Twitter user comes under fire for saying a guy should pay for lunch even if she's the one who asks him out | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 June 2017

Twitter user comes under fire for saying a guy should pay for lunch even if she's the one who asks him out

Twitter user @KLCHII ruffled feathers when she said if she asks a guy out for lunch, he should be the one to pay for the meal. She later said she was only trolling but it didn't quell the flood of angry responses. More after the cut...

18 comments:

Joyous babe,Linda Ikeji First Cousin said...

But why are they mad at her now? Is just a simple truth.

Joyous babe,Linda Ikeji First Cousin said...

But why are they mad at her now? Is just a simple truth.

Lol. @Nigerians are angry people by default.

Agbomen said...

There are no chivalrous men in this part of the world. So why did she even bother herself with that tweet in the first place??? And even if there are chivalrous men in Nigeria, they so damn few, i can actually almost count, lol!. She should knw this, or did she just want the attention. Smh.

It isn't. U. Called him so youtr paying for it, it's not free food day plus when a guy invites u over does it mean sex? No! He can simply wants to hang out

Enter your comment...many will write for der comments to be seen ask ur self dis question d girls in the house, ur brother come bck from a date and tells u a girls called him out for lunch and he paid for d invitation be truthful cos its sunday will u clap for him?

Please shut up. hungry girl. If you're my sister, I'll beat you up for saying this. And yes I'm a girl.

AGB said...

Do you know the meaning of the word "chivalrous" at all..or do you just like how the word sounds?
In all honesty, when it comes to taking financial responsibilities up for women, Nigerian men are one of the most chivalrous (in other aspects, maybe Nigerian men aren't,but as for money matters, I'm definite!). There's a difference between not having & being stingy. Some guys don't have, but they won't hesitate to take up any woman's financial burdens if they could.
Go to other countries especially western countries (the other part of the world you claim) & see for yourself that their culture encourages equal sharing of financial burdens between the guy & the chick (unlike the lip service a lot of women like to do here about forming feminist and gender equality but once taking up financial responsibilities come up, they want to take the back seat & totally forget their feminist activism.)
Nigerian men are culturally trained to shoulder the finances of women & that's some chilvary (at least as it relates to money matters).

Women from a lot of western countries find Nigerian men attractive for this reason cos they come from cultures where this is more or less strange. Chill with your talk of 'chilvary'....it's a lost war on this issue!

Wow. You've actually sampled all the men

James said...

Look at some stupid women that have already commented. The entitled ones that use gullible men. How the hell can you ask someone for lunch and expect the other person to pay? Using someone for free food? Are you mad?

I swear, Nigerian women are some of the most entitled around. So many of them expect a man to pay for everything for them no matter what and the painful thing is that so many men do it. Later they'll be throwing insults at the male population and claiming to be independent. Rubbish.

Look at that imbecile throwing around the word, "chivalrous" there; it's so obvious she doesn't know what it means. Look at that other fool saying it's just a simple truth. I swear, you people just piss me off. I see your type and I run the other way.

LOL

Agbomen said...

@AGB, FYI, I wasn't NECESSARILY talking abt MONEY only, when I mentioned the word CHIVALROUS. But more about the attitude of the responders which were almost all MEN.
And oh yes! I do know the meaning of the word CHIVALROUS, coined from the word CHIVALRY.
CHIVALRY; Gallantry, Courtesy, Generosity and Honour.
The noble qualities a knight ( in this case, a man) was supposed to hv, such as courage, generosity and a readiness to help the weak (in this case the woman)
CHIVALRY is POLITE, KIND, UNSELFISH behavior especially TOWARDS THE WOMAN.
I may not know somethings, but I damn well known the meaning of the word CHIVALROUS. And am not in the habit of using wrds that i do not know their meaning.
Plss from all the responses the lady got which one sounded chivalrous. It's you, unfortunately who hv reduced the meaning of the word to the act of a man spending moni on a woman and shouldering financial responsibilities. Buts that's typical, so am I shocked??? Of course no!!!! Lol!! So, you see, it's you who is deficient, for all your grammar and all. Reducing CHIVALRY to the spending of moni, alone. Smh.
I hv had the opportunity to live in one of those Western countries you so hurriedly referenced for 28mnths, 2yrs,4mnths. I hv never seen where men are so readily disposed to picking up bills completely for women, I mean completely. Even though when you go on a date nd such, you sometimes share bills. But I was stunned to find that a rich no of men still pick up the bills for women, totally.
So tone down your aggression.
Trying to make everyone believe Nigerian men are chivalrous because they are cultural trained to shoulder financial responsibilities is BS.
CHIVALRY is much more than spending money, ok. That a woman preaches feminism is not reason to pour insults on her, when she asks you to pay for a date she initiated.
But of course just like I said in my earlier post, with men like you around, it's indeed a lost war, to borrow your wrds, tnk u.
That much, I know and had said to the lady. U are most definitely not amongst the very few CHIVALROUS men still around.
CHIVALRY is much more than picking up a woman's bills.
Ciao!!!😁😁👅

Agbomen said...

It's almost double insult for me that your pathetic moronic ass shares the same name with my beloved brother. Your brain is too tiny to really comprehend weighty issues. That is if you even actually have brains. The good Lord may hv just omitted in giving you one, knowing you were NEVER going to put it to good use. Read my response to your compatriot above☝and be better informed, dummy. Smh!

JAO said...

No common sense in tweet....

AGB said...

" CHIVALRY is much more than picking up a woman's bills. "

I guess you forgot that when you first chose to bring in your favourite word 'CHIVALROUS' into a debate that is clearly about MONEY....shouldering bills.

Agbomen said...

No! I did not. But that's the point exactly, Pls hw do you divorce been Chivalrous from this situation. CHIVALRY died when those men decided to pour invectives on the lady for asking a guy to pay for an outing she initiated. Their attitude is the MAJOR reason for lack of CHIVALRY. Its not only the reason, but the other reason pales in comparison to their insult galore. Read the definition of CHIVALROUS. I had stated all this before. But I guess English is sometimes difficult to understand for some pple. You keep going round and round in circles.

Luv this Convo. Hi Agbomen.

Mumu