Photos of the three Australians kidnapped by gunmen in Calabar | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 June 2016

Photos of the three Australians kidnapped by gunmen in Calabar

Peter Zoutenbier, Jack Couranz and Mark Gabbedy are the three Australians kidnapped in Calabar, their families have confirmed. The fourth Mr Coot managed to escape.

Mark Gabbedy, who is understood to originally be from Tasmania but had worked in Western Australia. He had been working in Nigeria for the past 15 months as a project manager. Engineer Mr Couranz from Perth studied at Curtin University and had been with Macmahon since 2012. 

Australian Foreign Affairs Minister Julie Bishop on Friday morning said the priority for the government was to protect the lives of the hostages and that limited details about the situation would be released.

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said the Australian high commissioner was on the scene and officials were working with local authorities "at the highest levels".

The workers, employed by Perth-based engineering company Macmahon, were attacked and kidnapped on Wednesday along with four others; a Newzealander, a Nigerian, and two South African nationals, by armed gunmen who set upon their four-car convoy.

"A very intense search is on, with more patrol and surveillance teams dispatched to the rescue," Cross River Police Commissioner Jimoh Ozi-Obeh.

The family of Peter Zoutenbier said they were shocked by what had happened.
Mr Zoutenbier’s sister-in-law Tracy Zoutenbier said it was a “real concern” the group of kidnappers had already killed someone.

"Usually that doesn’t happen, so that’s sticking in our heads at the moment," Mrs Zoutenbier told News Corp Australia. "That’s a real worry. They’ve already been very violent. We just want to do everything we can to get these guys home safe to all their families."

Speaking from her Zilzie home, near Rockhampton on the state’s central coast, Mrs Zoutenbier said the family were expecting to talk with the Department of Foreign Affairs.

"There’s still a lot of shock, and we don’t know a lot at the moment," Mrs Zoutenbier said. She explained it was still “very raw” for the family, including Mr Zoutenbier’s wife and grown children whom remained in Queensland.

"It’s like you’re in a movie at the moment," Mrs Zoutenbier said. "It’s a bit hard to take in. It’s a shock. I think it’ll take a few days before it all sinks in. We’re just all rallying together"

Source: The Australian/ABC NEWS/news.com.aus

25 comments:

Hope they return safe

NaijaStore said...

Hmm

Pray they're found soonest safe and sound...

Na wa o

**************************9ja my pipo********biko free dem oooo !!!!!!! Ndi ocha akaakwa aka !!!!!!! Na only mosquito for uncompleted building fit kee dem !!!!!!!!! E jooor !!!!!!!!!! Rapunu fa *******kaka

Eyahhh this kidnappers shld release them nah,nawa ooo I pray dey dn't kill them

So sorry for them.. They chose to work in the wrong country

I pray for their safe release

I pray for their safety. Linda take note!

This is not a good situation at all.
These guys finishing our already tarnished image... I hope they are found alive and safe.

GOD'S PROTECTION TO THEM

AUNTY LINDA....

Hmmmmm God help these people

Ben Fucking Ayade, how long would you keep managing the situation? Oh! You want them to kidnap the entire Calabar so that you can have enough space to drive with your wack ass convoy. This is the problem I have with short men. Their brain s and dick are midget sized and it affects their entire existence. Why would this kidnappers not thrive in Calabar when they can hide behind the heap of dirts that you have foolishly refused to clean. Is that how your short self met Calabar? When you were campaigning for the role, didn't you see how clean the state was. You better wake up or God will drive you away from that town scruffy Eskimo. Linda please post this comment. This is the voice of Cross River

Kay said...

may God rescue them IJN, amen

My instincts tels me dey ar safe

God pls protect them. Amen

Genny's Blog said...

I said it calabar people fear them. hope they are found safe.

I just pray they are found hale n hearty

Linda abeg, dis ppl were kidnapped near Mfamosing..not in Calabar. The place is closer to the Cameroun border and they are being held by militants in camps by Bakassi. Where can you hide 5 white men in Calabar? Abeg leave Calabar alone and report the real thing. Isnt it just 2 weeks ago that the same militants were granted audience on Channels tv and you all in the media were celebrating and publicizing them? Now the chickens have come home to roost so congrats to the Federal Government.

vee said...

I'm so ashamed to be Nigerian, this is disgraceful
Please when released dear white men,
Pack your things and go home to your beloved country
Nigeria is not a country
Don't stay in this messed up jungle with no laws
Go home to your electricty, water, good roads and all
Cos if any ransom is paid for your release,
you're very likely to be kidnapped again.
For now, this country is a hot mess
If you like africa so much, try Ghana or South africa.
I hope the kidnappers are found and jailed, but then, all na hope.

starshine said...

It's well oo. May God protect them

19:16pm I love your comment.

Nigeria Nigeria!!!

monisola said...

Nobody is talking about d Africans, only the Australians... #lowregardforourown