Between January and June, we have arrested 682 crime suspects in Edo State- Police CP | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 July 2017

Between January and June, we have arrested 682 crime suspects in Edo State- Police CP

The Commissioner of Police (CP) in Edo State,  Haliru Gwandu, says they have arrested 682 crime suspects in the state between January and June 2017. Speaking to Journalist on Friday in Benin, he said the suspects were arrested following 332 reported crimes that took place in the state during the period under review.
Giving a breakdown of the figure, he said 221 were arrested for armed robbery, 43 for kidnapping and 96 were arrested for murder. He explained that 295 suspects were arrested over alleged cultism and 49 out of them had been charged to court, while 27 suspects were arrested for alleged unlawful possession of firearms.
He said 300 of the suspects had been charged to court. Gwandu added that 28 vehicles, 98 different types of guns, 1,185 live ammunition and about 192 live cartridges were recovered in connection with the crimes reported during the period under review.
He declared that there had been a decline in crime and criminal related activities in the state as a result of re-strategizing put in place by the command. He reiterated the command's commitment to making the state crime-free, by saying “there is no hiding place for criminals in Edo State.”

9 comments:

mackonze said...

Which means you guys are not doing a popular job.you supposed to have done better because Edo is crime headquarters in Nigeria

Hw many had been arraigned in court and convicted. Or u just arrest and collect bail money... Corrupt people..... Aninimaous

and let me guess. .... zero treasury looters

How many did you convict?

CHIBUIKE said...

I believe the figure is more than that cos no tribe commit crime more than Edo in this Nigeria. Stupid Edo people

How many of the ruthless herdsmen that is on rampage in Edo state has been arrested. Oga police kindly stop all the media hype and concentrate on doing your job, there is crime smelling every where.

Your papa na mad man, so I no surprise say madness dey run for ur family, IDIOT.
Which tribe dey wasted pass Igbo? Money Rituals, Drug dealings, Kidnapping, trafficking and selling babies.
WASTED PEOPLE who has no life.

Your papa na mad man, so I no surprise say madness dey run for ur family, IDIOT.
Which tribe dey wasted pass Igbo? Money Rituals, Drug dealings, Kidnapping, trafficking and selling babies.
WASTED PEOPLE who has no life.

Chibuke...it amazed me that some retarded people like you still exist in this age of information. So that some miscreants behave stupidly, makes the entire state stupid. Who in this country is not aware of all the dastardly atrocities being perpetuated by people from your area not to talk of the biggest kingpin of kidnappers EVANS. As that make the whole of your generation stupid? Please when you write, write like someone that at least finished primary school. Thank you and God bless the people of Edo state.