A case for balance in handling the Lekki British School incident | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 11 July 2017

A case for balance in handling the Lekki British School incident

On the afternoon of Wednesday, June 14th, 2017 during lunch time at the Lekki British School, Lagos and prior to their science lesson, one of the students, (name withheld), went into the science laboratory and obtained an ingestible liquid.  

He poured it into the water bottle belonging to a fellow student (name withheld). Fortunately this bottle never got back to the girl following the prompt intervention of other students and teachers...

The school immediately swung into action and after thorough investigation and deliberations and in the best interest of all concerned especially agitated parents, the offending student was asked to leave the school premises to allow tempers to calm down.  
 However, the incident has brought to light a few pertinent issues which we would like to address through this medium.
First, the children in question are pre-teens:  eleven and twelve respectively. These are precious jewels with a potentially bright future. While it may be right for any offended parent to ask for “corrective actions” to be taken against an offending child when a situation arises, it is also pertinent for us not to forget that as pre-teens, this is the age at which children are beginning to experience hormonal outbursts which manifests in different forms. 

It is therefore the collective responsibility of the school, parents and relevant authorities to manage such situations, and ensure that each child including the offending one realizes their full potential.  In line with the schools motto “a brilliant future” the most important task for us is to guide and counsel children to become useful to their parents and the society at large. 
Secondly, no student at the school has access to any harmful, dangerous or noxious substances which are kept locked away under the control and supervision of chemistry teachers and technicians. That is standard procedure.

Thirdly, we would like to use this medium to reiterate that the use of social media should be restricted to constructive information at all times but most especially when it involves children whose future need to be protected. 

At this point we want to commend the Lagos State Government, particularly office of Quality Assurance and the Lagos State Domestic and Sexual Violence Response Team for coming to Lekki British School to verify and have firsthand assessment of the incident. This development is very reassuring as it shows  that the State is concerned and interested. If necessary we are willing to work with the Lagos State Government Social Welfare System, to provide necessary support as and when required. This we would do through guidance, counseling and close monitoring. 

At Lekki British School, every Child has a brilliant future. We will leave no stone unturned in ensuring that every child that comes into our care attains his or her full potentials.
 As an international school we teach our students to be self-disciplined and responsible individuals. 

To face the challenges of life with courage and wisdom, a school must be a beacon of hope where students feel secure, confident and get equal opportunity to build their future. Therefore the offending student was allowed to complete the examination in a monitored setting in order to have an academic record for the future. We did not want to throw the baby out with the bath water.

Lekki British School is one of the top schools in Nigeria in terms of facilities, pedigree and academic achievements and it is internationally recognized and affiliated. We have well trained and certified teachers who, along with our support staff, provide excellent pastoral care and individual student attention. We have strong values of discipline, integrity, respect for others and a robust approach to conflict resolution. Lekki British is a Member of COBIS – Council of British International Schools.

Member of AISA – Association of International Schools of Africa and we have 16 years of successful existence – high academic performance and placements of students at international universities. We want all parents, students and prospective students  to feel rest assured that we are experienced at child life building and our goal is to produce children with a well rounded education.

Signed:
MANAGEMENT
8 July 2017

59 comments:

You see, this is why it is always good to listen to two sides of the story, all of you judging the school come and read.

It's always good to listen to two sides of the story.

Mtchewwww

I advise all parents, withdraw your child from this school

They are more interested in your money than in your child's welfare

@Anonymous Orubebe

soul child said...

How did you arrive at that conclusion after reading this article? You statement is harsh and unreasonable.

When parents like you who produce children in dysfunctional homes bring them to school, you expect the schools to perform miracles on your kids after their minds must have been moulded at home.

Abeg free the school. I believe parents have the PRIMARY responsibility of moulding and training their children, and the schools will complement.

Haba I thought they said that the child poured acid on another child.... Kai ppl

Thank God calamity was averted. If that child had drank the substance and died it would have been a different story altogether. There is no need justifying anything. All parties involved should learn from this incident and make adjustments moving forward.

Read what. What exactly did they say. Is it different from the matter on ground. The student poured an indigestible substance into another students water bottle taken from the lab. If they were that careful how on earth did this student have access. Blaming this on teenage hormones is ridiculous. Also I feel that they are somehow trying to shame the victim. I would sue their lives. Sue them for every penny they are worth. Nonsense school.

HMM

B€£ said...

The school is sick upstairs if d student had died am Sure they will be singing another song by now nonsense school

There response indicate that the victim is being shamed and like rumour has it the offending child from very rich home and obviously smoke screen punishment. A child was almost harmed/killed and this is what you could come up with, it would have been better the school didn't respond because this will provoke anger.

One is not holding brief for the school but its important we note that acid was not involved and that the story is a far away cry from what we had read originally. These are little children and it could happen even in our homes. Lets give the two children a fair chance and ask the school to be more careful.

