"Children and pregnant women were not spared" New horrific images from the militia massacre of the Fulanis on Mambilla Plateau, Taraba State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 June 2017

"Children and pregnant women were not spared" New horrific images from the militia massacre of the Fulanis on Mambilla Plateau, Taraba State

A Nigerian journalist, Mr Adoh posted more photos from the militia massacre of the Fulanis on the Mambilla Plateau in Sardauna Local Government Area of Taraba State. 

LIB recalls that scores of people including children and pregnant women were killed, over 300 animals slaughtered and about 120 houses set ablaze in simultaneous attacks carried out on Fulani settlements in the early hours of Sunday, June 18.

Meanwhile, Brig.-Gen. Benjamin Ahanotu,, the Acting General Officer Commanding (GOC) 3 Division of the Nigerian Army, Jos, has condemned the role of traditional rulers and community leaders in the crisis on Mambilla Plateau.

Ahanotu expressed the view at the palace of the Chief of Mambilla, Dr Shehu Audu Baju II, last Saturday.

He said that after visiting scenes of the killings that he was shocked by what he saw and likened the crisis to the activities of Boko Haram terrorists.
"Even Boko Haram did not slaughter women and children but here I saw young children and pregnant women’’ killed. We should know that the victims are fellow Nigerians and indigenes of this area who should be treated with dignity,” he said.
Ahanotu said that traditional rulers and community leaders failed to take proactive measures to prevent the crisis.
He said that throughout the crisis, Mambila village heads and community leaders did not assist the wounded but watched them die helplessly.
"As elders, they did not also make any effort to convey the injured to hospitals, making the victim to lose confidence in the system and seek medical attention in neighbouring Cameroon Republic. As leaders of the people, you should be able carry everyone along, irrespective of their ethnic, religious or political affiliation,” he stressed.
Ahanotu said that soldiers had been deployed to flashpoints across the Local Government Area and called on the Traditional Council to support them.

He called on the warring parties to embark on reconciliation and confidence building measures to ensure that the victims returned to their homes and resume their normal business.

More photos below...

26 comments:

Dennis said...

this is bad, however this is the fault of the nigerian security agencies. when one groups attacks another and they don't do anything, the other group starts plotting for revenge.

click here now if you are interested in penis enlargement

there was a time the fulanis were the ones doing the attacking and the army and police were not doing anything.

The Hunter gas become the hunted

The Hunter has become the hunted

They got served what they deserve! They live by the sword... They die by th swords!

Now they are crying out even more louder because it them. And they want sympathy, making it look as if they have gone thru hell than what we christians pass through. And the foolish bastard govt will try to favour them. God is watching

This is so bad

this is horrible, killing innocents will never solve anything, i blame the government for thier role in security in this country

Such a sad news.

Too bad!

Later people will wonder why the country's life expectancy is put at 52 years. There are just too many ways to die in Nigeria...

I am not suprised that things like this are happening in a country we have no government .

Many who whose communities and families have been affected by the Fulani herdsmen attacks may justify these killings and even call it self-defence. But the honest truth is that as a people and as a nation, we will go nowhere with these kinds of killings. With killings like these, we will remain divisive and un-united. We needed to get a clearer understanding of why we are one. We need to preach and show that what makes us strong as a nation is our diversity. Revenge killings only breeds more killings and hate.The Rwanda genocide is always a reminder to us all. Our political class who sometimes use ethnic divide will smile to the banks because it benefits them. But the helpless poor and their families are the ones who pay the price. Lets come together as a people, no matter where we come from we are Nigerians. Igbo, yoruba, hausa, fulani etc we are all proud Nigerians.#unitedindiversity

God have Mercy...Imagine the Kogi state Governor wants to give his security votes money to community leaders to fight crime. I seat down dey look!

Bliss said...

If its Bobbi and yansh you would have screamed NSFW!! With winking smiley on top. And something as horrific as this no warning in sight.

please ooo,give us biafra....we the igbos want out!

It is unfortunate that the woeful and abysmal failure of the government to protect Nigerians have forced them to resort to self help with attendant devastating consequences.

I think this might be the only way to tackle the Fulani issue in this country since the government have refused act. When the fulanis keep having their kinsmen attacked they will think twice b4 going about their senseless killing.

Long live LIB

Beautiful...life na turn by turn.

prince said...

KILLINGS OF ANY TYPE DOES NO ONE WELL BUT THE GOVT SHOULD RISE TO THE OCCASION AND CALL THE FULANI HERDSMEN TO ORDER FOR THEY HAVE BEEN BUILDING UP SUCH REPRISAL ATTACKS IN THE MIND OF THOSE WHOSE PEOPLE THEY ATTACK, RAPE THEIR WOMEN AND KILL

josboy said...

exactly how d fulanis butchered pple in dogon nahuwa plateau state.

Make una shutup who dey pity this one's kwanu...the ones they hav beeen killing in edo, benue, and other partt of the country are they not people mothers and father....this one na party I hope the people dtt did this can return back and finish the rest...nonsense

Fulani's were served the dose of their own medicine

Nigeria, I REJECT THEE!
Biafra, I HAIL THEE!

The comments by the Army GOC comparing what happened to Boko Haram killing is irresponsible of a senior military officer. If he can allow himself to be used by politicians and serve parochial interest like this then, he don't deserve the next rank and should be shown the way out.

Chuks Bruno said...

Inasmuch I don't agree to this I think the Fulani have been served their own drugs too but my fear as El-Rufai said, is that a Fulani never forgets...

I don't care for killing either but will innocent ppl allow themselves to be constantly massacred because Fulani never forgets? At least the next time they come, ppl will understand why they are coming; not that they just ambush innocent communities on senseless killing sprees. May God give this country peace.