Photos: American citizen remanded in Kirikiri for allegedly duping 3 Nigerians of $565,000 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 June 2017

Photos: American citizen remanded in Kirikiri for allegedly duping 3 Nigerians of $565,000

An American citizen, Marco Ramirez, was on Thursday, June 22, remanded at the Kirikiri Maximum Prison by an Ikeja High Court for allegedly duping three Nigerians in a $565,000 green card and investment scam.

Ramirez, who was arrested and arraigned before Justice Josephine Oyefeso, by the EFCC, pleaded not guilty to the 16-count charge of obtaining money under false pretences leveled against him.

According to O. Aigboje, the EFCC prosecutor, Ramirez duped the managing director of three companies – USA Now Plc., Eagleford Instalodge Group and USA Now Capital Group between February 2013 and August 2013.

He fraudulently received $545,000 from Godson Echejue to invest in his company, Eagleford Instalodge Group, in order to procure an American green card (residence permit) for him (Echejue).
He also allegedly received $10,000 from Abubakar Umar through a non-existent investment programme in the US, which was billed to make Umar eligible to obtain an American passport.

The EFCC also accused Ramirez of illegally receiving 10,000 dollars from one Olukayode Sodimu under the pretext that the funds were facilitation fees with the American immigration services for an American green card.

The prosecutor urged the court to remand the defendant in prison pending his trial. But Ramirez's councel, Chukwudi Maduka urged the court to in EFCC custody and not in prisons, as he was on EFCC administrative bail.

However, the prosecutor said the EFCC facility was overstretched and asked that the defendant be kept in prison.

In her ruling, Justice Oyefeso ordered the defendant remanded in prison, noting that "the proper place for remand is prison. I so order"
The case was adjourned till July 3 for bail application hearing.

21 comments:

This is my first time of seeing something like this

Enter your comment

You go hear am for kirikiri. Instead of him to commit the crime in his country where being in prison is like vacation, he decided to come to naija! Hehe

Long live LIB

Lol, once granted bail the man go waka

Vivienne B said...

He's only claiming back all Nigeria stole from America

Very good

This one Na @Dammy crane brother

As @Dammy go dey US prison.. Make this one dey @9ja prison

very good he go don black by now

Hmmmmm that I why they say people perish for lack of knowledge. To Godson, with 5000.000 USD you can invest in the United States legitimately and you are eligible to be issued a green card, you dont need to hand ur money to an individual it's all up online ways to acquire green card in the US If only he was aware , as for those paying 10 K each those were jokers come on do u think US immigration is like that of Africa? U can bribe your way? Once u try and get into US soil there are emigration Attorneys that can work towards getting you a green card for 10 to 15 K, so be wise and always make researches

Jamie said...

now, this goes to show that americans can just be as dubious as nigerians. let us hope that the usa governement doesn't start pressuring nigerians to release him the way

click here now if you are interested in penis enlargement

those kataroo sisters ended up escaping nigeria because the canadian governemnt gave them temporary passports.

Harbest said...

Wow!!! Nigeria is progressing oooo to the extent that a citizen of the world richest country is hitting us 419.

Abi he is on excursion to our prison. He is on a short visit

Agbomen said...

In kirikiri?!! I hope he survives it, to tell the story of his experience in a Nigerian Prison. E go talk true by force.

Mr 47 said...

Good to know we have a White American citizen in our prison facility

EjYcE Bugatti said...

Am very sure those guys are not nigerian.... they are mumu.... while will a white man be duping them in there country....crazy dey there papa head... abeg make them free the Oyinbo make he dey go jare....

obiejesi obiora said...

Oyibo too don join

He came for revenge. Came to scam scammers. Funny guy

una don see oyinbo yahoo yahoo, after dem go de say Naija boy na them bad pass...

Hahahahahahahahaha. I need to do a documentary on this prisoner and showcase it here on CNN. Ndi ara!!
CNN no go report this one ooo!!!
Oya. Linda, free idea!!

Kirikiri ke.. Oyibo eku prison.

Dats nice

Good for him, at least he shud have d taste of Nigerian prison.bcos Dem dey imprisoned our own over there