Mashonda bares it all...to Vibe magazine. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 July 2010

Mashonda bares it all...to Vibe magazine.

"I did everything I could do to save my marriage, but I knew there was no working it out when he admitted his affair (with Alicia Keys) to me… he was happy about it. After lying about it for so long and finally admitting it I was like ‘I can't take it no more!’ In the back of my mind I was like, ‘I have to fight for my family, this is my son's father. We were supposed to grow old together, we were supposed to raise this baby together, we were supposed to do all these things, I'm fighting for my fucking husband. I don't care who he's dating, I don't care how much money she's got, I'm fighting for my husband.’ And then I realized… I can't fight for him… he doesn't want to be with me. I'm not going to win this one"

Read the rest of Mashonda's Vibe interview here
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

26 comments:

alicia keys chop liver sha

she is beginning to sound like a broken record, get a move on already dammit!

this chick should let it rest already. we know Alicia keys is a home-wrecker...blah, blah, blah. we all hate her for it, well, at least i know i do. besides, i hope this is not some strategy to stay relevant?

Tatababe said...

Woooooow! I just read the full interview, deep stuff. Although I don't know the whole story I wish her all the best....it couldn't have been easy.

With these types of stories, i never know who to blame. If the guy has been cheating on you forever and you stuck around, what makes you think that he can't leave you one day or the other?
And these types of guys who just can't be satisfied with one woman (I'm talking about emotional attraction here, not just sexual) I wonder if they should even settle down because it seems like they will just keep on hurting one woman after the other. That's just evil...
As for Alicia, I wonder if she will also stick around once he starts cheating on her since she knew he was married and still went out with him...
God knows best sha! I'm not trying to judge anyone here

Nice Anon said...

This is pain most women can relate with. Alicia no try at all! I don't even see this whole marriage thing working out. Soon enough dem go divorce too kwa

ola said...

please linda, i wan ask u one funny and serious question. av ever fall on runway while u are doing ur modelling things, if yes,how do feel when such tins happen. i asked bcos of wat i saw on youtube on how models falls while they are on runway. some of them are funny, while some some can be very painful. google' most embarassing moment'and see wat am talking about.

Alicia Keys is a gutterbutt trollop, stupid bish, as she helped that man leave his wife and child, the same way she will be abandoned with a young child, by fire or by force. Useless asewo, she must reap what she sows.
As far as this beaked nosed animal they call swizz beats, I don't know why a fine girl like Mashonda even saw in and ugly thing like you in the first place. Ugly on the inside and out.
Mashonda, you sef, stop giving press to this man and his mistress. They're not worth your energy, words or effort.

joicee said...

It seems like shes is trying to milk this story for all it is worth...Newsflash..he left you for another woman ...he is not the first man to do this ...Mashonda MOVE ON with your life

Black Knight said...

In this dearth of good black brothers I guess its reasonable for two hot artists to have to share a good 'un especially one as cool as Swizz Beatz . There must be something about his manpart though.lol.

doll (retired blogger) said...

she should get a life already...this was so yesterdays news

ANON 19:53...I understand your anger but this is not the first time Ol girl was cheated on. I can almost bet that when he brought his first son home (w=who was conceived while they were together), she took all that lying down. I'm not blaming her at all even but I'd like to say she is not completely blameless. Only You can give people permission to continuously treat you the way they treat you.
I hope everyone recognizes their faults and seek forgiveness but people in relationships sha need to keep their eyes open. Yes love with all your heart but dont be an ode in the process. Don't allow any man/woman to walk over you. Cheating is a seriiiious offense, cheating to the extent of bringing in another woman's baby into the relationship is almost grounds for dismissal (for me it is no questions asked..goodbye). She is talking like he was some saint and then all of a sudden came Alicia. She thought she could curb his cheating until he actually cheated and left with this mistress.

