Rivers Govt denies withdrawing N11bn, tells EFCC to operate within the law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 25 June 2016

Rivers Govt denies withdrawing N11bn, tells EFCC to operate within the law

Read the state government's statement below...
The attention of the Rivers State Government has been drawn to a publication in The Punch newspaper of Friday, 24/06/ 2016. The report alleges that one “Mr Kinsgsely Fubara”, said to be a Director of Finance and Administration, in the Rivers State Government House, made repeated financial withdrawals from the Central Bank of Nigeria and Zenith Bank, to the tune of 11 billion Naira.
According to the report, the “suspicious withdrawals” on behalf of the Rivers State Government were made between December 2015 and February 2016.
The government categorically denies this fabricated and irresponsible publication by the Punch.
The Rivers State Government never conducted such financial transactions and the report is patently false.

The Rivers State Government has no record of any staff known as Kingsely Fubara. This must be a fictional character created by the All Progressives Congress (APC)) and the Punch newspaper to embarrass the State Government and deceive the public.

The Punch report also indicated that the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF) has directed the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) to probe these so-called withdrawals. Such a directive, if true, would be a manifestly illegal and ridiculous proposition.

By law, the Rivers State Government is accountable to the Rivers State House of Assembly and the people of Rivers State, not to the Attorney General of the Federation.
This is a totally fictitious report typically orchestrated by the APC and its media allies.
But the story raises fundamental questions about the moral horror that confronts a nation where an anti-graft agency becomes openly partisan in all its intentions and actions.

There is universal concern that the EFCC is playing an extremely corrosive role in the current political dispensation. Rather than fight corruption in a professional and dispassionate manner, the EFCC behaves shamelessly like an integral organ of the APC.
An anti-graft commission that targets only opposition politicians and critics of the failed policies of the APC government is a national embarrassment.

Has the EFCC ever heard of one Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, the former governor of Rivers State and current Minister of Transport? Despite receiving over three trillion Naira in eight years as governor, Amaechi left the most abandoned projects in the history of Rivers State, since 1967. Several petitions against Amaechi, supported by sworn affidavits, have all been summarily ignored by the EFCC.
Even chieftains of the APC have publicly acknowledged Rotimi Amaechi’s stupendous financial contributions to the party’s presidential campaign in 2015. These financial contributions, estimated to be in billions of Naira, constitute serious financial crime against the people of Rivers State.
The Government and people of Rivers State will resist any politically-motivated targeting of its leaders by any agency of the Federal Government, by whatever name it is called.
Signed:
Dr. Austin Tam-George,
Commissioner for Information and Communication,
Rivers State.

59 comments:

Best advice

Starger E said...

Gods dey

Never lose a bet, place your bets with guaranteed sports betting tips from bankerbet.net.

TONY OBUM said...

Very funny.Wike at it again
100%
Natural long lasting solution to sagging breast read here ladies
dietherapy247.com

I support this government's fight against corruption but I'm becoming increasingly uncomfortable with the way other sectors of the economy are neglected and the fight is becoming clearly political than moral. I fear that time may work against this administration and before they know it, they'll realize they've been chasing shadows all along.
People like me voted this president coz we believe corruption is a cankerworm that must be killed. But with each passing day, shocking revelations keep happening which makes me wonder if it's truly possible to subdue corruption in this country.

NaijaStore said...

Hmm

Y is it dat EFCC r always coming for d opposition party! Dats partiality

Is there any thing like law in nigerian again huh?
My governo my governo please dont mind those terrorist buhari buhari Thugs they call efcc.
MALLAM AMECH SHAME TO U AS FAR THIS LIFE IS CONCERN U MUST REAP THE EVIL U SO U BETRAYA,SABOTUER,HYPOCRITES AN YORUBA AND HAUSAS SYCHOPHANT NEMESIS AWAIT U I KNOW THAT THIS IS UR HAND WORK.

Hmmmmmmm

Is there any thing like law in nigeria again huh?
My governo my governo please dont mind those terrorist buhari buhari Thugs they call efcc.
MALLAM AMECH SHAME TO him AS FAR THIS LIFE IS CONCERN U MUST REAP THE EVIL U SO U BETRAYA,SABOTUER,HYPOCRITES AN YORUBA AND HAUSAS SYCHOPHANT NEMESIS AWAIT U I KNOW THAT THIS IS UR HAND WORK.

Kwashman said...

God bless Rivers state. Shame on EFCC..

Lol politics ooo so even APC can't win you they will probe you this change sef all the money efcc acquired entered where?? Ocean??

***********************issorai !!!!!!!

@EFCC,keep working for @Sadbaba and @APC

Onye oshi! Linda take note!

Lecturer Husband Beaten to Death By Wife and Her Siblings

Chinedu said...

E don de be for efcc...

jide efcc said...

A word of advice, if you are an account holder with Zenith bank, better go and withdraw your money and lodge in another bank. That bank is gonna fall soon, now that it's been associated with politics and money laundering and Jim Ovia is not sayin anything about it... A word is enough for the wise, that bank go soon bear one useless name that will make it paralysed...

