full name or had reported it at least ONCE in the last 6 years, but it looks like you are enjoying the whole thing. mmm...some people are spotlight hungry...lol.

This girl was my junior in QC and she was the fakest and the most annoying person ever. I will never forget her very fake British accent and she was very melodramatic in her actions... I don't believe her? She is seeking attention.... hissss.

I am still very surprised that she won the most Beautiful girl in Nigeria???

ok......What does she do for a living again?

Can't you go get a day job?

I don't understand....there is too much pressure on them to be relevant....

Fressia said...

Toto, sorry Tonto did what! She is so dead! Linda is wayyyyy to smart to remain a Model or be a Nigerian pornstar Anywayz. Hiss.

@ Anon 7:19:
Haba, there is nothing wrong with her written English. 'We read and understood' and thats why we are able to make our comments.

nne, wateva happened to changing your phone number and calling the police?....mscheww u sha wnt attention, u done get am, NEXT!!

She better arrange her brothers/male friends/boyfriend/fiance to bundle this guy to Yaba left

*ajalahtravel*

omowunmi if u are reading this please publicise his name number and picture if possible. He wont come near u again. But then again His mind is twisted, so theres no telling what his reaction will be. You need to file a police report.

Anon 7.19 u are so pathetic! OMG. Someone is sharing her ordeal in d hands of a stalker & all u had 2 say is complain abt her English. Next Time Pls jst shut

steezz.com said...

Dis is so like one of those oyinbo movies. Nne sorry. But seriously if Oluchi was in 9ja i'd have been stalking her. Have been in love with her since 97. Still trying to makeup my mind on stalking Kate Henshaw Nuttal and if dat fails, i'll switch to Genevieve. But b4 i begin i need to knw if there's a law against stalking in 9ja.

These situations are real. May I suggest that you log all communications with the stalker. I see no reason why you cannot get a physical and digital restraining order.

Make no mistake. This man is dangerous. A few loose screws and a bad day can set him off for a grande finale. Take action to preserve you life.

This stalker believes that you should be together in this life or the next.

Waz...

steezz.com said...

@Amebo1 I know why Tonto Dike is mad at Linda. Linda once made a snide remark in one of her post about Nigerian movie makers’ lack of creativity and the movie in question was Black Berry Babes. Tonto Dike was in that movie and she just wasn’t amused one bit by that. If u doubt dis story ask me. And why r u people calling her Toto Dick? Do u tink she’ll that?

steezz.com said...

I know why Tonto Dike is mad at Linda. Linda once made a snide remark in one of her post about Nigerian movie makers’ lack of creativity and the movie in question was Black Berry Babes. Tonto Dike was in that movie and she just wasn’t amused one bit by that. If u doubt dis story ask me. And why r u people calling her Toto Dick? Do u tink she’ll like that?

Attention seeking or not... some of the comments here are just insensitive and cruel.. until u are in a situation where sumone is stalking u for yrs and u are afraid he or she mite do you harm eventually...pls shut up and reserve ur silly comments to urself... I'm no fan of hers by the way, but as a solicitor i have been privy to many clients who have been victims of stalking and i genuinely see the fear and disruption it causes to them.

I am experincing this too now, the worst is that this stalker knows my house, i am seriously praying to God to help me.

I need help too

OMOWUNI IS IN EVERY EVENT. i get stalker and i know stay for house. she is just seeking attention from people. go get a day job.
you want attention, yes we got it. pls release the persons name.

or you ran away someone's money and now you are calling him a stalker. pheeeeew, stalker my foot

I had a similar experience with this strange guy oh. I have no idea where he got my number but this guy would call me like 3 times a week telling me a lot of bull. A while later, it started to fluctuate to once a week - once a month for close to 6 months.

The day i finally got fed up and sick of it, i prayed about it and decided to approach things in a different way: The next time he called, i began to read out heavy curses from the bible on this man's head oh! i cursed his children,his children's children infact his whole lineage and generation. I told him that he will be disgraced and shall die a thief and a pauper. The man said same to you" I reject it in Jesus name and hung up the phone.
Na lie oh. I went and bought 1500 credit and called him back. Come and see invoking of curse! I was shouting and raining curses like a mad woman. I could tell he was getting very uneasy and worried but I kept hammering him with fire, when he caught off the call, I'd call him back until the credit finished.
I rounded up by sending him a powerful hell-raising cause from the book of Isaiah.
Needless to say, that was the very last time i ever heard from him and its been over 2 years.
Try it Omowunmi and see if it wont work. Naija peeps dey fear curse die.

