Feb 6th: A permit does not guarantee that a protest will not break down - Festus Keyamo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 February 2017

Feb 6th: A permit does not guarantee that a protest will not break down - Festus Keyamo

Lawyer and human rights activist, Festus Keyamo, has reacted to the Lagos state police command's ban on the February 6th protest in Lagos which is supported by singer, 2face Idibia. Commissioner for Police, Fatai Owoseni, had placed a ban on the planned protest, stating that intelligence gathering have suggested that some thugs plan to hijack the protest.

Speaking exclusively to LIB today, Keyamo explained that it is the right of aggrieved citizens to hold protests and that the police cannot ban such by claiming violence because one cannot know if a protest will be violent until it’s being carried out.

He said a permit from the police for the protest does not in anyway guarantee a protest to be peaceful.
“The police cannot ban protest. They can only ban violent activities but they cannot ban protest and you cannot know whether a protest would be violent unless violence begins. When the violence begins they can now disperse them with minimum force; tear gas, in Europe they use hot water and few things like that. You only use what they call minimum force to disperse them when it breaks out, but you cannot predict whether a protest will break down. A protest permit does not guarantee that a protest will not break down. Even when the police are guarding and when the police are there present, it can break down. So generally speaking, every Nigerian has the right to protest.”
Asked whether he is in support of the protest, Keyamo said
“Whether I’m in support of it is not important, but what is important is that all Nigerians have the right to protest whenever they want to protest. Nigerians have the right to protest, that is just the provision of the law. So, whoever feels aggrieved about anything has a right to protest.”

25 comments:

Ella chandelier said...

Sure one

nawa

javar10 said...

They are all getting there senses back gradually. It's a miracle. Working God.

Hope the stupid commissioner of police in lagos has heard this huh before they would go and start shooting gun like fools huh,he wants to show himself.

The recession has hit him hard...

Fatai owoseni was poorly educated. Stupid fool make adequate security personnel available or do I need to spell ur job to u

9c 1 baba! I conqur.... let dat dumb owoseni hear!

What a very lame excuse by the police. infact it's a shame! It proves that they as a security agency are incompetent not to be able to contain a peaceful protest in case of any eventuality! The police commissioner is scared of losing his job cos am sure he got severe warning from those shivering at the top! Rubbish

Long live LIB

Nigerians?wonderful creatures, drama kings and queens!thank God Mr lawyer for saying the truth whether they like it or not protest must go on Feb 6th by God's grace.

Ok. But I noticed Festus Keyamu has been very very very quiet in Buhari's administration. Na jass dem take hold am ni?

@javar, whcih sensse are they getting back, those you understand english, go and protest on monday and God help you, there is a breakdown, you will see how tear gas go scatter your face. You people have still not forget about about 2015 election, if election hold today and you present Jonathan, Buhari will still beat him. Forget about all the noise from the South east, most of their leaders have dump PDP for good. Jonathan and fayose have no political will to gather vote for anybody. Stop celebrating mediocre. Jonathan fail because he performed beyond expectations. Sebi u still see money to buy data, that is why you can contribute to this fora, if JOnathan is sitll in power, you will be in your village now. The issues was not created by Buhari, he is just trying to do his best. Where is tuface or whatever he called himself when JOnathan and his people looted nigeria dry. God and protest on Monday and see what we become of you.

Hahaha he don't want to support d protest because of pay master Buhari

Better talk!

A protest can be disperse with minimal force but Nigeria government will be using real bullet to be killing innocent IPOD Protestant

Correct man, I so much like this guy, let's see how 2face will manage the protest, if it get out of hand, just prepare your to get your detention visa 2baba.

nicely say...one love 2face

NAWA O

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

Lazy police! He does not want to work. Oga you and your men should go out there and carry out your duties. It's what you are being paid for. Some work days are like that, filled with stress. You can ease the stress by joining us in the protest.

A car in front of me had a bumper sticker on it that reads :' PRAYER FOR BUHARI' psalm 109:8. When i got home i opened my scripture, read it and couldn't hold myself from laughing.....

For window blinds wallpapers and curtains please call 08160856785.

sholetoga said...

Imoru Bolanle you crack me up.......Infact Amen to that verse of the Holy book. Keyamo, please help me educate the Nigeria Police.......I just tire for this sychophants.......

Why are we so petty? Why is it that we are intolerant especially those of us that support this administration? For the record I feel Goodlucks administration was the worst we have had since our democratic dispensation. But give it to the man he was democratic! Haba! I remember the subsidy protest he never threatened anybody or harassed them with security rather he was trying to negotiate.this is why it's as if Nigerians respect him. Why can't you guys do same? Why threaten people?
All you need to do to be invited by security operatives is just be vocal against this government? It's called democracy oga Kasali. And why are we so tribalistic? People are frustrated and want to protest and all of a sudden there are easterners? Tuface is from the east?
Please let's stop with the threats, they no longer work. Nigerians are bigger than that... the same dogged spirit that chased out the last administration is still alive.
I have every right to protest, I voted for this administration and it's so clear that they are clueless economically, they are tribalistic, corruption fight is one sided and no freedom of speech or even expression. Things are astronomically high and please don't tell me it's the past administration coz we already knew they were bad that's we voted you in so do your job and stop whining... governance is for people with solution and not for complainers.
So back to you Oga Kasali, you can come with the tear gas something must kill a man, hunger is already finishing us, the jobs are going to the high and mighty, Buhari has refused to confirm the CJN whats his crime? He is from south south, our naira is in a mess... businesses are closing and crime rate is on the increase on a daily basis and people are dying... and you think the best you can do is threaten a desperate man with tear gas... sit down and watch things happen on the 6th.... And for the record you are a big Bonkom for your comment...

Good for speaking out.

Mr. Ariyo said...

He's a miracle working God...

#ReceiveGrammar