President Mahama Confers Adenuga With Ghana's Highest Civilian Honour | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 October 2016

President Mahama Confers Adenuga With Ghana's Highest Civilian Honour

Ghana’s President John Mahama (right) congratulating the Chairman of Globacom, Dr Mike Adenuga Jr. after conferring on him Ghana’s highest national civilian honour, the Companion Of The Star Of Ghana (CSG) in Accra on Saturday.

Globacom Chairman, Dr. Mike Adenuga Jr, has been awarded Ghana’s highest civil award, the Companion of the Star of Ghana (CSG).

Ghanaian President, Mr John Dramani Mahama, conferred the award on the multibillionaire investor on Saturday, October 29, at the International Conference Centre, Accra, Ghana.

President Mahama said Dr Adenuga was honoured for his “unique and outstanding contribution to business enterprise both in Ghana and the continent of Africa at large.”
“Through your creative business exertions, you have touched many lives in Ghana. You have provided employment for our teeming youth, artists, footballers and many more. I am particularly proud of you. This award is our way of saying a simple Thank You,” the President said.
He also commended Adenuga for “transformational achievements in the telecommunications industry”, a major one being the laying of the Glo 1 optic fibre cable linking several African countries including Ghana with Europe and America.

President Mahama equally lauded Dr Adenuga’s contribution to telecommunications in Ghana since Glo Mobile’s launch, and thanked him for the huge investment in the project.

The President noted that Dr Adenuga’s investment decisions and his persistent and affirmative support for sports have earned him honours all over Africa. He noted that this was one of the strong reasons that recommended Dr Adenuga for Ghana’s highest civilian honour.

Dr Adenuga, in his acceptance remarks, noted that President Mahama’s
 “recognition and support of my modest contributions to the development of Ghana’s economy have come as a great source of pride and encouragement to me. This is more so as it is coming from Your Excellency, whose sterling qualities of leadership I admire greatly”.
Dr. Adenuga’s Glo Mobile is a leading telecommunication services provider in Ghana. Besides providing direct and indirect employment opportunities to thousands of Ghanaians, Glo Mobile Ghana has, since launch in 2012, been the pacesetter in innovation, excellent service delivery and consumer loyalty reward in the country’s telecom market, particularly in the data segment.

The company's international submarine cable, Glo 1, which landed in Accra in 2009 also opened up a whole vista of unprecedented opportunities for businesses, government institutions and individuals in the country by giving them much better access to more affordable broadband.

Glo Mobile also played a major role in developing Ghanaian football through the sponsorship of the country’s national teams, the domestic football league and the football supporters’ club. The sponsorship lasted for several years.

Back in Nigeria, Dr. Adenuga was in 2012 conferred with the award of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON) by the Federal Government. GCON is the highest honour for a civilian who is not in government in the country.

The Federal Government of Nigeria said Dr Adenuga was honoured for his immense contribution to the socio-economic development of Nigeria and the West African sub-region. 
“He worked very hard to establish Globacom which today provides hundreds of thousands of jobs in Nigeria, Ghana and Benin Republic. His company has also established footprints in Cote d’Ivoire, Senegal and The Gambia,” the then President, Goodluck Jonathan had said.

40 comments:

Congrats to him

Freeborn hiss! What has he done for his own country huh? THIS MAN AND DANGOTE ARE JUST A WASTE TO NIGERIA ESPECIALLY DANGOTE.
dude i hope u don leave our oil well huh?

Freeborn hiss! What has he done for his own country huh? THIS MAN AND DANGOTE ARE JUST A WASTE TO NIGERIA ESPECIALLY DANGOTE.
dude i hope u don leave our oil well huh?

Nice 1...congratulations ar in order.

VEEKEE FRESH said...

good for him.... he surely deserve it

Congratulations to him...

Congratulations to him

What has he done for his country?! Definitely alot more than the average Igbo drug peddler. Whilst Yorubas and Hausas are making waves around the world, Igbos are facing deportation, proverbial stain on the reputation of the nation, a cause of civil unrest, devastating lives wherever you find yourselves, but poisoning people with those same drugs, devastating families and lives, app for financial gain.