This is total rubbish. If they child had died nko? They will blame it on hormones abi? The school is coming out how many weeks after to make a statement and instead of being apologetic is praising itself and blaming homones. What happens with them accepting that they were careless in allowing their a student have access to chemicals without autorisation. Money is not everything ooo. Lives are involved here biko. Sheww

I agree their priorities are wrong but no be to withdraw students na. What's their rating sef. If we go to waec, we will see buth then again, they will say that do not so waec abi? Tofel and say things.

Dolapo said...

What a pathetic school! Someone tries to kill another and it is blamed on hormones? What kind of stupid statement is this? For any crime that is committed in the world, is something not blamed, does that mean the criminal should go free? Armed robbers that kill blame it on not having money, same for ritualists, kidnappers etc. So are they supposed to go free. The highly insensitive school that obviously does not care about the lives of its students and cares only about the pockets of their parents releases this daft statement because they are scared of parents changing schools as resumption into a new school year will start in September. They really must have very low opinion of the common sense of Nigerians. And Linda, if you like do not post this comment because you might have been bribed, but do not forget that your platform has been noted to right some wrongs in the country, for now that seems to be only thing helping cettain matters in this country.

God bless your life. Honestly I don't understand the head and tail of this nonsense statement. And some fools are here saying there are two sides to every story. What exactly is the second side. Hormones? May God forgive u people. If that girl had died nko. What would we have been saying. They will still try to sweep it under the carpet. Thank God for that Aunt that tweeted about it. Linda if u like post. U bloggers have no conscience anyways.

This is how the child will poison his or her spouse in the future. The child needs a little punishment. Changing school is not the only solution.

You treat an attempted murder case like this?

You call it hormone?

The precious life of a brilliant girl was almost snuffed out and you are concerned with niceties? lollllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll. Money indeed is the root of all evils

This school was probably built on blood money so blood. If not so, you would not treat the life of that precious girl, that had a whole Son of God coming to die for her, as if it does not matter.

My advise parents, look for other good schools. I am management myself and I can write this over and over to manage situations. We have been trained to manage war! trust me!

Run, Take your precious children and run. I wont say more than that

Abo oro la n so fun omoluwabi, to ba denu e, a di kini?

Dolapo, God bless you

I am out

If you know what's best for you you better withdraw your child from this school, they don't even have shame, she the stupid press release, abysmal, so the victim should continue going to school with her would-be murderer. Rubbish. No child of mine will ever go to Lekki British. Waste of money

Wow this is truly horrible coming from Lekki British, Hormones? which kind of hormones cause murderous tendencies, rubbish, this is a school that is not concerned about the welfare of the kids, I am sure the murderous boy has powerful/rich parents and that's why they have refused to take action, Clearly a bunch of stupid people with no principle. Do Not Take Your Child Here o, I have said my own

Bright future ko, bright future ni, the boy is a psychopath in the making, its better his parents get him help. By the school allowing him to stay, they are endangering the lives of every other student there which is unacceptable. Why would anyone pay millions for their child to be in this kind of environment.

I guessed the press statement is to put the record straight. However, you ended up implying that the aim is to hide the facts for the sake of business.

"ingestible liquid"
You tried to diminish the hazardous nature of the substance by not mentioning exactly what it is. Ingestible is a wrong choice of word only intended to cover up the truth.

"swung into action".
Swung into what action? The students that saw and prevented "ingestible liquid" from intended aim did the job. The action I can see from the school is cover up for the sake of business.

" hormonal outbursts"
Failed parenting and failed school system cannot be  blamed on hormonal outbursts. For a child of 12years to think of taking someone's life as a means of eliminating competitors cannot be blamed on hormonal outbursts. Failing to call a spade a spade can only be for the sake of business.

" access to harmful, dangerous or noxious substances "
If no child has access to any harmful, dangerous or noxious substances, how come "ingestible liquid " was gotten by a child of 12years as a murder tool? Apology would have done more good, but you didn't for the sake of business.

"Lekki British School is one of the top schools in Nigeria".
A time to talk about how a child cheated death is not really a good time to talk about how good you are. If you are that good, this issue would not be going on and there will be no need for press release. But you have to do anything for the sake of business.

Man-up and Kindly accept your mistakes, thank God fatality was averted and apologize. This is Naija, we will all forget about the incident very soon. Even if there was fatality, going by your press release, you will still deny any wrongdoing. And am positive your business will not be affected bcos this is Naija.

what I think is that chemicals are kept in chemical labs for training students in chemistry lessons. If the students are going to be taught with the chemicals, then they must have access to the chemicals. I dont see why the school should be blamed for this. if this was a case of teachers punishing a child and the child fell ill or is endangered by any policy of the school or faulty facility of the school, then the school should be blamed. this is a case of two students having issues with each other. There is a limit to which a school should be blamed. All of you people saying the school is nonsense seem to have been bribed by a competing school to spite Lekki British.

