Lagos Parents Could Go To Prison For Flogging Their Children. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 11 July 2010

Lagos Parents Could Go To Prison For Flogging Their Children.

There's a criminal bill currently being deliberated by the Lagos State House of Assembly - a very nice, funny  and weird bill..:-)

The bill has prescribed prison terms for various offenses, including the beating or flogging of children by their parents - (WEIRD). The bill also sees the maltreatment of animals as a criminal offense while the culprits are liable to imprisonment - (FUNNY). It also seeks to legalize abortion but this is limited to incidents of rape and incest - (NICE).

The bill also seeks to look at persons whose conducts indicate that they are disposed to commit offenses.
The bill which is divided into nine parts, 48 chapters and 414 sections, classifies offences into three types namely: felony, misdemeanours and simple offences. Section eight of the bill defines felony as “any offence which is declared by law to be a felony, or is punishable, without proof of previous conviction with death or with imprisonment for three years or more.

Source: PM News

So parents could go to prison for flogging their kids? LOL
This is Africa abeg...
They should also look at flogging in schools...some teachers go overboard with that...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10 comments:

well i support the children-beating bill because there's a very thin line between abuse and discipline. i have seen some kids take very brutal canings from their parents or guardians and many times it is highly unneccessary. my father never raised his hand on any of his kids but we all respect him 100%

AFalomo said...

This is what I believe, the West would always have its way of influencing other countries, especially developing countries like Nigeria. The Bill like you said, sound funny. Even here in the U.S, they don't jail parents just because they flog their children. There is a huge difference between child abuse and discipline.

Ayokunle Falomo.

Ene said...

So babies conceived by rape or incest are different from every other baby? I didn't know that!

DaChick! said...

LMAO@the animals!!

DaChick! said...

Imprisonment is a stretch!

Nigeria is a stupid country that is incapable of making decisions on based its beliefs and the normal way of life.
in recent years we have shown to the rest of the world that we do not have a mind of our own. we aren't proud of ourselves from our tradition to our skin colour to our HAIR to our way of life to our METHODS OF DISCIPLINE and even to our ACCENTS. i always see our artists and other celebs on TV try to talk like the AMERICANS and at the end of the day- disgrace themselves.

we have bigger problems in Nigeria. i just finished watching a documentary on national geographic channel and found out that we are the SUPERPOWER in africa in terms of drug and human trafficking. we traffic people from other parts of west africa to italy to work in what is now known as the MODERN DAY SLAVERY.

we've got bad roads, no electricity, terrible health care, 0% human rights laws and some shitty state is trying to ban how we discipline our children? oh please.

these idiots better go get something doing like IMPROVING OUR INFRASTRUCTURE and EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM rather than engaging themselves in pointless and unnecessary laws which i am 1000% positive they won't follow.

I support 100% especially in schools no more flogging

CCLuv said...

we don copy america reach dis wan? wow! i was whooped both at school and at home and i turned out to be contributing member of society. i don't advocate abuse the likes that we see in America and quite frankly, i have never seen such abuse in nigeria where kids have cigarettes put out on their body, being put into a cage or changed up in the house and starved but yes, if you did something wrong mama ngozi, mama ogbonna and your mother will tan that behind, stat!

what happened to it takes a village to raise a child? what happened to spare the rod and spoil the child? are we dropping all the principles that have guided our society all these generations?

children in nigeria these days are getting so rotten in your behavior and character, i guess this is a contributing factor, naija parents now wanting to be American! it still amazes me how children of nigerian parents growing up IN NIGERIA don't speak any of the dialect, don't even have nigerian names and now parents will be instituting "quite time", "go stand in the corner", "grounding" etc even for serious offenses for fear of going to jail?

so now the govt is detecting how parents should discipline their children instead of focusing on jailing corrupt politicians and contractors? Instead of providing the citizens with social services, good roads, electricity, water and some semblance of law and order?

this my country don fall my hand so many times, it is permanently broken!

@ene pls have u ever had a baby by any of such means?Abortion on its own is abominable before God bt plsssssssssssssssssssssss spare the innocent victims some slack,e.g I.

Alicia says....

Nigerians and copy copy!!! this is AFRICA/NIGERIA we are talking about, not the western world!
for God's sake! there are bigger issues in Nigeria than worrying about how to discipline children.
Nigerians really don't have a mind of their own.
agreeing with skankmypeaceofmind