Some people can only make bad comments sha. What's wrong with her English?

Some comments here are mean and insensitive. And by the way, wat has her englishh got to do with the anguish she is going thru.
Wunmi, I think you should change ur number as often as u can and file a report with the police for record purposes. I know how disturbing the situation is. It is well with you.

Rauzmayree said...

@steezz.com...na only fine babes u wan stalk? You shd try ADA AMEH then will u know if there's a law prohibiting stalking in 9ja :))

Ade_Cool said...

As some have mentioned why hasn't she mentioned dude's name??..reported to Police/press charges which would make it accessible to the public..6 years and she's still withholding that info..she needs to get real..anyway she's lucky he obviously doesn't know where she lives..YET!!

omowunmi, when an aristo buys you a chanel handbag and you refuse to pick his calls after you got the bag, then sorry he has eveyr single write to stalk you and take you to court sef. yeye girl...don't go and find a daytime job ok? continue doing ur backhand runs.

For everyone who thinks she is faking it or enjoying it, I really hope you get a taste of what it feels like for someone to stalk you and make your life a living nightmare.

Now, this is coming from someone who had to move house twice and get a police restraining order against the guy. If not for God, I would never have moved on from the depression and fear.

Please, I know Nigerians 'have mouth' but sometimes the insensitivity is just overwhelming

Makus.... said...

Hmmmm... I know about u feeling that someone is fake, and all over the place.... but the level of insensitivity i'm seeing in the comments here is appalling! The fact that we don't like some1 personally does not mean that we lose our humanity in the face of their anguish.... if anyone of u have ever had a stalker, u will recognise that this is no laughing matter! Anyway, I'm thinking y'all don't even merit a RAT considering stalking ur asses!!!!! lwkmd!!!

@makus,
you don't get the point.
folks are calling her fake for two reasons;
1. she fails to name the guy yet gives the impression that she knows him.how does that help her cause?is naming him not part of the shaming process?or is she enjoying it?
2.she does not tell us anything about reporting him to the cops or getting one of her numerous admirers (who we imagine sponsor her expensive wardrobe) to deal with this guy.
i believe a few broken bones will sort this guy out and her admirers have enough private securities to do a tidy job.
the fake aura is down to her and the aimless write up.
i see nothing wrong with the English.

she s actually enjoyin the stalkin attention i no dis girl attented QC together infact even mates from j s 1 to s s 2 she is fake fake fake enjoyin everybot of the stalkin kmt

duh!! buy a new sim card. its just N200

lol... you really expect Nigerians to believe this? who gave him ur number in the 1st place? stalkers stalk they don't call, this one was calling you for six year and you changed your number multiple times and he still manage to get the new, please explain that part, how is that even possible??? mba sister model, this story is not true.

let me tell you the true story, yes he is a stalker but you had your own role to play, he his very rich and you ate his money. Yes!!! you chop him money!!! he was your maga and he paid like crazy, am sure you call him back anytime especially when you are broke, i am sure he has your account numbers, i am also sure you guys met couple of times face to face, its easy not to pick at all or hang up if you hear his voice, then you don't have to listen to all the promises, just say u didn't like him but you loved his money and now its stuck on your throat... sister pls don't give us bushi bushi stories, we r not mumus

the write up is just a publicity stunt. ah ah ppl! she sef wan blog cos it is the in thing.
what is she witholding his name for? abi she loves him secretly ni?
any way sorry omowunmi i never pray to be in your shoes sha.

Y'all are mean, mean people!!!

Fake or not, its scary to have a stalker. The guy can kidnap her or even try to harm her one day. I hope she understands that. Not sure talking about it in public is a good idea especially in Niaij where restraining orders dont exist.

@Anon that talked about the cursing - that was too funny!!! But its a good strategy.

Renée Anastasia Davidenko said...

please sthg must be done abt it before he pours acid on her

If you later met the alleged stalker at church how come you wrote this after the Silverbird encounter: "Well luckily that was the first and last time I set my eyes on him." ????????????