What in the world,do they meet by,'leave the school premises to allow tempers to calm down...does this mean,the offending student was suspended or expelled?
It better be expulsion,cos we are talking about life and death situation here. Not even a case of beating someone up.
Granted,pre teens are liable to hormonal outbursts and all,but with this situation.
I doubt the victims and other potential victims will ever feel safe...It'll only be a case of whose child has to leave the school.
I certainly hope that adequate counseling is provided to both parties.Prayers is vital too.
I can't imagine a child of that age,actually thinking of such heinous crime and then putting it into action!
The parents have got to nip this in the bud.

It is a pity this is coming from a so-called international school. So, because the boy has brilliant future, he should go Scotfree so that he can continue to kill other children with brilliant future because he hates competition? If he should be left alone without the right corrective punishment that will teach him the lesson of his life then he will continue to kill in the university and kill colleagues that are smarter when he begins to work and even political opponents in future. "kekere la ti npeka igi Iroko .......'

They are right on hormonal changes in 12year olds, I agree as I have witnessed many bizarre behaviour from kids that age. But this statement doesn't sit well with me at all... What the kid did was very terrifying and completely wrong, and it will be very callous to blame what he did just on hormonal changes... The kid definitely has deep rooted dangerous tendencies and what they should be telling us is that they will work on him. They should also apologize for being so careless to let a child have access to such dangerous chemical and assure us that things like this won't happen again. This statement definitely sounds like they are shaming the victim, and like people have opined, I would Sue the school and the victim's parents if the victim was my child... They should be hammering on redress and not the fact that every kid deserves a chance, like there are people who disagree with that assertion.

What the child did was extreme however the responsibility is more on we adults to mentor and guide ourkids.

It would have been better not to issue a statement than to release this ridiculous caricature of an explanation. What exactly is teenage hormones? The boy I'm question was planning to eliminate other classmates if the first was successful and you attribute it to hormones? He is a potential serial killer and if you decide to call a spade a pen, may you or your relation be his first victim. Remember to attribute it to hormones instead of him to seek psychiatric help now.

The school is being blamed because they refused to punish the boy for attempted murder, rather they decided to shame the victim.

Rubbish School! Dont take your children here o!

Are you people sure you are reacting to this story because you appear as people who are paid to respond or having a misplaced aggression. What exactly is the issue here?
Facts
two students dissagree
2. a case of acid was reported
3. there was no acid and no damage done to either of the student. boy and girl okay still intact thank God
4. no evidence of acid
5. school maybe faulted for allowing student into the lab? Is this this not the same lab used for study?
Me I no book o but its like recession don dey deal with peoples reasoning
Make una take am easy sha

Haba how can you describe another man's 12 year old a potential serial killer? Yesterday my neighbours son added pepper in his sister's ogi and he said he was joking. Would mummy call his son a potential serial killer?

How much dem pay you?

There is no satisfying you. What exactly would have loved the school to do? If they did not respond you will complain. Now they did. you are picking holes. For your information, schools in Lagos have a primary obligation to protect the interest of children and the state being a responsive one has delved into the matter. What do we say about accidents that happen at home; even worse than this? We must thank God that the children were unharmed. You do not have an eye witness account other than the story of the aggrieved which obviously has been blown out of proportion. Have you considered for one second that the children did not suffer any burns even after "coming in contact with acid" as was earlier reported. Omo if you touch acid especially the one mentioned in the story, the story will be clear for all to see. I think this a case of an aggrieved parent who obviously has been looking for a way to get even and society just gave him or her one. How else would you explain the venom.

I concede to the fact that the offender is a preteen and that whatever correction to be meted out should be tempered by knowledge of this fact.That said, given the severity of the potential harm he could have caused, he should be placed under special watch. Any further infractions by him and he should be asked to withdraw from the school. Regardless of his age, he needs to be taught responsibility. He needs to be taught that grave actions attract grave reactions. He needs to be taught to live with the consequences of his actions so that he would apply prudence in his future actions. Overall, I think the school's handling of the matter thus far has been adequate.

Lagos Dad said...

I concede to the fact that the offender is a preteen and that whatever correction to be meted out should be tempered by the knowledge of this fact.
That said, given the severity of the potential harm he could have caused, he should be placed on special watch. Any further infractions by him and he should be asked to withdraw from the school.
Regardless of his age, he needs to be taught responsibility. He needs to be taught that grave actions attract grave reactions.
He needs to be taught to live with the consequences of his actions so that he would apply prudence in his future actions.
Overall, I think the school's handling of the matter thus far has been adequate.

The guilty child needs Rehabilitation. The school needs to be questioned on why a pre teen had access to the lab during lunch. Or is the lab a play ground?

