"Star Trek" actor Anton Yelchin dies in car accident at age 27 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 19 June 2016

"Star Trek" actor Anton Yelchin dies in car accident at age 27

Anton Yelchin, best known as Chekov in the latest Star Trek films, died in a fatal traffic collision early Sunday morning, his publicist confirmed to ABC News. He was 27 years old.

According to TMZ, Yelchin was pinned to a brick mailbox by his own car in what appears to be a freak accident. His friends became alarmed because he was supposed to meet them hours earlier for a rehearsal. They went to his San Fernado Valley home at around 1am and found him pinned between his car and a brick mailbox, which was attached to a security gate.

The driveway had a steep incline and the car engine was still running and in neutral when law enforcement arrived on the scene. It is unclear why he got out of the car. Cops do not suspect foul play.

Yelchin was the only child of Russian parents. His family emigrated to the United States when Yelchin was a baby. Yelchin starred in 2006's Alpha Dog before he was cast in J.J. Abram's version of the Star Trek series.

He acted in the next Star Trek installment, Star Trek Beyond, which premieres in summer 2016 as well as the upcoming film Rememory, and the recently-released Green Room with Patrick Stewart.

Source: ABC News/TMZ

26 comments:

Sad,rest in peace to de dead

May his soul rest in peace.

Wow

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Oh dear!

This is sad. I remember this guy in Alpha dog. Where Justin Timberlake set him up and he was killed. He was so young in that movie and I've liked him since then. So sad. R.I.P man.

Eeeeeeeeeeeyah! May his soul RIP. Linda take note!

NaijaStore said...

Hmm marriage breakups everywhere..

Really sad!

Rip to the dead. I hope buhari dint kill dis one

This is one of dem devastating news of the evening....he was one of my faves in that movie. RIP, man!

Oh oh...RIP

He was great in Odd Thomas. Unfortunate incident.

Nna this promising actor... Rip...

RIP Yelchin. 27 is too young to go.

Though his death is the strangest story I've ever heard... who gets into a fatal car accident in their house driveway?

RIP guy

Hi Linda, CNN said he was found dead in his house, ABC news must be misinformed.

Kay said...

what a loss.

******************************eiyhaaaaa*******May he Rip

Sad rip

Judith Tech Blog said...

Rest in peace bro...

jamal cojo said...

Pretty young age to die! Sad moment!!

Genny's Blog said...

Ahhh!so sad.may his soul rest in peace.

Genny's Blog said...

Ahhh!so sad.may his soul rest in peace.

O my goodness!!! I loved this guy! Especially when i first saw him in a vampire movie and then ODD THOMAS. May your soul rest in peace.

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Why are you talking like a fool?