What have you personally done for your country?

Congrats to him. Linda take note!

**********************what does dat stand for?????? Kam mara ife mu na edere congrats first of all

Congratulations to him.
Well deserved 👏🏾👏🏾

Congrats to him

Well done Sir.

BIG CONGRATS. ADENUGA IS INDEED A GLOBAL GEM. I'M DEEPLY TOUCHED BY WHAT THE GHANAIAN PRESIDENT SAID ABOUT ADENUGA. I'M ALSO GLAD THAT NIGERIA HONOURED HIM FIRST BEFORE GHANA DID.

Great one. This is a powerful image booster not only for Adenuga but Nigeria. Congratulations to him. He has indeed made Nigeria my beloved country proud.

Pop champagne. I rejoice with Adenuga, his family and Nigeria on this massive achievement.

For a Nigerian to have won the highest national civilian honour in Ghana is a gargantuan achievement. Thanks Adenuga for bringing honour to your fatherland.

Man on Fire said...

Three national and intercontinental gbosas for this great son of Africa. It's an honour well deserved.

AGB said...

You're just a daft fool.

An award well deserved. God bless you Dr. Mike Adenuga. Nigeria and indeed the world will be a better place with more phenomenons like you, sir.

MiddleBelt Voice... said...

@Freeborn Bamislam,what have u done to Nigeria as negative critic? Dangote has given me and several others job. Whom have u employed?

Congratulations

Jesseballs said...

Well deserved!

Osa said...

This Adenuga is becoming too fat. Abeg he should go on a diet and take it easy. As you grow older, you need to cut down on fatty food

Sumbo said...

Congrats Mike Adenuga but try and change your eratic behaviour of sacking your good and loyal staff while the sychophants that are eating and looting your money remain in your company. A big example is Sangowawa

Ijeoma said...

Congrats sir

Congratulations!!!

wow

Mr Adenuga, i hope you have written your will because if anything happens to you, Sangowawa will fight your children over the possession of your company. Sangowawa behaves as if he owns the company with you. Be warned! Anyways, congratulation on your award

I'm happy for him. My own time will come. Adenuga no get two heads. Baba God pick up my call.

I agree with Freeborn. All these yoruba and Hausa people will come to South-South to come and own oil blocks and enrich themselves while the South-South people are suffering from the polution as a result of the oil blocks on the Niger Delta land. We will continue to blow up their useless piplines on our land. Going forward, only South-South indigenes are allowed to own oil blocks. The yourbas should go and look for oil blocks in region. I hate yoruba people. I cant stand them

Adenuga has become a prophet honored at home andabroad. No matter how you look at it, this is an honor done not just to him but also to Nigeria.

Congratulations to him. While some are destroying Nigeria's name, people like Adenuga are flying the flag of Nigeria so high.

Adenuga paid his dues long ago. Now he deserves any honour that comes his way. He ensured our exploitation on per minute billing stopped. He has a pro-people attitude. God loves such a man! I love him too!

Honour well deserved! I agree it is both to him and to Nigeria. Hesurely deserves such honour.

This is good for the Glo boss. His investment forays across Africa is paying off. It is not all about monetary returns. Such honour is worth more. It is recognition of greater value.

Urhobo said...

Yes, the yorubas and hausas should go to their region to go and look for oil blocks. They should leave South-South region alone. It is through the South-South region that Adenuga and Dangote made their money by owning oil blocks. They have poluted the whole area. Only South-South indigenes must own oil block in South-South area going forward. Everybody maintain your lane.

Emeka said...

@Anonymous 10:30PM you are a fool. If it was an Igbo man or a Niger Delta man that wanted to have oil well in the North or West, do you think they would have allowed him? Youruba people and hausa people are very tribalistic. I like what Freeborn said. The South-South people should destroy their pipelines and oil wells and drive them out of South-South region. Them think say na only them sabi do tribalism? Nonsense!