"My two "first" meetings with her taught me two lessons in humility" Bovi's beautiful birthday message to Rita Dominic | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 July 2017

"My two "first" meetings with her taught me two lessons in humility" Bovi's beautiful birthday message to Rita Dominic

Comedian, Bovi took to his Instagram page to pen down a beautiful birthday message to actress, Rita Dominic who turned a year older yesterday. He recounted how they met and how much she taught him about humility. Read what he wrote below..
"When I started working as RMD's personal assistant in 2004, I came across most of the entertainers who were pretty popular at the time.
In all honesty, many of them were not nice. It makes me remember the few who were. I don't blame them though. The hysteria from fans usually left them exposed and vulnerable to something thats hard to handle : fame. And Rmd was huge (he still is). Like when you saw RMD, every other being around him seemed like shadows. I know this because he would later send me on errands back to some of these stars and when I told them "we met the last time. I was the one with RMD" they would have this surprised look. Absolutely no recollection. Rita however falls in the bracket of the select few who didn't have to notice but she did. This is all the more interesting because I did something virtually every entertainer hates. On my first encounter with her, once she answered my greetings warmly, I called up a friend and passed the phone to Rita to talk to. She indulged me. Looking back, I cringe because that was pushing my luck (and excitement) too far. I will later help Rita under the instructions of my Oga with some print jobs. That was in 2005. After that, we didn't cross paths again. I will see Rita again 7 years later at 2faces birthday party. I coyly went up to her and said "good evening. My name is Bovi. Don't know if you remember....". "bovi are you stupid? Like really? you're asking me if I remember you", she obstructed! We hugged, and laughed and caught up with time. My two "first" meetings with her taught me two lessons in humility. One; It's very hard to fake. Two; It is however learnable. I'm still learning it. Riri, As natural and ordinary as those instances seem, they went a long way in boosting someone's self confidence and belief. Maya Angelou said our legacy is not the monuments we build or money we make; our legacy is the lives we touch. I am one of your legacies. Happy birthday Rita Dominic.

16 comments:

Awww....beautiful write up

Ontop said...

Most touching piece ever, HBD dear Rita!

ooooooow. rita dominic is my most admired actress.so simple and humble.

Awwwwwww. Happy birthday my beautiful Riri

She taught u 2 things about humility and you never practiced any since then? Shame on u... dee

Dupsy B said...

Happy birthday ooooooooo. Wullnp

I TOTALLY agree with this writer. Rita Dominic in 100% HUMBLE and DOWN TO EARTH.

Do I know her from Adam? No. Does she know me even till date? No. But I had an encounter with her in 2004 and ever since she has been one of my best Diva and National Pride in Nollywood.

In 2004, I was booked for a flight to PH on Aero and so was she one morning. Of course I was used to her acts in several nollywood films with Jim Iyke, Emeka Ike, Ramsey Noauh etc and really liked her interpretation of every role she is assigned. This I thought would make her arrogant and proud in real life but she proved me 100%. As we waited at the Lounge, I recognized her where she was seated in front of the bar with a younger lady (maybe her PA or relation) just gisting and laughing with no airs. Being a very quiet and reserved person who gives no damn about anyone talk more Nollywood attention seeking lot, I just focused on my own business.

At some point, I stepped out of the lounge to look around and just as I was about walking back in, we met at the entrance and me, I just removed my face but she said "hi" in a very simple and humble way. I also noticed she was wearing a pink linen shirt and white skirt which sat well on her. I ignored her and she repeated it again with such a wonderful smile showing off her signature dentition and I just had to respond. She did not do this for me to recognize her, no. She was just being HUMAN and till date, even after 10 years, I still remember her. Over the years, I have watched this beautiful lady transform into a global diva but one thing she has retained is her humanness, simplicity and outstanding sense of style. Rita is that one who has an uncommon preference for our local fabrics too.

Some years back she received an Award and while my sister and myself were discussing it in our home as we watched, we both agreed she is committed to selling the African heritage through her clothing and the fact that she has no airs what so ever. Even if she has changed now from that person I met and still hold onto as I watch her, I know it may be as a result of her call which comes with alot of challenges.

Rita Dominic we LOVE you are proud of what you have become. Thank you for bringing smiles into many lives through your many movies. Also, thanking for improving yourself in so many way unknown to the public without making so much noise about it. Thank you for being REAL always. Thank you shattering several ceilings against womanhood. Thank you for being a wholistic model and staying true to your calling. Thank you for SHINING BRIGHTLY as designed and wired by your Creator. We love you always our African PRIDE.

N.B: Ramsey Noauh is one other extremely humble individual I know and have known him for a long time. So also is his wife and children who has managed to remain in the background. Thank you for making Africa proud.

@Rita na better pikin

@Anonymous Orubebe

Without saying Rita Dominic looks humble so I am not surprised to hear it. Happy Birthday girl, she is so beautiful ,she doesn't look old for once. Love you darling big sister I guess...lol

Abayomi Testimony Salami said...

waooooooooo, awesome. @Rita, Happy Birthday, wish you nothing but the Best in Life. KEEP GROWING IN GRACE MY DEAR. #JahBless

@Bovi, pls practice what you learnt for her. #MoreDayMore$

Jumoke isn't humble. Don't say what u don't know. Talking from experience.

[Perock7 said...

happy birthday sweetheart, may your years here on earth continue to be filled with Joy, peace, good health..when you call one, may seven answer you... i wish you the very best in life to making a good home...still hoping for an avenue to see you one on one.....

...Mr Bovi, she is well cultured, humility is part of natural characteristics that she possesses..her smiles speaks it....Brother Bovi you can do better

Krimkem said...

Have never done this, but I have to. Bovi is the most humble and coolest of all celebs av met. Take note! @dee boi

Happy Birthday Rita Dominic

Nice write up from Bovi. My respect for Rita doubles. However, it is ironical that Bovi is commending someone for humility, because that is one thing he lacks. With little fame and money, Bovi has became a haughty, self-absorbed irrational brat who routinely insults his fans. Shame on him for not learning.

Uche thecy said...

Rita yes is. I remember ever stealing her contact from a close, she doesn't know me but each time I call her to say hi she won't appear to be rude out of excitement I will spend only few seconds so as not to bother her, if I manage to send her new montj prayers she will still reply, but others will form it's wrong number. I just love the lady that's all. And she will also send regards to my nephew that she shares same birthday with each time I told her, she doesn't know me not even my name but she's cool with fans. I love her jare just as I love Linda hehehe

#myOneWishIsToMeetWithLinda