Gbam

what i read in that statement was "Ingestible" not indigestible! What I surmise is that the material in question is consumable in dilute quantities but harmful in concentrated quantities. I too studied chemistry abeg! and by the way, what was all that bullshit I read earlier about shit and etc? when will we learn to be balanced and objective in this country? the laboratory in question is a school laboratory. If the students do not have access to the chemicals how will they learn? we are making a gigantic mountain out of a tambolo hill here jare!

what happened in this school is a squabble between two kids that was blown sky high by malicious social media propagations. it is a pity! the more I look at it, the more I wonder what is really going on. Don't get it twisted, I am in support of child safety and I know that the offended parents have a right to protest, but come on, the shoes could have changed feet! The Offended child could easily have been the offending child! These are kids for pete's sake! what is all this hullaballoo and brouhaha about? Nigerians, e be like say na recession dey pain una lol!

don't mind people who have no better job than to spoil another person's business!! Mcheww

when I was in secondary school at Washington Memorial Grammar School, Awka Road Onitsha, I drank Dilute Hydrochloric acid three times during volumetric analysis experiments at WAEC!! those were the days when students did real practicals during WAEC. you sucked it out with your pippete, poured into the jar and then diluted with an alkali from a burete! if you sucked too hard, you swallow a mouthful!! I completed the exams and even forgot to drink more water as instructed by the teachers! I still dey kampe! there is no school that will keep harmful susbstances within the reach of students. Teachers are not fools. haba, make una take am easy jare!

we dont have any evidence that the chemical in question could have killed the child! there must be safety standards that regulate the strength of chemicals used for instructional purposes. This is a high brow and sophisticated school we are talking about, not some old grammar school...lol

historyworld6060 said...

Parents beware of that school.the thing is that the boy have deep tendency of evil mind...at that age he hated competition...

almost harmed? Killed? No way! there are teachers around, an infirmary, first aid, not to talk of vigilant students! hey, lets stop the hate and spread love around! for all you know, this may be a game between two kids gone awry and blown out of proportion. free the school please. No the "victim" --I am not sure that word fits here--has every right to be angry and he or she is definitely not being shamed here. What happened is that a little squeal of anger is being amplified so many decibels so loud that every one is now confused, both "victimizer" and "victim" as the case may be.

GBAM! you just hit the nail on the head!

as a parent I know that pre-teens are very erratic. This is a time for patience. we are talking about kids here, Children Biko! those of you who are blaming the school so much, how many of you have parented pre-teens? that is when you will know that it is God that safeguards children. and how many of you that have parented pre-teens have ever attended PTA meetings, that is when you realise that the job of training children does not rest on the school alone. All parents are to be held responsible!

na parents like una wen dey use una mouth to serial-kill other people's school, na una dey give birth to potential serial killers! Haba! wetin happen sef? no be children dem be? no be chemical wey dem dey use teach dem? who die? who wound? who go hospital for dis mata? wetin dey burn una for belle? apologies to the girls parents jare. more harm is being done this girl by all this insinuations of her imminent death, as if some people are angry that she survived! as if they were praying that the poor girl should have died so they will go and burn down the school! Bad Belle people!

this is absolutely unfair! please withdraw that statement or it will happen to your own child or grand child! what a man sows he shall reap!

who paid you? run to where? the school you are managing? you deign to mention that the son of God died for the girl yet you are so full of evil machinations that you would insinuate blood money just to create a dirty alarm? what do you know about the Son of God? How was the girl's life nearly snuffed out? is she in hospital? may God judge you and your likes.

what if that accused child were yours? because believe me he could be anybody's child. I mean, its a child! children do childish things puhleeeeeeeeeaaasee!!

no wonder Nigeria is this terrible! a child has an issue with another child in school, and instead of parents issuing constructive Ideas, everyone is here issuing hate as if there was a previous grudge with this poor school

at which age do you begin to identify psychopaths in the making? and by what authority?

well said, the parents have a lot of work to do

what exactly do you want to do to a twelve year old who was accused of trying to put a substance whose lethal nature is not confirmed in the bottle of another child and was caught and no one was harmed? kill him? oya go kill am now!! mcheeew!!

your choice of words is wrong, there is no victim here please. there was an attempt by a minor to put an instructional chemical substance with no proven ability to harm, in the bottle of another minor, he was caught and apparent danger averted. if you think that was enough grounds to make a suit, then you are a legal illiterate! no pun intended, just saying my own!...peace!!

my thoughts exactly!

from what i read, they were about to have their science lesson na, abi bee, ko?

It's nice how they refused to name the liquid. Calling it an ingestible liquid (whatever that means) doesn't mean acid wasn't involved.
They should send the kid for psychological assessment and therapy. Whether he is a psychopath or not, this incident would be emotionally scarring for him...and several other kids sef...imagine them living in fear of their mates