Photo: Bank manager jailed one year for N200 million fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 July 2017

Photo: Bank manager jailed one year for N200 million fraud

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, has secured the conviction of Tajudeen Yusuf, a former branch manager with Skye Bank. Tajudeen was prosecuted before Justice Ambrose Alagwa of Federal High Court 1, Jos on 3 counts of forgery.

Tajudeen's journey to prison started on May 16, 2013, following a petition from Skye Bank Nigeria Plc, Jos branch, alleging that Yusuf fraudulently collected the sum of N200 million from the bank's customer, Alhaji Usman Tetengi and issued him with fake deposit certificate.

Tajudeen thereafter diverted the N200m to his personal use while all efforts to recover the funds proved abortive.

The convict was arraigned on 19th November, 2014 and he pleaded not guilty to the charges preferred against him.

After over two years of diligent prosecution, Justice Ambrose Alagwa sentenced the convict to six months imprisonment with an option of fine of N100,000:00 ( One Hundred Thousand Naira) on counts two and three. The sentence is to run concurrently.

18 comments:

King Solomon said...

Only 1year!!!

Enter your comment...6 month jail with 100k fine option.. I rest my case

Just one year?

Alex wealth said...

lol. this one don escape o.

Isaac said...

so basically he stole N200 million and all he gets is a 6 months jail time? this is the reason why corruption is still high in nigeria. how can someone

click here now if you are interested in penis enlargement

steal that much and get punished so little. this would encourage other bank managers to attempt it since the penalty is minimal.

One year for 200mil fraud, let's clap for the judge. What an encouragement to to be bankers lurking to commit fraud.

I beg I wan tiff o. Only one year or 100k fine??? Give me 2 yrs sef!!!

Only? I weep for this country & a hungry poor thief is set ablaze or 21years..

Good for him

I'm joining the bank to steal

Eeyore said...

What a joke. Guyman will pay the fine option of N200,000 and walk free with N199,800,000 change to flex with. Is that one justice?

DEPUTY said...

Judiciary is d main problem of this country.So if d fraud is 400m,it will be just 12 months imprisonment.

DEPUTY said...

Judiciary is d problem of this country.Fraud of 200m attract penalty of 6 months jail.kudos to d judge.

If na Igbo boy banker do am now DSS will condemn the boy to death and judge will concur, Nigeria we hail thee.

NDI HAUSA REPP'N THEIR FATHERS WELL

What's this. The problem of Nigeria is not corruption, it's the law. We are a lawless nation. Is this judgment even commensurate to the crime at all? Yet they shoot and maim poor kids for stealing food in the market just to survive? Now which is more evil?

At this rate this might be the fastest way to make money in Nigeria now o. I will gladly steal #200M and go to jail for 6months. Infact you dont even need to go to jail, there is the option of 100k fine. Jisos! Only in Nigeria!

And this is how Evans case will be treated. Ndi ala.