Quote of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 July 2010

Quote of the day

"There's nothing rewarding about modeling. It was a fun opportunity that allowed me to see the world but spiritually and intellectually there is nothing rewarding about the profession at all. I often felt that we were too glamorous. Because I'm not very glamorous it didn't feel true to me. I relate far more to the fashion of today than the Chanel miniskirts and Versace jackets of that time. Plus, having to wear all that make-up — what a waste!" Super Model, Christy Turlington, said while promoting her documentary, No Woman, No Cry.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10 comments:

Myne said...

So what d you say Linda, you agree? You were a model too abi?

you've got to give her some credit because she's right to some extent even though most models would by now have torn her to shreds.

Linda Ikeji said...

@Myne...I kinda find her statement weird. she was one of the top models in her days and she modeled for a very long time...U'd wonder why she played the game for so long if it wasn't rewarding. that profession gave her a name and made her very rich...so?

Linda I guess that all depends on how she defines 'rewarding'.

Miss M said...

Do i see some avoidance tactics there Linda? Still you managed not to answer myne's question....waiting...

Miss M said...

Do i see some avoidance tactics there Linda? Still you managed not to answer myne's question....waiting...

Miss M said...

Joohls said...

let me help you linda 'cos i agree with all you said. she was a model for over twenty years. it must have been rewarding in some way for her to keep doing it. maybe it was the money or the fame but whatever it was, she damn well enjoyed it enough to keep going at it for more than two decades. from the outside though, that industry seems a bit depressing. many models, quit early and some even committed suicide. not miss turlington the super model. if she wanted something spiritually or intellectually rewarding she would have quit modelling and joined a theological school!

Yes because modelling in Nigeria is exactly the same as modelling in the US/UK. Linda plus 5 (pts) for not answering these people. I don't know if they want you to produce a modelling certificate or something...Linda's real fans don't care if she was really the "top model in Nigeria" or not - is there even such a thing??? We just like her cos she rocks! If that's not good enough for you, you know what to do....I have said it too many times on this blog: FUCK OFF!!!....lol....

i think everyone has right to their opinion and if that's how she feels then we cant blame her...i guess there might be some things she didnt mention...maybe things she had to do to get to the top...i guess u know wat i mean.

So lesson for all,we should be mindful of the decisions we take now to achieve things cos we might regret them later in future