'Kidnappers should be publicly executed to serve as deterrent to others' - Governor Umahi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 July 2017

'Kidnappers should be publicly executed to serve as deterrent to others' - Governor Umahi

With the case of Evans, the notorious kidnap kingpin still ongoing, Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State has suggested that 'Death Penalty' serves as the capital punishment for any arrested kidnapper in Nigeria. According to him, they should be publicly executed in other to serve as a deterrent to others.
Speaking in Abakaliki during an anti-corruption summit organized by the state government, Umahi said if such punishment is being implemented, it will help reduce the high rate of kidnapping in Nigeria.

Umahi said: 
“What these people do is worse than death, imagine kidnapping someone, blindfolding and chaining the person in one place for six months or more than that, it is worse than death and people who indulge in such deserve to be publicly executed to serve as a deterrent to others.”
Also speaking at the summit themed: ‘Institutionalization of Good Governance for Sustainable Development’, the chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) Ekpo Nta said good governance can never be achieved in a corrupt environment. 

According to him,
 “Corruption thrives where all these processes are prevalent and corrupt persons seize these opportunities. ICPC relies heavily on promoting anti-corruption through robust prevention strategies.
“The United Nations Convention Against Corruption, UNAC strongly recommends that most of our strategies be channelled into prevention processes. This is the practice adopted by countries that have successfully reduced corrupt processes.”

18 comments:

ifeoma's verdict said...

Idiot! Na kidnappers own una go see talk. What about you corrupt and greedy politians that has brought the country to the pitiable state it is right now. Na god go punish all of una.

For window blinds wallpapers and curtains please call 08160856785.

hmmmmmmmn

so also corrupt politicians

Looters nko?? Shud be hung too all na criminal offence. All join

Very true

Where is @Evans sef?

@Anonymous Orubebe

I support! As long as they publicly execute all the politicians and leaders that have kidnapped our future and stolen from us to enrich themselves. Please sir, you are all the same.

Ife i hop u ar nt married to a kidnaper bcos pple go tru hell in deir hands so he is Ioo% right

Naa only kidnapper own una address bcos dey r kidnapping u people but wat about rapist n child molesters,nothing una do ontop am...awon oloriburuku somebody.

Pure nonsense. We must first execute those who have contributed to the rise in kidnapping in the first place. We should start stoning political thieves in public to deter future looters.

Dozie

Looters should face the same tune, They play a big role in increased kidnapping.

Same goes for corrupt politicians

It hurts me so much that I can't pro
vide for my family. And feeding ones a day has become an issue. It was not this way when my salary comes in every month but now for over 4months I've not been paid. Abeg my people help your brother with food stuff even if is with half paint of garri I will appreciate please. My name is Micheal and this is my email address michealmicheal046@gmail.com

Maverick said...

We hear you. Fine! What should happen to you politicians?

you and your colleagues should be publicly executed for kidnapping the peoples wealth

MUMU...

kinda true
How about politicians Uncle Umahi???