As for SB, I pray he gets it together for his sons sake. No father should show this king of example to their sons.

mrs. marek said...

it is so easy to tell mashonda to move on, get over it, get a life etc. it is so very easy to say that when you are sitting pretty in your own relationship, when you are single, when it is not you who got publicly humiliated by the person who took vows with you in the presence of God and man. it is easy to say that if you are not a mother who has to explain to her child why daddy is packing up and moving out, who the new woman is at the house with daddy, who the new child is that is now his brother/sister, why mommy is not coming in after s/he gets dropped off etc.

i love it when people find it easy to discard another person's feelings because if you have not felt the pain of being disrespected in a relationship, if you have never felt the pain of losing someone you love to another whether it is a person, a thing like drugs/alcohol, being replaced like you don't matter, wait fo rit because your time is coming. And if you have experienced all of this and/or more and you still feel it is cool to tell a hurt person to stifle their expression, then kudos to you because you are one cool customer, iced water runs through your veins, not blood.

she's said things here and there especially at the height of the whole sordid incident but this is the first broad/expansive interview she has given to explain her position, explain how everything progressed from the beginning where she was suspicious/confused/angry/hurt to where she has resolved to find peace with the situation, essentially make lemon drops with the lemons she's been handed. she probably should never have married him AFTER he got another woman pregnant at the same time she was and she lost her child due to the stress. she should have read that hand writing on the wall but here it is, history repeated itself though this time around without the pregnancy in tandem.

i thought the interview was insightful, mature and she tried to stay in the middle with her assessment of the situation. I don't think she painted herself as the saint and those two as the devils, she is saying this is what it was and it is what it is.

having said all of that, here to hoping this is the LAST extensive interview that she gives on the subject matter because then she will appear sound like a broken record, come off as trying to milk the situation for publicity. i hope that she realizes that in the long run, only God can be the true judge and only He should mete out consequences for everyone's action.

Molara Brown said...

her story is sad, glad to know she is moving on...this is one of those reason why one gets scared of marriage

Myne said...

Two words, move on...

I feel so sorry for her but she has to move on. And quick. She should stop talking about it and just forget about them. I really don't know what to think of Alicia. She just.... i don't know. How she could do that is still....Whatever men. Just move on girl!

She must have made money from the interview(s) but she should move on, fast...

I completely understand her to some extent.
I have been in her shoes twice and I was able to walk out of the 1st relationship (of 3 years) with my pride and dignity because I didn't want to be disrespected even though it happened just once.
However it just happened to me again (this time with a 1 year realtionship) and this time I'm finding it very hard to walk out even though the guy is a typical Swizz Beatz, he did not cheat on me once but it seems like it's just in his blood to do so.
I am finding it very VERY difficult to move on even though the 1st realtionship was way healthier and less rocky than this one. I have always been a very strong and proud woman but this time around it's just been very hard(even him can't believe I haven't moved on yet)It just depends oo, just pray more because you just can't explain certain things...

histreasure said...

it's difficult but u gotta move on babe..believing always dat, karma's a mighty biaaatch!!!

Alicia could have had her pick of any unattached man anywhere in NEW YORK or the entire the world. Her hooking up with someone else's BOO does not impress me @ all. I guess she expects Mashonda 2 be a SUPERWOMAN & get over it just like that.

Harry said...

A quick question...

If you were in her shoes, will you just move on? Then woman just lost the man she loved, the father of her child and you all say move on? You don't have an idea of the pain she is going through and you say move on like love is a switch you turn on and off... She will move on.. at her own pace. Yes she is not the first person to lose her husband to another woman.

I don't wanna start an arguement or anything. All I am saying is don't tell her to move on... you are not wearing her shoes

Chika* said...

Why are people telling her to move on? Because it's easier for you to do doesn't mean it's easy for her to do. I beg take your time. She should start praying hard. It's not over...It's far from being over~~~~~~~~~~~~

I think there are two things we are mixing up here.
One is the issue of moving on.
the other is the issue of granting an interview.
I think no one has a right to tell her to move on or not.That is for her and counsellors.You can't dish that advice until you are in her very shoes (not even a similar set of shoes will do).
The issue of granting an interview is the one in which i think she is milking it.I can bet that interview was not done for free.
What exactly is she aiming to achieve by doing this interview?
She does not owe the public anything.
This is marriage for crying out loud! not some teenage romance or Public limited company.
Now that she has told her story,what has been achieved?
Does who hate Alicia already hate her, does who don't do not care.

Does = those.
my apologies.

if people are saying she should nt move on den tell her wat to do. like dnt move, stay were u are and cry the hell out of ur self

Nairobian Perspective said...

Nicki Minaj is now on the scene, is it a case for what goes around comes around???? ........just bloghopping!