Photos: Customs hand over 2 impounded helicopters worth N9bn to Nigeria Air Force | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 29 January 2017

Photos: Customs hand over 2 impounded helicopters worth N9bn to Nigeria Air Force

The Nigeria Customs Service, Murtala Mohammed International Airport Command (MMIA), have intercepted and seized two Civil Models 412 EP of Bell Helicopters and 23 packages containing various accessories, with duty paid value of N9,757,135,240.86.

Presenting the seized Helicopters and its accessories to the Nigerian Airforce, the Comptroller-General of Customs, Col. Hameed Ibrahim Ali (Rtd), represented by the Deputy Comptroller General in-charge of Enforcement, Inspection and Investigation yesterday, DCG Dan Ugo commended the Officers and Men of MMIA for this great feat in the history of Customs.

He calls for a holistic collaboration among all security agencies in order to sustain the tempo while performing our statutory responsibilities and ensuring National interest is put first before individuals.
Earlier, the MMIA Customs Area Controller, Comptroller Francis Allanah while welcoming the dignitaries to the official handing over, said the Helicopters were seized for contravening Customs laws.
While receiving the items on behalf of the Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubarka, Air Commodore Hyacinth Eze appreciated the Service for their collaboration towards protecting our airways. He said that the Helicopters when added to their fleets, will further enhance their operations in the fight against insurgency.

16 comments:

Misplaced priority. Someone paid such a huge amount to acquire a helicopter and you seize it for no substantial reason? You did not just seize it, it automatically becomes your own? Does Nigeria manufacture helicopters? So the person can't pay fines or necessary import duty and have his helicopter back? Nigeria is messed up country indeed.

So the helicopter just come play for naija... dee

Good job. Nobody else imported it if not PMB and his minister for transport.

Ladun Liadi said...

Hazy info here. These ultra expensive helicopters were seized from whom?

THIEVES,give back someone's sweat else those choppers will crash

Mr 47 said...

To the idiots complaining, Why don't you ask yourself where the person got N9bn to acquire them and what's the purpose of the choppers? I keep saying, Hate and envy will ruin the igbos...

This government and oppression dey bear same name. So is now a crime to own private helicopter abi?

Mr 47 hate and envy have already ruined ur generation,what ve Igbo got to do with this news.

Haliburton scandal said...

This set of curropt people will not tell Nigerians the name of the importer curse the person is close to Buhari/ aso rock, if its Jonathan/ PDP people DSS will invade his house in middle of the night,change has come and we are a withnes.

Haliburton scandal said...

This set of curropt people will not tell Nigerians the name of the importer curse the person is close to Buhari/ aso rock, if its Jonathan/ PDP people DSS will invade his house in middle of the night,change has come and we are a withnes.

Hate and envy (which led customs to seize) is already killing Nigeria. Precisely, what law was contravened? Customs, please help us learn not this nonsense.

Lol.

hmm

@Mr 47 your generation lack common sense thas why u fail to understand the real story behind the gist I will not insult u or your tribe cos from ur comment u truly don't have COMMON sense.

Mr 47, God of isreal will shut ur mouth if you put kill and Igbo's in same statement again.. The biafran war no do u abi.. Idiat