True talk dis EFCC are just after d opposition Party

Drama continues!!!!

EFCC, what is wrong with you people?

Zenith bank again?
Signed
#LibBadBoy

BIG DADDY KENG said...

WORD!!!

Tell them

APC have just got to stop witch hunting opposition, wetin happen?

Buhari.leave Rivers State alone.ubare digging u grave o

Shame on apc

Useless apc

MORE DRAMA

AUNTY LINDA....

May God save us from this APC ADMINISTRATION. Chasing shadow instead of building the economy.

Is the welding rod of ... coming towards Wike???? Time will tell

Nonsense rant. If the publication is "fabricated and irresponsible ", why not ask Punch for retraction, apology, and even threaten libel suit? Thieves!

Jude Akinwole said...

And Amaechi, sorry someone, will say it is not a selective witch hunt! Story for the gods!

Nneka said...

This government is a joke.
They are allergic to opposition

Efcc,haba,eleyi o da ooo

Nigeria my Nigeria whither Nigeria. I pained that we are gliding towards anarchy. This Attorney General should remember what happened to Andooka and thread softly. APC should remember that what goes around comes around. Power they say is transient

Turn by turn, APc change.

So they haven't forgotten this man.. So all PDP politicians are really nightmares to APC. Amechi Weldon o!!!

Wike! Strong man! He even resemble Bull.

Well explained

I LOVE YOU SIR,AMECHI IS A FOOL

This administration is too corrupt! All Apc members are now saints abi? Can someone tell the name of the particular prison where Rotimi Amaechi would have been cooling off by now, were he still a pdp member?? Can buhari successfully fight corruption with corruption?

"The Rivers State Government has no record of any staff known as Kingsely Fubara. This must be a fictional character created by the All Progressives Congress (APC)) and the Punch newspaper to embarrass the State Government and deceive the public."....why is Buhari's life like this? Now if they ask EFCC to follow up & make evidence public..all we will see is intimidation and detained innocent & law abidin Nigerians

EFCC have become zombies.....

It's unbecoming of this Buhari administration and its a shame; a democracy without a vibrant opposition is as good as military regime and that's what this government has turned into; a government of tyrant and anarchy.

none said...

You see your life? You are the only one supporting buhari and APC government,not even yorubas are supporting this tyrant an Igbo girl for that matter.you seriously need to be ashamed of yourself.

javar10 said...

EFCC IS A BIG MESS under dis GOVT

Someone is asking why EFCC is only coming for the opposition party. ANS: It's because they have been in power for the past 16 years. Meaning they are the ones that have been wallowing in the money so they need to be questioned. It's that simple.

Bitcoin miner said...

Is he the new target under investigation

If this government cannot build institutions,why are they hell bent on bringing institutions down?Thousands are entering the unemployment market by the day while clearly showing how bereft of ideas they are,our "dear president"is busy his loyal boys to silence the opposition by all means possible.I wonder where this once upon a time beautiful country is going.

Has the EFCC ever heard of one Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, the former governor of Rivers State and current Minister of Transport? Despite receiving over three trillion Naira in eight years as governor, Amaechi left the most abandoned projects in the history of Rivers State, since 1967. Several petitions against Amaechi, supported by sworn affidavits, have all been summarily ignored by the EFCC.
I laff in Greek

The same thing on my mind why only the opposition party , the likes of amaechi,tinubu and fayemi ought to be in detention by now by EFCC n not walking freely in the country I don't belong to any party I belong to a good system of government n I believe this system ain't fair enough .

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Buhari is building a Satanic tower to straddle over Nigeria like the vilest of incubus...

It is called Fascist Totalitarianism!!!!!

It is unfortunate!!!!

Tokunboh Fakoya said...

Let us even imagine that d Rivers State Govt withdrew 11billion from whatever account they hold. Whose bloody business? Not Buharis,not efcc, except Rivers State House of assembly. We are seriously drifting to d Abacha days n Buhari ll surely learn in a most shocking manner that he can't toy with d destiny of Nigerians. Very few nigerians re interested in his stupid one sided anti corruption drive. And this stupid AGF should remember Andooka, Politicians ll fry u when d time comes. A president in his dying days should rather work towards being remembered as a hero n not this witch hunting going on allover! Cos the villa can deny it for ever but u needn't b told that PMB is DRYING up!!!

I don't get this. If you didn't make such transactions then why can't EFCC do their work? You don't need to worry yourself. Shogun laye ni

well till they probe amechi or rochas, then i'd know their witch-hunt is sincere

Feel free, once u are free why are u afraid of the probe? Relax and let them probe

Thank God you're beginning to receive some sense.. All this ogbonge grammar you've been downloading on this blog won't have helped your condition..

naija youth said...

pls when people talk about PDP 16yrs in governance. pls who were the people in charge of those 16yrs? is it not these same APC members. atiku former vice President, amaechi former governor, saraki former governor all under PDP and so many others, abeg who is deceiving who with "CHANGE" wht has CHANGED?